Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Farming Chit Chat II

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭reilig

8x4x3 bales of straw - how many round bales in one?

What are lads paying for them delivered in non straw areas?

Round bales are €22 to €24 delivered here. Thankfully I'm only buying a few for bedding calving pens this year instead of feeding. Hoping to collect some in the the morning with the jeep and trailer and squares would be easier for me to haul than rounds.

thetangler wrote: »
    Mohill is always small on the first day tend come out in early October.
    Dont know what his idea with running 1 Ring is.
    Done the same in ballymote 2 weeks ago for the special heifer sale.

I know it's always small, but they always had 2 rings as far as i can remember. Lots of buyers and sellers unhappy that there were not 2 rings and said that it wasn't encouraging them to come back to buy or sell again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,267 ✭✭✭hugo29

reilig wrote: »
    I know it's always small, but they always had 2 rings as far as i can remember. Lots of buyers and sellers unhappy that there were not 2 rings and said that it wasn't encouraging them to come back to buy or sell again.

they done same in ballymote, i think fellas complain about having to filter between rings, who knows, id prefer two rings

have 3 to 4 good BB bull calves that must be touching 380kg mark, no meal yet either, might try them end of month in ballymote, they having a special BBx and AAx weanling sale

Round bales are €22 to €24 delivered here. Thankfully I'm only buying a few for bedding calving pens this year instead of feeding. Hoping to collect some in the the morning with the jeep and trailer and squares would be easier for me to haul than rounds.

small square bales were 3-50 delivered around here, good quality this year compared to last

thetangler wrote: »
    260 heifers booked in

busy sale so, were you there or going

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 292 ✭✭jay gatsby

8x4x4 can have about 3 in them as far as I know so I suppose somewhere around 2-2.5? That's just a guesstimate though

• Closed Accounts Posts: 839 ✭✭✭Dampintheattic

50.24 cubic feet in a 4 x 4 round
    96 cubic feet in a 8x4x3

1.91 4x4 rounds in the 8x4x3.

D

50.24 cubic feet in a 4 x 4 round
    96 cubic feet in a 8x4x3

1.91 4x4 rounds in the 8x4x3.

D

Do square balers pack a little tighter than round?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 292 ✭✭jay gatsby

Do square balers pack a little tighter than round?

Quite a bit tighter IMO. I haven't got the figure to back it up but the packers on those big balers generate serious force so I'd be allowing a bit for that.

Weighing is obviously the fairest but another long shot is knowing how big the field is and seeing how many bales came off it. Average yield is probably 10-12 4x4's in most crops this year

jay gatsby wrote: »
    Quite a bit tighter IMO. I haven't got the figure to back it up but the packers on those big balers generate serious force so I'd be allowing a bit for that.

Weighing is obviously the fairest but another long shot is knowing how big the field is and seeing how many bales came off it. Average yield is probably 10-12 4x4's in most crops this year

Just did a bit of googleing and our UK counterparts claim that there's 2.3 round bales of silage (Haylege) in an 8x4x3 square bale based on an experiement in a field with balers and a weighing scales.

4x4 Round bale = 240kg
    5x4 Round Bale = 360kg
    8x4x3 bale = 570kg

Interesting stuff. Have a few bales booked for collection in the morning so will test the theory :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,296 ✭✭✭leg wax

fook as whelan would say, took horns off calves last week and taking maggots out of them since yesterday,never seen it before,poor buggers,wound powder and spray on too keep flies away.:(:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,190 ✭✭✭jersey101

leg wax wrote: »
    fook as whelan would say, took horns off calves last week and taking maggots out of them since yesterday,never seen it before,poor buggers,wound powder and spray on too keep flies away.:(:(

jaysus i may have a look at mine so. Bavent really paid much attention to em tbh

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,244 ✭✭✭sea12

hugo29 wrote: »
    small square bales were 3-50 delivered around here, good quality this year compared to last

Jeez that's deer. I paid 1.50 a bale collected. Admit it was from the in laws so a bit of a discount.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,701 ✭✭✭moy83

Its fierce dead weather lately . Stockholm tar I found best to keep them out . Heat it up first and it will flow into the wound . I think the savlon type dettol is the kindest on them for cleaning it out first

sea12 wrote: »
    Jeez that's deer. I paid 1.50 a bale collected. Admit it was from the in laws so a bit of a discount.

€1-50 seriously, fcuk, thats great value,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,552 ✭✭✭pakalasa

How old were these? Did you do them with the hot iron?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,404 ✭✭✭naughto

iam off to maam cross to morrow with the father in law with sheep
    have no idea about sheep only that they taste good

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,296 ✭✭✭leg wax

pakalasa wrote: »
    How old were these? Did you do them with the hot iron?
    2 weeks old and yes hot iron,:mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,786 ✭✭✭✭whelan1

i made 1.80 a kg so close enough :D:D
    but what did you make? what did they cost you?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,825 ✭✭✭Sharpshooter82

whelan1 wrote: »
    but what did you make? what did they cost you?
    you see i dont rely on the farm for income as im employed full time.
    so all i have to cover is the feed and the orginal cost of the calf.
    im just on my second year of running my own little patch so still figuring somethings out

Had a HMY heifer calf today came 10 days early. Came up from the field and i seen this calf popping around the field and another cow taking the calf of her. Heifer wont look at her calf now

jersey101 wrote: »
    Had a HMY heifer calf today came 10 days early. Came up from the field and i seen this calf popping around the field and another cow taking the calf of her. Heifer wont look at her calf now
    have a smashing hmy red and white heifer calf that was born in january, think he has the red gene

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2057039365

How was his first thought yak and not the Scottish looking cow at least!

have a smashing hmy red and white heifer calf that was born in january, think he has the red gene

had a nice red and white red heifer. Quarter NR and it died last week. Gutted

had 1 nr heifer here too and she also died:eek:

i only said to the father the week before the calf was born wouldn't it be nice if we got a red heifer like her mother and we did but she came backwards and i pulled the muscles in her back legs. She mustnt have been able for the antibiotics to help her stand

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,825 ✭✭✭Sharpshooter82

i only said to the father the week before the calf was born wouldn't it be nice if we got a red heifer like her mother and we did but she came backwards and i pulled the muscles in her back legs. She mustnt have been able for the antibiotics to help her stand
    never nice when you lose one

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭Conmaicne Mara

naughto wrote: »
    iam off to maam cross to morrow with the father in law with sheep
    have no idea about sheep only that they taste good

Good luck, what ye selling? They've picked up there in the past fortnight. I'll be heading down for a sandwich, tae (@McHughs), and the craic :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,701 ✭✭✭moy83

Good luck, what ye selling? They've picked up there in the past fortnight. I'll be heading down for a sandwich, tae (@McHughs), and the craic :D
    How about the cattle ? I was a bit disappointed in them a few weeks ago . I think they are gone to monday evening now ?

never nice when you lose one

when ye have a unique one lyk the one i had its fairly sickening. Would have brought a nice bit of colour to the herd