Today was a good day

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,255 ✭✭✭✭Esoteric_

Fair play, OP. That took some guts. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 370 ✭✭genuine leather

Well done Daroxtar.
    The rest of the guys must be very grateful for your balls and determination getting what you deserve and entitled to. Construction work is damn hard enough without having to put up with that sh1te.
    Good job

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,363 ✭✭✭✭cantdecide

@OP- I couldn't be happier to hear your story. Very well done. The industry needs more of these stories...

A lot of contractors these days relying more on the old fashioned in and out, domestic and maintenance work and telling the QS's to go jump. Repeat work and recommendations are putting more food on peoples' tables these days IME.

I was in the glazing business with my dad and in recent years there has been a LOT of evidence of QS's making fools of people offering them a fake 'Look, beat this other price we've gotten and the job's yours' advantage. Cue a massive gulp and a future filled with sleepless nights of cash flow nightmares. The truth is QS's often have great difficulty getting contractors to even tender for the work these days. ie they're struggling 'to get their three prices'.

My dad's still a glazing contractor. Last week he had a call from a QS he did a lot of work with in the past who tried to spin him a yarn that if he gave a decent quote for a job, there was a big chance it could go to him.

My dad told him "send on the drawings and €1500".

When the QS asked him what he's on about he said "Look, I know you're in tow with Such and Such Glazing. You're asking me to spend two days pricing and filling out pre-tender docs and then you'll give the job to Such and Such again. I really don't feel like helping you to make fools of all of us so they're my terms- pay me for the time I put into helping you get your three prices before giving the job to Such and Such . I'll put it to you this way- I'm doing a shop front that will make me €1200. If I take on your 40k contract, I'll be lucky to break even".
    Some contractors are definitely screwing people over and reaping in the extra earnings for themselves.

I don't think many employers are "screwing" too many. At least, I don't think contractors are profiting from the exploitation. IME Contractors are selling the family silver to get work. They are then having to exploit tradesmen in order to stay in business. The bottom line is that we, in construction, collectively are screwed, from the top to the bottom.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,584 ✭✭✭Kevhog1988

cantdecide wrote: »
    @OP- I couldn't be happier to hear your story. Very well done. The industry needs more of these stories...

A lot of contractors these days relying more on the old fashioned in and out, domestic and maintenance work and telling the QS's to go jump. Repeat work and recommendations are putting more food on peoples' tables these days IME.

I was in the glazing business with my dad and in recent years there has been a LOT of evidence of QS's making fools of people offering them a fake 'Look, beat this other price we've gotten and the job's yours' advantage. Cue a massive gulp and a future filled with sleepless nights of cash flow nightmares. The truth is QS's often have great difficulty getting contractors to even tender for the work these days. ie they're struggling 'to get their three prices'.

My dad's still a glazing contractor. Last week he had a call from a QS he did a lot of work with in the past who tried to spin him a yarn that if he gave a decent quote for a job, there was a big chance it could go to him.

My dad told him "send on the drawings and €1500".

When the QS asked him what he's on about he said "Look, I know you're in tow with Such and Such Glazing. You're asking me to spend two days pricing and filling out pre-tender docs and then you'll give the job to Such and Such again. I really don't feel like helping you to make fools of all of us so they're my terms- pay me for the time I put into helping you get your three prices before giving the job to Such and Such . I'll put it to you this way- I'm doing a shop front that will make me €1200. If I take on your 40k contract, I'll be lucky to break even".

I don't think many employers are "screwing" too many. At least, I don't think contractors are profiting from the exploitation. IME Contractors are selling the family silver to get work. They are then having to exploit tradesmen in order to stay in business. The bottom line is that we, in construction, collectively are screwed, from the top to the bottom.

Im a qs.... Were not all bad tbh. But i do work on the subcontract side of things so i also battle it out with main contractors who have no interest in giving me the work.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 552 ✭✭✭smee again

There's a fcukin' pimp in every trade. Delighted for you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51 ✭✭jack7

delighted for u.Well Done::D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,564 ✭✭✭Daroxtar

Just got home after a great day at work. For some bizarre reason I was motivated and content all day :pac:. The ape still hasn't said anything to anybody about what has happened apart from muttering to someone that someone had caused a lot of problems..... I can't help comparing him to Lance Armstrong.

Anyway the car is taxed, the ESB bill is paid, the mortgage is covered and we are going for a meal tomorrow for the first time in a long time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 470 ✭✭Mr.McLovin

I'm glad I clicked into this thread, cheered me up.

A victory for the little guy, for once!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 738 ✭✭✭Gaillimh1976

Mr.McLovin wrote: »
    I'm glad I clicked into this thread, cheered me up.

A victory for the little guy, for once!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,787 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

Daroxtar wrote: »
    The ape still hasn't said anything to anybody about what has happened apart from muttering to someone that someone had caused a lot of problems.....
    How is he even still working there? Surely he should be talking to police right now?

I have two friends that used to be in construction and they have plenty of similar stories. It wouldn't even surprise me if it was the same people involved, those types always seem to be able to land on their feet. I've told them they should write a book on their experiences. the amount of shoddy work that took place during the boom and to this day is incredible. People don't realise what kind of poor building their living in and on top of.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 272 ✭✭kopkidda

Great story , delighted I clicked on this link.....Happy friday all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,253 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

Well done OP.

I was stung in january of this year to the tune of just over 3 grand....2 builders who just decided i wasn't getting paid. Plenty of excuses and hot air...in the end i gave up chasing as it was too much hassle for me and was taking over my thoughts all the time.

Both of them have called me since looking me to do more work....both got the same answer....pay me for the last job or fúck off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,829 ✭✭✭Nemeses

Daroxtar wrote: »
    Just got home after a great day at work. For some bizarre reason I was motivated and content all day :pac:. The ape still hasn't said anything to anybody about what has happened apart from muttering to someone that someone had caused a lot of problems..... I can't help comparing him to Lance Armstrong.

Anyway the car is taxed, the ESB bill is paid, the mortgage is covered and we are going for a meal tomorrow for the first time in a long time.

Drinks are you on later are they?

count me in :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,462 ✭✭✭✭WoollyRedHat

It's these kind of victories against the bastards of this world that give me faith.

If there is no recourse, then this people are allowed to continue to be assholes and walk over people.

Fair play.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 236 ✭✭davlacey

where they just ripping the new lads that started?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,381 ✭✭✭Doom

I worked as a union shop steward for a couple of years in a company with 120+ employees, I was always in constant amazement with how little management knew about management, employee rights and the law.....this company was also family ran.
    The owner was know to say...."its my company I can do what I want"
    Anyway we enjoyed showing him he couldn't..... :-)