If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

DCM 2013: Mentored Novices Thread......Take 2

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 79 ✭✭fruit pastille

AlsoRan - I had a very similar incident last week during a 16 miler - got very tired towards the end and fell off a kerb flat onto my face. Limped a bit but nothing worse than a skinned hand and a bruised ego. Poor you :o:o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,355 ✭✭✭ooter

16 mile LSR this morning,mentally i was strong the whole way through but my legs were gone for the last few miles.i'll put it down to drinking 5 days on the trot in portugal this week and the diet going totally out the window.:eek:
    some amount of people running in the phoenix park this morning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 547 ✭✭✭shayno90

Did 16 miles myself over the weekend but did not go exactly to plan.
    Fatigue got up with me and had to walk a good bit of mile 14 and half of mile 15. Need to really prepare myself before next LSR of 18 miles next week.

Hoping this doesn't happen during then next run as was the first time I had to actually walk during the training plan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 852 ✭✭✭shortstuff!

Well done on all the LSRs this weekend guys... The tough ones will only make you stronger! Delighted to hit 40miles this week, never thought I'd see the day:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 136 ✭✭quinlivan

Ran my 19 mile lsr today - happy out with both my time and pace.

Something I have noticed though is how gack the gels make me feel. I switched to Jelly Babies for the past two LSRs and have found them perfect.

What are ye all using?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 10,865 ✭✭✭✭Murph_D

Gels and jelly babies - same thing, just sugar. Whatever floats the boat. Gels tend to be easier to carry because they are more concentrated. You will get used to the "gackness".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32 Martypk

quinlivan wrote: »
    Ran my 19 mile lsr today - happy out with both my time and pace.

Something I have noticed though is how gack the gels make me feel. I switched to Jelly Babies for the past two LSRs and have found them perfect.

What are ye all using?

Hi Quinlivan. Well done on your run.
    I deliberately haven`t used gels on my last few lsr`s just to try to build up my natural stamina but I`m also thinking of using sweets instead of gels. Gonna try these on the 19 and 20 lsrs coming up to see how I go.

I did my 18 lsr yesterday evening. Great weather for running. I tried to keep the pace at 10min miles but couldnt keep it going and slowed down the last 5 miles. Time was 3hr 4 minutes with my right calf nearly locked up. Time for new runners I think.

Well done to everyone on those lsr`s yesterday.

I think I am going through my marmalade phase with gels - they were fine, then following one bad experience I just cant seem to stomach them. I wouldnt mind but I just ordered a 30pk.

I worked out the stats of Bassetts Jelly Babies (€1/bag in Tesco) and 4 Jelly Babies = 1 Gel. I have been taking 2 Jelly Babies every 5K and it seems to be working fine for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 535 ✭✭✭jmcc99_98

I think I am going through my marmalade phase with gels - they were fine, then following one bad experience I just cant seem to stomach them. I wouldnt mind but I just ordered a 30pk.

I worked out the stats of Bassetts Jelly Babies (€1/bag in Tesco) and 4 Jelly Babies = 1 Gel. I have been taking 2 Jelly Babies every 5K and it seems to be working fine for me.

Hi quinlivan, I am new to gels, but I have been testing them on longish runs, not for added energy but just to make sure I can stomach them, and so far so good. I dont particularly like them either so I am interested in the use of jelly babies.

While the Carb/Protein/Kcal ratios might be similar, does the body absorb the nutrients as quickly from a jelly baby as it does from a gel? I dont know the answer to this but it would be pointless taking jelly babys for Carb replacement only for it to take 4 hours to absorb the carbs (I have no idea whether this is correct) I am just trying to find out some info from some of ye who are probably more knowledgable on such things

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,934 ✭✭✭career_move

jmcc99_98 wrote: »
    Hi quinlivan, I am new to gels, but I have been testing them on longish runs, not for added energy but just to make sure I can stomach them, and so far so good. I dont particularly like them either so I am interested in the use of jelly babies.

While the Carb/Protein/Kcal ratios might be similar, does the body absorb the nutrients as quickly from a jelly baby as it does from a gel? I dont know the answer to this but it would be pointless taking jelly babys for Carb replacement only for it to take 4 hours to absorb the carbs (I have no idea whether this is correct) I am just trying to find out some info from some of ye who are probably more knowledgable on such things

What I find with jelly babies and sweets in general when I'm running is that it takes a lot of energy/saliva (relatively speaking ;)) to chew them and it's far easier to just down a gel. I know they taste ick and after taking 4 or 5 of them during a marathon they taste especially ick but I would prefer them any day to sweets

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 251 ✭✭Joleigh

Well I went for a run on sat after resting for 2 weeks (apart from gym work). I did 10k fast and really enjoyed it. Went for my LSR yesterday. Was supposed to be doing 15 miles but was unsure after resting for 2 weeks so did 12. My achilles was fine and I was delighted, until mile 8 my knee started to stiffen up (old injury from 2008 marathon). Tried to ignore it and ran the next 4 miles in pain. got home, stretched and the pain went away. I got into the car later and felt like something was digging into my back but there was nothing there. Everytime I sit down now its like something is sticking out of my lower back :( And I still feel pretty stiff after the 12 mile run. All this resting and injury has seriously interfered with my training and I fear I will never catch up in time for the DCM. I might just have to settle for the half on 21st (if my body allows it). Back to physio tomorrow morning. Boo Hiss.

Joleigh wrote: »
    Well I went for a run on sat after resting for 2 weeks (apart from gym work). I did 10k fast and really enjoyed it. Went for my LSR yesterday. Was supposed to be doing 15 miles but was unsure after resting for 2 weeks so did 12. My achilles was fine and I was delighted, until mile 8 my knee started to stiffen up (old injury from 2008 marathon). Tried to ignore it and ran the next 4 miles in pain. got home, stretched and the pain went away. I got into the car later and felt like something was digging into my back but there was nothing there. Everytime I sit down now its like something is sticking out of my lower back :( And I still feel pretty stiff after the 12 mile run. All this resting and injury has seriously interfered with my training and I fear I will never catch up in time for the DCM. I might just have to settle for the half on 21st (if my body allows it). Back to physio tomorrow morning. Boo Hiss.

Sorry to hear it Joleigh :( Hope the physio gets you sorted

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 198 ✭✭npresto

Ran 30.29km LSR on Sunday morning after dying all day Sat with a hangover from a wedding on Friday in Waterford. Got a bit dizzy and nauseous at about 29.5km but it only lasted about 20 secs. Downed 2 gels and 1 Litre of water with High 5 Electrolyte tablets. Legs were knackered but it was more from the dancing at the wedding on Friday.

http://connect.garmin.com/activity/372427508

Last week was the highest mileage I will be doing over 7 days but I've 2 X 32km LSRs to come.

Roll on Oct-28!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 228 ✭✭geekington

Really nice weekend for me - after a really tough LT session on Thurs I took Friday and Saturday easy doing 4miles and 8miles easy. I really feel like I slowly coming in to shape as the easy running on Sat was a lot quicker than I expected and I really had to work hard to keeop the apce down but even still it was faster than my easy runs have been up to now.

Had my long run yesterday morning and was kind of dreading it as I was expecting it to be wet and windy but thankfully apart from some showers the weather held out.

Ran 3miles from my apartment down to the PP and met up with a few guys from my club. It was really nice running with a good crew as it kept the pace in check and everyone was full of conversation. Took a quick pitstop after 12miles for gels (15miles for me) and then headed out for the last bit. I really enjoyed this section as I felt really strong and while I was keeping the pace down it was nice to feel it creeping up with no increased effort. Finished after 22miles but felt I could have kept going. Overall average pace was 7.18p/m which was great and it has given me really good confidence going forward.

For logistical reasons I had to run/walk about 2miles after this while I wouldn't normally do it, the inadvertant cool down did help!! Was buzzing afterwards so treated myself to a beer and pizza to watch the hurling! 75miles for the week was great and I can feel the excitement building for DCM!

Quick question - for anyone doing the P&D plan (55mile+) - how many 20mile plus runs do we have left?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 82 ✭✭BarneyJ

Ran my LSR of 18 miles on Saturday in the Phoenix Park. This is the furthest I've run since 2001! I didn't get out until after 5pm and the weather was horrible. There was a wintery feel to it with wind and rain. However I was very pleased with the run. Maybe the lower temperatures were the key. It felt better than the 17 mile LSR the previous Saturday. Pace wise, I'm not so sure if I did the right thing. I didn't run any of it at PMP but not at real easy pace either. My PMP is 8 min/mile but I ran this at an average 8:33 min/mile pace. So I don't know if this was wise.
    Took a rest day yesterday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 114 ✭✭jasonbourne.cs

got a 16 mile LSR done yesterday , longest distance to date but also more hilly , felt it towards the end and the 2nd last mile was uphill so didn't help but pushed on regardless clocking in at around 10 mins a mile overall

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 67 ✭✭ganone

What is the general thinking on wearing racing flats for the marathon? I have a relatively new pair of Asics Piranha that served me well in the rock n’ roll half and will wear them in the race series half…

Would it be risky to only have completed a couple of half-marathons in them before taking on 26+ miles on the day? (also did a handful of half-marathons in a previous pair)

Should I be doing at least one 20+ mile road run in them?

How many gels are people planning on taking for DCM? High5 packet 3per hours- don't think I could carry that many never mind take them! Think I'll bring jellie babies too in case I get sick of gels.

On another note, Im racing Athlone 1/2 Saturday, my pb is 2:14:09 (Bohermeen in March), this was my 1st time covering the distance with minimal training. would I be mad to follow the 2hr pacers?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,604 ✭✭✭skeleton_boy

Did someone post a link here earlier for reasonably priced high5 gels? Best start trying them out with the 20 milers on the horizon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 155 ✭✭dcorcaigh

Did someone post a link here earlier for reasonably priced high5 gels? Best start trying them out with the 20 milers on the horizon.

i think it was from wiggle, they were (still??) doing a 2for1 deal

BarneyJ wrote: »
    Pace wise, I'm not so sure if I did the right thing. I didn't run any of it at PMP but not at real easy pace either. My PMP is 8 min/mile but I ran this at an average 8:33 min/mile pace. So I don't know if this was wise.
    Took a rest day yesterday.
    I think this is fine but I wouldn't be doing it every week. IMO it would be better to go at 9 min/mi and if you want do your pace miles then
    ganone wrote: »
    What is the general thinking on wearing racing flats for the marathon? I have a relatively new pair of Asics Piranha that served me well in the rock n’ roll half and will wear them in the race series half…

Would it be risky to only have completed a couple of half-marathons in them before taking on 26+ miles on the day? (also did a handful of half-marathons in a previous pair)

Should I be doing at least one 20+ mile road run in them?
    I don't know much about racing flats but from what I've read on Krusty's log doing a marathon in them especially if you don't have a big running base could be a bit risky because of the extra strain they put on the calves
    How many gels are people planning on taking for DCM? High5 packet 3per hours- don't think I could carry that many never mind take them! Think I'll bring jellie babies too in case I get sick of gels.

On another note, Im racing Athlone 1/2 Saturday, my pb is 2:14:09 (Bohermeen in March), this was my 1st time covering the distance with minimal training. would I be mad to follow the 2hr pacers?
    I use 4/5 gels during the marathon. I start taking them around 6 miles and then every 3/4 miles depending

I don't think you'd be mad to follow the 2hr pacers. The worse that'll happen is you blow up but sure so what it's not your goal race. Only one way to find out. If I was you tomorrow I'd do one mile w/u at a slow pace then 2 miles at 9min/mi pace then one mile c/d. That'll give you a good feel for the pace. I'll be in Athlone as well so make sure you say hello

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 120 ✭✭raler

I’m due to step back to 13miles this Saturday, but have the half the following week when I’m supposed to do 19miles. Would going for the 19 this week be my best bet ?

Thanks in advance,
    R

Hi career_move,

Just looking at this weeks plan, I see the Athlone Metric and 2013 Athlone values for this week don't match. I am doing the HM on Saturday, so am assuming is:

Monday 3m
    Tuesday 4m with strides
    Wednesday Thursday Rest
    Friday 2m

raler wrote: »

I’m due to step back to 13miles this Saturday, but have the half the following week when I’m supposed to do 19miles. Would going for the 19 this week be my best bet ?

Thanks in advance,
    R

Ya sounds good
    Hi career_move,

Just looking at this weeks plan, I see the Athlone Metric and 2013 Athlone values for this week don't match. I am doing the HM on Saturday, so am assuming is:

Monday 3m
    Tuesday 4m with strides
    Wednesday Thursday Rest
    Friday 2m

Hey you're the opposition I'm not giving you any tips :rolleyes:
    Ya that's right. If you prefer tomorrow you can do the same as shortstuff (and me ;)) 1m w/u, 2m @ HMP, 1m c/d

I use 4/5 gels during the marathon. I start taking them around 6 miles and then every 3/4 miles depending

I don't think you'd be mad to follow the 2hr pacers. The worse that'll happen is you blow up but sure so what it's not your goal race. Only one way to find out. If I was you tomorrow I'd do one mile w/u at a slow pace then 2 miles at 9min/mi pace then one mile c/d. That'll give you a good feel for the pace. I'll be in Athlone as well so make sure you say hello

Sounds good, nothing ventured nothing gained! Will give that a try tomorrow, thanks:) Good luck with your race!

Tried 2miles at 9min/mi, ended up 8:44, 8:57. Won't say it was easy but it's my 5th day running in a row including a 20miler so hoping the couple of days rest will make the pace feel easier.... Will give it a shot anyway, nothing to lose!

What's everyone else aiming for in athlone? Think there's a few of us doing it.

Tried 2miles at 9min/mi, ended up 8:44, 8:57. Won't say it was easy but it's my 5th day running in a row including a 20miler so hoping the couple of days rest will make the pace feel easier.... Will give it a shot anyway, nothing to lose!

What's everyone else aiming for in athlone? Think there's a few of us doing it.
    Good stuff. Well done. I'd say you'll be well able for 2hrs :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,355 ✭✭✭ooter

Did 16 miles LSR last weekend,due to drop back to 12 this weekend and then up to 18 the following weekend but the HM in the phoenix park is that weekend so would it be OK to swap the 2 around or is it too much doing 16 and 18 mile LSR's within a week?

ooter wrote: »
    Did 16 miles LSR last weekend,due to drop back to 12 this weekend and then up to 18 the following weekend but the HM in the phoenix park is that weekend so would it be OK to swap the 2 around or is it too much doing 16 and 18 mile LSR's within a week?

Nah that'd be grand. Keep the pace sensible ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,420 ✭✭✭Ososlo

10 easy miles this evening incorporating some of the hills from the Dublin Half in the Phoenix Park. Lovely and enjoyable and had company for some of it which is a very rare thing for me. Found the hills a lot easier due to the cooler temperatures.
    Going to steal a little tip from Wowzer's log where he's adding .2 of a mile to the end of his lsrs. Brilliant idea! hope he doesn't mind!
    16 days with no alcohol:eek: the things I do for my running:eek: Might have to break my pledge at the Leonard Cohen concert on Thursday. What's a bit of Leonard without a glass in hand:(
    Good luck to all doing Athlone and routing for you for your sub 2 shortstuff!
    Glad we haven't had any injuries this week or at least none reported (I think/hope)