Zimmermann at it again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,626 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

valknut wrote: »
    I do indeed, have read two of his books. That could have been opera who made that video and my opinion would still be the same. Did you watch the video?

No.. I'm not going to spend 30 seconds listening to that man speak let alone 30 minutes.

Besides, I don't think I'll have my views on racial issues changed by a former grand wizard of the KKK.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,299 ✭✭✭✭MadsL

"Show me evidence but don't produce any actual evidence because it doesn't prove anything"

http://myclerk.myorangeclerk.com/CaseDetail.aspx?CaseID=5782626

He was charged for battery on an officer as well as resisting arrest

'Basically arguing with a cop' my hole

You realise if an American cop holds you by the sleeve and you pull away, that's assault and resisting arrest.

He was charged with "CR-RESISTING OFFICER WITHOUT VIOLENCE" what does that tell you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 129 ✭✭valknut

No.. I'm not going to spend 30 seconds listening to that man speak let alone 30 minutes.

Besides, I don't think I'll have my views on racial issues changed by a former grand wizard of the KKK.

Well if that's the way you feel fair enough. But you should know he is not proud of his Klan roots and has often condemned them. He is a racial realist not a racist, he believes every race has a right to preserve its heritage.

Whatever about his past this video is well worth a watch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,161 ✭✭✭Amazingfun

Here's a good video about the case for those who missed it:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,161 ✭✭✭Amazingfun

Media jump the gun again: Giddy reports George Zimmerman ‘arrested’ for pointing gun at wife appear to be false

http://twitchy.com/2013/09/09/media-jump-the-gun-again-giddy-reports-george-zimmerman-arrested-for-pointing-weapon-at-wife-appear-to-be-false/

Jake1 wrote: »

We may see more evidence, but listening to that 911 call she sounds very calm through all of that and frankly, a little dramatic. You can pretty much an expect angry confrontation when you out someones location who has been receiving death threats.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,563 ✭✭✭dd972

Thought this was a Bob Dylan thread, humph :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 129 ✭✭valknut

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,533 ✭✭✭Jester252

Jake1 wrote: »

Good to see someone read the article before jumping on the band wagon.

"And he's going to shoot us,"

I'm unconvinced he actually said that...sounds prompted by the dispatchers question if you listen to the call.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,779 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

MadsL wrote: »
    I'm unconvinced he actually said that...sounds prompted by the dispatchers question if you listen to the call.

............. Dublin ............... :D

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,094 ✭✭✭jd007

Dr. Bre wrote: »
    is this the bloke who invented facebook?

No, no its the guy who did the music for the Batman films.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,903 ✭✭✭Napper Hawkins

jd007 wrote: »
    No, no its the guy who did the music for the Batman films.

Bono?

............. Dublin ............... :D

*backs away slowly*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,635 ✭✭✭Pumpkinseeds

Bogota wrote: »
    Where is 'the kid was a scumbag' coming from?

He had been in trouble at school for marijuana and getting in a few fights, if that defines a scumbag then I'd argue that 50% of Irish males would be classed as scumbags! Who hasn't smoked weed and gotten in a fight in their teenage days?

Zimmerman was accused of being a racist by his own cousin. He rang the police on 47 separate occassions to report suspicious activities involving black males. He was clearly a racist.

Zimmerman has been involved in domestic battery, accused of child molestation and became violent with a police officer before. How anyone can defend him while attacking that poor kid's character I'll never know...
    After being seen on cctv defacing school property he was searched, he was found to be carrying a flat head screwdriver and 12 pieces of jewellery which he denied was his. He was suspected of being involved in local burglaries. The kid was a scumbag, like it or not and if he hadn't been somewhere he shouldn't have been he might still be alive. Lets not loose the run of ourselves hand wringing for a dead scumbag.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,017 ✭✭✭✭yoyo

After being seen on cctv defacing school property he was searched, he was found to be carrying a flat head screwdriver and 12 pieces of jewellery which he denied was his. He was suspected of being involved in local burglaries. The kid was a scumbag, like it or not and if he hadn't been somewhere he shouldn't have been he might still be alive. Lets not loose the run of ourselves hand wringing for a dead scumbag.

Was he not visiting his father in the area at the time? Did he have any burglary equipment on him when he was killed? I can't remember the details fully but I gathered this was not a case of "he was up to no good" at the time he was shot.

Nick

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,154 ✭✭✭Rented Mule

donvito99 wrote: »
    not everyone who's assisted in a road accident (lots of us here I should think) has shot someone dead though. I think the bad far, far outweighs the good.

You're right. He should have let the other scumbag beat him to death and not take any actions.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,635 ✭✭✭Pumpkinseeds

yoyo wrote: »
    Was he not visiting his father in the area at the time? Did he have any burglary equipment on him when he was killed? I can't remember the details fully but I gathered this was not a case of "he was up to no good" at the time he was shot.

Nick
    To be entirely honest, as bad as it may sound, I don't actually care. I just hate seeing a scumbag being canonised by the public and the media. It's sh*t like that which means there will never be a truly equal society. So long as people keep wanting to play the race card.

Yeah you see the thing is we mainly hear the "racial aspect" from those seeking to demonise Zimmerman.

Meanwhile we have events such as a one year old shot by two gang members barely making the news.

The colour of the participants in the Zimmerman case is only of interest in the fact that they were not of the same race.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,006 ✭✭✭✭end of the road

The kid was a scumbag, like it or not and if he hadn't been somewhere he shouldn't have been he might still be alive.
    who said he was somewhere he shouldn't have been? even if he was somewhere he supposibly should have been and he came into contact with zimmerman he would have been shot
    Lets not loose the run of ourselves hand wringing for a dead scumbag.
    he was murdered because of the colour of his skin by a piece of vermin who was involved in domestic violence and other violent crimes so i think a bit of hand ringing is fine

I'm very highly educated. I know words, i have the best words, nobody has better words then me.

people keep wanting to play the race card.
    yeah, we treated people like **** for god knows how long because of the colour of their skin and were surprised that even to this day many don't trust us

I'm very highly educated. I know words, i have the best words, nobody has better words then me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,867 ✭✭✭✭BattleCorp

who said he was somewhere he shouldn't have been? even if he was somewhere he supposibly should have been and he came into contact with zimmerman he would have been shot

he was murdered because of the colour of his skin by a piece of vermin who was involved in domestic violence and other violent crimes so i think a bit of hand ringing is fine

You are talking bollix. Trayvon Martin wasn't murdered. He was killed in self defence. That's what the court found.

Now, if you have any more evidence than the court had, why didn't you supply it at the time of the trial.

I'm not saying who was right or wrong in this case, because I think both Zimmerman and Martin were both wrong. They both did dumb sh1t.

It wasn't murder, it was self defence. The circumstances leading up to the act might be fcuked up because of the actions of both parties, but murder it certainly wasn't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,442 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

This first 45 seconds of this pretty much sums up how I feel about the case.

To Sum up the video....

You can go to florida

You can get a gun.

You start following an unarmed kid who's doing nothing.

You call the police. The police tell you not to follow the kid.

You follow anyway.

You start a confrontation with said kid.

If at any point you feel threatened you shoot the kid.

And according to Florida you did your best.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

You guys could form a religion such is your ability to ignore facts, call yourselves the trayvonites.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,867 ✭✭✭✭BattleCorp

Grayson wrote: »
    This first 45 seconds of this pretty much sums up how I feel about the case.

To Sum up the video....

You can go to florida

You can get a gun.

You start following an unarmed kid who's doing nothing.

You call the police. The police tell you not to follow the kid.

You follow anyway.

You start a confrontation with said kid.

If at any point you feel threatened you shoot the kid.

And according to Florida you did your best.

And my oversimplified version............. you can shoot anybody you like in self defence as long as they are the same colour as yourself. Anything else and it's a racist crime. :mad::mad::mad::mad::mad::mad:

BattleCorp wrote: »
    You are talking bollix. Trayvon Martin wasn't murdered. He was killed in self defence. That's what the court found.

Now, if you have any more evidence than the court had, why didn't you supply it at the time of the trial.

I'm not saying who was right or wrong in this case, because I think both Zimmerman and Martin were both wrong. They both did dumb ****.

It wasn't murder, it was self defence. The circumstances leading up to the act might be fcuked up because of the actions of both parties, but murder it certainly wasn't.

It was self defence. Those skittles has preservatives that could have really hurt Zimmerman if he'd been forced to eat them. Hell, he could have lost a filling.

Let me get this straight, you're saying that if I start a fight, then if I kill the guy it's self defence? Wanna meet somewhere in florida and we'll sort this out with good old fashioned fisticuffs? . No firearms of course. I swear I won't bring one. ;)

At the point where the gun went off the guy might have feared for himself, but only because he started a fight with someone.

And my oversimplified version............. you can shoot anybody you like in self defence as long as they are the same colour as yourself. Anything else and it's a racist crime. :mad::mad::mad::mad::mad::mad:

If you shoot someone of the same colour it's definitely not racism. But if you shoot someone of a different colour it may or may not be racism.

I think the main racism bit came into it because the Florida authorities didn't bother filing charges at first. They just ignored it.

I love the daily show :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,158 ✭✭✭Arawn

Grayson wrote: »
    It was self defence. Those skittles has preservatives that could have really hurt Zimmerman if he'd been forced to eat them. Hell, he could have lost a filling.

Let me get this straight, you're saying that if I start a fight, then if I kill the guy it's self defence? Wanna meet somewhere in florida and we'll sort this out with good old fashioned fisticuffs? . No firearms of course. I swear I won't bring one. ;)

At the point where the gun went off the guy might have feared for himself, but only because he started a fight with someone.

what is your definition of starting a fight??? neighbourhood watch leader watching an unknown kid in the neighbourhood??

Trayvon Martin wasn't murdered.
    yes he was, and zimmerman got lucky
    He was killed in self defence. That's what the court found.
    no he wasn't
    It wasn't murder
    yes it was
    it was self defence.
    no it wasn't, zimmerman is a piece of vermin who just got lucky
    murder it certainly wasn't.
    it was