Most annoying mispronunciation

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,076 ✭✭✭Reindeer

Is that the one with the stress on the beginning of the word? OIR-eachtas?

Well said. It sometimes takes an outsider to state what should be obvious to everyone.

It's a shame that the Hiberno-English dialect is being wiped out by some artificial need to speak like everyone on 'the mainland'.

I dated a lovely woman from Birmingham for a bit. You would have enjoyed the playful arguments we had when we disagreed on which one of us was the real English speaker. My favorite, er favourite, was to tell her that "English is not meant to be spoken like you're asking a question every time". She always called me out on "Prolly". I don't even realize, er realise, I am saying it. I blame the internet. ;) and stuff... prolly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,607 ✭✭✭stoneill

Reindeer wrote: »
    With my Texas accent, it's usually just "loom'nim". Coz, like, I'm from Murca and stuff.

Y'all come back now- hear?
    Texas is a great place - at least Austin and San Antonio are.

kylith wrote: »
    I totally understand what you're saying about regional dialects and colloquialisms, but why the hells do Americans use the phrase 'write me'? It's totally nonsensical. 'Write me a letter every day', that's fine. 'Write to me every day' is also fine. 'Write me every day' sounds like they want you to carry around a notebook and, every morning, write the word 'me' in it. It just makes no sense!

me

I totally understand what you're saying about regional dialects and colloquialisms, but why the hells do Americans use the phrase 'write me'? It's totally nonsensical. 'Write me a letter every day', that's fine. 'Write to me every day' is also fine. 'Write me every day' sounds like they want you to carry around a notebook and, every morning, write the word 'me' in it. It just makes no sense!

There's a load of them. Lemme see what I can rustle up that I noticed in Ireland:

'Come in to me' - In America this would be sorta rude ;)

'What are ya after?' or 'x is after x' - I know this is based on how the question would be phrased in the Irish language, but it still sounds very odd to an American.

'Give us a shout' - can you not generate your own shouting? In all fairness, the Texas/southern version would be "Give me a holler/I'll holler atcha".

'What's this then?' What is it then VS now? There's a difference?

'Us' - perhaps it's for dis-associative reasons, but the term 'us' seems to replace 'me' in much of the conversation 'we' take part in. And by 'we', I mean 'me'. Er, prolly. And stuff.

'How're ya gettin on?' - How am I gettin on what? Still, prolly better than ''Sup?"

'Alright?" - this is a greeting? All right...

'Ah, sure, look it' - I stopped waiting for that sentence to end a few years back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,223 ✭✭✭Michael D Not Higgins

'How're ya gettin on?'

Said the horse to the one legged man

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,292 ✭✭✭BrensBenz

There's a load of them. Lemme see what I can rustle up that I noticed in Ireland:

'What are ya after?' or 'x is after x' - I know this is based on how the question would be phrased in the Irish language, but it still sounds very odd to an American.

'Give us a shout' - can you not generate your own shouting? In all fairness, the Texas/southern version would be "Give me a holler/I'll holler atcha".

'Us' - perhaps it's for dis-associative reasons, but the term 'us' seems to replace 'me' in much of the conversation 'we' take part in. And by 'we', I mean 'me'. Er, prolly. And stuff.

'How're ya gettin on?' - How am I gettin on what? Still, prolly better than ''Sup?"

'Ah, sure, look it' - I stopped waiting for that sentence to end a few years back.

Janey, a...a...a...forner slagging our talking!
    I spent some time in Texas and spent a lot of that time searching my map for the mythical place they call Warshington, where they keep all their eejits. When I gave up and asked a local, they wanted to know if I meant Warshington DC or Warshington state!
    So, warsh your mouth out for criticising the way we bees talking, ya...ya...blowin ya.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8 linnebet

RyahnDAbewt instead of "roundabout", as heard on every AA Roadwatch broadcast. TroaTH instead of throat.

Slightly off the subject but people "passing" instead of "dying". When I hear that someone has "passed", I always expect the next word to be "wind".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,045 ✭✭✭✭gramar

The people who most abuse the English language are native speakers Ireland, UK, America, Austrailia etc We're all guilty of some fairly shocking use of the language.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,144 ✭✭✭locum-motion

If we're going to mention cases where the Merkins drop out a word, the this one is the one that gets me:

"I could care less."

The origins of this phrase, are of course, "I couldn't care less." as in, "the amount about which I care on that subject is so small, that it could not be any smaller."

This saying then mutated, so that it became the sarcastically reversed "Oh, like I could care less!"

So far, so good. Then it would appear that the sarcastic part of the sarcastic reversal was dropped, and now you hear (Merkin) people say "I could care less".

Great, so what you're saying is: "I do care about your issue. Perhaps not very much, but I do care at least a little bit. Or maybe I care a lot. I care about your issue, and the amount I care is an unspecified amount that is greater than 0, but with no upper limit."

Here's David Mitchell on the subject:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,648 ✭✭✭Cody Pomeray

I dated a lovely woman from Birmingham for a bit. You would have enjoyed the playful arguments we had when we disagreed on which one of us was the real English speaker. My favorite, er favourite, was to tell her that "English is not meant to be spoken like you're asking a question every time". She always called me out on "Prolly". I don't even realize, er realise, I am saying it. I blame the internet. ;) and stuff... prolly.

I'm sure there are many linguistic roots for the way Americans speak, based on various European and African languages. Prolly sounds like African American vernacular, but I don't really know a lot about it.

I remember being called out on saying "I have it done" in school, when it would be considered incorrect from a standard British grammatical viewpoint. In fact, that structure corresponds exactly with its Irish translation - "Tá sé déanta agam". I think it's a shame that any of us feel the need to correct those interesting little cultural artifacts, and adapt some boring universal language where we all sound the same.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,958 ✭✭✭✭Potential-Monke

People are incapable of pronoincing this:

603546723c380d62.jpg

It's pronounced Huu-har-den )the D is very soft). Not Hoe-Garden.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,745 ✭✭✭✭kylith

You'll find that a lot of Irish sayings or weird sentence structure is down to it being a direct translation from Irish. E.g. 'Give me a shout' = Lit 'Cuir glaoi orm'.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,045 ✭✭✭✭gramar

I'm sure there are many linguistic roots for the way Americans speak, based on various European and African languages. Prolly sounds like African American vernacular, but I don't really know a lot about it.

I remember being called out on saying "I have it done" in school, when it would be considered incorrect from a standard British grammatical viewpoint. In fact, that structure corresponds exactly with its Irish translation - "Tá sé déanta agam". I think it's a shame that any of us feel the need to correct those interesting little cultural artifacts, and adapt some boring universal language where we all sound the same.

Totally agree...listening to how different people express themselves adds colour to a language. One of the things I enjoy about getting home is listening to Irish people talk. I can say the same for when I'm in England - generally people's grammar is crap but it's authentic.
    Hearing someone from Yorkshire talking without using the word 'the' 'I'm going out te wash car' just wouldn't be the same if said properly.
    Listening to footballers after a game say things like 'we was fantastic out there today..we done really well, it was our team spirit what won us the game' wouldn't be the same otherwise.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 74 ✭✭robot7080

Eejit => Eegit

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 149 ✭✭fondue

603546723c380d62.jpg

But surely Huu-har-den is how people in Belgium pronounce it. I know I don't pronounce Paris the way somebody from France would. Don't see anything wrong with pronouncing it Hoe-Garden.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,473 ✭✭✭Wacker The Attacker

Growth is neither growf nor gross.

T is pronounced as T not S. As in city not sissy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 906 ✭✭✭LiamMc

'Us' and 'We' can also be an individual trying to gain support for their own argument, 'specially if it against another individual.

In Ireland it not seldom to hear "Losing my Religion" or "So angry I could spit". Most people would be suprised spitting is rude, "better out than in".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,536 ✭✭✭✭Tony EH

Ordin-giz and bananits in Dezember.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,648 ✭✭✭Cody Pomeray

603546723c380d62.jpg

Surely "Huu-har-den" would be the more annoying pronunciation in Ireland.

I'd let it go the first time, but I don't think I could sit and listen to someone go on about "Huu har den" over the course of a night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,594 ✭✭✭DoozerT6

People who go for a wonder round the shops. In Dezember.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 28,401 ✭✭✭✭Peregrinus

Swings and roundabouts. In Hiberno-English "write" is intransitive, but in US English it's transitive, so and American will promise to "write you", but an Irishman to "write to you"

It's the other way around for the verb "meet". As an Irishman, I'm happy to meet you any time, but an American will meet with you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84 ✭✭bonbondar

Weathering wrote: »
    Stupid person I know who says "I hurteded my toe" and call sudo cream sudeoed cream. They like ed

Sudo Crem :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,173 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Peregrinus wrote: »
    Swings and roundabouts. In Hiberno-English "write" is intransitive, but in US English it's transitive, so and American will promise to "write you", but an Irishman to "write to you"
    Reminds of being away scouting years back when a group of our 13/14 year old lads managed to get friendly with a group of Swedish girls and found a secluded spot to get to know them better,
    One of the girls in a heavy Swedish accent asked the guy, "Will you write me?", to which he responded, "WHAT!? Right here, where everyone else can see us?!"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,736 ✭✭✭Irish Guitarist

This is more getting someones name wrong than a mispronunciation but 'Stephen Hawkins'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,200 ✭✭✭Hoop66

This is more getting someones name wrong than a mispronunciation but 'Stephen Hawkins'.

See also Mary Hopkin,
    She must despair...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,217 ✭✭✭pcardin

Volkswagon
    Alpha Romeo
    Daysul

fecking tools...hate them :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 358 ✭✭Weevil

Hoop66 wrote: »
    See also Mary Hopkin,
    She must despair...

Also, Dr. Michael Hfuhruhurr.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,515 ✭✭✭zcorpian88

Adults that still pronounce hospital as "hospill" like the way a 5 year old would say it!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,473 ✭✭✭Wacker The Attacker

pcardin wrote: »
    Volkswagon
    Alpha Romeo
    Daysul

fecking tools...hate them :mad:

That's the troof roof.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,906 ✭✭✭✭Alf Veedersane

Cousint.