Possible move to Ireland

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,076 ✭✭✭Reindeer

Never pass up the opportunity to live in another country outside of the states(er, with a few notable exceptions, of course). There are a lot of ex-pat Americans on these boards, actually. They'll prolly jump in here and do a bit of a question and answer for you as well. I've been in Ireland almost 5 years now, and have been visiting since the 90's when I met some lads in California. I'm originally from Texas myself.

Despite what others have said, I think AH is the perfect forum to get an idea of what you're going to see when you visit Ireland ;)

Marcusm wrote: »
    It might be true of the breadth of US craft brewery but it's mightily undermined by the depth of the crap which predominates.

The craft Breweries are pretty good, and the selection of awesome beer in the States is..well, awesome. Having said that, I was pretty disappointed when I arrived here to find everyone nearly swilling Bud. :(

John Mason wrote: »
    Do not tell people you are irish unless you were born here. I frikken hate mercians who do this. idiots

It would be idiotic to believe they meant anything other than they were of Irish descent.

amber69 wrote: »
    As you are American my advice to you would be to speak less and listen more, go for it and best of luck.

Good advice for anyone, really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,310 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

It's a shame that the Irish feel that way about us "Yanks." Considering, for some of us, our families fled; starving and cold to some unknown land; losing their children and loved ones along the way only to get here, be conscripted into the army to fight alongside slaves against an "enemy" they knew nothing about, or a cause they knew nothing of. It's a shame you treat your "Yank" brothers and sisters with such disdain.
    All that, and some will still call you a traitor for leaving Ireland when there was no work here, by the people who can't see the forest for the trees...!
    But other than that, this is an opportunity to travel and get out of this freezer.
    Out of the drying pan and into the fire comes to mind.
    Don't worry, I'm not coming to build electric plants or new roads... I make beer.
    For a country that drinks a lot of it, there are probably many stupid rules about it. But I'm sure the regulars will love you :D

=-=

Imagine buying a house in an area Hurricane Katrina just hit, and you'll have a fair idea of what to look out for when buying/renting a house in Ireland; there is a lot of good ones, but as your an American, you may be taken for a fool. You say you have roots in Castlebar? Ask who can be trusted, and let them know you're on the way over - you may have a softer landing.

But yeah, rent for a year, and don't just buy when you come here. Better to be renting a hole, than owning the crater that it's in!

=-=

Not sure about America, but we love double negatives here.

=-=

Also working for Guinness will make you a local very quickly, I'd say.

Meangadh wrote: »
    Jesus the way some of ye are going on about the West of Ireland and the smaller towns and cities you'd swear we were living in a grossly underdeveloped country. Sure, it might not have the array of facilities that Dublin or a large city in the States might have, but most places in Ireland have the main facilities people need. Rural places in most other countries are far more isolated than here given that Ireland is so small. And the sense of community in a lot of the smaller places here more than makes up for any lacking there may be.

One thing I would say OP is get yourself a decent car and get used to driving over here- the roads can take practice for those perhaps used to driving on bigger roads. Whilst I said already that most places have the facilities you'd need, for anything you don't have at your immediate disposal, public transport isn't great here and a car really is essential.

Good luck with the move if you decide to come- like anywhere we have our fair share of idiots but for the most part Irish people are great.

At the very least, the OP is getting an idea of how terribly skewed boards can be towards Dublin. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 991 ✭✭✭SuperGrover

John Mason wrote: »
    Do not tell people you are irish unless you were born here. I frikken hate mercians who do this. idiots

Funny enough, I've never met anyone who identified themesleves as Mercians.... http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mercia

K.Flyer wrote: »
    Sure its a "country" half an hour, its a bit like the "country mile".

OP will learn quickly that travel times won't be anything like what he thinks they would be for looking at the map or google...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,310 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

Reindeer wrote: »
    OP will learn quickly that travel times won't be anything like what he thinks they would be for looking at the map or google...
    You mean 15 miles...
    on the motorway?
    on a regional road?
    on a regional road behind a tractor?
    on a regional road behind a tractor which is following a funeral?
    on a regional road behind a tractor which is following a funeral on a Sunday?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 546 ✭✭✭gufnork

Also be vigilant of foreigners from wealthy first world countries who have the choice to leave and work elsewhere but choose to stay and make it out like they hate the place when they mustn't really as they're still here. :)

meh, a lot of the time they stay more because it'd be too much upheaval to up stakes and move again than it is to stay and make the best of it. I wouldn't fancy trying to move my four little furry guys back over to England for example. You don't have to love a place to remain there. Having said that, I'm aware of how much it p!sses people off when foreigners slag off the place so I for one try and reign in the slagging as much as possible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 883 ✭✭✭anto9

P.S. , if the natives dont understand you ,talking louder wont help lol .Also don't wear checkered golf slacks if you want to blend in .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,987 ✭✭✭Legs.Eleven

gufnork wrote: »
    meh, a lot of the time they stay more because it'd be too much upheaval to up stakes and move again than it is to stay and make the best of it. I wouldn't fancy trying to move my four little furry guys back over to England for example. You don't have to love a place to remain there. Having said that, I'm aware of how much it p!sses people off when foreigners slag off the place so I for one try and reign in the slagging as much as possible.

Well then that's their problem, isn't it? There's plenty of things I don't like in Spain but if I actually hated it here, I'd leave. Fact of the matter is, there's more stuff keeping me here than not. If you can't be bothered bringing a few animals a couple of hundred miles away (which is not a big deal, let's face it) and you hate the place, then either you're extremely lazy and lacking any getup and go whatsoever (and really doesn't allow you to complain about the Irish having a similar attitude) or you actually like more about the place than you care to admit and are joining the "chronic moaning ex pat brigade" which I've witnessed everywhere I've lived and have partook in on more than one occasion till I told myself to cop on. If someone asks me for advice about moving to Spain (and they have many times through Boards), I'll tell them objectively what the story is and won't let my own personal experiences and emotions get in the way of that and also have some balance - the positive and the negatives.

If he has kids and a family or has no other option but to be there, I understand but otherwise it speaks volumes about the person making the comments.

Plenty of positives about Ireland too and I'm sure you can admit to that. You have to take the rough with the smooth wherever you go.

No, you don't have to love a place to stay there but if you stay in a place and you hate it and you have the option of leaving, then you're an idiot.

Well then that's their problem, isn't it? There's plenty of things I don't like in Spain but if I actually hated it here, I'd leave. Fact of the matter is, there's more stuff keeping me here than not. If you can't be bothered bringing a few animals a couple of hundred miles away (which is not a big deal, let's face it) and you hate the place, then either you're extremely lazy and lacking any getup and go whatsoever (and really doesn't allow you to complain about the Irish having a similar attitude) or you actually like more about the place than you care to admit and are joining the "chronic moaning ex pat brigade" which I've witnessed everywhere I've lived and have partook in on more than one occasion till I told myself to cop on. If someone asks me for advice about moving to Spain (and they have many times through Boards), I'll tell them objectively what the story is and won't let my own personal experiences and emotions get in the way of that.

If he has kids and a family or has no other option but to be there, I understand but otherwise it speaks volumes about the person making the comments.

Plenty of positives about Ireland too and I'm sure you can admit to that. You have to take the rough with the smooth wherever you go.

No, you don't have to love a place to stay there but if you stay in a place and you hate it and you have the option of leaving, then you're an idiot.

Well if they actively hate the place then fair enough, but it's not always practical for a person to just decide to leave. The cats were just one single example. And that's nothing to do with not being bothered but more the fact that cats are notoriously bad at travelling. I'm not saying its not do-able, I'm just saying it's not always as easy as deciding to leaves and then going.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,563 ✭✭✭dd972

I wouldn't worry too much about being accepted OP, someone with a U.S accent with one maternal great granny from Co Wherever is fawned over whereas Oisin Breathnach-O'Ceallaigh who speaks fluent Irish, has two Irish parents, spent every summer here growing up and holds an Irish passport is derided as a 'Tan' and a 'Brit' for being born an hour away and 'sounding English'.

Well if they actively hate the place then fair enough, but it's not always practical for a person to just decide to leave. The cats were just one single example. And that's nothing to do with not being bothered but more the fact that cats are notoriously bad at travelling. I'm not saying its not do-able, I'm just saying it's not always as easy as deciding to leaves and then going.

The Aussie has been posting over the years and hasn't written one positive thing about the country. Almost every post he's written in AH has been a criticism of some sort. He gives the impression he hates the place. I can take constructive criticism but when it simply comes across as spite or childish "revenge" (knowing you're going to get the backs up of Irish posters on an Irish message board) or even trolling (not saying that's what it is), then I have no time for it.

If I posted all the things I hated about Spain on a Spanish message board mentioning nothing positive whatsoever, I have an agenda and I think it's fair to say it'd reflect worse on me than those I'm complaining about.

Moaning ex pats can be found everywhere and should be avoided at all costs - they'd suck the life out of you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 339 ✭✭rustedtrumpet

Get over your romantic view of Ireland and questioning our supposed disdain for our 'brothers' from America. Different time, different place. The disdain probably lies in the massive cultural difference in America. You are American, we are Irish, we still don't generally care if youre 25% or 90% or what. What do you want, a red carpet rolled out in Castlebar notifying everyone of your arrival back home? You've already started spouting like all American's do by mentioning this...

Irish people take the piss out of anyone that's even 1% different, sure we take the piss instantly out of people from neighbouring counties, generally because it's funny and the people either A. don't get the joke or B. get offended by the joke.

Take a holiday sure, weekend over and see how you get on. Ireland's pretty tiny and small towns and their folk do tend to differ culturally from the larger (still small) cities.

The Aussie has been posting over the years and hasn't written one positive thing about the country. Almost every post he's written in AH has been a criticism of some sort. He gives the impression he hates the place. I can take constructive criticism but when it simply comes across as spite or childish "revenge" (knowing you're going to get the backs up of Irish posters on an Irish message board) or even trolling (not saying that's what it is), then I have no time for it.

If I posted all the things I hated about Spain on a Spanish message board mentioning nothing positive whatsoever, I have an agenda and I think it's fair to say it'd reflect worse on me than those I'm complaining about.

Moaning ex pats can be found everywhere and should be avoided at all costs - they'd suck the life out of you.

no argument from me there. To be fair though, I probably moaned just as much about my own country when I lived there. It just gets noticed a lot more when/if I do the same thing here.

Fair enough. People don't like hearing outsiders criticising their country, it's true but when it's constant, you kind of want to tell them to **** off home (I'm specifically referring to immigrants that have a choice to be where they are, not those who have no choice - often they're the ones that are treated the worst and have more to genuinely moan about). Many things are undeniably bad in Ireland and if a foreigner wanted to complain about those constructively, I can take it on board...it's nice to mix it in with a bit of positivity too though. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 198 ✭✭Donadea Leo

pretty simple really, tell everyone that man united are interested in signing your son, but you chose to move to Ireland cause you hate the English but love man united. If that fails just be honest and tell them you make beer for a living. You ll be loved.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,230 ✭✭✭Leftist

It's always been my dream to live there, maybe not forever, but I'd like to stay for a few years at least. I'm of Irish decent - not typical "American Irish" decent where everyone says "I'm like .25% irish" - I mean, I'm 100% Irish decent; family was from Castlebar, and this job would be about 30 mins from there. No one in my family has been back since the 80's and I was too young to go then, so this is an exciting opportunity for me.
    that won't matter. They'll always see you as an outsider. You might aswel be wesley snipes. People whose entire line of family was related prior to marraige up until their parents will be looking at you as if you think you are jesus.

genuinely rethink moving here.

Fair enough. People don't like hearing outsiders criticising their country, it's true but when it's constant, you kind of want to tell them to **** off home (I'm specifically referring to immigrants that have a choice to be where they are, not those who have no choice - often they're the ones that are treated the worst and have more to genuinely moan about). Many things are undeniably bad in Ireland and if a foreigner wanted to complain about those constructively, I can take it on board...it's nice to mix it in with a bit of positivity too though. :)

By the same token, our OP is about to get an ear-full of what is wrong with America from a lot of Irish. Oh sure, at first they'll be pleasant. But, once they get to know you, you'll then start to learn what they think of the US. ;)

I'd be as critical of those, don't get me wrong and I can see the usual suspects posting on here and have posted on threads arguing a futile battle against them.

I cringe when I hear this anti-American bollocks. My brother-in-law is American and has lived in Ireland for years and he got it in the neck from certain types of Irish till he eventually exploded one day (he went beserk, but his foot down and took no more **** from people...and he won the battle!). He's very settled in Ireland now and is happy. He made the country his own but had to deal with a lot of stupidity on the way.

I will say though, unfortunately there's that sentiment all over Europe right now. I hear it from the locals here in Madrid here all the time.

I do think the Irish look up to America though and I think a lot of "hating" is resentment stemming from jealousy....but not all of it.

Also be vigilant of foreigners from wealthy first world countries who have the choice to leave and work elsewhere but choose to stay and make it out like they hate the place when they mustn't really as they're still here. :)

In other words - have gone native.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,969 ✭✭✭hardCopy

Caonima wrote: »
    Castlebar is a kip. Move to Dublin instead. Much friendlier people. And my arse plays the banjo.

I'd DEFINATELY try & take a 3 month lease before committing to anywhere -thou that might be hard. Castlebar is hardly a metropolis -does the " cinema" still open?

Half an hour outside castlebar has me reaching for my smelling salts -where is that -Louisberg?????

Can you not live in a proper town like Galway " city " & commute??? I say this in ALL seriousness. Seriously -look at this as an option.

Very excited for you - delighted your wife is so thrilled : ) tell her to make no strong comments & to join the ICA -she'll be in the thick of it then & get to know & meet everyone!!! How are the kids for GAA!!? If you don't let them join that and pick a sport that suites you might as well stay put!!! : )

Welcome! ( nearly!)

Look in the GALWAY forum.
    Only cheerleaders for Mayo live in the Mayo forum -they're as bad as the Sligo lot .

-a Jackeen.

Castlebar isn't so bad, Westport would be a great option if the job is on that side of the county. Best Town in Ireland
    the_syco wrote: »
    You mean 15 miles...
    on the motorway?
    on a regional road?
    on a regional road behind a tractor?
    on a regional road behind a tractor which is following a funeral?
    on a regional road behind a tractor which is following a funeral on a Sunday?

Distances in Mayo is measured in halves of an hour.
    Westport, Ballina and Swinford are all half an hour from Castlebar, as is the OP's new brewery.

In other words - have gone native.

You think hating the place you live in and doing nothing about it is specific to the Irish?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 33 mannika

Does anyone have any actual useful advice for this guy?? like about schools, public transport, tax....
    As opposed to bashing ireland and america??? Ireland is a great place to raise kids they will need a thick skin but they will be fine. It rains most of the time but I'm sure you'll be able to afford shoes, coats and probably a car. My advice, do it and get out and see as much of Ireland as you can. Despite the negative crap on here its a great place and would move back in the morning if i could get a decent job. best of luck

I'd be as critical of those, don't get me wrong and I can see the usual suspects posting on here and have posted on threads arguing a futile battle against them.

I cringe when I hear this anti-American bollocks. My brother-in-law is American and has lived in Ireland for years and he got it in the neck from certain types of Irish till he eventually exploded one day (he went beserk, but his foot down and took no more **** from people...and he won the battle!). He's very settled in Ireland now and is happy. He made the country his own but had to deal with a lot of stupidity on the way.

I will say though, unfortunately there's that sentiment all over Europe right now. I hear it from the locals here in Madrid here all the time.

I do think the Irish look up to America though and I think a lot of "hating" is resentment stemming from jealousy....but not all of it.

I've put by foot down on some occasions, but always with a velvet sock. I'm no nationalist. I live here after all. I am as critical of my former country as anyone in Ireland. But sure there is a massive amount of ignorance regarding the US on these boards. However, for the most part, when folks see I am not fighting FOR the US, but simply explaining how I see things, it's usually better received.

Ireland is an easy place for me to live, though. Some Americans may have some issues. I'm used to corrupt and incompetent government, so my only real issue with Ireland is the shower unit. They are the sum of all evil. OP, you will learn to hate these things. I am going to do whatever is within my power to have them banned.

Otherwise, I'm good.

You think hating the place you live in and doing nothing about it is specific to the Irish?

Nope, they just excel at it.

mannika wrote: »
    Does anyone have any actual useful advice for this guy?? like about schools, public transport, tax....
    As opposed to bashing ireland and america??? Ireland is a great place to raise kids they will need a thick skin but they will be fine. It rains most of the time but I'm sure you'll be able to afford shoes, coats and probably a car. My advice, do it and get out and see as much of Ireland as you can. Despite the negative crap on here its a great place and would move back in the morning if i could get a decent job. best of luck

I'll step in:
    Private school your child.

Get a small car unless you love road tax(and get it with NCT).

Taxes are impressive, oppressive, and ubiquitous, especially if you are used to the States.

Bring lots of 'sweaters' and water proof clothing.

Get a house with an immersion heater.

Get a decent GPS with new maps - I suggest Garmin.

Bring as much of whatever you need with you, especially DIY stuff.

I've put by foot down on some occasions, but always with a velvet sock. I'm no nationalist. I live here after all. I am as critical of my former country as anyone in Ireland. But sure there is a massive amount of ignorance regarding the US on these boards. However, for the most part, when folks see I am not fighting FOR the US, but simply explaining how I see things, it's usually better received.

Ireland is an easy place for me to live, though. Some Americans may have some issues. I'm used to corrupt and incompetent government, so my only real issue with Ireland is the shower unit. They are the sum of all evil. OP, you will learn to hate these things. I am going to do whatever is within my power to have them banned.

Otherwise, I'm good.

I had an American friend here who took any criticism of his country very, very personally. I don't know was it the fact that he was on edge all the time because he expected it or what but he handled it very badly I think living in Europe you get used to countries hating other countries and perhaps the States being as isolated as it is, you're not as used to it?