Possible move to Ireland

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,113 ✭✭✭chrismon

Come over and enjoy your self.
    Don't talk about your roots to people unless they ask, is generally the first thing an American tourist says to us when we meet them

Hope it all works out for you and keep us updated.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 168 ✭✭TheBrewMeister

chrismon wrote: »
    ...is generally the first thing an American tourist says to us when we meet them

Hope it all works out for you and keep us updated.

Thanks, and I could see how that would get old.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,390 ✭✭✭clairefontaine

Thanks, and I could see how that would get old.

It goes the other way too. Be prepared for the WHERE ARE YOU FROM interrogation. You could be there for 15 years and you'll still get it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 168 ✭✭TheBrewMeister

It goes the other way too. Be prepared for the WHERE ARE YOU FROM interrogation. You could be there for 15 years and you'll still get it.

Guess I better learn how to sound Irish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,113 ✭✭✭chrismon

Don't do that either.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,390 ✭✭✭clairefontaine

It's easier to pretend you're deaf.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,189 ✭✭✭uncle_sam_ie

I've been looking at house/apartment prices,
    Choose where you live carefully because, unless you you're living in one of the major cities, internet access can be sketchy at best. I'm on 2Mb DSL and thats the best I can get. My neighbors down the road can't even get DSL.

I'm from California and been living here since 1996, best advice I can give is watch out for the cowboys, People or businesses that claim to know what they're doing but don't have a clue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,066 ✭✭✭✭Mr. CooL ICE

I was told they had to jump threw a bunch of hoops in order to "import" an American Brewer though.

An american brewer? Don't go making any of that pisswater bud sh1te and you'll be fine

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,880 ✭✭✭Canis Lupus

It's a big move to leave anywhere and move to 30 mins outside of Castlebar imo. It'd be easier for me to recommend if you didn't have a family.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 602 ✭✭✭rsole1

hmmn. no "razzing?" how about "bustin yer ballz?" "slagging?"

Go to britishexpats.com Republic of Ireland forum for advice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,085 ✭✭✭wow sierra

People will consider you American - not Irish. Doesn't mean they won't like you.

"Democrats good/Republicans bad" would be the simplistic view of US politics here - expect some slagging if you are Republican. A lot more sympathy for Palestine than Israel here too. (Gross generalisations I know but something you might not be aware of)

We have got over hating Brits years ago - but we still like singing Republican songs for fun (and beating them if possible in Sport).

You will still be able to find lots of Irish culture, music, Gaelic games etc and people speaking Irish here as their first language in Connemara which will be near you in Mayo and the Aran Islands are amazing. But you will also find that lots of Irish people have zero interest in Irish culture. A lot of social life revolves around pubs - I remember being on Holiday in Ohio and almost no pubs.

Lots of Government restrictions here - restricted smoking, parking laws, Health and Safety regulations etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,579 ✭✭✭charlietheminxx

Yeah you need to move to a town, somewhere close to schools, shops etc. If it was just you, living out a bit would be fine but your children are going to need a chance to integrate and make friends.

Good luck with the move!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 328 ✭✭TommiesTank

anto9 wrote: »
    In real life most Irish will lick your ass ,just because you are American ( and not English ) .Thats one thing that sickens me about my old Country of residence .The fawning attitude about anything and anyone American .

Main reason I'm pleased you are no longer around.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,117 ✭✭✭Rasheed

Will you be in Castlebar for the All Ireland?

OP you'll be sound as a bell. Come with an open mind, chat plenty and you'll get on grand with people. Castlebar is a nice bustling town without being too urbanised. You'll only be a stones throw away from magnificent scenery too. It'll take time to settle in, like any move really, but hopefully you and your family will love it. As some posters have already mentioned, posting in the Mayo forum would probably be a massive help. They will be able to help you with the more practical side of things, good schools etc!

Best of luck OP, I hope it all works out for you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 991 ✭✭✭SuperGrover

It's a shame that the Irish feel that way about us "Yanks."

This collection of shut-ins is hardly representative of the attitude of the general populace.

Enjoy your trip and your stay. Sounds like an excellent adventure for the family and a change of scenery is always a good thing.

Also, if you need and help sampling beer...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 915 ✭✭✭hansfrei

Move to Kilarney OP. Google it for yourself there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,679 ✭✭✭Crooked Jack

Choose where you live carefully because, unless you you're living in one of the major cities, internet access can be sketchy at best. I'm on 2Mb DSL and thats the best I can get. My neighbors down the road can't even get DSL.

I'm from California and been living here since 1996, best advice I can give is watch out for the cowboys, People or businesses that claim to know what they're doing but don't have a clue.

Fuck that's most of us. A nation of people just winging it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,324 ✭✭✭JustAThought

hansfrei wrote: »
    Move to Kilarney OP. Google it for yourself there.

I'd DEFINATELY try & take a 3 month lease before committing to anywhere -thou that might be hard. Castlebar is hardly a metropolis -does the " cinema" still open?

Half an hour outside castlebar has me reaching for my smelling salts -where is that -Louisberg?????

Can you not live in a proper town like Galway " city " & commute??? I say this in ALL seriousness. Seriously -look at this as an option.

Very excited for you - delighted your wife is so thrilled : ) tell her to make no strong comments & to join the ICA -she'll be in the thick of it then & get to know & meet everyone!!! How are the kids for GAA!!? If you don't let them join that and pick a sport that suites you might as well stay put!!! : )

Welcome! ( nearly!)

Look in the GALWAY forum.
    Only cheerleaders for Mayo live in the Mayo forum -they're as bad as the Sligo lot .

-a Jackeen.

anto9 wrote: »
    In real life most Irish will lick your ass ,just because you are American ( and not English ) .Thats one thing that sickens me about my old Country of residence .The fawning attitude about anything and anyone American .

One poster saying we hate all yanks.
    One saying we lick their asses.

Truth is OP, people are just people and you will largely be judged on your own personality. And how generous you are with this beer you make.

I'd DEFINATELY try & take a 3 month lease before committing to anywhere -thou that might be hard. Castle bar is hardly a metropolis -does the " cinema" still open?

Half an hour outside castle bar has me reaching for my smelling salts -where is that -Louisberg?????

Can you not live in a proper town like Galway " city " & commute??? I say this in ALL seriousness.

If it's city livin' you're after, get yourself a helicopter and commute from Dublin or Belfast.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,324 ✭✭✭JustAThought

If it's city livin' you're after, get yourself a helicopter and commute from Dublin or Belfast.

Dublin. A proper city. Only 3 1/2 hours or so from Galway town .

Belfast is great too.

Does Mr Beer do flying or magic carpet rides too ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,153 ✭✭✭everdead.ie

I would go for the specific Mayo/Galway forums depending on where exactly you are looking at working.

The west is actually a lovely spot although it can lack amenities at times due to the sparse population, If you know where you want to live we could probably give better advice.

Really though there isn't much advice we can give other than here there is a zero tolerance for drink driving these days(1 puts you over the limit).

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,300 ✭✭✭✭Seaneh

Hey, OP, where in the name of Christ is there a brewery half an hour from castle bar? The closest would be Galway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,005 ✭✭✭amber69

As you are American my advice to you would be to speak less and listen more, go for it and best of luck.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,963 ✭✭✭Meangadh

Jesus the way some of ye are going on about the West of Ireland and the smaller towns and cities you'd swear we were living in a grossly underdeveloped country. Sure, it might not have the array of facilities that Dublin or a large city in the States might have, but most places in Ireland have the main facilities people need. Rural places in most other countries are far more isolated than here given that Ireland is so small. And the sense of community in a lot of the smaller places here more than makes up for any lacking there may be.

One thing I would say OP is get yourself a decent car and get used to driving over here- the roads can take practice for those perhaps used to driving on bigger roads. Whilst I said already that most places have the facilities you'd need, for anything you don't have at your immediate disposal, public transport isn't great here and a car really is essential.

Good luck with the move if you decide to come- like anywhere we have our fair share of idiots but for the most part Irish people are great.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,560 ✭✭✭K.Flyer

Seaneh wrote: »
    Hey, OP, where in the name of Christ is there a brewery half an hour from castle bar? The closest would be Galway.

Sure its a "country" half an hour, its a bit like the "country mile".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,299 ✭✭✭✭MadsL

An american brewer? Don't go making any of that pisswater bud sh1te and you'll be fine

American beer is now regarded as some of the best in the world, it's Ireland that ends up drinking crapweiser more than the US.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 10,661 ✭✭✭✭John Mason

Do not tell people you are irish unless you were born here. I frikken hate mercians who do this. idiots

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,987 ✭✭✭Legs.Eleven

The Aussie wrote: »
    -Grow thicker skin*

-Get used to poor service that costs a fortune

-Believe half of what your told, self promotion is a way of life.

-As a Immigrant you will be treated with disdain, while being told how "culturally aware" and welcoming they are.

I could go on, but I don't want to ruin your surprise for you....

*You will need it when dealing with the locals

Also be vigilant of foreigners from wealthy first world countries who have the choice to leave and work elsewhere but choose to stay and make it out like they hate the place when they mustn't really as they're still here. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,202 ✭✭✭✭Marcusm

MadsL wrote: »
    American beer is now regarded as some of the best in the world, it's Ireland that ends up drinking crapweiser more than the US.

It might be true of the breadth of US craft brewery but it's mightily undermined by the depth of the crap which predominates.