If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Farming Chit Chat II

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,274 ✭✭✭Bodacious

Bizzum wrote: »
    Well how are all the Banner lads feeling about tomorrow?
    Any chance against the Rebels?

I'm getting it hard to call, but if I go with me heart I'll go for Clare. How will Clare cope with a wet ball?

come on clare!! Someone different anyway:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,267 ✭✭✭hugo29

Can you just imagine the Clare men meeting the Swedish female soccer fans in coppers tonight, :D

What will they make of pak and his 4 sheep

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,343 ✭✭✭bob charles

hugo29 wrote: »
    Can you just imagine the Clare men meeting the Swedish female soccer fans in coppers tonight, :D

What will they make of pak and his 4 sheep

the Clare lads will think the 4 sheep are Sweedish models

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,900 ✭✭✭mf240

hugo29 wrote: »

Be plenty of red white head cross blonde children in sweeden next year:D:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,786 ✭✭✭✭whelan1

yesman2000 wrote: »
    Probably not the right thread to be asking but didn't think a new one was needed.

Just after finding a dead badger in one of the fields ( cattle are near enough but not in contact with it) which I am 90% sure has TB. Saw it in daylight yesterday and its lungs seemed to be badly affected.

Is there any obligation to get it tested ?
    Should I get it tested or just dispose of it myself ?
    Best way to dispose of it ?

Sorry if wrong place and if it seems a stupid question just never came across it before. Thanks
    ring your local dept and ask to get it picked up and tested

the Clare lads will think the 4 sheep are Sweedish models

Redzer van will be rocking tonight so ,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,552 ✭✭✭pakalasa

I'm getting it hard to call, but if I go with me heart I'll go for Clare. How will Clare cope with a wet ball?
    Hitting the road at 7.30. Have to count the cattle before that.:D
    Looking forward to it now. Hard one to call. This Clare team are a different lot to the team in the 90s. More hurling to them, but do the have the fighting spirit of the old team? They have yet to fight out a hard battle.
    If Clare are to do it, I think it's their backs that will win it for them. They are growing with every match. With 2 very young teams, anything could happen. Clare to win by at least 3 pts.:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,701 ✭✭✭moy83

yesman2000 wrote: »
    Probably not the right thread to be asking but didn't think a new one was needed.

Just after finding a dead badger in one of the fields ( cattle are near enough but not in contact with it) which I am 90% sure has TB. Saw it in daylight yesterday and its lungs seemed to be badly affected.

Is there any obligation to get it tested ?
    Should I get it tested or just dispose of it myself ?
    Best way to dispose of it ?

Sorry if wrong place and if it seems a stupid question just never came across it before. Thanks
    I dont know if I'd fancy the cattle around it , could you bag it out of the way until it was taken ? Gloves and overalls job

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,329 ✭✭✭redzerologhlen

I have been buzzing all week at the thought of it, heading off at 7 in the morning, won't be counting the cows like pak! They can go in feck for a day :D going to be close but I think we have the better hurlers to be honest and think we will win it, expecting a big game from Honan and conlan!!

whelan1 wrote: »
    ring your local dept and ask to get it picked up and tested

that advice could quite easily be applied to clare fellows tonight in CFJ's

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,422 ✭✭✭just do it

won't be counting the cows like pak! They can go in feck for a day :D
    More like a week if the Gods are with us! Stayed home to watch it with an elderly relative and now my 4yo has a vomiting bug so won't be able to do that either :rolleyes:

UP THE BANNER

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭Conmaicne Mara

that advice could quite easily be applied to clare fellows tonight in CFJ's

A+ bob :D

There could be lads choking on their words come tomorrow evening:D:D. A selection of the best !!!!!
    pakalasa wrote: »
    Went to the Clare match. :( Game over 5 mins into the second half. Terrible stuff. The wind was very strong and there is a slight fall in that pitch. It made the game into a game of two halves. Will it be enough for Davy to walk, I wonder?
    Was there also. Terrible stuff. Cork made look good by a flat, jaded Clare team. Short passing bullsheet, is for the basketball court, not championship hurling.
    I can't see the team developing much more under him unfortunately and there is talent there but I can't see him walking. A great player he was but I don't think he's up to speed for management at inter county level. No good having lads that can run the 100 meters in 10 seconds and lift a half a ton if they have no first touch and that's a lack of stick work causing that. They should be lacing balls down on top of honan to make some use of him and have Conor McGrath and Podge Collins playing off him. Pussy footing around on your own 45 is asking for trouble.
    pakalasa wrote: »
    And Davy won't go either, not with Daddy at the helm. I'd love to know how much they are taking in between them, in this so called amatuer game.
    I said it from day one he wasn't the man for the job at hand anyway and plenty more have said it. They threw the game away at the start of the second half yesterday looking for silly goal chances when they could have tapped over a few points and settled themselves. You can be sure the cork lads got a big boost from all the clare attacks coming to nothing and they drove on from there. In fairness there was a few questionable ref decisions against clare but it wasn't the winning or losing of it. Davy is too closely connected to the county board and I would love to see him booted. The thing he is best at is controversy.

I knew ye feckers were all looking for davy's head after the Cork game.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,034 ✭✭✭Bizzum

I have been buzzing all week at the thought of it, heading off at 7 in the morning, won't be counting the cows like pak! They can go in feck for a day :D going to be close but I think we have the better hurlers to be honest and think we will win it, expecting a big game from Honan and conlan!!

What about Tony Kelly? The best touch I've seen since John Troy.

I fancy Clare, but I'm worried about the high risk game they play particularly if the balls wet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,422 ✭✭✭just do it

There could be lads choking on their words come tomorrow evening:D:D. A selection of the best !!!!!

Jeez bob, were you saving those for a rainy day or what???!!! Even if Clare win tomorrow and then Davy is given the credit due to something he does, I still don't rate him. He's riding on the back of a lot of good work by others in the last few years and an excellent U21 team. Look at McGuiness this year. He was the Messiah last September...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,183 ✭✭✭nashmach

Big warning, never say anything around Bob as he will remember it!!

Jayus bob, how long did that take ya,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,034 ✭✭✭Bizzum

Good digging there Bob. :-)

the silence says it all :D:D

Is it possible to take blood samples from cattle yourself to send off to the lab to be checked ? To save getting the vet out

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,329 ✭✭✭redzerologhlen

What about Tony Kelly? The best touch I've seen since John Troy.

I fancy Clare, but I'm worried about the high risk game they play particularly if the balls wet.

Brian Murphy took him out of the game in June and he will be well marshelled. It's a great chance for the other lads to step up to the mark. He is probably the best young hurled in the country at the same time though. Im eating my words bob!! He has brought them on a long way in the meantime.

I would like to see Clare win only for that moron

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,552 ✭✭✭pakalasa

the silence says it all :D:D
    Shur we've already beaten Limerick this year. That's like an All-Ireland in itself.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 818 ✭✭✭Mulumpy

have a fooker of a heifer that keeps breaking out, knocking down handles etc, there is a whooper of a shock in the fence, just spent half an hour getting 30 cows out of a paddock that i know she opened, during the winter she could escape through feed barrier and mightnt be seen for days as she would go off up the fileds, apart from factory any suggestions before i crack up... would love to catch her in the act... she is never in the same field as cows when i go to get them for milking

Had a bitch of a first calver the same way in the spring. I got a bit of hay wire wrapped it around her shoulder and leave a piece sticking up in the air or down if shes jumping it. Cured her straight away.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 94 ✭✭yesman2000

moy83 wrote: »
    I dont know if I'd fancy the cattle around it , could you bag it out of the way until it was taken ? Gloves and overalls job

They're not around it thankfully. It's a fairly big field divided into paddocks and they're one paddock away. Will get on it first thing in the morning.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,786 ✭✭✭✭whelan1

moy83 wrote: »
    Is it possible to take blood samples from cattle yourself to send off to the lab to be checked ? To save getting the vet out
    is it for brucellosis, i think that has to go through the vet.. would save a few bob if ya could do it yourself alright

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,949 ✭✭✭delaval

Blood samples for mins worms etc, you can take yourself. We do it all the time. If you have 30 to do get 60 bottles as you will blow bottles for sport the first time till you get the knack

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,949 ✭✭✭delaval

We had one a few years ago. I would factory her now but back then couldn't afford to. My father got me to put a ring and a chain in her. Cured her immediately took off chain after a few days but left in ring as a reminder. A chain as an earth attached to the nose will stop her going under and she can't lift it out of the way to jump.
    You prob have a ring on hand as you'd be ringing bulls anyway

is it for brucellosis, i think that has to go through the vet.. would save a few bob if ya could do it yourself alright

Just testing in general . It might encourage a bit better health in the herd if I sampled for a few things a couple of times a year . I would never really justify calling the vet for it but if I had the bottles myself I would be more I clined to do it .

delaval wrote: »
    Blood samples for mins worms etc, you can take yourself. We do it all the time. If you have 30 to do get 60 bottles as you will blow bottles for sport the first time till you get the knack

We had an 80 year old vet up till a few years ago and I had to show him where to stick the needle half the time he was so blind , so I should get on ok with them