Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

GTA V Pre-release Discussion - ***DO NOT POST SPOILERS*** (Mod warning in first post)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,662 ✭✭✭marcbrophy

Oat23 wrote: »
    I'm hoping Gamesnash might follow Amazon and ship on the 14th. My brother is going to the Gamestop midnight launch to get his. I just know he'll be sending me texts from 1am to the next day to make me jealous :mad:

He'll be sending you a pic of himself, game in hand at 12:05 :D
    sheehy83 wrote: »
    Was it that cheaper to buy online from a UK store and go through parcel motel?

I ordered the special edition from game for £55. They have free UK delivery so I said I'd sent it to PM. I'm open to correction, but it was either £2.99 or £4.99 for delivery to Ireland, which would have taken longer anyway!

This was working out at €65 all in, whilst at the time the only company in Ireland selling the SE was gamestop for €80.

I don't really mind the wait, but if game could ship on the 14th, I'd more than likely get it on the 17th :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,304 ✭✭✭✭Zero-Cool

marcbrophy wrote: »

I ordered the special edition from game for £55. They have free UK delivery so I said I'd sent it to PM. I'm open to correction, but it was either £2.99 or £4.99 for delivery to Ireland, which would have taken longer anyway!

Aaaaahhhhh special Edition, makes sense so :)

I heard the DLC you get with it is crap though. Sure I spose I can take it off your hands if you won't be using the codes?? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,662 ✭✭✭marcbrophy

Aaaaahhhhh special Edition, makes sense so :)

I heard the DLC you get with it is crap though. Sure I spose I can take it off your hands if you won't be using the codes?? :D

You can have them no problem, just let me use them once first?
    I hear you get three goes off each code :D

• Company Representative Posts: 2,957 ✭✭✭Gamesnash.ie: Pat

Asked Gamesnash in their section on here about shipping dates. I await the answer with bated breath.

As Sheehy mentioned you might be waiting a while there :D

Situation with the shipping lads is we will be sending out on the 16th. That's a non negotiable from the publishers right through the supply chain. In fact we have had to arrange for a special collection from the distributors here early on Monday morning so we can get the games early enough to start packing. They've been barred from releasing them until Monday. We had hoped to get our allocation in on Friday to allow us the weekend to process but that's not happening. Headache central but we are working around that. I'd be very very surprised if Amazon ship domestic orders for next day working day delivery - they may ship international orders out a working day early as they will take longer to arrive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,327 ✭✭✭splashthecash

Jeez...this really is being locked down pretty tight isn't it!? The last COD game made the RTE news on release day, I wonder if GTA V will make an appearance

Today's info is going to be very interesting....how Rock* built a next gen world on a current gen platform...:eek:

Pat I would actually head up and help ye out Monday if it meant I could take my copy away with me when I'm done as payment :pac:

Thursday, September 5: The Sum of All Peers: How a fistful of Rockstar's best have all inspired GTA V to be better than ever

Friday, September 6: Another Take on Grand Theft Auto V's Single-Player Campaign

Saturday, September 7 and beyond: ??? (Check back and see!)

• Company Representative Posts: 2,957 ✭✭✭Gamesnash.ie: Pat

Jeez...this really is being locked down pretty tight isn't it!? The last COD game made the RTE news on release day, I wonder if GTA V will make an appearance

Today's info is going to be very interesting....how Rock* built a next gen world on a current gen platform...:eek:

When GTA IV came out we had to sign a declaration that we would not ship / sell early and it came with a hefty financial penalty if we did. Haven't seen that yet for this but yes this is locked down very very tight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,401 ✭✭✭Royal Irish

I doubt it will make RTE news. Joe Duffy might get a few calls from people complaining about how violent it is and people not thinking about the children.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,184 ✭✭✭Kenno90

I lol'd

m5egaoI.jpg

HAHAHAHAHAH Brilliant!

The Sum of All Peers: How a fistful of Rockstar's best have all inspired GTA V to be better than ever

http://ie.ign.com/articles/2013/09/05/grand-theft-auto-v-the-sum-of-all-peers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,009 ✭✭✭✭wnolan1992

I reckon it could make the news, especially if there are decent crowds at the midnight launches. Couple that with the inevitable politician (probably the brave Fidelma :rolleyes:)/clergy condemnation that'll come and I'd say it'll get a mention.

I remember when SA was released, our principal in Primary School was telling us about the Prime Time special that showed how "He got out of the car, beat up a woman and started dancing on her head." :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,600 ✭✭✭✭CMpunked

I doubt it will make RTE news. Joe Duffy might get a few calls from people complaining about how violent it is and people not thinking about the children.

If the expected number sell at launch, then its set to be the biggest entertainment launch of all time.
    I'm sure that would be newsworthy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,184 ✭✭✭Kenno90

Decided to take a week off work, just so happens to be the same week as GTA :P

Pat if you need help on Monday , i'll happily help you package them up

shifty_eyes.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,052 ✭✭✭✭titan18

Just ordered from Gamesnash with Express Post. That'll guarantee I get it on release day right?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,845 ✭✭✭py2006

The end result is something that, to myself, feels more "next-generation" than most the titles coming out on PS4 and Xbox One later this year. IGN UK’s Daniel Krupa will be going into more detail on this topic in the coming days but, to me, there isn’t really anything in the PS4-Xbox One launch line-ups that matches the gameplay scope displayed here in GTA V.

“When we started we knew the scope of GTA V was huge and incredibly ambitious,” says Hooker. “Fortunately from completing GTA IV we had a team that was already very familiar with the hardware.

“Every aspect of the game had to be better, richer in gameplay and more fluid and knowing we were launching on the same platforms meant we could focus on extracting the most out of those consoles and making the game as fantastic as possible.

“In the end we surpassed our own expectations and during development I think everyone working on the game has been astounded by improvements to the graphics, or new mechanics, or AI, or mission scope along the way. Hopefully the gamers will see all of these improvements at once in one go, compared to GTA IV this definitely feels 'next generation' to us.”

Oh yes...

dont really know too much about this game but is there a character creation on this or are you a pre made character ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,845 ✭✭✭py2006

There is a Make it Rain button to use at the strip club. You will also be able to touch the girls during private dances, but if you get caught three times you will be tossed out on the street.

giggity giggity goo...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

dont really know too much about this game but is there a character creation on this or are you a pre made character ?
    Both, GTA doesn't understand compromise. Set characters for the single player, character creation for the online game.

py2006 wrote: »
    giggity giggity goo...

tumblr_m7zwncbyn41qalk92.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,126 ✭✭✭KwackerJack

11 days 6 hours and 19 minutes oh and damm that girl is hot :eek:

YEA BABY :D

29554-Kate-Upton-dancing-gif-BapO.gif

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,061 ✭✭✭PickledLime

^^^

?

^^^

?

1) I have man flu

2) I was putting up a dancing man to show my excitement for GTA 5 but when I seen her I thought to myself, She looks like a girl that would be in GTA 5 :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,401 ✭✭✭Royal Irish

I thought it was a gif of you dancing with excitement. I was about to add you as a friend.

:D Yea I had a notion a few of you would try that aright!

I'd get arrested if I started dancing.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,327 ✭✭✭splashthecash

I foresee myself eating directly from tins of beans, unshaven and wearing tissue boxes on my feet three weeks from now...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,478 ✭✭✭✭gnfnrhead

I suspect I may need to learn how to walk again when my holidays finish :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,116 ✭✭✭Professional Griefer

tumblr_m7zwncbyn41qalk92.gif

tumblr_mr9qtzhwkd1rlgbrzo1_400.gif

I can't wait, still hoping for mine to arrive the Monday morning. :(

1240435_10151892048670097_268004497_n.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,061 ✭✭✭PickledLime

I foresee myself eating directly from tins of beans, unshaven and wearing tissue boxes on my feet three weeks from now...

I'll probably be poopin' into the empty cans to save unnecessary bathroom trips :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,207 ✭✭✭miralize

I'll probably be poopin' into the empty cans to save unnecessary bathroom trips :pac:

And then there'll be "the incident"