Electric Picnic 2013 *Discussion only. NO ticket sales/requests*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,031 ✭✭✭tmc86

First day back in work today and I was told I still looked tired! just what I wanted to hear, but nearly back to 100%!

What an absolutely epic weekend. It was my fourth Picnic but still not sure if it was my best. For some reason the weekend flew by, I'm not sure if that meant I had more fun or because we were blessed with the weather so the days kind of merged into each other.

Noticeable difference in the crowd this year but apart from some cash and a phone being pinched from our tent on early Saturday morning I've no other complaints!

Highlights of the weekend; Ellie Goulding, Little Green Cars, Disclosure and of course LE GALAXIE!! They really made my weekend and what a way to top of 3 days!

Didn't make it to all the bands I wanted to see and am pretty gutted I missed the Eels and Noah & the Whale but sometimes you just get carried away with friends in the campsite/B&S!

On a serious low now, wish I could go back this weekend!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,387 ✭✭✭✭DeVore

Here's the link again :)http://www.flickr.com/photos/devoresphotos/sets/72157635353061100/

Actually I do a lot of fireworks shooting and I have some much better shots from a show in Malta but then the Maltese are the EU Fireworks Champions for like, 10 years in a row or something (weird fact huh?!). Linky: http://www.flickr.com/photos/devoresphotos/sets/72157629917550623/
    But I didnt have a tripod or a remote switch so I had to hand-shoot EP :(

I liked the shots of the fire breathers but they were SO HARD to shoot because of the exposure settings... dark, dark, dark, BRIGHT AS F*CK, dark, dark. :)

9655176033_2af8f1f994_c.jpg
    IMG_3241 by devoresphotos, on Flickr

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,461 ✭✭✭Queen-Mise

Have The Zutons ever played EP?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,863 ✭✭✭seachto7

Did anyone see any decent bands like The Walkmen, Halves, Little Bear, gavin glass, Lisa hannigan, black rebel motorcycle club? ;)

Yes, definitely a change in the crowd/atmoshere this year. There were a lot of nasty young spoilt girls at it, slagging people off behind their backs and being too drunk to string a sentence together. Not something I ever noticed before there. There was also a noticeable increase in people with a total lack of consideration for others like DeVore mentioned. Lots of shoving and pushing going on, almost like they had more of a right to get where they were going. Still and all - great weekend.

I did here of people being kicked out for selling drugs in the Oscar Wilde campsite. My friends were mostly camped in Jimmi Hendrix and had no hassle at all. I camped in Pink Moon and it is just so well worth the extra hundred quid each, I will definitely be doing it again next year.

Highlight for me were Le Galaxie - I knew they would be, and couldn't wait for them. Arctic Monkeys were just class. I liked them but wouldn't have been a huge fan, definitely blew me away. Ellie Goulding was excellent, again - not someone who I would have been a fan of before. Fatboy slim I thought was brilliant!

I was let down by Robert Plant tbh. Was so looking forward to him and I found him a bit meh. David Byrne was awful and I missed the Eels because of him :(

Actually missed quite a few that I wanted to see but sure no big deal, I had a great time regardless!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,431 ✭✭✭Sky King

seachto7 wrote: »
    Did anyone see any decent bands like The Walkmen, Halves, Little Bear, gavin glass, Lisa hannigan, black rebel motorcycle club? ;)

Not me anyway, I have a policy of only liking shit music.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,706 ✭✭✭sadie06

Yes, definitely a change in the crowd/atmoshere this year. There were a lot of nasty young spoilt girls at it, slagging people off behind their backs and being too drunk to string a sentence together. Not something I ever noticed before there. There was also a noticeable increase in people with a total lack of consideration for others like DeVore mentioned. Lots of shoving and pushing going on, almost like they had more of a right to get where they were going. Still and all - great weekend.

I did here of people being kicked out for selling drugs in the Oscar Wilde campsite. My friends were mostly camped in Jimmi Hendrix and had no hassle at all. I camped in Pink Moon and it is just so well worth the extra hundred quid each, I will definitely be doing it again next year.

Highlight for me were Le Galaxie - I knew they would be, and couldn't wait for them. Arctic Monkeys were just class. I liked them but wouldn't have been a huge fan, definitely blew me away. Ellie Goulding was excellent, again - not someone who I would have been a fan of before. Fatboy slim I thought was brilliant!

I was let down by Robert Plant tbh. Was so looking forward to him and I found him a bit meh. David Byrne was awful and I missed the Eels because of him :(

Actually missed quite a few that I wanted to see but sure no big deal, I had a great time regardless!

1: How on earth do you know this? Seriously, were you standing around listening to peoples conversations instead of having a good time?

2: David Byrne wasn't on at the same time as Eels.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,828 ✭✭✭bullvine

My highlight was paying 4euro for a crap.. Never again.

Managed to see 2 mins of Fatboy Slim, that was all. Had a great time though. My best one yet. Met loads of people who were just great and I hung out in B&S for the most part. I stayed in a Campervan so didn't experience the tents but I was chatting to a guy who helped put up the big tent in B&S and he told me that there was definitely a lot more little troublemakers than previous years. That was my feeling as well.

The security was top notch have to say and they were really nice guys.

Looking forward to next year!

sadie06 wrote: »
    1: How on earth do you know this? Seriously, were you standing around listening to peoples conversations instead of having a good time?

Theses things called queues, for toilets, for beer - you have no choice but to stand around in them unfortunately.
    2: David Byrne wasn't on at the same time as Eels.

Whoops! Totally miscalculated that one then :(

Theses things called queues, for toilets, for beer - you have no choice but to stand around in them unfortunately.

That's a shame.....they were very funny.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,311 ✭✭✭✭alastair

Plus - the David Byrne gig was one of the best things of the weekend.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 10,685 Mod ✭✭✭✭melekalikimaka

Bjork/Le Galaxie highlights for me

alastair wrote: »
    Plus - the David Byrne gig was one of the best things of the weekend.

Aw no, I was really disappointed :(

His band were fantastic, but I really didn't enjoy most of the gig, got in early and had a great spot near the front but was really let down. Such a pity. The friends I was there with were very divided - some loved it and some hated it.

Ah! Franz Ferdinand - is that who was on the same time? I would have like to see them too but wasn't missing David Byrne. I can't remember why I missed The eels then but there was a reason for it? Hmmmm.

My brain is still mush, can hardly stay awake!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,974 ✭✭✭Morrison J

The Walkmen blew my mind. 2nd and best time iv seen them. So much power in their performance it's incredible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 804 ✭✭✭princemuzzy

agree with the comments about young girls been spoilt brats

you can almost tell by the way they are dressed in the festival uniform hot pants wells and hipster t shirts with the arms cut off or something good lord it was infested with them talking non stop during gigs had a crowd of them near me for eels all giving out about how such a ****e band were on the main stage … if you don't like them **** off and watch something else and the bacardi bar was full of them

they are the epitomy of people who go to the festival to be seen there and tell there friends how amazing amazing some band they seen in the body and soul who's name they can't remember or songs the can't recall, were and how chilled out it was and nothing like oxygen

they do my fecking head in

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,511 ✭✭✭run_Forrest_run

if I can manage to stay awake and not vomit on my desk today it will be an achievement.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,216 ✭✭✭Looper007

you can almost tell by the way they are dressed in the festival uniform hot pants wells and hipster t shirts with the arms cut off or something good lord it was infested with them talking non stop during gigs had a crowd of them near me for eels all giving out about how such a ****e band were on the main stage … if you don't like them **** off and watch something else and the bacardi bar was full of them

they are the epitomy of people who go to the festival to be seen there and tell there friends how amazing amazing some band they seen in the body and soul who's name they can't remember or songs the can't recall, were and how chilled out it was and nothing like oxygen

It's something that's become far noticeable in the last few years sadly at Irish Festival's and Gigs, saw the same thing happen at the Blur gig. It's just that Hip thing to do really go to a Festival to get drunk and tell their mates about it. It's never about the festival or the music. It's something I see getting worse and the promoters will bring in a few pop acts and more mainstream acts to the festival line up to carter to them.

nocoverart wrote: »
    I agree with you TBH! I think the line-up is getting more commercial by the year. This was always sold as the "boutique" music festival that catered for mid and low-tier bands. Just look at the quality that has been, and will be playing in the likes of Button Factory and Whelans over the next few months. EP should be aiming for more of this quality. I understand you new a few "biggies" to sell a festival but the bread & butter to a good festival is what's underneath, and quite honestly the EP line-up is severely lacking throughout.

Agree somewhat. I didn't go, but probably should have, but in general I thought the line up was *meh* apart from 4 or 5 bands which is the reason I was easy about going or not, but that's just down to personal taste.
    I preferred the 2012 lineup.

ha. Brilliant!:D And correct. "Festival Fashionnnnnnnnnnnn"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,596 ✭✭✭threein99

The flares during the Arctic Monkeys were brilliant, fair play to whoever that was

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,341 ✭✭✭✭MadYaker

seachto7 wrote: »

I saw BRMC, they were great! I also saw Robert Plant, Kodaline, Black Uruhu, The Eels, Franz Ferdinand, Arctic Monkeys, Ellie Goulding, Johnny Marr. I saw a few other random bands in Body and Soul, Salty Dog and various tents but I can't remember their names.

I don't remember any flares at the Arctic Monkeys but was anyone else at the front? I kept getting almost crushed against the barrier and behind me people were getting shoved all over the place. They probably should have put in a pit, but it would have looked ridiculous during the day.

Mr.S wrote: »
    What happened to them does anyone know? They went out fairly quickly, can't imagine security was too happy!

They probably put them out before security caught up to them. Wouldn't take them long to home in on them :P

MadYaker wrote: »
    I saw BRMC, they were great! I also saw Robert Plant, Kodaline, Black Uruhu, The Eels, Franz Ferdinand, Arctic Monkeys, Ellie Goulding, Johnny Marr. I saw a few other random bands in Body and Soul, Salty Dog and various tents but I can't remember their names.

I don't remember any flares at the Arctic Monkeys but was anyone else at the front? I kept getting almost crushed against the barrier and behind me people were getting shoved all over the place. They probably should have put in a pit, but it would have looked ridiculous during the day.

The flares were back towards the sound tower

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,533 ✭✭✭SV

Mr.S wrote: »
    What happened to them does anyone know? They went out fairly quickly, can't imagine security was too happy!

They weren't flares afaik, they were just about 20 coloured sparklers put together and lit at the same time.
    They come off the exact same as flares, if not brighter!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,752 ✭✭✭johnpatrick81

I've a video of it and the flare lasted for most of Dancefloor, the second one got picked off within seconds!:D

SV wrote: »
    They weren't flares afaik, they were just about 20 coloured sparklers put together and lit at the same time.

They were definitely flares!

I've a video of it and the flare lasted for most of Dancefloor, the second one got picked off within seconds!:D

I'd love to see the video!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,533 ✭✭✭SV

sadie06 wrote: »
    They were definitely flares!

Guess someone else was at something else then, I was just talking about the group I was in! Thought that may have been what people were talking about.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,752 ✭✭✭johnpatrick81

SV wrote: »

These were some mighty sparklers so! This video shows they are definitely flares. I have one which is even clearer

Brilliant video