What is the deal with people...

124»

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 173 ✭✭fartman

No
    i was asked once by a friend at his house and never went back again !!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,312 ✭✭✭Paramite Pie

No
    BeerWolf wrote: »
    Really fecking annoying, inconsiderate pricks.

It's a foreign custom here. We're not being inconsiderate at all it's just a concept that many of us are not familiar with.

If I was asked I would certainly take of my shoes but I would never do that without being told first.

I agree it's important to respect the wishes of the house owner but likewise you will be expected to wear shoes in our houses. It might be perceived as rude to take off your shoes in our houses unless you ask first. Works both ways.;)

But making us out to be ill-mannered is unfair.
    Also, carpet? Do people still have carpets in the 21st century?

Yes alot of houses actually. Nothing backwards about carpet. I'd never put a wooden floor in a bedroom. Nothing worse than stepping onto a cold wooden floor in the morning. Or the amount of noise wooden floors make. They look nice but are impractical.

Never slipped on carpet either. I did fall down a stairs which was entirely wooden (no carpet for grip) while in my socks.
    seb65 wrote: »
    In North America, if you didn't take your shoes off, your host/hostess would wonder if you were some hillbilly raised in a barn.

Also, the amount of bacteria that are brought in, and then babies are let to crawl all over the floor.

Not true. I've been to North America many times and I was never asked to removed my shoes in any house. Neither did other guests and I was at house parties, barbeques and a graduation party, everyone wore shoes.:P

And bacteria is good for a babies immune system, it builds it up, makes it stronger. People worry about germs a little too much.:rolleyes:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 368 ✭✭Morph the Cat

No
    in Ireland that so often walk into your house with their fecking shoes on?

TAKE IT OFF!!!

How'd you like it if I walk on your carpets with dirt and mud right off the road?? :mad:

Having shoes walk on your carpet is only a concern if you're a carpet muncher, bro.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 402 ✭✭seb65

Having lived in the US and Canada, this is just not true. Perhaps it varies from region to region but where I was homes where shoes were removed stood out as unusal - just as they do in Ireland. It's by no means universal. There's even a Sex and the City episode about how weird it is when Carrie is asked to remove her shoes at a party.

Of all the houses I have walked into in Canada, in many different regions, I have never stepped inside a house where it would be kosher to walk right in with your shoes on. Perhaps it's just a manners thing. If there's a party going on, the general attitude is you take your shoes off and the host will then say, no - don't worry about your shoes, keep them on. It's then up to you whether you take them on or off. If everyone else is wearing shoes, you keep them on. If not, you take them off.

Gracious hosts give you the option, to make you feel welcome. Well mannered guests will know when it's appropriate to take them off.

But that's the Canadian way. I have no issue with the houses of others. Though I find it silly that someone will yell not to spill anything on the carpet as they've just steam cleaned it and proceed to walk all over it with their mucky shoes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,639 ✭✭✭Miss Lockhart

No
    Of all the houses I have walked into in Canada, in many different regions, I have never stepped inside a house where it would be kosher to walk right in with your shoes on. Perhaps it's just a manners thing. If there's a party going on, the general attitude is you take your shoes off and the host will then say, no - don't worry about your shoes, keep them on. It's then up to you whether you take them on or off. If everyone else is wearing shoes, you keep them on. If not, you take them off.

Gracious hosts give you the option, to make you feel welcome. Well mannered guests will know when it's appropriate to take them off.

But that's the Canadian way. I have no issue with the houses of others. Though I find it silly that someone will yell not to spill anything on the carpet as they've just steam cleaned it and proceed to walk all over it with their mucky shoes.

Like I said, it probably varies from region to region. I was living with a boyfriend in Canada and visited many homes as a family member or friend rather than as a guest. Only in one did anyone remove shoes.

I have no issues taking them off. But your generalisation of "North America" doesn't tally with my experience.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,312 ✭✭✭Paramite Pie

No
    Though I find it silly that someone will yell not to spill anything on the carpet as they've just steam cleaned it and proceed to walk all over it with their mucky shoes.

Where do you live that's so mucky? I guarantee you my shoes are clean.;)

Also since most Irish use the back door instead of the front door and spend alot of time in the kitchen/dining area drinking tea when visiting, guests don't exactly spread filth all over the house. And I always wipe my shoes on the mat outside anyways.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,387 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

No
    Surprised "Yes" won by a good amount, if even.
    I am really surprised the NO is so high. Do all the people who voted no really always take their shoes off going into other peoples houses, or at least request to do so?

I have never seen anywhere close to 18-19% doing it, -so I am left wondering if they are just picking up the OP's question wrong and voting no since they often kick off their shoes in their own home while watching TV, which IS very common. The title of the thread Do you wear shoes in your/others house?

How'd you like it if I walk on your carpets with dirt and mud right off the road?? :mad:

I would be annoyed if some prick did that, luckily I have a mat and it has never happened

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,453 ✭✭✭Shenshen

As for the whole "sweaty feet" or "filthy socks" thing, I'm traditional that way. My mother would always have a stock pile of freshly-washed socks in the drawer, the kind with rubber on the soles to make them non-slip, which could be offered to guests.

I don't demand people take their shoes off when they come to my house, but most will offer to do so as it's so much more comfortable, and just wear the socks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,122 ✭✭✭BeerWolf

rubadub wrote: »
    I am really surprised the NO is so high. Do all the people who voted no really always take their shoes off going into other peoples houses, or at least request to do so?

Generally, when I'm visiting someone I go on the basis of if they wear shoes in their own house or not and go with that. Something as basic as that some people seem to have difficulty grasping with...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,628 ✭✭✭Femme_Fatale

No
    Shenshen wrote: »
    As for the whole "sweaty feet" or "filthy socks" thing, I'm traditional that way. My mother would always have a stock pile of freshly-washed socks in the drawer, the kind with rubber on the soles to make them non-slip, which could be offered to guests.
    Generally, when I'm visiting someone I go on the basis of if they wear shoes in their own house or not and go with that. Something as basic as that some people seem to have difficulty grasping with...
    You guys are pretending this is a norm in Ireland and that people know they're supposed to do it. It's not/they don't, unless their shoes are covered in mud. As you both know.
    A pile of clean socks for guests? Never heard of it in my life in this country. Nobody has ever asked me to remove my shoes in their house, and it has never occurred to me to remove my shoes (unless mucky) either. People going around their house wearing socks isn't a "hint" to me either.
    Ye shouldn't assume people think the way you do but are just being rude and inconsiderate for the craic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 245 ✭✭Hedgemeister

No
    In my whole life I've never been asked to remove my footwear while visiting a house in Ireland, though I remember quite a few places I've been in and was sorry I didn't bring wellingtons.
    Some Irish houses you'd need to wipe your feet ...on the way out.

You guys are pretending this is a norm in Ireland and that people know they're supposed to do it. It's not/they don't, unless their shoes are covered in mud. As you both know.
    A pile of clean socks for guests? Never heard of it in my life in this country. Nobody has ever asked me to remove my shoes in their house, and it has never occurred to me to remove my shoes (unless mucky) either. People going around their house wearing socks isn't a "hint" to me either.
    Ye shouldn't assume people think the way you do but are just being rude and inconsiderate for the craic.

It's traditional in germany which is what she was on about... she's kept the tradition going in her house here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,705 ✭✭✭Johro

I'd say that with so many people wearing trainers more people would be asked to put their shoes back on
    I used to put on my shoes in the morning and not take them off til I went to bed but lately I've been mostly barefoot or in socks in the house and it feels much more comfortable.
    I wouldn't ask anyone coming into the house to take them off though. I might secretly seethe while mud was trampled everywhere but I would still consider it kinda weird and a bit anal to ask people to take their shoes off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,014 ✭✭✭✭Skerries

No
    I have only ever been asked to take my shoes off twice in my life, once was by an English family and the other was by an Iranian family and never by an Irish person in my 40 years.
    I don't wear footwear at home but that is a comfort thing and I am the only one who does this in the house.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,698 ✭✭✭Topper Harley

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,284 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

No
    I always wear my shoes in the house because.

1.we don't eat off the floor.
    2.The floor can be cleaned if it does get dirty.
    3. It annoys people when you ask them to take off their shoes.
    4. If you do their feet might smell.
    5. Your feet might get cold, this isn't health for you.
    6. If somebody did have a foot infection it could spread easily.
    7. We do a lot of cooking, so we use a lot of sharp knife's if one of those fell on your foot you'd be missing your toes.
    8. Spillages of hot drinks/liquids, may result in burns.
    9. If you were in a tiled bathroom/kitchen, it would be very easily to slip because socks have a very poor grip compared to shoes.
    10. If something heavy fell on your foot, you could break a toe.