What is the deal with people...

• 02-09-2013 03:12PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,122 ✭✭✭BeerWolf

in Ireland that so often walk into your house with their fecking shoes on?

TAKE IT OFF!!!

How'd you like it if I walk on your carpets with dirt and mud right off the road?? :mad:

Really fecking annoying, inconsiderate pricks.

Do you wear shoes in your/others house? 263 votes

Yes
    0%
    No
    100%
    Ronan|Raven_Kaiser_the_sycokaimeraDas KittydazberrygenierubadubsunbeamAnnasopraChips LovellCool_CMgs39tTenshotSkerriesSleepyjimmycrackcormAntiRipHealioEoin 263 votes

• Site Banned Posts: 257 ✭✭Driveby Dogboy

hang a sign, 'no shoes indoors, we're from the continent' or something

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,924 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

No
    Some of us don't live in muddy bogs OP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 35,677 ✭✭✭✭listermint

Get wooden floors.

I always thought that people who got me to take shoes off were pretentious.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 528 ✭✭✭Jake Rugby Walrus666

Yes, and those little packets of peanuts you get on Aeroplanes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 155 ✭✭b_mac

No
    BeerWolf wrote: »

TAKE IT OFF!!!

How'd you like it if I walk on your carpets with dirt and mud right off the road?? :mad:

Really fecking annoying.

Id be thinking the opposite, if someone took off their shoes in my house, I'd be looking at them funny.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 591 ✭✭✭spankysue

No
    You shouldn't have bought cream carpets.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,122 ✭✭✭BeerWolf

listermint wrote: »
    Get wooden floors.

I always thought that people who got me to take shoes off were pretentious.

Hardly anything pretentious about keeping the house clean...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 995 ✭✭✭Hammar

No
    OP, I'm sure the people are beating down your door wanting to come in,since you seem like such great craic. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,204 ✭✭✭dodderangler

I'd rather someone keep their shoes on than smell their rotten feet!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,038 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

No
    Barefoot in the house?

is the OP from Offaly?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,372 ✭✭✭✭jimmycrackcorm

No

TAKE IT OFF!!!

Is there a name for having a smelly sock fetish?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,692 ✭✭✭michellie

No
    Never been asked to take off my shoes or asked anyone. I guess I'm just normal, as are the people I know.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 368 ✭✭Morph the Cat

No

Not the same at all.

You lick your carpets or something?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

That's why people have doormats? long as you're not tracking a rake of sh1te in with you it's grand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,234 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

No
    If someone came into my house and took their shoes off I'd tell then to put them to fuck back on again as I don't want their sweaty smelly feet polluting my house. There's a mat at the door if their shoes are dirty/wet that they can wipe their shoes on.

Fuggin nonsense taking your shoes off unless their caked to the ankles in mud. My visitors are generally civilised and not muck savages.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 901 ✭✭✭Vicar in a tutu

I'd think someone was an asshole if they asked me to remove my shoes!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,238 ✭✭✭Tombo2001

Nice thread title in terms of grabbing attention.....

Shoes / no shoes.....

.......sorry, I've a half eaten apricot somewhere down the back of the fridge.......when I've eaten it I'll get back to ya.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,844 ✭✭✭Honey-ec

No
    Cue someone posting about hygiene any minute now.

Having never felt the need to eat directly off my floors, I think that old chesnut specious at best.

Not the same at all.

You lick your carpets or something?

Hey, if you enjoy having muddy shoe prints on your carpets that's up to you - but frankly I don't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,453 ✭✭✭Shenshen

Well, that answered that question....

I had been wondering why Irish people seem to meet up in the pub rather than at home, now I know it's because they're surgically attached to their shoes and nobody wants the dirt in the house. :D

• Administrators Posts: 56,572 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

No
    TBH I think asking a visitor to remove their shoes before coming in would be quite rude.

No
    Hey, if you enjoy having muddy shoe prints on your carpets that's up to you - but frankly I don't.

Where do you live that's so muddy??? It's been the driest summer in years.

Honey-ec wrote: »
    Where do you live that's so muddy??? It's been the driest summer in years.

Fine - 'dust/dirt' prints if you wanna get specific.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,687 ✭✭✭Karl Stein

I had to grow up in an orphanage because my old man was killed down there in Okinawa, all right?

No
    Fine - 'dust/dirt' prints if you wanna get specific.

A couple of doormats would be a simple solution. A coir one outside the door and a carpet one just inside the door. Problem solved.

And get your carpet Sotchgarded, ffs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 954 ✭✭✭lahalane

No
    Well how are they supposed to know if you don't tell them? If I was asked once to take my shoes off I'd remember for every time...I'd also think the person who asked me was a bit of a twat.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,635 ✭✭✭Pumpkinseeds

No
    I'd feel really embarrassed if someone asked me to take my shoes off in their home. I just wouldn't feel comfortable. Tbh I wouldn't be in a hurry to visit them again.

I always take my shoes off at home, I don't like wearing them inside
    I do wear them in other people's homes unless they were to tell me to take them off, though

Different customs in different countries, I don't think it makes someone a "twat"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,436 ✭✭✭c_man

No

TAKE IT OFF!!!

I'd consider it very rude for someone to come into my home and plonk off their shoes without asking tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭jester77

Everyone takes off their shoes here, people are considerate and don't want to drag in dirt. Luckily people wash their feet and wear fresh socks here so smelly feet is not an issue, plus the underfloor heating is nice when you are in your socks.