Manchester United Talk/Gossip/Rumours - 2013/14

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,333 ✭✭✭jonnyfingers

Have to laugh at all the dramatics in this thread over the summer. It's not unfounded, I'll give ye that, but some of it is a bit much. Ok we haven't signed anyone so far, which is disappointing I'll admit but it's not the end of the world. I will say that by not signing any new players we are making it very difficult for ourselves to win the league. But I've said it before, I think we're realistically playing for third place this year and signing a handful of players isn't going to change that much. The loss of our most successful manager and the strengthening of our rivals will have an effect no matter who we have in our starting line up.

Ok, we've had an average start to the season. But to be fair to Moyes I think he knows what way he'd like the team to play, has identified players that would fit that system only to be let down by the money-men at the club. There's not much he can do about it.

As for the points we've dropped so far, both Chelsea and Liverpool set up so as not to lose, rather than win the game. Performance wise I think the players have a lot of responsibility to bear. But against Chelsea we were the better team, however they played very well defensively and we couldn't break them down. Liverpool were lucky and got an early goal, so could afford to sit back and defend. It just so happened that a lot of our team had a poor game, so even though we had the upper hand in possession and chances we couldn't score and deserved to lose. However we weren't played off the pitch by the opposition in either game, and both results could have been drastically difficult if we had got a goal. But sometimes things don't go your way, and we've ended up with 4 points, when on another day it might have been 6, 7 or 9.

What I'm most disappointed in so far is the amount of game time Giggs is getting. He really shouldn't be starting, but looking at Nani when he came on yesterday it shows that he, and I hope Kagawa, are still lacking match fitness so I'll give Moyes the benefit of the doubt on his team selections for now. But I think a lot of players need to step up their games. There was far to many lose passes and poor play from our team yesterday and there isn't much the manager can do about that.

Regarding signings, as I said I don't really blame Moyes other than possibly identifying targets that are unrealistic (Cesc for example). But a good chief exec would have snapped up the likes of Fellaini by now. Woodward and co have today to redeem themselves, but if they don't I don't think we should turn on the manager. If anything he'll need all the support he can get.

As for Ozil, as good a player he is, and as much as I'd like to see him in a United jersey, he has to fit the managers system to be a good signing. Now if that means changing things to accommodate him, that's a decision only Moyes can make. If he thinks it's not worth it, then so be it. I really wouldn't like him to go to Arsenal though so I do hope we try to get him just to avoid that.

Regardless of how things go today I think we all need to get behind the manager. He has an impossible task taking over from SAF. I really think we should reserve judgement on him until the end of the season at least. If things go horribly wrong then so be it. It's only one season in the grand scheme of things. But I have a feeling we'll be ok. Lets just see how things go.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,295 ✭✭✭Cypher_sounds

If we sign Herrera and Fellaini i will be quite pleased that Moyes has addressed our main area of concern, let arsenal fork out £42million for Ozil we have Kagawa, Nani and up and coming star Zaha.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,465 ✭✭✭supersean1999

Bale looks like a child in a sweet shop, roll on 6 months he might be getting booed like Modric,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25,953 ✭✭✭✭kryogen

deisedevil wrote: »
    Not good at all. Without at the very least bringing in Fellaini we will struggle and are looking at fighting for CL spot. Hopefully next summer Moyes will have had a chance to identify who needs to go and have deals done earlier in the summer. This season was always going to be a tough one for us and I was never expecting to be winning the league this season.

You think there will be a 20-30 point swing between the top 4?

We will finish 3rd at worst with no signings.

As bad things are today I will be 1000% behind Moyes this season.

I really dont think its his fault (or very little) its our dealings that have been a shambles.

Exactly how many targets does the man need to pick,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 35,338 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

kryogen wrote: »
    You think there will be a 20-30 point swing between the top 4?

We will finish 3rd at worst with no signings.

While I be confident enough I would not put my house on it.

it would take major collapse etc though.

EVENFLOW

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,617 ✭✭✭xtal191

so assuming Arsenal deal for Ozil is done, if no other players move in the next 10 hours or so, how do ye rate our chances for the season?

Prob 3rd in the league but 15+ points off the title and struggle through the group stages of the Champions League.

Bale looks like a child in a sweet shop, roll on 6 months he might be getting booed like Modric,

I hope he outshines Ronaldo every single game so as to improve our chances of re-signing him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,140 ✭✭✭✭TheDoc

considering what has gone on all summer, do we have the resources, people, negotiating skills, time and above all else the cash, to seal these?

one yes, two at a stretch, but 3? i dont think so.

happy to be proven wrong of course. but if that was to happen, it would be about €80million and to be honest, it could have been spent alot better.

lets see.

I think I think it's feasible. These are deals in the pipeline for some time ( weeks). It is not like they are starting up today.

The indication seems to be player terms will be agreed rapidly, the stumbling block is the fees. United might feel the pressure as the day drags on and just get it over with.

Reports indicate Fellaini has signalled he wishes to join and would like the club to respect his wishes, rather then go down the route of lodging a transfer request.
    Baines has also echoed something similar.

Herrera has indicated he also wishes to join the club, hence why Bilbao are in discussions with United rather then issueing a hands off.

I'm actually confident Fellaini and Herrera will get wrapped up, not sure on Baines, I think transfer fee could be the stumbler there.

I don't personally see anything coming out of left field either, as in anything brand spanking new dveloping today.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

Jesus can people not at least wait until the deadline has passed before crying into their pillows?

Even the more level headed posters up until now are starting to lose it. Calm down ffs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,252 ✭✭✭deisedevil

I never said he should be sacked or anthing like that? Some people on here must be on mushrooms or something!!

I have no idea why he went with giggs. Id really love to know. I wish i could ask him.
    Anyone that watches football should be able to see that a top team should not be starting a 39 year old in s match of that status.
    Ridiculous decision and post match comments.
    'Giving him time' doesnt come into it.
    I back moyes all the way. I hope he stays with Utd for years to come. Just can not understand his decisions and comments yesterday.

Your so hung up on Giggs starting yesterday that you still haven't realised that I never said anything about that to begin with and have been trying to explain that to you ever since. My first post: "Pathetic isn't it. There's a lot of United fans sounding like spoiled brats today." I agree Giggs shouldn't have started but my post had nothing to do with that. As for your mushrooms comment :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,449 ✭✭✭Call Me Jimmy

Yes with no updates to the squad I can't see United finishing lowering than third. If Arsenal do okay with injuries (remembering that they are already in a bad spot in that regard) I think they could do a lot better than people think.

I don't think you can discount the players that won the league last year, I doubt they will win it but I don't think any team will be out in front too far in terms of points.

Chelsea
    Arsenal
    United
    City
    Liverpool
    Tottenham

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,475 ✭✭✭Zico

What's happening?

I'm hearing Arsenal signed Ozil and Kaka has gone to Milan.

Nothing from us yet? ..still?

Plenty of minutes left in the transfer window, no need to panic yet.

No more coffee for me.

I hope he outshines Ronaldo every single game so as to improve our chances of re-signing him.

Time to wake up its 12:25 :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,379 ✭✭✭master-t

Will be disappointed to see Ozil go to Arsenal :(

I'm calling it. Bale to United next summer. I have a horrible feeling he'll flop, the fans and media will turn against him and he'll be offloaded at a huge loss. Just think it's a bad move for him. I do wish him the best though.

So you're happy for him to say that to the press and risk undermining squad morale? nice one.

Ah yeah, that's what I said alright. Don't often give these, I feel you've earned it though :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,080 ✭✭✭✭Maximus Alexander

I'm calling it. Bale to United next summer. I have a horrible feeling he'll flop, the fans and media will turn against him and he'll be offloaded at a huge loss. Just think it's a bad move for him. I do wish him the best though.

Given that he was sold at about £50 million above his value, this is a real possibility.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,547 ✭✭✭Your Airbag

People were pissed off at Kagawa not starting yesterday.

Now people are pissed off we are not signing Ozil and saying how could we let him go to Arsenal. Ozil would have made it very hard for Kagawa to start.

We don't need Ozil. Its the positions behind him that need attention.

It makes sense we turned Ozil down.

Time to wake up its 12:25 :D

Relax, this is not the last ever transfer window.

TheDoc wrote: »
    I think I think it's feasible. These are deals in the pipeline for some time ( weeks). It is not like they are starting up today.

The indication seems to be player terms will be agreed rapidly, the stumbling block is the fees. United might feel the pressure as the day drags on and just get it over with.

Reports indicate Fellaini has signalled he wishes to join and would like the club to respect his wishes, rather then go down the route of lodging a transfer request.
    Baines has also echoed something similar.

Herrera has indicated he also wishes to join the club, hence why Bilbao are in discussions with United rather then issueing a hands off.

I'm actually confident Fellaini and Herrera will get wrapped up, not sure on Baines, I think transfer fee could be the stumbler there.

I don't personally see anything coming out of left field either, as in anything brand spanking new dveloping today.
    Fully agree baines is the hold up, utd obviously still trying hard for both,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,111 ✭✭✭✭RasTa

Should giggs retire and focus on being a coach? I think yes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,882 ✭✭✭FortuneChip

Bale actually looks delighted to be at Real Madrid.
    Giggling like a kid. Understandable of course! Fair play to him getting his dream move.

Now, has anyone here seen Kagawa?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 35,338 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

RasTa wrote: »
    Should giggs retire and focus on being a coach? I think yes.

2 seasons too late

EVENFLOW

While I be confident enough I would not put my house on it.

it would take major collapse etc though.

Spurs have so many new players you could not count on them to realistically get top 3 this season.

Arsenal have a small squad, any injuries to a couple of payers and they are ****ed, already picking up injuries.

Who else would stop us finishing third?

Given that he was sold at about £50 million above his value, this is a real possibility.

Yep, that's part of the problem. The transfer fee automatically sets the expectation at Ronaldo-like levels. He's simply not as good as Ronaldo so cannot possibly live up to those expectations. Added to that pressure is the language barrier and the fact he has a young family and I can just see so many risks. Now I'm all for taking risks when it comes to furthering your career, but I can't help but feel that staying in England and going to the likes of us would have been an easier step.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,379 ✭✭✭master-t

Feel happy for Bale. Seems like a nice chap and the price tag is not something he decides, so hopefully he is able to take the pressure.

Even had a go at speaking Spanish at the presentation. Fair play lad.

kryogen wrote: »
    Spurs have so many new players you could not count on them to realistically get top 3 this season.

Arsenal have a small squad, any injuries to a couple of payers and they are ****ed, already picking up injuries.

Who else would stop us finishing third?

If we lose Carrick or RVP we are in trouble too.

Carrick staying injury free is crucial to our season.

EVENFLOW

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,597 ✭✭✭WIZE

I predict this thread hitting 10K posts today lol

Relax, this is not the last ever transfer window.

I am relaxed, but not a hope in **** he outshines ronaldo, either way I see ronaldo back next summer and Rooney out,