Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

****Motors Chat Thread Round 4****

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,585 ✭✭✭ba_barabus

There's so much on fleabay. You'd sort out the seats easily and cheaply.

I've been lazy tbh.

No other excuses as I've done it before

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,585 ✭✭✭ba_barabus

CianRyan wrote: »
    ba_barabus wrote: »

For me, unless it's something seriously rare that's never had any restortion but has just been kept clean using only OEM parts for the last 50+ years, I'm still all for improvement.

I'm not gonna add another wing to the Taj Mahal but I will rewire it and fit it with modern comforts. ;)
    I know.

The last classics I had 45k miles from new and a sh every 1500 miles or less from newc. It was a 1979 Rover

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,728 ✭✭✭✭CianRyan

ba_barabus wrote: »
    I know.

The last classics I had 45k miles from new and a sh every 1500 miles or less from newc. It was a 1979 Rover

Jesus, that's impressive alright!

Speaking of classics, I just realised I "have" a daily driver and a car that can be insured as a classic... Gotta make some calls about the Mazda!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,871 ✭✭✭Scortho

Jesus, that's impressive alright!

Speaking of classics, I just realised I "have" a daily driver and a car that can be insured as a classic... Gotta make some calls about the Mazda!

You need to be over 25.
    Well you did a month ago when I enquired.
    However if you have luck, let me know.

Scortho wrote: »
    You need to be over 25.
    Well you did a month ago when I enquired.
    However if you have luck, let me know.

Will do, worth a chance at least. Won't know if I don't try. :)

It's either that or the Mazda goes up for sale.

You've sold it already.....

Not yet but if I can't get insured on it then I'll be moving it on for something less head wrecking to insure.
    I rang a few places and before even asking about my age or licence I was told they won't insure anything over 20 years old.

I'll have loads of time for fun classics when I'm older and better off but for now I'll need one car that can do all... Unless I can land a cheap classic policy.

You could also consider giving it to your mam and putting it in her name. Liberty cover you to drive other cars once theyre roadworthy and you've got the owners permission.
    You need a full licence though....
    Just don't drive it all the time...or write it off.

Not yet but if I can't get insured on it then I'll be moving it on for something less head wrecking to insure.
    I rang a few places and before even asking about my age or licence I was told they won't insure anything over 20 years old.

I'll have loads of time for fun classics when I'm older and better off but for now I'll need one car that can do all... Unless I can land a cheap classic policy.

Well if you're looking for your money back I'd be happy to take her in return. It'd put me off buying a gtv, but that's about the only thing that would stop me buy one.

I've thought of that and it was the plan until I totalled the Almera. :(

I'll also need something to do the test in if I'm to get my licence and I can't afford to buy anything else with out selling up.

Edit: Presuming you'll be around on Monday I'll talk to you about that then but I will fight nail and tooth to get it insured so you'll have to wait a while. :p

I've thought of that and it was the plan until I totalled the Almera. :(

I'll also need something to do the test in if I'm to get my licence and I can't afford to buy anything else with out selling up.

Edit: Presuming you'll be around on Monday I'll talk to you about that then but I will fight nail and tooth to get it insured so you'll have to wait a while. :p

What will they insure you on the Saxo for?
    Fair enough. Oh definitely. I have to watch a certain fanboy cry. :D

And make sure he doesn't <snip> anything that isn't his....:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,569 ✭✭✭166man

http://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/bmw-5-series-518d-se-saloon/5602201

Christ I didn't think it was actually going to hit the market... Folks I give you the 518d.....

Really though the E34 was the last 5 series to wear the 518 badge, we're going bloody backwards. :(

166man wrote: »
    http://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/bmw-5-series-518d-se-saloon/5602201

Christ I didn't think it was actually going to hit the market... Folks I give you the 518d.....

Really though the E34 was the last 5 series to wear the 518 badge, we're going bloody backwards. :(

46 feckin grand. Sweet Jesus I'd want my head examined if I was willing to drop that much on a car that only has a 2 L.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,294 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

140bhp isn't the worst once the power delivery is good. I'd have it over a 177bhp IS220d for example.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,917 ✭✭✭✭MetzgerMeister

46 feckin grand. Sweet Jesus I'd want my head examined if I was willing to drop that much on a car that only has a 2 L.

It's only 6k more than a Toyota GT86 and IMO, that's not too bad considering that extras like sat nav and leather etc. would take up a huge chunk of that 6k.

That's true, but I'm thinking what I could fill the driveway with for that 46k.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,951 ✭✭✭Kopparberg Strawberry and Lime

Punto just died at the lights at palmerston n4.

Wont budge.. ffs

Punto just died at the lights at palmerston n4.

Wont budge.. ffs

Where you going too? Might be able to give you a lift as far as Enfield or so?
    Wouldn't be able to tow it though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,951 ✭✭✭Kopparberg Strawberry and Lime

Where you going too? Might be able to give you a lift as far as Enfield or so?
    Wouldn't be able to tow it though.

Only to the city center... car is bloxking a lane and im standing aside. Phone about to die :/

If you want a lift in I can be there on 20 minutes. Don't know what you can do with the punto other than push it into the side.
    I'm guessing you got sorted anyway...no punto around.

If you want a lift in I can be there on 20 minutes. Don't know what you can do with the punto other than push it into the side.
    I'm guessing you got sorted anyway...no punto around.

Thanks for the offer !

Gardai came along and helped me get it into thepparking space.... sorted for now !

Thanks for the offer !

Gardai came along and helped me get it into thepparking space.... sorted for now !

No problem at all I had a good look around but couldn't see any punto.
    Glad to hear you got it sorted anyway. :D

No problem at all I had a good look around but couldn't see any punto.
    Glad to hear you got it sorted anyway. :D

Very sound of you ! Will repay someday !

Do you still work in the nct centre?

Go after him for top shelf tyres now.

I do need two Bridgestone turanzas...:pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,179 ✭✭✭✭Max Power1

That's true, but I'm thinking what I could fill the driveway with for that 46k.

You could buy 3 m cars for that money, an e60, an e39 and an e46.

Max Power1 wrote: »
    You could buy 3 m cars for that money, an e60, an e39 and an e46.

Or I could buy an e34 m5, a lancia delta integrale and a jag xkr. And still have money to run them. :pac:

Do you still work in the nct centre?

I dont but might still have some contacts there..

What can we do or not do ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,473 ✭✭✭YbFocus

Mmmm integrale. . . .