Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

****Motors Chat Thread Round 4****

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,569 ✭✭✭166man

ba_barabus wrote: »
    @166Man..........EMPTY YOUR INBOX

Done and Done! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,902 ✭✭✭power pants

Scortho wrote: »
    For the car?
    Or the age of the driver?
    I thought the driver had to be over the age of 25 before any of the companies will give classic insurance

yeah for the car and also I think you are right about the age of the driver too. I think AXA is his only bet for getting insurance -I went through a lot and not one would entertain me. Hopefully he will get insured

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,685 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

Lads,

How difficult is it to replace an aerial?
    Now to be clear, my aerial is one of those jobbies that automatically goes up and down when the car is on/off.

That functionality is broken in mine, and I've sources a replacement that works.

Is it something I could do (i.e. not much more difficult than changing the stereo?)?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,179 ✭✭✭✭Max Power1

car gone, CAR GONE!

Sold to a nice family from cavan. Got a fair price imo too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,066 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

Stheno wrote: »
    Is it something I could do (i.e. not much more difficult than changing the stereo?)?

Coat Hanger, Be Grand!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,473 ✭✭✭YbFocus

Max Power1 wrote: »
    car gone, CAR GONE!

Sold to a nice family from cavan. Got a fair price imo too.

Jesus when i read that i thought the 35 had been stolen!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,661 ✭✭✭eringobragh

Spotted a 2011 avensis today with one of these POS locks on it:

-font-b-Small-b-font-car-steering-wheel-font-b-lock-b-font-car-anti.jpg

DO people realise that there car has chipped keys or what? ...on a side note the missus lost her key to one of these and I ripped it off the steering wheel in no less then 2 seconds with my bare hands!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,585 ✭✭✭ba_barabus

YbFocus wrote: »
    Jesus when i read that i though the 35 had been stolen!

REALLY?

MasseyFerguson_FE35_41,5PS_1959.jpg

ba_barabus wrote: »
    REALLY?
    ]

Hah ha ha ha

Hilarious :rolleyes:

Fcuk no... thanks be ta jaysus lol I would be lost for words if that happened. I dont know what I would do but I certainly wouldnt be posting on boards straight after!

Would've been cool if you said this :)

images?q=tbn:ANd9GcSkbIjMKH65LU9m086SUnS7BpmdGZ_GmgjetgBfqOiO_jrsjiqprg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,605 ✭✭✭toastedpickles

Would've been cool if you said this :)

images?q=tbn:ANd9GcSkbIjMKH65LU9m086SUnS7BpmdGZ_GmgjetgBfqOiO_jrsjiqprg

One day one of these shall be mine, in this colour.....the only jap car I'd happily drive and not complain :pac:

There was a black one at mondello cutting it up last friday, amazingly quick car!
    Still I'd rather a 32 myself, they're dead cool!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,605 ✭✭✭toastedpickles

Agreed, but this! this is something else!

My perfect skyline would be a R324.

Hey is anyone around here into airsoft?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,585 ✭✭✭ba_barabus

LIGHTNING wrote: »
    That pretty much sums up exactly why I buy pretty much everything outside of Ireland. Anytime I try an Irish retailer I get fobbed off with excuses/delays and it normally costs a good bit more.

Currently having that problem trying to get a few simple clips to hold on the air intake on my car.

First of all they didn't know what part they needed to order and then it will take ages to come in.

They wouldn't give me the part numbers in the end to let me do it myself. I must put up a picture for someone here to tell me.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,685 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

Any other opinions?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,308 ✭✭✭✭wotzgoingon

Is a twin cam the same as a DOHC? Anyone know.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,871 ✭✭✭Scortho

Is a twin cam the same as a DOHC? Anyone know.

Dual equals twin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,308 ✭✭✭✭wotzgoingon

Scortho wrote: »
    Dual equals twin.

I don't get you. So they are the same?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 673 ✭✭✭Dr.Rieux

DOHC stands for double over head cam. Could just as easily read twin over head cam or TOHC :pac: Both are twin cam.

I don't get you. So they are the same?

They're both the same thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 239 ✭✭thats not gone well

today i found DGT!!

cvdw.jpg

:pac::pac::pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,871 ✭✭✭Foxhole Norman

My perfect skyline would be a R324.

Hey is anyone around here into airsoft?

Yup I am, back into it after 3 years out.

In other news, Awwww Yisss, Electric Picnic!

Feckin all nighters for a stupid repeat.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,978 ✭✭✭✭dgt

today i found DGT!!

cvdw.jpg

:pac::pac::pac:

Raspberries now theres another acronym for my name! :pac:

I've a bit of free time, I'm in felt heaven in Aikens :cool: who'd hve thought my rattly old Pug would get so much attention! :eek: well be blocking up the town tomorrow so unless you want to see us all in pain doing drills you can't say I didn't warn yous! :p

Normal service should resume on Sunday, should be a hectic week next week ;)

Hmmmm, normal service has resumed sooner than normal, exhaust clamp loosened and the whole lot smashed off the road, breaking the 2 flanges whilst dragging off the road :(

Side of the road, disconnected the mount, smashed the exhaust in half, f*cked into the boot and on I went, what else could I do, had to be back in aikens within the hour!

Custom exhaust to be made sometime next week hopefully :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,728 ✭✭✭✭CianRyan

I've heard of a feck load of exhausts falling off lately.
    I plant mine up a hill and it stays intact.

As far as cars are going for me, I'm considering saving for a Legacy GT-B.
    I've always liked them and I'm not wanting something with better safety features.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,951 ✭✭✭Kopparberg Strawberry and Lime

And the volvo is sold. ... driving home in a poxy Punto !

And the volvo is sold. ... driving home in a well engineered, cost efficient, sporty, frugal Punto that I'm beginning to love more and more.... Why didn't I get one sooner !

Congrats and congrats on the Punto! :pac: