Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Help Keep Boards Alive. Support us by going ad free today. See here: https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

Cheaters on Strava..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,118 ✭✭✭✭Wishbone Ash

Just wondering - I got a 9th overall in a segment today but STRAVA didn't rank it as an "acheivement" or give me a little trophy or a PR? :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,386 ✭✭✭lennymc

Just wondering - I got a 9th overall in a segment today but STRAVA didn't rank it as an "acheivement" or give me a little trophy or a PR? :(

did you get 9th today, or did you have it previously.

lennymc wrote: »
    did you get 9th today, or did you have it previously.
    It's dated today and I knew from my speed that it would be my best (averaged 39.9).

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 78,477 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

You got a KOM - what more do you want?

It was on my list for the commute home anyway, but I see the wind's abating ...:(

Beasty wrote: »
    You got a KOM - what more do you want?

It was on my list for the commute home anyway, but I see the wind's abating ...:(
    LOL :D - actually an improvement of my existing KOM!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,063 ✭✭✭on_the_nickel

Is Strava clever enough to record wind data for a particular day? Would it be that difficult to get it to query a meteorological database and overlay it on the map?

There should definitely be a way to tag a ride as a group ride, and to be able to filter them out.

I bust my arse on an 11km segment a few weeks ago, got the KOM, only for it to be taken by 3 lads a few days later. I wouldn't really mind, but the same lads took another one from me the next week! I'm of a mind to round up a gang to get it back, but I'm not that sad*

*I have no friends.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,277 Mod ✭✭✭✭Chips Lovell

You're not really going to get that much of a draft on a hill really?

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 78,477 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

I thought that also, but I got a message from Strava accusing you of stealing it from me...

You're not really going to get that much of a draft on a hill really?

It's flat with a slight drag (maybe 50m over 2km). Though you have a point, maybe they should also have a different title for fastest time on a flat/downhill section......

Actually, when I went to look at it, it's only 7km, but still.

Sorted;)

Sorted;)
    ..by 10 fecking seconds!

Well done - I'll go off and lick my wounds! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1 shiningstar123

WAAS based GPS receivers aren't accurate enough to measure your ride precisely. Racing during non race days just scares hikers, erodes the trail faster, and creates incentives for bad behavior. If you want to race, go to a race on race day, when everyone is racing on a closed course.

epomyride.com and make a statement for all those strava weenies.

... just scares hikers, erodes the trail faster.....
    Hikers? Trails? :confused:

Are you confusing the real cyclists with the baggy shorts brigade? :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,315 ✭✭✭chakattack

epomyride.com and make a statement for all those strava weenies.

I'm betting that that's your website....and you're a professional spoil sport.

Strava is for training and not for "racing".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,368 ✭✭✭mosstin

There should definitely be a way to tag a ride as a group ride, and to be able to filter them out.

I bust my arse on an 11km segment a few weeks ago, got the KOM, only for it to be taken by 3 lads a few days later. I wouldn't really mind, but the same lads took another one from me the next week! I'm of a mind to round up a gang to get it back, but I'm not that sad*

*I have no friends.

Seriously - you let stuff like this bother you? Ye Gods.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31 Inventor

Two KOMs on ride this morning while shamelessly trailing a tractor. Marked the ride as private at the moment so not on the leaderboard. So whats the feeling leave it as private or take the two KOM's. Would that be cheating?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,386 ✭✭✭lennymc

Inventor wrote: »
    Two KOMs on ride this morning while shamelessly trailing a tractor. Marked the ride as private at the moment so not on the leaderboard. So whats the feeling leave it as private or take the two KOM's. Would that be cheating?

throw it up and dont worry about it? :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,213 ✭✭✭MajesticDonkey

How would you consider that cheating? You were on a bike when you did it weren't you, and you weren't being physically pulled by the tractor, so what's the complaint?

Staying behind a tractor is only equivalent to having a strong breeze behind you, which many people (including myself) use to get higher on leader boards :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,479 ✭✭✭rollingscone

You can always disclose it in the comments.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 262 ✭✭elnino23

That's fair game in my eyes put it up!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 430 ✭✭Craig06

Sure motor pacing would have the same effect as riding in a race bunch.

Unless all those f*ckers in the Ras start marking their rides as private, work away!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,408 ✭✭✭studiorat

I've often joked about setting strava records in the car but I didn't think anyone would actually do it!

Got my bibshorts caught on the back of a Coillte jeep on Cruagh Road last week. Am currently KOM from there to Sally Gap.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 641 ✭✭✭rab!dmonkey

Craig06 wrote: »
    Sure motor pacing would have the same effect as riding in a race bunch.
    Strava's policy disallows motor-pacing, but drafting behind traffic is fair game if you ask me.

Like many of their rules, that policy sets a number of unnecessary and arbitrary restrictions: who decides what a 'non-conventional bicycle' is anyway? The ITU? The UCI? HPVA? If I had it my way, only bicycles which could be bunny hopped up a 15 cm kerb would be accepted, but I digress.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27 glasshopper

Hooked on strava confessions and experience so far by occasional boardsie ....
    I do care about leaderboards. I will especially burst a lung to beat poeple I know. I pray for tail winds and passing trucks. If I loose a KOM I will give Kudos and begin a plot to regain it after assessing if the new king is streets ahead of me on interrogating thier stats. I will also investigate the ride that beat me for cheats ( avg/max speed where the ride went etc) I have had a few Uh oh! lost KOM messages only to see devices left on after sportive (lift home) or MTB driving home. I just comment asking / suggesting thier stats were done in the car and they should remove. it's up to them to crop or ? I have not needed to flag a cheat yet.
    If you are in training then challenge the leaderboard on your rides as it will improve your strength and you will likely have cycled faster than otherwise. Good Fun!
    Whoever created or ever used epomyride should be castrated.

A timely bump, I got two KOMs today when drafting a cement truck for some the segments.

Had a moral dilemma about whether to mark the ride as private til I noticed both KOMs are hidden (so didn't get any cups) and more importantly, both were set by the Ronde lads on a training/KOM snatching ride. My conscience is at ease.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,457 ✭✭✭ford2600

A timely bump, I got two KOMs today when drafting a cement truck for some the segments.

Had a moral dilemma about whether to mark the ride as private til I noticed both KOMs are hidden (so didn't get any cups) and more importantly, both were set by the Ronde lads on a training/KOM snatching ride. My conscience is at ease.

Do you cycle much around Minane bridge? Very underused ideal area for cycling, roads ok, quite and scenic.
    Always wonder why there is no more cyclists

ford2600 wrote: »
    Do you cycle much around Minane bridge? Very underused ideal area for cycling, roads ok, quite and scenic.
    Always wonder why there is no more cyclists

Yea, I'd go out there a few times a month.

It's very lumpy and tends to be exposed to the wind, so I usually only head out when I'm feeling good, which is why I'm not there more often ;).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 543 ✭✭✭DubVelo

Haven't read through this whole thread but what I'm getting is all you have to do to knock someone off the top spot is flag their ride?

Potential for evil there methinks.