Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Sex boxes in Switzerland

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,122 ✭✭✭BeerWolf

And journalists were there to 'see' their first customer...

hah

What a proud man :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 42 Royal.Baby

Its nearly the same as picking up a hooker and bringing her of for a good rogering in you're car so i don't see why not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,238 ✭✭✭mutley18

It is just a scam to get your car behind closed doors, then when you are rogering Annabel a few lads will pop out and steal your fuel, wheels and brake pads. You won't report it to the police because you will be too embarrassed to admit you pay for intercourse. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,173 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Would it work here? No doubt.

But we're not capable yet of having a mature conversation about sex. Our media still gives airtime to people with an anti-sex agenda and would still have us believe that there's a debate about contraception.

The war on prostitution is like the war on drugs. It doesn't solve any problems, all it does is cost money and criminalise a lot of people who aren't fundamentally doing anything wrong.

We are animals. We desire sex. When something is desirable, it becomes valuable. If something is valuable, it is a tradeable commodity. This is the reality and it's never going to go away, unless we completely change our social structures such that everyone has sex with anyone else at any point that they say they want it.

Rather than waste resources fighting prostitution, we should be making it safe for those who engage in it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,466 ✭✭✭Clandestine

I think prostitution in Ireland should be legalized with some stipulations, but the state shouldn't pay for things such as these.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,980 ✭✭✭limklad

BeerWolf wrote: »
    And journalists were there to 'see' their first customer...

hah

What a proud man :p
    What a proud woman!! :eek:
    Women look for prostitutes too. :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,980 ✭✭✭limklad

I think prostitution in Ireland should be legalized with some stipulations, but the state shouldn't pay for things such as these.
    It will certainty pay for the bank debts and pay off our public loans faster than all the taxes/charges/levies combined and clean up the industry and take money away from the criminals and traffickers.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,180 ✭✭✭Sunglasses Ron

I can't recall where I read it, but despite the harping on of certain feminist groups, there has either never, or barely ever, been a case of even suspected forced prostitution in Ireland and the UK. Sex trafficking may exist in terms of the deliberate smuggling of illegals across borders, but the vast majority are willing, and get paid quite handsomely for it. Much like kidnapping and forcing women to become drug mules, forcing women to be hookers against their will when there is a surplus of women who are willing to do it for voluntary employment makes no sense. This may shock and appall these feminists, but believe it or not most blokes would not enjoy shagging a bird who seems withdrawn, has some bruises and seems terrified of her very surroundings. Most blokes would have no hesitation in reporting a woman being kept prisoner if she whispered it to him or passed him a note.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,886 ✭✭✭✭Roger_007

If you overstay your time do you get clamped.......or even the car?

limklad wrote: »
    It will certainty pay for the bank debts and pay off our public loans faster than all the taxes/charges/levies combined and clean up the industry and take money away from the criminals and traffickers.
    I meant it as in the state shouldn't pay for these boxes. If people want to make money (if prostitution becomes illegal) they should open a brothel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,038 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

we already have a city bike scheme

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,952 ✭✭✭Lando Griffin

And what about the people who don't have cars, what are they meant to do? Hire a taxi?:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,954 ✭✭✭munchkin_utd

it is ALREADY legal in Ireland, in case you didnt know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭jester77

And what about the people who don't have cars, what are they meant to do? Hire a taxi.:mad:

Just be mindful of the soiling fee!

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,356 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

When was it made illegal?

It's morally reprehensible, sure as far as some are concerned, but as far as I knew, it is legal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,810 ✭✭✭✭sbsquarepants

Royal.Baby wrote: »
    Its nearly the same as picking up a hooker and bringing her of for a good rogering in you're car so i don't see why not.

It is picking up a hooker and bringing her for a good rogering in your car. It's basically a drive through hoor house - i'm all for it, every town should have one!

it is ALREADY legal in Ireland, in case you didnt know.
    Yes, i just remembered. As far as I know brothels and the like are still banned

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 998 ✭✭✭dharma200

I can't recall where I read it, but despite the harping on of certain feminist groups, there has either never, or barely ever, been a case of even suspected forced prostitution in Ireland and the UK. Sex trafficking may exist in terms of the deliberate smuggling of illegals across borders, but the vast majority are willing, and get paid quite handsomely for it. Much like kidnapping and forcing women to become drug mules, forcing women to be hookers against their will when there is a surplus of women who are willing to do it for voluntary employment makes no sense. This may shock and appall these feminists, but believe it or not most blokes would not enjoy shagging a bird who seems withdrawn, has some bruises and seems terrified of her very surroundings. Most blokes would have no hesitation in reporting a woman being kept prisoner if she whispered it to him or passed him a note.

You are living in cloud cuckoo land and obviously have little or scant knowledge about the sex industry in Ireland.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 954 ✭✭✭lahalane

Wasn't there a strip club opened somewhere, Kilkenny I think, but it had to be shut down because a load of people got their signs and stood outside shouting 'Rabble rabble rabble'? Imagine the uproar sex boxes would cause...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 985 ✭✭✭Hercule

they should make it so it rotates during the deed - then it could be called a sexbox 360 :pac:

lahalane wrote: »
    Wasn't there a strip club opened somewhere, Kilkenny I think, but it had to be shut down because a load of people got their signs and stood outside shouting 'Rabble rabble rabble'? Imagine the uproar sex boxes would cause...
    stringfellows too on Parnell square in Dublin.

And yes, paying for sex is legal (as are sham marriages as confirmed by the high court a while back - so another way of paying/ getting paid for "love") but kerb crawling (solicitation), brothels, organised prostitution and the likes ARE outlawed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,810 ✭✭✭✭sbsquarepants

dharma200 wrote: »
    You are living in cloud cuckoo land and obviously have little or scant knowledge about the sex industry in Ireland.

I don't know much about it myself, but i also don't see the logic in kidnapping and keeping slaves when there is any number of willing participants. It probably happens, but i'd imagine quite rarely. Just as has been mentioned with the drug mules - why would you bother? It makes no sense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 673 ✭✭✭pundy

lahalane wrote: »

that was a gay bar i think. so if that's the reaction to something like a gay bar, imagine the uproar of a hoor-house?!

pundy wrote: »
    that was a gay bar i think. so if that's the reaction to something like a gay bar, imagine the uproar of a hoor-house?!
    theres a gay sauna in Cork and nobody bats an eyelid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,605 ✭✭✭Fizman

Have been in Brussels for the past week and BBC news have been playing this story over the week.

For those of you familiar with The Wire, this is basically the sex industry equivalent to Hamsterdam.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,370 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

seamus wrote: »
    Would it work here? No doubt.

But we're not capable yet of having a mature conversation about sex. Our media still gives airtime to people with an anti-sex agenda and would still have us believe that there's a debate about contraception.

I think there's more to it than that.

As long as people defer to government, local politicians, the church, Gardai.. and an almost endless list of other 'powers', then this kind of progressive move will never happen.

In Switzerland, people are; from a very early age introduced to politics, and instilled with a sense of civic duty. Here, there's a shitstorm whenever someone suggests lowering the voting age, people guffaw at the idea of younger people having a say.. voters are too concerned with protecting their own traditionalist ideals and the manner in which they are implemented.

And can you imagine the reaction of certain people if one were to suggest introducing a system of direct democracy here? Where the people ultimately decide on this kind of stuff rather than a load of ineffectual, slow and wasteful sub-committees, boards and commissions...

People go on about Ireland being too regressive, but a lot of the time it's those same people who oppose ideas which could change that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,427 ✭✭✭Morag

I meant it as in the state shouldn't pay for these boxes. If people want to make money (if prostitution becomes illegal) they should open a brothel.

Brothels are illegal here, running a brothel is a crime
    Any building which more then one sex worker works in is considered a brothel.

Prostitution is Legal.
    Soliciting is illegal, but being paid for sex and paying for sex is not currently illegal.
    There is a push to make paying for sex illegal but that only makes things worse for sex workers.

It makes perfect sense, the woman are not 'kidnapped' but find themselves in situations where they are all but so..... The woman in these brothers do not work independently and are frequently controlled by those who they work for. The women may be illegal immigrants, women so have debts, many women are trafficked from brazil, Eastern Europe. These women are not battered and tied up but they may as well be. The might be very enthusiastic whilst at work, but hardly as enthusiastic when they hand their money over. There have been cases where passports are confiscated, women have ran to embassies for their life... Women are frequently moved around from county to county, some hardly knowing where they are. I assure you this is not written from a feminist if perspective, I am all for proper legislation to provide safe working conditions and proper health screening for prostitutes.. However if you visit some apartment in cork, Dublin, Galway, wherever... N think that all these women are only just delighted to be there, you are very very much mistaken.

I don't know much about it myself, but i also don't see the logic in kidnapping and keeping slaves when there is any number of willing participants. It probably happens, but i'd imagine quite rarely. Just as has been mentioned with the drug mules - why would you bother? It makes no sense.

My last post was in response to that, sorry if that wasn't clear I forgot to quote

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,427 ✭✭✭Morag

dharma200 wrote: »
    It makes perfect sense, the woman are not 'kidnapped' but find themselves in situations where they are all but so..... The woman in these brothers do not work independently and are frequently controlled by those who they work for. The women may be illegal immigrants, women so have debts, many women are trafficked from brazil, Eastern Europe. These women are not battered and tied up but they may as well be. The might be very enthusiastic whilst at work, but hardly as enthusiastic when they hand their money over. There have been cases where passports are confiscated, women have ran to embassies for their life... Women are frequently moved around from county to county, some hardly knowing where they are. I assure you this is not written from a feminist if perspective, I am all for proper legislation to provide safe working conditions and proper health screening for prostitutes.. However if you visit some apartment in cork, Dublin, Galway, wherever... N think that all these women are only just delighted to be there, you are very very much mistaken.

We have laws about forced sex work, unfortunately the stigma which surrounds sex work makes it hard for people to get help and services to exercise their rights and press charges.