If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Farming Chit Chat II

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭Conmaicne Mara

hugo29 wrote: »
    tis a long time since i was in maam cross, i can just imagine the craic

used to know a few old hard jaws from Conemara back in the day in London, they were boys you would not fcuk with as a few natives found out,;)

Yeah a lot from around here went there for work. One old man is a gas fella altogether. Depending on the job he said you had to be from particular places, or pretend to be someones cousin, cos the foreman would only give work to his own crowd!

He has one good story about putting in cables or pipes under footpaths in London. They had to be a certain depth, but because the boss was trying to kill them with work every day he said there was hardly a skim of concrete over them any time the boss wasn't around :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,267 ✭✭✭hugo29

Yeah a lot from around here went there for work. One old man is a gas fella altogether. Depending on the job he said you had to be from particular places, or pretend to be someones cousin, cos the foreman would only give work to his own crowd!

He has one good story about putting in cables or pipes under footpaths in London. They had to be a certain depth, but because the boss was trying to kill them with work every day he said there was hardly a skim of concrete over them any time the boss wasn't around :pac:

i know off one old lad while working in Notting Hill during the carnival got fed up with all the bob marley look a likes sitting in the road smoking the wackey backey and blocking his way so he lifted a few of them with a boot to the rear end, they thought he was mad, as he long hair and a beard to his chin and fcuk all english:D they all got out of his way

have you ever been roped into something without realising it, until its to late

ive just been signed up to the school parents association,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,391 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

Yes! Committee jobs almost never end well ha, you'll be probably guilt tripped into staying on for longer than you really want to ha, end up doing jobs you don't have time for, and taking too much sh&t off people etc ha! Being able to say no to getting lumped on with extra roles, and stay well away from any politics is the only way you will survive! For a while before I had 5 different committee roles, involving mostly athletics and other sports, I think that whole period thought me the importance of time management in life, and not taking on too many roles or responsibilities!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,462 ✭✭✭bogman_bass

I might learn how to do that one day Timmaay!:o

Timmaay wrote: »
    Yes! Committee jobs almost never end well ha, you'll be probably guilt tripped into staying on for longer than you really want to ha, end up doing jobs you don't have time for, and taking too much sh&t off people etc ha! Being able to say no to getting lumped on with extra roles, and stay well away from any politics is the only way you will survive! For a while before I had 5 different committee roles, involving mostly athletics and other sports, I think that whole period thought me the importance of time management in life, and not taking on too many roles or responsibilities!

OH i know all about them timmaay, the last time i left one i swore never again, think i will send the boss as a substitute.

anyone see the new sex boxes in zurich

they opened today, its like a drive tru, you drive up pick your female companion and head to a designated booth

:eek: WTF , could you imagine one in ireland

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

they opened today, its like a drive tru, you drive up pick your female companion and head to a designated booth

What have you been googling:eek:

I got roped into a job last November, not saying what it is on here :D But it's similar to a com-it-eeeeeee. Waiting now for things to go pear shaped and get the "You didn't........", cos I have my reply, "I did........... take this fcuking job when none of ye would" :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,701 ✭✭✭moy83

I got roped into a job last November, not saying what it is on here :D But it's similar to a com-it-eeeeeee. Waiting now for things to go pear shaped and get the "You didn't........", cos I have my reply, "I did........... take this fcuking job when none of ye would" :P
    I'd say you couldnt put a foot wrong on that com it tee :P Has it opened any doors for you ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,786 ✭✭✭✭whelan1

was on ours for 3 years... it was terrible, had the yummiest mummies ever on it and i ended up doing the donkey work while they took the praise, told them quite publically to fook off:o

my dad alaways says if you want something done ask a busy person

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,142 ✭✭✭rancher

I could nearly write that post too

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,949 ✭✭✭delaval

Super macs high st in KK. If you can't score there get a knife because you don't need it!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 839 ✭✭✭Dampintheattic

Get on with it man!
    First and most important task you must personally undertake, is the annual bake sale! /;)
    Then the modern man, gets stuck into the bag packing at your local friendly Tesco store.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,557 ✭✭✭simx

delaval wrote: »
    Super macs high st in KK. If you can't score there get a knife because you don't need it!!!!

Haha heard thats an easy spot alright ha

moy83 wrote: »
    I'd say you couldnt put a foot wrong on that com it tee :P Has it opened any doors for you ?

I suppose I get to meet some people I otherwise wouldn't, which can be interesting. There's no advantage to me that I know of, if anything I'm down a rake of petrol money going here & there. Get to hear some gossip etc. but often it turns out to be BS. Sometimes ignorance is bliss, ya can hear too much.
    rancher wrote: »
    I could nearly write that post too

Lol, I would imagine so alright.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,363 ✭✭✭Juniorhurler

On Maam cross. A man from down here in Wexford brought the wife and five youngsters, aged 10 down to three away for a holiday to the west. Spent day one looking at machinery somewhere near Galway city while the wife and kids were waiting in the car. Day two landed at maam cross and bought a loaf of sheep. Drove back to Galway bought a livestock trailer, back to maam cross, loaded the sheep and home. Holiday over. His daughter told us this story at tea time in work one day much to the disgust and astonishment of some colleagues and the amusement of myself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,900 ✭✭✭mf240

On Maam cross. A man from down here in Wexford brought the wife and five youngsters, aged 10 down to three away for a holiday to the west. Spent day one looking at machinery somewhere near Galway city while the wife and kids were waiting in the car. Day two landed at maam cross and bought a loaf of sheep. Drove back to Galway bought a livestock trailer, back to maam cross, loaded the sheep and home. Holiday over. His daughter told us this story at tea time in work one day much to the disgust and astonishment of some colleagues and the amusement of myself.

God be with the days when a woman and a scraw of small children would be taken to a small cramped self catering caravan for a week. To give her a break:eek::eek:

mf240 wrote: »
    God be with the days when a woman and a scraw of small children would be taken to a small cramped self catering caravan for a week. To give her a break:eek::eek:

When women were women. None of your pampered five star ****e that a lot of them go on with nowadays. Ducking for cover.

Sliced or batch:D
    When women were women. None of your pampered five star ****e that a lot of them go on with nowadays. Ducking for cover.

Run:p
    I've never stayed in a five star, best was the Hilton in Luxembourg when my brother was put up there for 3 months while working. Lucky b@stard:(

I've stayed in a cattle lorry though, does that give me a reprieve?

Well spotted Kovu. Jaysus Kovu I have slept in quare places but never a cattle lorry. You are reprieved.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,701 ✭✭✭moy83

Kovu Murr wrote: »

I've never stayed in a five star, best was the Hilton in Luxembourg when my brother was put up there for 3 months while working. Lucky b@stard:(

When we were getting married the wife was in the honey moon suite of a five star hotel for three nights before the wedding with her sisters slugging drink and then we went on safari to kenya after it . Now between the ould recession , kids and trying to put a few pound into the farm she would nearly settle for a night in a cattle truck :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 839 ✭✭✭Dampintheattic

Kovu Murr wrote: »

Cab or trailer?

sleep .... whats that???????????? have a sleep walking 5 year old here who makes sure any sleep is very short lived

mf240 wrote: »

My mum tells the story off years ago when we were small old fella took us all away for a few days on a caravan holiday,rented a caravan, hitched on to the back of the cortina car and away with 4 young kids under 6, gettin late on first night and couldn't find a caravan site so the old boy pulled into a halting site on the side of the road and stayed there, somewhere in Clare, mum said she never slept a wink, some start that:D all our holidays after that were day trips to knock where we went to mass and confession and the old man went to the pub,

Well spotted Kovu. Jaysus Kovu I have slept in quare places but never a cattle lorry. You are reprieved.

Well it was one of the ones with the bed behind the seats so it wasn't too bad. Worst of the worst was one night after being called to work from Dublin and I had to get a bus down and had no way back. Was meant to stay with a friend that lived a few miles away and I got lost and my phone died and it was 2.30am. Random farmyard and hayshed and I kipped there until the 6am bus back to Dublin. Which I missed so I got a lift with a delivery van.

If anyone here has a farm just off the carnaross-virginia main road. Thanks!

Send more of yer neighbours up please :D

Giaranteed that this boy did not give ye over the odds.

Takes two to make a deal. I'm always willing to load them up and head home again if I'm not happy.