Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Silage thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 977 ✭✭✭RobinBanks

Made some second cut bales this evening. It was only cut this morn so it's very fresh. To fresh probably. They won't be wrapped until tomorrow and there is rain due tonight. Will they absorb much water at this stage? They were baled dry and it would be a pity if they got a bit of rain at this stage. They are already a ton weight so if the rain comes I will have fun trying to get them in

• Closed Accounts Posts: 565 ✭✭✭Marooned75

Earlier tonight

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,343 ✭✭✭bob charles

RobinBanks wrote: »
    Made some second cut bales this evening. It was only cut this morn so it's very fresh. To fresh probably. They won't be wrapped until tomorrow and there is rain due tonight. Will they absorb much water at this stage? They were baled dry and it would be a pity if they got a bit of rain at this stage. They are already a ton weight so if the rain comes I will have fun trying to get them in

they will be grand unless we get 6" of rain

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 833 ✭✭✭ABlur

Marooned75 wrote: »
    Earlier tonight

Whats that, looks like Newgrange on December 21st?!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭Milked out

Myself and the neighbour baled surplus paddocks today, mown yday, great leafy stuff close to 300 bales between us, finished drawing in an hour ago just as the mist was turning to drizzle. hopefully last of the grass silage for the year. Another neighbour helped out drawing em in, can't beat good neighbours aside from getting the job done quicker a bit of craic as well. Some difference a year makes, had about 10 bales last year, a heap of sh!te in the pit and just about got 6 acres reseeded. This year about 330 surplus bales, less in the pit but excellent quality so should last longer and heading for 20 acres reseeded.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,971 ✭✭✭Birdnuts

I'm doing a second cut on a meadow late next week(having looked at latest forecast!!). A sign of a good summer since its the first time I've managed it since I started dabbling in this business back in 07'

they will be grand unless we get 6" of rain

Good man bob. 30 of the bales are a new ley with oats. Bales are serious weight. The sand bags on the bonnet might be called into action!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,253 ✭✭✭bogman_bass

Thats me done for the year now! 40 bales from 3 1/2 acres. serrious crop for permament ley!

Have a healthy bank of fodder now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,422 ✭✭✭just do it

Sprayed with roundup biactive on monday and looking at knocking sunday. If weather doesn't oblige, how many days max could I leave it before mowing?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,267 ✭✭✭hugo29

just do it wrote: »
    Sprayed with roundup biactive on monday and looking at knocking sunday. If weather doesn't oblige, how many days max could I leave it before mowing?

think its 5-6

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,087 ✭✭✭vanderbadger

not much rain coming by the looks of this
    http://www.windguru.cz/int/index.php?sc=47735

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,267 ✭✭✭hugo29

not much rain coming by the looks of this
    http://www.windguru.cz/int/index.php?sc=47735

few showers tomorrow but next week looks like ideal spraying weather

The sand bags on the bonnet might be called into action!

that used to be my job as the fat 9 year old sitting on the bonnet:D

leave for 20 days and make hay to sell;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,422 ✭✭✭just do it

It has started to turn yellow this morning now that it is 4 days sprayed. Surely once that starts you don't want to leave it that long????

Today has turned out a lot wetter than forecast so thankfully didn't knock it. Ideally I'd leave it till Tuesday but that would be 8 days post spraying. Sunday looks ok but could still be quite wet from today and tomorrow's rain!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,190 ✭✭✭jersey101

id say they were as flat as pancakes this morning??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,786 ✭✭✭✭whelan1

going at lupin/triticale today, have to open up pit, will see what weather does have 45 acres of third cut to go in too, something broke on contractors harveter so will be dinner time before they are here

whelan1 wrote: »
    going at lupin/triticale today, have to open up pit, will see what weather does have 45 acres of third cut to go in too, something broke on contractors harveter so will be dinner time before they are here

whats the triticale like whelan1, we grew it here a few years ago it was a brilliant crop but we made it in bales. Biggest mistake ever the rats ate the **** out of it. Id grow it again but it would have to go in the pit

jersey101 wrote: »
    whats the triticale like whelan1, we grew it here a few years ago it was a brilliant crop but we made it in bales. Biggest mistake ever the rats ate the **** out of it. Id grow it again but it would have to go in the pit
    very happy with it this year

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,949 ✭✭✭delaval

Will take third cut next week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,173 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

What's it high in or what's advantage of it over say grass silage?

Wait till you have your test back to comment on wholecrop. I have often being surprise both ways of what I taught I had in the pit

Muckit wrote: »
    For cereal wholecrop its energy and starch your after. with lupins I assume your chasing protein

Muckit wrote: »
    the main reason i am growing it is that maize doesnot grow on my land, very expensive lesson learnt

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,297 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

Make sure you put a few loads of grass silage on top of the pit if you are doing it. I have seen crows shred 3 layers of plastic on a pit of whole crop.

Sam Kade wrote: »
    Make sure you put a few loads of grass silage on top of the pit if you are doing it. I have seen crows shred 3 layers of plastic on a pit of whole crop.
    45 acres grass silage going on top of it. have 26 acres of the triticale/lupin mix...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,949 ✭✭✭delaval

45 acres grass silage going on top of it. have 26 acres of the triticale/lupin mix...

How many acres of silage do you make

did 70 acres first cut, 75 acres second cut , 45 acres third cut and 35 acres bales... normally wouldnt do that much but had zero carryover silage and dont want to be stuck this winter. First year doing 3rd cut for a long time

Sam Kade wrote: »

never had a put here all bales, its some ***t to have em i could have em all wrap and start drawing that night and the crows have every bale destroyed

id say they were as flat as pancakes this morning??

They were fine! I was surprised that they didn't sag especially the oats mix. They were lying out for 24hrs before I got them in. They were baled with a machale F550. Must be a pretty good baler

ye they are a good baler alright. It would be a nightmare of a job to wrap em if they had fallin a bit