If I were Dictator of this country

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 138 ✭✭CillianL

Thanks for the replies so far, I particularly like the suggestion for a glass roof over the country after the joke of a summer we've had!

Some themes I've noticed

1. Strong action on endemic corruption in the public and financial sectors
    2. Action on wasters and junkies who're dead weight on society
    3. Fulfilment of personal fantasies...

It does show though how ham fisted the system is that, populism and political correctness is like tar on the wheels of urgent reform needed in the welfare state and in dealing with corruption and white collar crime that has disillusioned the public. However its funny like the way you couldn't find a Nazi in post war Germany now no one can find a Fianna Fáil voter...Irish people should have paid more attention to who they gave the reins to

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,520 ✭✭✭allibastor

CillianL wrote: »
    Thanks for the replies so far, I particularly like the suggestion for a glass roof over the country after the joke of a summer we've had!

Some themes I've noticed

1. Strong action on endemic corruption in the public and financial sectors
    2. Action on wasters and junkies who're dead weight on society
    3. Fulfilment of personal fantasies...

It does show though how ham fisted the system is that, populism and political correctness is like tar on the wheels of urgent reform needed in the welfare state and in dealing with corruption and white collar crime that has disillusioned the public. However its funny like the way you couldn't find a Nazi in post war Germany now no one can find a Fianna Fáil voter...Irish people should have paid more attention to who they gave the reins to

Just on your point about voting and hading the reins over, its not exactly like we have a huge choice between 1 shower of crooks or the other. everyone said fine gael were going to make huge changes, and what has happened. we still have ex-school teachers runnign the country where we need professionals who have studyed how to run a country. its a joke that some lad from mayo can inherit his fathers council seat and then end up running the country, more into the ground.

your point on the wasters of society is fair, why should be have to keep on looking after people who perpetually make the wrong choice in life. maybe a spell of sewer cleaning or some other horrible job would get them a bit of perspective on why you need to contribute to life.

In saying that people have no choice, as voters have the choice between crooks and scoundrals fair enough Fianna Fáil and Fine Gael are the same party with different names, they're both teflon entities that manipulate policy to suit themselves so there're no real ideals behind the parties for people to vote for, I concede that, however in recent referendums for example, voter turnout in some constituencies have been as low as 40-50%, which isn't democracy. Furthermore if prospective candidates can see that realists rather than populists get rewarded, this would made Irish politics healthier.

As a comment on wasters, I think the term 'dead weight' is justified.
    For example, me and many of my friends are either in college or working if not juggling the two and yet we all know people our age outside education and unemployed, who also have no desire to change this, who have higher incomes and benefits, which to us sends out the message ' wasters deserve more even though you're trying harder'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 655 ✭✭✭splendid101

I'm extremely glad that none of you w*nkers will ever be leaders of this country.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 558 ✭✭✭OurLadyofKnock

Have 100,000 volts of high voltage electricity automatically sent to the phone of anyone dialing Liveline.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,583 ✭✭✭mconigol

Dictatorships don't necessarily have to be bad...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,184 ✭✭✭3ndahalfof6

I would sell it to the nearest island, but keeping land rights.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,434 ✭✭✭whomitconcerns

I would sell it to the nearest island, but keeping land rights.

Denis O'Brien we spotted you! BT may have fallen for that trick...but i think they learned from that!

I'm extremely glad that none of you w*nkers will ever be leaders of this country.

who is that? i would say most here would make better leaders then the ones we have now

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,632 ✭✭✭eth0

Any Irish news outlet would be encouraged to refer to me as Dic..tator, dicktator or even just dic tator. People leaving out the space would be hassled for criticising the regime and subversion.

Just before or after the news on RTE there would be Soviet era propaganda films about me made to look like they are made in the 50's-70's. They would be claiming I got a hole in one from 400m while showing me struggling to hit the ball at all cause I don't actually play golf. Other times they might show me going on a tour in a power station or factory to give 'advice' while being followed in by a line of costumed dancing primary school children.

Anne Doyle would randomly be brought out of retirement maybe once every 2 years when there's trouble brewing so people would be thinking "things must be desperate if he's after digging up Anne Doyle to do the news". One-off episodes of long dead TV shows like the Morebegs would be done without any mention of 'we`re back after all these years' and would reference recent events in case anyone thinks they are unaired episodes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 717 ✭✭✭TURRICAN

Ship every living person on the island to South Africa and help people who are much worse off than we are.
    Then when we are all finish complaining I might bring ye back again. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 655 ✭✭✭splendid101

allibastor wrote: »

who is that? i would say most here would make better leaders then the ones we have now

Who is what?

People are making suggestions about forced migrations and executions. No, on the strength of this thread even Bertie would be a better leader.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 70 ✭✭TwoTokeTommy

Wow. Just when I thought it might be worth writing something intelligent and making an effort again... I come here and see this crap.

So many comments along the lines of zero tolerance tough on crime/drugs and spongers blah blah blah.... bunch of demented frustrated little psycho's on boards!!! Very sad.

Think i'll go back to rolling this spliff, paid for out of "your taxes", then head down to the offie and grab some cans to wash this dirty taste of MDMA from my mouth. Should leave me with just enough time to call around to yer wife and ride the box off her (Lord knows you've never made her come) before meeting your kids to drop off those acid tabs i promised them, they're gonna have some night!

I'm some waster, right?

Well, what have you ever done to REALLY make things better?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,117 ✭✭✭Rasheed

Wow. Just when I thought it might be worth writing something intelligent and making an effort again... I come here and see this crap.

So many comments along the lines of zero tolerance tough on crime/drugs and spongers blah blah blah.... bunch of demented frustrated little psycho's on boards!!! Very sad.

Think i'll go back to rolling this spliff, paid for out of "your taxes", then head down to the offie and grab some cans to wash this dirty taste of MDMA from my mouth. Should leave me with just enough time to call around to yer wife and ride the box off her (Lord knows you've never made her come) before meeting your kids to drop off those acid tabs i promised them, they're gonna have some night!

I'm some waster, right?

Are you feeling alright?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

None of you lot are ever going to become dictator of this country, the germans would never elect any of yiz as chancellor to start with

Rasheed wrote: »
    Are you feeling alright?

I'm grand. Thought i was back on politics.ie and remembered why I can't be arsed anymore.

Why didn't you ask the little Hitler's if they are feeling alright?

I'm some waster, right?

You sound like a very intellegent person, with loads to say. let us hear more or your intellectual thoughts.

Ah jaysus since you asked so nicely i'd better share some ideas....

-tackle the entitlement culture at the top of society where most of the wealth sits, that money is needed elsewhere.

-seriously invest in community projects for disadvantaged areas.

-public (debate and) voting on issues rather than just voting for that fella that got the pot holes fixed.

-take a controlling stake in "strategic" national assets, eg. oil & gas reserves

-ban the import of goods produced by child/slave labour.

-stop pissing money away on bondholders.

-focus on critical thinking rather than rote learning in schools & colleges.

-single tier health & education system.

-reduce taxes on alcohol & cigarettes, regulate illicit drugs, allow later opening hours in bars & nightclubs.

-a guaranteed living wage for everyone.

That'd be a start just from what I can think of now. Not much good without justification for each measure I guess.

Had a look back on that post from the other day... ya... was in a bit of an odd mood at work. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 52 ✭✭jsn.peters

clean up Dublin, knock down all the 1960 prefab looking buildings like the esb building, get some building going put back in the nice Georgian buildings where they were knocked.

For derelict buildings I would serve all the owners a "use it or lose it" notice.

Zero tolerance on beggars and junkies in the city.

Nice one totally agree with you on this

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 52 ✭✭jsn.peters

eth0 wrote: »
    But for now i can just buy a few wheelbarrows worth of tar and fill potholes for a day or 2 while telling people to vote for me?

Doesnt seem like a bad gamble, couple of quid for the tar and 2 days actual work with a good chance of getting a 5 year dos job and 450k

How much you charging, there is a large hole close to my home

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,351 ✭✭✭NegativeCreep

Everyone would definitely have to call me "your royal highness and greatness." I would go after anyone who ever annoyed me, said a bad thing about me or to me and all skangers and posh people and kill them stone dead. 100% of everyone's wages would come to me and people would get rations. One bowl of porridge and a bowl of stew and jam and bread with water would be the diet for you peasants. I would eat like a king, naturally. Clothes would have to be hand made, cause im not providing that for you. Every year there would be a lottery to select my 2 newest members of the royal staff. You would get a slightly higher standard of living. Healthcare would only be provided for me, my family, my friends and their family and my staff.

God help you all if it happens :P

Just on your point about voting and hading the reins over, its not exactly like we have a huge choice between 1 shower of crooks or the other. everyone said fine gael were going to make huge changes, and what has happened. we still have ex-school teachers runnign the country where we need professionals who have studyed how to run a country. its a joke that some lad from mayo can inherit his fathers council seat and then end up running the country, more into the ground.

your point on the wasters of society is fair, why should be have to keep on looking after people who perpetually make the wrong choice in life. maybe a spell of sewer cleaning or some other horrible job would get them a bit of perspective on why you need to contribute to life.

First para, agreed, it is sick.

Para two, what about the muppets continually voting for the clowns and crooks from para one? Perhaps a spell sewer cleaning would help them see the light, so they might stop contributing to political life as they have done?!

I imagine wasters generally don't vote. From a philosophical viewpoint, maybe they are dead right. The game is rigged, and voting lends legitimacy to this rigged game.. time to boycott??

-Or, one last idea, on the ballot paper, introduce an option: "NONE OF THE ABOVE".
    Really and do you find it so inconceivable that anyone on that salary might not deserve it?

Well, talk to the President of UCC, he'll tell you all about the daily struggles of living off of a six figure sum. He's entitled to it you know! I think the money is needed more elsewhere.
    Sale of size 16 clothes & over banned.

You want all fat people "running" around naked?!! :eek:

Ah jaysus since you asked so nicely i'd better share some ideas....

-tackle the entitlement culture at the top of society where most of the wealth sits, that money is needed elsewhere.

-seriously invest in community projects for disadvantaged areas.

-public (debate and) voting on issues rather than just voting for that fella that got the pot holes fixed.

-take a controlling stake in "strategic" national assets, eg. oil & gas reserves

-ban the import of goods produced by child/slave labour.

-stop pissing money away on bondholders.

-focus on critical thinking rather than rote learning in schools & colleges.

-single tier health & education system.

-reduce taxes on alcohol & cigarettes, regulate illicit drugs, allow later opening hours in bars & nightclubs.

-a guaranteed living wage for everyone.

That'd be a start just from what I can think of now. Not much good without justification for each measure I guess.

Had a look back on that post from the other day... ya... was in a bit of an odd mood at work. :rolleyes:

good ones man, sorry abotu my own post, just thought you were going to be one of these lads who says stupid and controversial stuff to sound like he has something to say.

Yeah i would agree with most if not all the points you made.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,968 ✭✭✭✭Tony EH

antodeco wrote: »
    Remove the R and you have a gay flavoured packet of crips.

Dick Tayto

Was he a private detective, like Sam Spudz?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,741 ✭✭✭Piliger

In the last few years we've seen a collapse in the public's faith in the justice system seeing how elites in the boom years bankrupted this country and yet have got away unscathed.

So I keep thinking that a dictatorship could deal with such problems much more effectively...

I for one would stick the heads of the Anglo-Irish board, financial regulator pre-2008, and the successive Fianna Fáil cabinets on O'Connell Bridge as an example to wanton traitors....

Has anyone ever had these megalomaniac thoughts ever?

And what would you do in power????

Jail the Labour party leaders and their followers and all loony left groups, in the cells next to the Sinn Feiners and their followers. Close RTE, sell aer lingus, lower tax thresholds and make everyone pay some tax even if it's a tenner. Oh and legalise drugs, tax the Catholic church, prosecute the leaders of that church for enabling child abuse and remove their clergy from any contact with children. Legalise women's rights over their own body and equal rights for men.
    That's a start.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,568 ✭✭✭Chinasea

• Get rid of Irish and relgion in school
    • Reward sterilsiation
    • Enforce schooling until minimum age of 16
    • Deposit money returned on recycled coke and lucozade bottles

Just noticed there, no ones mentioned some dictator essentials, such as

1 .A huge throne
    2. A palace built by slavery
    3. An Amazonian guard and attendants
    4. A private jet
    5. Dungeons for internment of enemies and traitors
    6. A small book containing dictator's philosophy named after its colour

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35 Dracula88

The deregulation of the banks and turn the power of the banks over to the government. Sell the bankers assets in order to fund our debt. Equip the Gardaí with tasers and adopt the American policy of " Stop and Frisk".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 637 ✭✭✭ruthloss

Stop all TD and Ministers Pensions. Let them live on the State Old Age Pension like every one else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,967 ✭✭✭Hande hoche!

Just noticed there, no ones mentioned some dictator essentials, such as

1 .A huge throne
    2. A palace built by slavery
    3. An Amazonian guard and attendants
    4. A private jet
    5. Dungeons for internment of enemies and traitors
    6. A small book containing dictator's philosophy named after its colour

Where's your extravagant pet?