If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Farming Chit Chat II

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,731 ✭✭✭lakill Farm

whelan1 wrote: »
    had them looking today, dont think they will see it as fun doing it again tomorrow

add a small monetary reward if they find the calf alive.

a brown envelope with loads of cash. we all know your a devil for the cash:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,975 ✭✭✭Bleating Lamb

add a small monetary reward if they find the calf alive.

a brown envelope with loads of cash. we all know your a devil for the cash:D

Hope he turns up.....usually baby calves like that do,cow prob not sure where he is,went to look at some cattle today,gate slightly open and cattle gone!!,cue panic stations after seeing stories of stolen cattle on Journal,gate couldn't have been opened by cattle,long story short apparently there's townie lads out at all hours of night with dogs after rabbits and the pricks are going thru people's land,TG......after lot of searching got cattle in another mans land....had being let in off road by a farmer,I tell you if I meet those young scitters!:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,786 ✭✭✭✭whelan1

had similar incidents of gates opening etc during the summer, thought the place was haunted:D it was the bull opening them, only for i caught him at it i would never have known,you couldnt make it up, all gates now have chains and snap hooks on them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,171 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

Wine flowing here like the salmon of capastrano. Legs, whelan and hugo a bad influence.... :-) that's my excuae and l'm sticking to it! !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,087 ✭✭✭vanderbadger

young bull calf 3 or 4 weeks old stone dead in field tonight, went down to see what all roaring was about, he was grand this morning whatever happened, fook it anyway

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,329 ✭✭✭redzerologhlen

young bull calf 3 or 4 weeks old stone dead in field tonight, went down to see what all roaring was about, he was grand this morning whatever happened, fook it anyway

That's farming for you now, had one the same last may!

feck, will ya get a pm done on it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,408 ✭✭✭bbam

Muckit wrote: »
    Wine flowing here like the salmon of capastrano. Legs, whelan and hugo a bad influence.... :-) that's my excuae and l'm sticking to it! !

Jameson & Coke here..;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,190 ✭✭✭jersey101

bbam wrote: »
    Jameson & Coke here..;)

yumm :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,034 ✭✭✭Bizzum

bbam wrote: »
    Jameson & Coke here..;)

The ruination of whiskey is putting coke in it. :-)
    Water, no ice, is the shot!

Captain Morgan's and Coke is a decent drink.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,408 ✭✭✭bbam

Bizzum wrote: »

Captain Morgan's and Coke is a decent drink.

each to their own..
    The only ruined Jameson is a spilled one.. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,656 ✭✭✭Western Pomise

Sorry to hear that...will never be a bad one that's goes either.

feck, will ya get a pm done on it?

hmm prob not, i think its 300 euro
    would they get blackleg that young? never had it but im guessing it might be that, fecking cow has a heap of milk, will have to dry her off i suppose and blood her

hmm prob not, i think its 300 euro
    would they get blackleg that young? never had it but im guessing it might be that, fecking cow has a heap of milk, will have to dry her off i suppose and blood her
    our knackery man is very good, would normally give you an indication what the problem was, our vet charges 100, an odd time he wont charge as he would be as interested as us to know what was wrong... only reason i would get one done is if god forbid you had another one die, you might be able to prevent it

Muckit wrote: »
    hope theres no hurty heads this morning:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭reilig

Every morning this week I have met the cops checking for tax and insurance and doing random breath tests. Was tested myself this morning. The guy beside me was being done for having no trailer licence for his jeep and 12x6 ifor. Drinking is a dangerous game if you have to be on the road the next morning!

customs where around our area yesterday, local shop sells green diesel, helicopter overhead a few times too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,737 ✭✭✭flutered

Bizzum wrote: »

in a few places around here, there is no need to add water, as there is enough in it already.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,267 ✭✭✭hugo29

reilig wrote: »
    Every morning this week I have met the cops checking for tax and insurance and doing random breath tests. Was tested myself this morning. The guy beside me was being done for having no trailer licence for his jeep and 12x6 ifor. Drinking is a dangerous game if you have to be on the road the next morning!

jayus every morning, they must be looking for someone or something, never been stopped in the morning,

customs where around our area yesterday, local shop sells green diesel, helicopter overhead a few times too

did you find the calf, had one bolt a few years back, turned up 3 days later 15 miles away

get the loan of that helicopter to help look

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

flutered wrote: »
    in a few places around here, there is no need to add water, as there is enough in it already.

I thought you were talking about diesel for a second:eek:.

id say muckit does not know where his head is at this stage:D

hugo29 wrote: »
    did you find the calf, had one bolt a few years back, turned up 3 days later 15 miles away

get the loan of that helicopter to help look
    nope, going to ring dept later and let them know, he only has 1 tag as he bolted when i tagged him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,171 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

Nope. Sound out. Not long out of scratcher. Off on a mini break in naas. Get knocked down with all the trailers of straw going the road.

nope, going to ring dept later and let them know, he only has 1 tag as he bolted when i tagged him

strange one, you would think he would be up roaring

where did you stick the tag:D

strange one, you would think he would be up roaring
    ye... very strange...

hugo29 wrote: »
    where did you stick the tag:D
    :D just did the bvd tag... going off now again to look again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 497 ✭✭royaler83

Quick question. What's the ideal amount of milk a 1 month old calf would want to b getting. They're getting good amount of crunch as it is and are mad for it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,992 ✭✭✭dzer2

royaler83 wrote: »
    Quick question. What's the ideal amount of milk a 1 month old calf would want to b getting. They're getting good amount of crunch as it is and are mad for it

3 lts a day is enough. Any more will reduce the amount of crunch they eat which will result in a fall off in growth when they are weaned.