Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Bangernomics car of the week/day part III

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,006 ✭✭✭pc11

Apologies if this is against etiquette, but would anyone have any sign of a cheap Toyota Yaris Verso in or near Dublin? There's one in Navan on DoneDeal but it's been sold.

Or would anyone have one to sell?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,709 ✭✭✭✭Cantona's Collars

http://www.adverts.ie/vintage-classic/vintage-porsche-924/3620692

MzhlYzBlYzM0Y2NiYmRhNTlhODMzZjE1NWZhN2IzMDKGEYULH7EsM6tj2ovM8MZlaHR0cDovL21lZGlhLmFkc2ltZy5jb20vYTllZTM2NGVjOGM0M2U1MDQ3ZjA5Y2Q2NmNlNjNhOGUwMzlkZDk2MWY3ZWUxZGM3ZDAzNjYyZDdhNDI3OTIxOC5qcGd8fDI5NHx8fHx8aHR0cDovL3d3dy5hZHZlcnRzLmllL3N0YXRpYy9pL3dhdGVybWFyay5wbmd8fGh0dHA6Ly93d3cuYWR2ZXJ0cy5pZS9zdGF0aWMvaS9ub25lLWltYWdlLmpwZ3w=.jpg

There's a huge amount of detail in the description so I won't paste it here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,871 ✭✭✭Scortho

zerks wrote: »

MzhlYzBlYzM0Y2NiYmRhNTlhODMzZjE1NWZhN2IzMDKGEYULH7EsM6tj2ovM8MZlaHR0cDovL21lZGlhLmFkc2ltZy5jb20vYTllZTM2NGVjOGM0M2U1MDQ3ZjA5Y2Q2NmNlNjNhOGUwMzlkZDk2MWY3ZWUxZGM3ZDAzNjYyZDdhNDI3OTIxOC5qcGd8fDI5NHx8fHx8aHR0cDovL3d3dy5hZHZlcnRzLmllL3N0YXRpYy9pL3dhdGVybWFyay5wbmd8fGh0dHA6Ly93d3cuYWR2ZXJ0cy5pZS9zdGF0aWMvaS9ub25lLWltYWdlLmpwZ3w=.jpg

so want. Im very tempted to make an offer but ive nowhere to keep it.:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 874 ✭✭✭Gosub

Scortho wrote: »
    so want. Im very tempted to make an offer but ive nowhere to keep it.:(
    You can keep it at my house. I'll even let you drive it every now and then. :P

Gosub wrote: »
    You can keep it at my house. I'll even let you drive it every now and then. :P

that's very tempting. I think I have room, my dad doesn't. He turned down a jag xj8 because apparently we have no room!:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,724 ✭✭✭flutered

dgt wrote: »
    That wasn't very obvious with the words "maintenance free motoring". A better statement could have been "would require less maintenance than a number of similar sized vehicles" as that covers most angles. But to suggest no maintenance is a no-no

The worlds worst marketing spiel in action, like something out of the Sunday Indo. Drilled in over years of brainwashing thanks to Irish sheep mentality. Should be "Simply engineered for simple people" :pac:

Oblig banger

NCT Till Sept 14, 900

Full?id=22403595
    now that is the mother of all bangers, it will last forever.

I never thought Id see one of these in bangernomics. God they've gotten cheap.
    Probably clocked before it came to Ireland though, but it does have an nct until next may.

http://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/mitsubishi-fto-new-nct/5033383

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,904 ✭✭✭cadaliac

Esel wrote: »
    I definitely would...

What are they like on juice?
    Not sure but with a 2.0 V6 I'd say you would be lucky to see 30 mpg, if at all.
    Its an American review but......
    http://www.edmunds.com/nissan/maxima/1997/consumer-reviews.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 346 ✭✭DAZP93

http://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/mercedes-car/5533502

Comfy, reliable banger with a nice chunk of NCT..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 59,578 ✭✭✭✭unkel

zerks wrote: »

That car is NOT exempt from having an annual NCT

Only cars that were first registered on or before 31/12/1979 are NCT exempt

My ads on adverts.ie:

Victron stuff for sale, Multiplus-II, Quattro, other inverters and batteries and usually some watches!

https://www.adverts.ie/member/5856/ads

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,096 ✭✭✭W123-80's

Says its tested until 08/15 but I assume it should be 08/14.
    Service history
    Leather
    Asking €2150

http://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/2003-bmw-520i-m-sport-new-nct/5257507

View2-21060112.jpeg

10 months test
    1 owner, cream leather & auto
    Asking €1650

http://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/2003-ford-mondeo-ghia-automatic-/5501896

View2-22283374.jpeg

6 months test
    Full leather V6
    Asking €1200

http://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/ford-cougar-v6-nct-2014/5382860

View2-22015986.jpeg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,179 ✭✭✭✭Max Power1

flutered wrote: »
    now that is the mother of all bangers, it will last forever.
    I was considering buying it for the shizz but it wasnt for sale for long!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,346 ✭✭✭T-Bird

Can i have opinion on this please? Good buy or foolish?
    http://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/01-rover-75-for-sale/5324943

T-Bird wrote: »

Polarizing car. I used to have the petrol version. I liked it but found it underpowered (it was only a 1.8). The engine is the bmw 320d engine (albeit mounted differently to account for the FWD drivetrain)

[roverjames] the clutch is a problem on these, go for the auto [/roverjames] :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,585 ✭✭✭ba_barabus

Seriously comfortable car that wears the miles very well. Should be able to achieve mid 40's mpg.

While it shares the engine with the BMW 320d it is detuned and features a Mitsubishi turbo which doesn't lunch itself like the BMW unit.

Watch out for chocolate clutch plates on the manuals and clutch master shave cylinder failure.

The auto is far more reliable but in my experience you'll be hard pressed to get an auto diesel 75 to crack 40mpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,346 ✭✭✭T-Bird

Max Power1 wrote: »
    Polarizing car. I used to have the petrol version. I liked it but found it underpowered (it was only a 1.8). The engine is the bmw 320d engine (albeit mounted differently to account for the FWD drivetrain)

[roverjames] the clutch is a problem on these, go for the auto [/roverjames] :P

Thanks, I have a 1.8 petrol 03. But the head gasket has gone and garage quoted me 900 - 1100 for repair...

I got head gasket replaced on it about 2 years ago for less than 600 by a rover dealer in Ballymote Sligo, but that place has closed now.

I am not willing to pay out that kind of money on this car, and cant realy afford to get a car for more than 1500 at same time.

Any opinion on cars around that price in Sligo are will be most welcome, as I haven’t a clue really....

Thanks, I have a 1.8 petrol 03. But the head gasket has gone and garage quoted me 900 - 1100 for repair...

I got head gasket replaced on it about 2 years ago for less than 600 by a rover dealer in Ballymote Sligo, but that place has closed now.

I am not willing to pay out that kind of money on this car, and cant realy afford to get a car for more than 1500 at same time.

Any opinion on cars around that price in Sligo are will be most welcome, as I haven’t a clue really....

Well I think it would be insanely better to buy the 2.0d than to spend money on a 2nd HGF in as many years.

They are a nice bus in proper spec (like the quoted one)

Also had a 1.8 petrol for many years, no major problems

Very comfy car on the high profile 15" wheels, interior built quality was poor

That diesel car is now sold!

My ads on adverts.ie:

Victron stuff for sale, Multiplus-II, Quattro, other inverters and batteries and usually some watches!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,569 ✭✭✭166man

166man wrote: »
    I Want...

Really? :confused:

The only thing that car has got going for itself is that it looks like a Jaguar.

My ads on adverts.ie:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,687 ✭✭✭Karl Stein

it can easily pull away in top gear(5th)as low as 14mph,without as much as a vibration or judder

WTF is this ****?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,569 ✭✭✭166man

unkel wrote: »
    Really? :confused:

The only thing that car has got going for itself is that it looks like a Jaguar.

Well;

It's a classy saloon or looks like one anyway.

It has a 2.5 V6 and 4x4 and manual

Leather and a few other goodies

NCT until August next year

It's asking less than a grand.

Show up with €850 and that'd take it, and for what you're getting its why Id want it, plus regardless of whether its a Mondeo underneath or not, that could be a good thing.

Buy it, and tax it for 6 months @€;600 and you're laughing for under €1500 fully road legal. Sell it on in February with 6 months NCT and get back what you paid, oh and enjoy the benefits of manual/4x4 over the winter.

Seems bangernomics to me...;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,585 ✭✭✭ba_barabus

Well;

Show up with €850 and that'd take it, and for what you're getting its why Id want it, plus regardless of whether its a Mondeo underneath or not, that could be a good thing.

Buy it, and tax it for 6 months @€;600 and you're laughing for under €1500 fully road legal. Sell it on in February with 6 months NCT and get back what you paid, oh and enjoy the benefits of manual/4x4 over the winter.

Hmmm,

The drivetrain of the V6 4x4 cars is made of chocolate and is über expensive to repair. That particular one is a very horrible shade of navy. Its bland as hell and tiny inside and the early ones had naff plastic interiors.

Personally, and I love Jags, I'd pass that one at any price as I reckon you'll be doing major work replacing the transfer box. And as TADTS you'll have your work cut out getting a used box.

Well;

It's still a feckin mondeo. Like an ould one in a short dress.

That jag xj8 was much better value.
    Someone I think got a good deal on it as its now gone!:(

Lads it is not a jag. Simple.

Plus anything with a Jag badge should have an autobox. If you wanted a mondeo in leather and with a 2.5 engine and manual box then this is perfect, otherwise save the Jag badges for an xj or something.

It is what it is, a nice looking mondeo. I will put my hand up and say I was considering one a while back. But then I drove it and saw how different from the Grace Space Pace jags it was.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,435 ✭✭✭bladespin

Mondeo's a much better car anyway ;)
    Untitled Image

MasteryDarts Ireland - Master your game!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,430 ✭✭✭Old diesel

Well;

Its hard to make the call on this particular example - but 166mans logic is absolutely spot on - okay back in the day at 42 grand or whatever it cost - then it wasn't so good.

But now - if the cars in good order - you've got a perfectly nice agreeable 2.5 V6 and all wheel drive - in a nice enough saloon with leather and toys etc.

Could be a very nice purchase if its in good order for someone - for say 900 euro - that's a very nice car when compared with a lot of what else is out there for that money.

Of course I have to qualify that by saying that the above only applies if the car is in good order.