Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

GTA V Megathread *READ OP*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,696 ✭✭✭Jonny7

I'm seriously considering buying a PS3 just to play this

• Wheres my jaw, it dropped but i cant find it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,924 ✭✭✭✭ShadowHearth

God fecking dammit and I was planing on skiping on this untill they release PC version....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,518 ✭✭✭✭Varik

Not sure I get the persistent world aspect of the online portion, how is does it work with the other 16 players.

Is it like the new sim city, where you have regions that are persistent with a group of players.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,558 ✭✭✭✭dreamers75

Varik wrote: »
    Not sure I get the persistent world aspect of the online portion, how is does it work with the other 16 players.

Is it like the new sim city, where you have regions that are persistent with a group of players.

yeah that doesnt make sens with it limited to 16 players.

Altho GTA online proper GTA online is the holy grail of online gaming. Knowing r* history with online i doubt it will be any good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,947 ✭✭✭Taylor365

Sounds like they're over selling what it probably will be.

The game could be based on tractors it doesn't matter, everyone's still buyin it :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,696 ✭✭✭Jonny7

An MMO would be next to impossible

16 players just seems like a logical compromise. More of a persistant sandbox. Probably retaining stats from each time you play and the ability to "save" guns/cars/etc when you return to it.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 21,634 ✭✭✭✭Richard Dower

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 372 ✭✭hawkeyethenoo

M!Ck^ wrote: »
    Wheres my jaw, it dropped but i cant find it

lay off the yokes so! :pac:

this is the best game of all time, even though its not out it is going to be!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 749 ✭✭✭Bozo Skeleton

700 missions in GTA V online. :eek:

http://www.idigitaltimes.com/articles/19494/20130819/gta-v-online-details-700-multiplayer-missions.htm

Can this game get any more epic? Wow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,084 ✭✭✭✭Kirby

While the number sounds impressive, what matters more is the variety in missions. If all 700 are just variations of race, kill target, heists and fetch quests.........it's less impressive.

However, I have faith that the long production time will have meant they can vary things up a bit to keep us entertained. We shall see. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,518 ✭✭✭✭Varik

Achievements leaked, there's some very interesting ones in there.

Also a load of online ones.

Cool racing related one below.
    Backseat Driver (10G) - GTA Online: Direct a driver to 1st place as co-driver in Rally Mode.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,404 ✭✭✭Lone Stone

I just went to pre order this on game snash, and im gob smacked at the price of for this €69.99- pre order price €57.49 . Is this going to be 70 quid in game stop aswell ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,506 ✭✭✭✭Xenji

Lone Stone wrote: »
    I just went to pre order this on game snash, and im gob smacked at the price of for this €69.99- pre order price €57.49 . Is this going to be 70 quid in game stop aswell ?

It is 60 Euro for the Regular Edition and 80 euro for the Special Edition in Gamestop.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,042 ✭✭✭zl1whqvjs75cdy

PAt was in the other thread and explained they were running out of stock hence the price hike. Pre booked mine ages ago. 59 with registered post and priority shipping. Yay. Sorry to gloat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,449 ✭✭✭Call Me Jimmy

The game looks really good, but hanging out in a virtual apartment online seems a bit boring.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,299 ✭✭✭✭Zero-Cool

The game looks really good, but hanging out in a virtual apartment online seems a bit boring.

Well there are 700 missions to do online.....if you get bored of the apartment.

PAt was in the other thread and explained they were running out of stock hence the price hike. Pre booked mine ages ago. 59 with registered post and priority shipping. Yay. Sorry to gloat.

Since when did running low on stock become an excuse to hike the price up. I'm assuming that they are ordering in additional stock and it's at a higher cost yo them as if its the same stock they got initially and simply upped the price then it's just a rip off

I believe the price hike is from the distributor who knows product is running out. Other stores may be affected as well. Pat from Gamesnash can chime in to drop knowledge, he might explain it better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

zavvi.com, 49.95 with free delivery, bam.

krudler wrote: »

No chance of getting it on release day though.

If my experiences with Zavvi are anything to go by you'll be waiting a week at least.

5-10 working days later.

Ain't nobody got time fo dat!!

Zavvi are fast with games that have already been released, but with new games they are dire, better just picking it up at midnight from Gamestop or going with Gamesnash.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

No chance of getting it on release day though.

If my experiences with Zavvi are anything to go by you'll be waiting a week at least.

Really? hmm might cancel my order so and try get it in tesco or someplace, there's four of them here should be able to get it in one of them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 749 ✭✭✭Bozo Skeleton

Xenji wrote: »
    Zavvi are fast with games that have already been released, but with new games they are dire, better just picking it up at midnight from Gamestop or going with Gamesnash.

I've used Shopto.net before, they post out speedy. I haven't tried it for new releases, but I know from Pro Evolution Soccer forums that people in the UK get their games a day or 2 before official release. It releases on a Thursday, so I wouldn't bank on them getting it out to me before the Friday, and thereby having to wait til the next Monday for it.
    I'm going the old fashioned way with this. Either getting it at Game first thing in the morning, or maybe going there for the midnight release.

• Company Representative Posts: 2,957 ✭✭✭Gamesnash.ie: Pat

Couple of clarifications needed it seems :)

First off RRP for GTAV is €69.99 - nobody in Ireland has sold at full RRP for the past 3 years at least so that's not an indicator of street price. (I'm expecting 60-65 in stores myself)

We're having a lot of trouble sourcing stock of GTAV. We deal with official Irish and UK distributors for the game as well as other wholesalers / resellers who themselves buy through the same distributors. Think of it as a bar buying coke off coca-cola but if they run out they can run down to musgraves cash and carry and get some there all be it a bit dearer than off coke directly. What has happened us is demand for the game has been unprecedented. We can't get any more stock directly until October so we're having to buy off the musgraves equivelent. Problem is that musgraves equivilents are sticking on a bit of profit for themselves totally understandably and in some cases are jacking up the price due to the fact they are the last few sellers with stock.

We originally were selling at €54.99 which was beating all Irish retailers by at least €5.00 - we're now at €57.49 to reflect the higher cost price but again are still the cheapest in Ireland. When that stock goes we will have to make a decision whether or not to buy in even dearer stock and put the price up again (assuming there is any left to buy) At no time though are we profiteering or ripping people off on this. Our own profit margin is the same - in fact we've sold some orders to boardsies at a small loss as we held the €54.99 price into the new stock for a couple of days. Zavvi are of course a bit cheaper than us at first glance but when you factor in the 23% VAT we are obliged to charge here we are actually taking less money in ourselves than they are. They won't have it to you for release day and there is a chance your order will get stopped by customs and VAT levied onto it making it much dearer. For most people that's a deal breaker but if you don't mind waiting a bit then price is of course king.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,515 ✭✭✭✭Potential-Monke

Couple of clarifications needed it seems :)

First off RRP for GTAV is €69.99 - nobody in Ireland has sold at full RRP for the past 3 years at least so that's not an indicator of street price. (I'm expecting 60-65 in stores myself)

€65 in gamestop.

60 if you get it on their online store.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,014 ✭✭✭Baked.noodle

Grand Theft Auto V New Official Trailer: http://www.rockstargames.com/videos/video/10998

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,514 ✭✭✭Lu Tze

Grand Theft Auto V New Official Trailer: http://www.rockstargames.com/videos/video/10998

Predator style gatling gun - me likey!