Where have all the wasps gone?(not missed!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26 aghost

I have to admit some of the above posts are hilarious. Tree stumps, beer cans ect. Wasps hey, sure wouldn't life be dull without them, great bunch of lads. Yeah I know if it happened to me ....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 750 ✭✭✭playedalive

I've had wasps come into my house and eat my mushy peas. So they are still around.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,430 ✭✭✭Ilik Urgee

I must've killed 15 or 20 of the baxturds today. You get better at it tbf.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,863 ✭✭✭✭crosstownk

DIY wasp traps FTW. I cobbled one together yesterday from a Fanta bottle.

7 Fúckers dead this evening.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 10,464 Mod ✭✭✭✭xzanti

I've been killing at LEAST 5 a day since last week.. I'm not exaggerating! Little fúckers! I have the 'swat n stamp' 2 step down to a fine art.. don't even need the spray anymore.

Also, my 2 year old Son is a Jedi level wasp spotter.. so together we are an elite team!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,669 ✭✭✭✭RobbingBandit

Cut one up last night with a knife,hate the bastards with all my heart. Got one that keeps flying into my room each morning for the last 4 days,he's next for a cutting.

xzanti wrote: »
    my 2 year old Son is a Jedi level wasp spotter

Stung he will be.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,615 ✭✭✭Fox_In_Socks

Whey get in the house, I take them out by hand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,928 ✭✭✭Renegade Mechanic

Quite a few of them got to meet the business end of the power washer lance at work today. Must be increasing in numbers..

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 18,100 Mod ✭✭✭✭ixoy

They suddenly seem to be everywhere. Two in the car on Saturday and one clung on to the car window (outside) on Sunday, staring in at me for miles just waiting for the door to open. One of Nature's most evil and pointless creations.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,597 ✭✭✭WIZE

Electric Tennis Racquet Style Swatter ftw

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,299 ✭✭✭✭MadsL

Ah quit complaining...I had to fend off one of these the other day, armed only with a wine glass. It came at me three times.

http://i.imgur.com/jJd1swd.jpg

It's a Tarantula Wasp, which lays its egg on Tarantulas after stinging them, paralysing them and laying an egg in the stomach of the spider. The grub then eats its way out avoiding vital organs to keep the spider alive longer.

The sting has been described by Justin Schmidt, who made it his business to get stung by every insect to crreate the Schmidt Index of Sting Intensity as "…immediate, excruciating pain that simply shuts down one's ability to do anything, except, perhaps, scream.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,915 ✭✭✭worded

What have wasps ever done for us ?
    Do they kill flies?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,000 ✭✭✭Stone Deaf 4evr

MadsL wrote: »
    Ah quit complaining...I had to fend off one of these the other day, armed only with a wine glass. It came at me three times.

It's a Tarantula Wasp, which lays its egg on Tarantulas after stinging them, paralysing them and laying an egg in the stomach of the spider. The grub then eats its way out avoiding vital organs to keep the spider alive longer.

The sting has been described by Justin Schmidt, who made it his business to get stung by every insect to crreate the Schmidt Index of Sting Intensity as "…immediate, excruciating pain that simply shuts down one's ability to do anything, except, perhaps, scream.

Thanks for tonight's nightmare.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,615 ✭✭✭Fox_In_Socks

Are you a spider? No?

Then quit yer complaining!:pac:

Nerd post:

I was listening to the radio the other day (Mooney - for my sins) and apparently during the summer they forage for high protein food to feed to their young. The young, in turn, exude a sugary fluid that the adult wasps feed off. However, at this time of year the young have matured and that sugary shít is gone so instead they píss us all off by looking for our sugary foods.

Like I said, nerd post.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,915 ✭✭✭worded

Is Justin looking for any interns via jobs bridge ? Sounds like a hardcore profession

worded wrote: »
    Is Justin looking for any interns via jobs bridge ? Sounds like a hardcore profession

He goes by Justin AGGGGGHHHHHHHHH!!! Schmitt.

Free Savlon with the position.

A simpler scale is the Starr Scale
    It rates the tarantula wasp at twice that of a yellowjacket wasp.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,221 ✭✭✭NuckingFacker

Just fcuk right off with that yoke. That's like wasp-zilla. I'm now starting to imagine that there are waspy things in the room, watching me. Every time the collar of me t-shirt brushes against my neck, it's "a wasp"..jasus..I hate the things..I'm also enjoying my beer less, suspecting it has become wasped..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,992 ✭✭✭✭gurramok

Yeh, they're back alright since I last asked ;)

Got off pretty lightly compared to the stories here, had 2 attack me the minute I sat down to eat my lunch. A swift punch created a no-fly zone!

I think a wasp predator is the dragonfly who are also out and about, if indeed they are predators of wasps they are our allies so don't kill them! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,449 ✭✭✭Call Me Jimmy

Yes, they are all in or around our house. All of them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 151 ✭✭fsfg

They were on the bus today

fsfg wrote: »
    They were on the bus today

No ticket either. Fecking scumbags.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,043 ✭✭✭MurdyWurdy

One cheeky fecker was sniffing around all my shopping outside Aldi while I tried to pack it in to the car. I really really hate them :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 769 ✭✭✭Frito

Evolution1 wrote: »
    Usually here in may . Always had a nest to spray .
    Quite early for wasps but right time for mining bees. Could you be confusing the two? They're similar sizes but different body shapes and markings.
    Been watching Bill Turnbull (of BBC breakfast) who's an avid beekeeper. Apparently there's a parasite that grows on a bee's thorax which introduces several viruses leading to wing deformity (amongst other symptoms) then death. This parasite was first recorded in UK circa 1992 and contributing to the decline in population.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,969 ✭✭✭my my my

the wasps are in my garden

i actually like em

but when they start buzzing around kids you have to be htiitin them with a fly-swatter

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 15,824 ✭✭✭✭paddy147

Wasps are actually very benificial handy to have around.

They eat up lots of aphids that can otherwize destroy plants,flowers,fruit and crops.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,891 ✭✭✭allthedoyles

We have loads of wasps in back garden especially in compost bin - we kill as many as possible :

https://pbs.twimg.com/media/BRTk-fnCIAAk3bd.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,969 ✭✭✭my my my

We have loads of wasps in back garden especially in compost bin - we kill as many as possible :

https://pbs.twimg.com/media/BRTk-fnCIAAk3bd.jpg

whats the point

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,007 ✭✭✭The Royal Scam

One was flying around the bedroom, picked up the nearest aerosol and sprayed it with it, wasp started acting like I had just given it a lobotomy. It was hilarious, wintergreen in future as my new killer so..