Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Liverpool FC Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread 2013/14

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 413 ✭✭Oscorp

I tweeted this about Willian and the Spurs link two days ago in jest and now it's come to pass
    Oscorp wrote: »
    I'm believing nothing 'til he follows Sandro and Paulinho on Twitter

FML :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,142 ✭✭✭Pilsbury Doughboy

For the record, I'm not the spelling police, I don't want to have to be on tenterhooks with every post I type to make sure it's perfect, whilst my spelling is decent, my keyboard and typing are not up to scratch so my posts will be littered with mistakes no doubt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,233 ✭✭✭Sappy404

http://www.gianlucadimarzio.com/senza-categoria/willian-liverpool-in-vantaggio-sul-tottenham-i-dettagli/
    Two-horse race, with a view of the Premier League. Willian is ready to leave the Anzhi, demobilization President Kerimov is also affecting him. And so it has taken the rod between Liverpool and Tottenham for the Brazilian former Shakhtar. This evening, the leadership of the Reds offered the Russian club € 30 million and 50% discount on future resale to an amount exceeding 30 million euro. The Tottenham left behind, and by Tuesday it will decide everything. Willian will leave Anzhi. The Premier League is waiting for him.

Apparently this guy is fairly reliable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,267 ✭✭✭opr

hefferboi wrote: »
    Did we not pull out of the Siggy deal, not him choosing spurs over us, because Rodgers felt he wasn't worth the wages he was looking for?

That's the way I remember it and thought fair play to him.

Well we didn't pull out but I believe we offered him less in wages than Tottenham.
    Rodgers wrote:
    "Liverpool would have provided Gylfi with a wonderful opportunity to perform with a manager that he knows and at a club which is a real footballing institution. But he's decided to go to Tottenham, for whatever reason.

"I wish him the best; he's a good kid and there's no ill feeling. We've got other targets and we'll move on.”

It's fine if the club have a figure in mind that they believe the player is worth but at the end of the day the market dictates wages. If we want to go down the Arsenal route of paying what we believe is appropriate while others around us pip us on wages to sign players then we can look forward to a fairly bleak future.

I've no problem with us missing out on Gylfi in particular but if it starts becoming a theme then we're going to find it hard to move forward in such a current crowded market place for a small pool of quality players available to us. I'd be very annoyed after all the cuts if we missed out on William simply because Tottenham were willing to pay him more money. Obviously if they're willing to offer him a ridiculous amount above and beyond then we need to be sensible but Spur's are a well run club afaik in that regard so I can't see that being the case.

Opr

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,704 ✭✭✭G.K.

Grayditch wrote: »
    The stats suggesting we're better without Suarez are the most eye opening testement to the nonsense of stats sometimes.

When people ignore the context of stats, which I believe to be an incredibly powerful tool, or use stats badly, I rage.

The sample size of games without Suarez must be tiny. He'll have played in just about every game he was available for selection. I imagine the games he didn't feature in included the easy EL games last year, and the dead rubbers at the end of last season. In the tough games which ye lost, he was typically playing. But there haven't been a lot of those style of games where he didn't play.

That alone utterly devalues the statement which is supposedly 'backed up by the stats.' The sample sizes would have to be equal for that stat to even remotely have use. I remember a similar one about Modric a few seasons back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,379 ✭✭✭hefferboi

opr wrote: »
    Well we didn't pull out but I believe we offered him less in wages than Tottenham.

It's fine if the club have a figure in mind that they believe the player is worth but at the end of the day the market dictates wages. If we want to go down the Arsenal route of paying what we believe is appropriate while others around us pip us on wages to sign players then we can look forward to a fairly bleak future.

I've no problem with us missing out on Gylfi in particular but if it starts becoming a theme then we're going to find it hard to move forward in such a current crowded market place for a small pool of quality players available to us. I'd be very annoyed after all the cuts if we missed out on William simply because Tottenham were willing to pay him more money. Obviously if they're willing to offer him a ridiculous amount above and beyond then we need to be sensible but Spur's are a well run club afaik in that regard so I can't see that being the case.

Opr
    My bad I genuinely thought we had pulled out. I agree with you, though. We need to offer what the teams around us are offering but at the same time there's no need offering extravagant wages unless its for the Suarez's or Coutinho's.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,313 ✭✭✭✭K-9

hefferboi wrote: »
    To be fair, there's was about 10 pages on Raif's capitalisation a few weeks back. It's brought up every now and again, which is slightly more irritating than the actual topic.

I don't get the fascination either, I just skim over that stuff, suppose it'a bit of a running joke at this stage, it's a bit sad a few take it seriously!
    Dislike the fact that I am doing it myself but given it is the tact employed by a very vocal group of posters here, it is, in my view, one of the only options left really. I opted to barely post on this thread in the past year as the quality of poster worsened but some of the stuff in recent weeks has really annoyed me.

Have a go at people talking complete shift by all means. This ganging up on posters that have been here for 7/8 years and are making points that they take time to back up needs to stop. Beats playing 2 out and out DM's.

I do love sounding like a spa too.

Ah, Alan and Lloyd aren't saints, they post to get a reaction and well, surprise, surprise, they get one, your reaction I'm sure is just as welcomed as the detractors!

I'm just looking forward to the season, I do think the squad has improved, though in a very unexciting way. The club needs to outbid Spurs on Willian and no excuses will cut it. No point in me repeating we are looking at the wrong area of the pitch to strengthen, but Rodgers has a clue or two about football more than us, and I find the whole BR vs. AVB thing boring. He's has put everything into the attacking side of the team, he'll die by the sword, and I like his style.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,516 ✭✭✭Hoki

Dislike the fact that I am doing it myself but given it is the tact employed by a very vocal group of posters here, it is, in my view, one of the only options left really. I opted to barely post on this thread in the past year as the quality of poster worsened but some of the stuff in recent weeks has really annoyed me.

Have a go at people talking complete shift by all means. This ganging up on posters that have been here for 7/8 years and are making points that they take time to back up needs to stop.

I do love sounding like a spa too.

This whole ganging up excuse is a load of crap that works both ways as well. Its a non issue - whenever there is a topical issue worth discussing there is always going to be heated debates where both sides will defend their own so to speak. The minority in this Pro/Anti Rodgers debacle are just as guilty.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,246 ✭✭✭ardinn

Hey can anyone pm me a link to the full match or extended highlights of stoke - Would be very much appreciated.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,794 ✭✭✭Big Pussy Bonpensiero

Nonsense.

He'll be touching the 'This is Anfield' sign, in no time. A choice between Liverpool and Spurs?

It's a no contest.

If we are in for Willian (which I have my doubts), you're right it is no contest, but the rest of your post is wrong.

If we beat yas to Willian you can't help but laugh as a Spurs fan, 3rd deal in little over a year. I don't think it'll happen, but if it does I'll have some craic with this with friends that support Liverpool.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,588 ✭✭✭daithijjj

ardinn wrote: »
    Hey can anyone pm me a link to the full match or extended highlights of stoke - Would be very much appreciated.

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=86059051&postcount=1149

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,630 ✭✭✭✭OwaynOTT

Is this the tact that you boys are going to start taking with me, eh? Tis somewhat strange that a basic misspelling of two names warrants a call out yet Some Folk Capitalise Words in a completely non-sensical Way and Nothing much Is Said. Wonder does a posters position on certain topics come into play? ;)

How about you address the point? 3 out of 3 signings that we appear to have gone up against spurs have ended up signings for them. Willian could be 4 in just 12 months.

What spin do you fancy putting on it?

Jesus but Raif's Thing is probably pointed out everyday. People can get a bit pedantic about spelling but I wouldn't read so much into it.

Edit: just seen been responded too in a similar fashion, I was just too slow.

• Site Banned Posts: 26,456 ✭✭✭✭Nuri Sahin

It was more that I felt you thought his name was Solgado not Soldado, it was very pedantic I know.

That's not bad. Look up some people's spelling for Eriksen! :D

• Site Banned Posts: 26,456 ✭✭✭✭Nuri Sahin

BR_Y-oeCYAAAlRo.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,403 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

Skaertel is another one whose name is regularly spelt wrong. And Saurez has popped up so much in this thread and the Arsenal thread that this whole transfer saga might just be a case of mistaken identity.

Edit: I miss Zangief.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,367 ✭✭✭Ardent

Looks like Spurs have merked us again in the transfer market. Either their scouts are on holiday or they are deliberately trying to hijack our team building! :mad:

http://www1.skysports.com/football/news/11661/8877841/?utm_medium=twitter&utm_source=twitterfeed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,919 ✭✭✭simongurnick

Ardent wrote: »
    Looks like Spurs have merked us again in the transfer market. Either their scouts are on holiday or they are deliberately trying to hijack our team building! :mad:

http://www1.skysports.com/football/news/11661/8877841/?utm_medium=twitter&utm_source=twitterfeed

16/1 into 10/11 in a transfer betting market would not take a ton of money. the fact the bookies are still keeping liverpool at evens suggests it is not over yet.
    Still hopeful.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,325 ✭✭✭smileyj1987

16/1 into 10/11 in a transfer betting market would not take a ton of money. the fact the bookies are still keeping liverpool at evens suggests it is not over yet.
    Still hopeful.

I would agree with you on that . I think the bookies are just trying to cover themselves on this one right now .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,469 ✭✭✭✭GTR63

Nuri Sahin wrote: »
    That's not bad. Look up some people's spelling for Eriksen! :D

Kristiun Erixtsun, yeah thats how ya spell it.
    I'm not mad about Willian for a £30m fee(think the Media will jump on whoever we sign next for a big fee & they will have to flourish fast) but the fact Spurs may be in for him makes me childishly want him just for the sake of it.
    :/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

top of the league

GTR63 wrote: »
    Kristiun Erixtsun, yeah thats how ya spell it.
    I'm not mad about Willian for a £30m fee(think the Media will jump on whoever we sign next for a big fee & they will have to flourish fast) but the fact Spurs may be in for him makes me childishly want him just for the sake of it.
    :/

May not be totally childish. It's similar to not selling Suarez to Arsenal. If a competitor is bidding for a top player we may need to push the boat out to get him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,924 ✭✭✭wonderfullife

Dont want to drag up the match thread but the match raised a serious question....

If you miss a penno in the same corner 5 times in a row, where do you put the 6th?

Toughie. He's expected to switch corners. He's expecting the keeper to expect he'll switch. Except the keeper has expected this expectation also.

Walters my friend keep trucking :o

ps. Mignolet outshone Begovic. 1 to nil.

Dont want to drag up the match thread but the match raised a serious question....

If you miss a penno in the same corner 5 times in a row, where do you put the 6th?

Toughie. He's expected to switch corners. He's expecting the keeper to expect he'll switch. Except the keeper has expected this expectation also.

Bit of a rock paper scissors strategy! ;)

It was a sh1t penalty in fairness - Slow and halfway between keeper and post - Me ma would have saved it.

Not taking away from Migger - i'm saying Walters is dirt at taking pennos.

ardinn wrote: »
    It was a sh1t penalty in fairness - Slow and halfway between keeper and post - Me ma would have saved it.

Not taking away from Migger - i'm saying Walters is dirt at taking pennos.

On another day Mignolet goes the other way and it's a great pen.

Super second save though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,990 ✭✭✭✭8-10

Nah he hit it into the ground. Even if the keeper goes the wrong way it wouldn't look like a great peno

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,696 ✭✭✭✭~Rebel~

Super second save though.

He doesn't though, because Walters keeps going the same way. Comparing it with Benteke's second pen - put into the same bottom corner, but Benteke's was unsavable. Walters just didn't quite have as much power or accuracy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,909 ✭✭✭✭whatawaster

From the echo

Willian looks 50:50 - which means he will sign for Spurs. Cissokho is close and Ilori is back on.
    Liverpool FC are locked in a battle with Tottenham for Brazilian winger Willian.

Both clubs have held talks with Anzhi Makhachkala and are willing to meet the Russian outfit’s asking price of around £28million.

Much now hinges on the Reds’ ability to agree personal terms with the 25-year-old and convince him that Anfield would be the ideal destination.

Willian is considering the rival offers and is expected to make a decision about his future in the next 48 hours.

Aly Cissokho is set to undergo a medical today ahead of completing his season-long loan move to Liverpool from Valencia.

The Reds have the option to sign the French left-back on a permanent basis for around £4million next summer.

The ECHO understands Liverpool have also renewed their pursuit of Sporting Lisbon centre-back Tiago Ilori.

Rodgers was keen to wrap up a deal back in June but talks between the clubs broke down.

The Reds had a bid of around £3million rejected with Sporting demanding more than double that amount.

However, Ilori’s refusal to pen a new contract in Portugal has given Liverpool hope that a compromise fee can now be agreed for the 20-year-old.

The Reds were represented at Sporting’s game against Arouca yesterday and further discussions were held with the young defender’s representatives

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,621 ✭✭✭✭Vicxas

From the echo

Willian looks 50:50 - which means he will sign for Spurs. Cissokho is close and Ilori is back on.

Sigh. Once again spurs use our scouts to make a decision. They must have a Liverpool litmus test