UFC Fight Night- Shogun vs Sonnen *BROADCAST DETAILS IN POST #1*

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 36 DerpKehoe

The P is for Perfection.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166 ✭✭Doubs

Chael P. Sonnen!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,651 ✭✭✭stiffler123

Well done Chael, had me worried with the odds dropping for a minute.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,339 ✭✭✭Artful_Badger

Well played Chael Sonnen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,042 ✭✭✭✭scudzilla

Why is Sonnen even in there with Shogun. Makes no sense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,387 ✭✭✭✭DeVore

I take it back, nice sub!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,366 ✭✭✭✭Kylo Ren

Damn. That was quick.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,970 ✭✭✭Lenin Skynard

Choking on my hat here. Fair play to Sonnen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,141 ✭✭✭✭chopperbyrne

Still undefeated LHW Champion of the Multiverse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166 ✭✭Doubs

Awesome night of fights.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,964 ✭✭✭Podge2k7

Really enjoyable card tonight.

El Guapo! wrote: »
    I don't gamble much at all. Just a small bit for fun, to make it more interesting.

I lost my accumulator. I'll more than likely lose my last bet.
    For the craic I let the wife pick three fighters for a treble. (She has no clue about mma)
    She had Matt Brown, Travis Browne, and she has Sonnen now too. Jammy bitch will probably win and won't give me my stake back!

what odds was that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,448 ✭✭✭✭El Guapo!

Now to try and pry the money from the wife's hands. Fml

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,140 ✭✭✭✭Mellor

Mellor wrote: »
    Chael is doing a great job of nulifying Rua's BJJ.
    :D:D:D

I think that serves as a nice fk you to everyone who questioned Chaels move to LHW.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 218 ✭✭jarain

What a card!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,970 ✭✭✭Lenin Skynard

Was he slagging Rogan off for being a middle aged comedian?

scudzilla wrote: »
    what odds was that?

Stuck a tenner on for her. Returns roughly €84. There or there abouts. I think.

Actually returns €81.44

Just incase people think its after timing I'll attach a screenshot.
    Not that it's much to brag about. Or not that I'll get to spend a bleedin penny!

Card of the year?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 220 ✭✭ShadowFax

El Guapo! wrote: »
    Actually returns €81.44

Just incase people think its after timing I'll attach a screenshot.
    Not that it's much to brag about. Or not that I'll get to spend a bleedin penny!

Stick the winnings on JDS .... cert to win

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 92 ✭✭Jizzear

its hard for some1 like shogun when theres so much tape on his bjj, preferred subs/sweeps etc,

finally managed to win an mma accumulator with conor, howard and sonnen, about time ive wasted enough money through the years ha!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,391 ✭✭✭Scar Tissue

ShadowFax wrote: »
    Stick the winnings on JDS .... cert to win

I was with you until you used the c word, naughty boy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,391 ✭✭✭Scar Tissue

Full presser is up here:

Conor looking dapper in his suit. Chael his typical entertainer self :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,734 ✭✭✭✭Zero-Cool

Unreal card! Good man Chael, he needed the win and was brilliant with a choke, not just a grind out win like I thought it might be. Wonder will Wandy accept the next fight? Actually must check out the post fight presser. So glad the ref didn't stop the Reem fight early, that front face kick KO was justice for that illegal knee!

With Hall/Howard, I hate when they start congratulating each other mid fight like 'yeah bro, lets put on a show' Hall deserved that Howard Bomb in the last few seconds.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,734 ✭✭✭✭Zero-Cool

Conor and Zingano post fight

579629_10151810851876276_421263693_n.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 354 ✭✭Fanny Biscuit

Some great fight's last night. Michael McDonald V Pickett was probably my favourite. Anywhere online you can watch the highlights?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,421 ✭✭✭p to the e

Great card all round. Add to that I won a four fight accumulator and all is swell.

I said it before and I'll say it again, Diego Brandao is a tough and strong FW and would be a great match up for McGregor next. They're two young fighters with a couple of wins so it could be a great stepping stone for either fighter.

I feel sorry for Mike Brown. He really isn't the same fighter he was 10 years ago. He was complaining after the fight about it being an early stoppage but I think it was a good stoppage. I think he might finally hang up the gloves for good.

There's not much I can say about the McGregor fight that hasn't already been said but it was a fantastic display of calm under pressure. Another proud night for Irish MMA. Pity we didn't see any Steve Collins.

Michael Johnson looked as good as I've ever seen him in his defeat of Joe Lauzon. He nearly got himself into unnecessary trouble for pushing Yves Lavigne which was quite stupid. This was a must win fight for Johnson in Lauzon's home town and he pulled it off.

Uriah Hall proved why he shouldn't have been on the main card in the first place. Worst fight of the night by far and I'd say Hall is getting his walking papers.

Matt Brown needs a top ten WW next. The winner of Maia - Shields or Robbie Lawler could be a great fight for 'The Immortal'. I think the winner of Condit - Kampmann will fight Rory McDonald so they're out.

Travis Browne took some of the most vicious knees to the body I've seen in a while. What's most exciting about his win is that now both Overeem and Mark Hunt are coming off losses so the potential for a K1-esque battle are there. If this match up isn't made then Joe Silva needs to rethink his career.

I really felt for Shogun after his loss. He seemed more focussed than I've seen him in the last few years and he seemed to be attempting one last run for the belt. He's a long way away from getting a title shot again that's for sure. On a side note I never would have thought that Shogun was younger than Chael by 5 years (31 and 36)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,459 ✭✭✭califano

p to the e wrote: »
    Michael Johnson looked as good as I've ever seen him in his defeat of Joe Lauzon. He nearly got himself into unnecessary trouble for pushing Yves Lavigne which was quite stupid. This was a must win fight for Johnson in Lauzon's home town and he pulled it off.

Avril is a good ref but he often over reacts and here was just another example of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 367 ✭✭Chewabacca

Avril is a good ref but he often over reacts and here was just another example of it.

I'll never forget Browne vs. Sell, in my eyes the worst stoppage in UFC history. Any man who can let that happen shouldn't be allowed to step foot in the cage in my opinion.

Absolutely gutted about the main event. Not to take anything away from Chael, he looked fantastic, but you have to think that maybe it's time for Shogun to retire. There's only so many fights you can have before you're body can't keep up anymore. He has so much mileage on his fights for somebody his age, it's a shame. I have a feeling he's going to follow in Wanderlei's footsteps and carry on fighting for years more. Maybe a change of camp is needed after all if he wants to keep fighting.

I think Wand is a serious step down from Chael. He brings nothing to the table that's new after the Shogun fight. Belfort does deserve a title shot but a fight between him and Sonnen would be so easy to sell and would earn Chael a title shot if Weidman keeps the title.

Chewabacca wrote: »
    I'll never forget Browne vs. Sell, in my eyes the worst stoppage in UFC history. Any man who can let that happen shouldn't be allowed to step foot in the cage in my opinion.

Absolutely gutted about the main event. Not to take anything away from Chael, he looked fantastic, but you have to think that maybe it's time for Shogun to retire. There's only so many fights you can have before you're body can't keep up anymore. He has so much mileage on his fights for somebody his age, it's a shame. I have a feeling he's going to follow in Wanderlei's footsteps and carry on fighting for years more. Maybe a change of camp is needed after all if he wants to keep fighting.

I think Wand is a serious step down from Chael. He brings nothing to the table that's new after the Shogun fight. Belfort does deserve a title shot but a fight between him and Sonnen would be so easy to sell and would earn Chael a title shot if Weidman keeps the title.

Wandy is a step down from Shogun for Chael but fcuk me, that fight would sell PPV's by the bucketload