Top of the morning to you

• 15-08-2013 12:12PM
    Closed Accounts Posts: 7,752 ✭✭✭

I find a lot of my British friends say this to me a lot and are usually surprised when i tell them that i never use that greeting and I don't know anyone who does either.

Which makes me wonder does anyone in Ireland use this greeting? Does anyone here on Boards greet people with "Top of the morning" or know anyone who does?

For a greeting that seems to be strongly linked with Ireland for foreigners it doesn't seemed to get used a lot here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,808 ✭✭✭✭smash

Believe it or not, Australians don't always cook shrimp on the barbie either...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 30,731 ✭✭✭✭princess-lala

We're not all leprechauns either though!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,073 ✭✭✭gobnaitolunacy

smash wrote: »

Or call each other 'cobber', drink Fosters, or go round with hats with corks dangling from them.

Top of the morning, may be a stereotypical term popularised by 19th century music hall acts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 436 ✭✭Dan Dare

Bottom of the afternoon to you!:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

Never heard anyone use it except for my mother. She uses it only on special occasions such as British or American relatives visiting. It's a bit embarrassing but she is an Ireland's Own reader so doesnt get the ironing really.

Was talking to an Aussie the other night and said something like "Struth, stone the crows sheila, fair dinkum" First thing he said was that only Alf Stewart talks like that!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,933 ✭✭✭holystungun9

Correct, they say prawn not shrimp.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,713 ✭✭✭HondaSami

Darby o gill and the little people have a lot to answer for.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,516 ✭✭✭wazky

Its actually, "Top o the morn ta ya".

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,624 Mod ✭✭✭✭Amirani

There is definitely many a "shark in the water" though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 906 ✭✭✭JohnFalstaff

Bing Crosby has a lot to answer for - between this and the Toora Looras...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,122 ✭✭✭BeerWolf

La di day la he la hay ha he says I...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,833 ✭✭✭Vinz Mesrine

What does it even mean?

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 31,270 Mod ✭✭✭✭Insect Overlord

What does it even mean?

I think it's a slight mistranslation of an Irish greeting, "Barr na maidine ort". Barr usually means "top", but can be used figuratively to mean "the best".

"May the best offerings of the morning be upon you" would be more accurate (and horribly convoluted), but "Good morning" would also work quite nicely. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,079 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

I love stuff like that and speak it as often as I can. I'd also do a little jig while I speak.

I think it's a slight mistranslation of an Irish greeting, "Barr na maidine ort". Barr usually means "top", but can be used figuratively to mean "the best".

"May the best offerings of the morning be upon you" would be more accurate (and horribly convoluted), but "Good morning" would also work quite nicely. ;)

"Hows it goin?" suits me just fine :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,981 ✭✭✭[-0-]

A stereotype that isn't true.

Shocker!

[-0-] wrote: »
    A stereotype that isn't true.

Shocker!

So we dont need to stand around the airports leaning on a stick while wearing a tweed jacket, paddy cap and smoking some form of pipe while devouring a pint of guinness? All the while keeping a sheep on a rope.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 31,270 Mod ✭✭✭✭Insect Overlord

So we dont need to stand around the airports leaning on a stick while wearing a tweed jacket, paddy cap and smoking some form of pipe while devouring a pint of guinness? All the while keeping a sheep on a rope.

And a pig under your arm.

Begorrah!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,752 ✭✭✭pablomakaveli

Begorrah!

That another one i've never understood either. What does begorrah even mean?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,943 ✭✭✭✭the purple tin

It's a popular saying in America, especially among those who have Irish heritage. Now I'm off to carve a potato whistle :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,785 ✭✭✭9959

Make sure it's a Pig and not a Tapir.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 497 ✭✭akura

My, what fine looking PO-TAY-TOES!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,042 ✭✭✭who the fug

akura wrote: »

My, what fine looking PO-TAY-TOES!

How did fecking PO-TAY-TOES rubbish start, first time I noticed it was Keith Lemon , having a go at Jedward

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,037 ✭✭✭Plazaman

It's a popular saying in America, especially among those who have Irish heritage. Now I'm off to carve a potato whistle :pac:

And let them stick their Frosted Lucky Charms where the sun don't shine. I have no interest in having a big bowl of diabetes for my breakfast thank you very much. Healthy breakfast rolls swimming in brown sauce all the way for me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,752 ✭✭✭pablomakaveli

How did fecking PO-TAY-TOES rubbish start, first time I noticed it was Keith Lemon , having a go at Jedward

I think it was Keith Lemon started it altogether.

It's amusing to see how an English person thinks they're being so original and funny by saying it to me when they first learn i'm Irish despite the fact i've now heard that joke a million times already.

I think it was Keith Lemon started it altogether.

It's amusing to see how an English person thinks they're being so original and funny by saying it to me when they first learn i'm Irish despite the fact i've now heard that joke a million times already.

I just look over my glasses and give them my Are you ****ting me look

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,320 ✭✭✭Ace Attorney

Its just a stereotype that seems to have been around a long time and romanced by american films about Ireland, shur its the same thing as your english mates meeting up and have tea and crumpets all the time

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,635 ✭✭✭Pumpkinseeds

A lot of English people still believe the whole begosh and begorra stereotype exists. My husband is English and I know he felt very cheated that my family didn't live in a cottage and cook over a turf fire. He was very disappointed by that on his first visit to Ireland:D

The first Christmas that I spent with his family, his Mother bought me a celtic locket with a begosh and begorra Irish prayer/greeting on it. His brother bought me a Father Ted dvd. I mean Jaysus H:confused::( It was a long time ago but I still cringe at the memory of it:D

A lot of English people still believe the whole begosh and begorra stereotype exists. My husband is English and I know he felt very cheated that my family didn't live in a cottage and cook over a turf fire. He was very disappointed by that on his first visit to Ireland:D

The first Christmas that I spent with his family, his Mother bought me a celtic locket with a begosh and begorra Irish prayer/greeting on it. His brother bought me a Father Ted dvd. I mean Jaysus H:confused::( It was a long time ago but I still cringe at the memory of it:D

A bit off topic but big changes in the 54 years since my father first arrival in deepest deepest kerry

Himself and the mother were collected by the grandfather in a sidecar from station , and taken to the house with no running water or electricity.

Amazing how you could get on a train in Manchester and end up 24 hours later two miles from the house in Kerry

Weird thing about it was my mothers aunt remembered his grandfather doing tours of inspection of the coast guard during WW1