Airport Queue Etiquette - Good row last night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,029 ✭✭✭salacious crumb

Caliden wrote: »
    Just back from hols with 3 others where we waited at the bar and had a few drinks until the queue was down to about 10-15 people, got in the queue, got on the plane and we all got seats near the front with our luggage under the seats in front (no issue as long as it's the correct size).

We got off the plane in less than 5 minutes of arriving and we done this both ways. Definitely doing it from now on. Zero stress.

Exactly. Any time I fly with Ryanair (who are the only airline I can think of that the issue of unreserved seating arises with) I just wait til the end and usually get the middle seat of the first three or four rows, and tend to get off the plane and out the airport at the other end fairly quickly :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,678 ✭✭✭I Heart Internet

Just back from hols with 3 others where we waited at the bar and had a few drinks until the queue was down to about 10-15 people, got in the queue, got on the plane and we all got seats near the front with our luggage under the seats in front (no issue as long as it's the correct size).

There is a direct correlation between people who queue to board an hour beforehand and those with spectacularly large pieces of hand-luggage.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

JohnCleary wrote: »
    I'm not a Ryanair peasant, wouldn't know

Let the Ryanair peasants queue while on Ethiad the pheasant is served right on cue.

Ah money..... :)

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,622 Mod ✭✭✭✭Amirani

What's even more annoying is when 90% of passengers stand up as soon as the plane has landed. It's not going to explode, there is no reason to rush off. Most will just end up waiting in the baggage area, then the frantic wait for luggage enuses, people deliberately blocking others from the conveyor belt in case they might miss their luggage first time around.

Nothing wrong with people who have to catch an onward connection trying to hurry off the aircraft. Those fools with checked in bags though are ridiculous.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24 Charlie Babbitt

Did anyone else notice the smoldering sexual tension between guy from Couple 1 and woman in Couple 2.

Was does O'Leary charge for mile high club membership anyway?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,157 ✭✭✭keithclancy

Security is even worse.

Security: Any liquids in your bags ?
    Them: No

...goes through machine...

10 minute argument about how shampoo is not a liquid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,278 ✭✭✭x43r0

I can't stand that queuing for 45mins crap

I pre-book my seat all the time and wouldn't fly without doing it now. So much less hassle. Sit at the bar and sup a pint while the masses spend the best part of an hour standing

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,916 ✭✭✭shopaholic01

Nothing wrong with people who have to catch an onward connection trying to hurry off the aircraft. Those fools with checked in bags though are ridiculous.
    How many of the 90% have to catch a connecting flight though? Your luggage is forwarded too, you don't have to reclaim it between flights.

And don't get me started on the people who clap when you land. I've even heard people do it on take off.

x43r0 wrote: »
    I pre-book my seat all the time and wouldn't fly without doing it now.

Can you pre-book on Ryanair?

For every other airline this wouldn't be an issue (although you'll still get people queing in advance for allocated seating).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,981 ✭✭✭Caliden

Having to put my bag under the seat in front (because of no space left in the overhead) was one of my few bad flight experiences - I'm a leg stretcherer and it made it a really uncomfortable flight.
    Its one of the reasons why I now don't wait til too near the end to get on.

How tall are you (or should I be asking how big is your bag)?
    I'm 6 foot and had no issues with stretching.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,622 Mod ✭✭✭✭Amirani

How many of the 90% have to catch a connecting flight though? Your luggage is forwarded too, you don't have to reclaim it between flights.

I know that - I'm made connections that my bag has missed and missed connections that my bag has made. I'm just saying that I understand people rushing to catch connections. It's not really justified for anyone else though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,122 ✭✭✭BeerWolf

Why the row to begin with - don't people get their seat numbers to go at anyways, regardless of you being first or last to board...?

It's kinda like a speed boy racer over taking you, only for you to catch up to them at your own pace at the traffic lights or jam... you go as fast as the slowest - so why the rush ?

And don't get me started on the people who clap when you land. I've even heard people do it on take off.

That's just a bit of craic. Often it's done in a kinda ironic way or by a bunch of kids.

No harm there.....not like the queing, huge bag carrying yokels.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,073 ✭✭✭gobnaitolunacy

I don't know why anyone bothers queuing like a gimp for ages, esp on a flight that your seat is reserved.

Most Ryanair flights I'm on are so short, it isn't worth bothering getting a 'good seat' anyway.

I wait until there's about 20 or so people left, then hop in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,029 ✭✭✭salacious crumb

Clapping is only acceptable if there has been a massive amount of turbulence and a generally terrifying flight :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 970 ✭✭✭lemansky

Yea there are some seats available on each flight for pre-booking now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,306 ✭✭✭✭ArmaniJeanss

How tall are you (or should I be asking how big is your bag)?
    I'm 6 foot and had no issues with stretching.

I'd be less than that, maybe I'm just more slouchy. :)
    It just seemed that everytime I moved my feet or tried to change from 'left over right leg crossover' to 'right over left' that I was hitting the bag (which was 'normal' sized I guess).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,990 ✭✭✭JustAddWater

Dosen't everyone have an assigned seat anyway? What difference does it make when you get on? I always wait until the end if I can.

Not with ryanair you don't

reason why I hate flying with them, if you're with 2 or 3 people it can be a nightmare especially if you want to sit together

I've seen a queue built up for aer lingus with assigned seating before, truly stupid but unfortunately embedded in our culture now thanks in no small part by the ryanair culture

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,468 ✭✭✭✭OldNotWIse

What's even more annoying is when 90% of passengers stand up as soon as the plane has landed. It's not going to explode, there is no reason to rush off. Most will just end up waiting in the baggage area, then the frantic wait for luggage enuses, people deliberately blocking others from the conveyor belt in case they might miss their luggage first time around.

I laugh at people who do that. They're up and out of their seats before the fasten seatbelt sign is even switched off. And then they stand there for ten minutes... :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,745 ✭✭✭✭kylith

Not with Ryanair; they don't forward luggage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,278 ✭✭✭x43r0

Yes but they charge you (Surprise surprise)

TIP: If you're ever pre-booking your seat on a Ryanair flight go for 1A or 2F if either is available.
    They're the only two seats on a Ryanair plane that have extra legroom and a pocket for putting your stuff in

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 16,057 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tabnabs

I think you confused the two groups somewhere near the end of your story!

My question would be - is the plane going to leave without any of ye?? Answer: No.

People who queue for an hour (or even 10-15 minutes) to get on a plane THAT WON'T LEAVE WITHOUT THEM are utterly idiotic.

I have some sympathy for the sitters....the standees seem more childish than them.

My advice: sit in the bar or sit quietly and read your book and then go and claim your seat without queing like a [EMAIL="f@nny"]f@nny[/EMAIL].

Well actually, yes, the airplane will happily leave without you. Some airports don't have any boarding announcements, so you can enjoy that pint and a read in the bar as your flight taxis down to the runway...

Tabnabs wrote: »
    Well actually, yes, the airplane will happily leave without you. Some airports don't have any boarding announcements, so you can enjoy that pint and a read in the bar as your flight taxis down to the runway...

I meant a drink/read/relax within sight or or easy reach of the gate, obviously. This is after going to the gate first to ensure it's within easy reach (leave nothing to chance).

Gates can and do change (without notice). I was once at Stanstead waiting for a (different) flight and saw this family (with grown kids) come up to a gate that had just closed. The gate had been changed and they knew nothing about it. A glance at the screens could have helped them there. They missed their flight entirely. The abuse they gave the poor Ryanair staff member at the Gate was something awful.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 10,464 Mod ✭✭✭✭xzanti

If it's assigned seating I'll wait until the last minute to join the queue.. why spend longer than you have to standing there..

If it's a Ryanair flight (particularly if I have my child with me) I'll queue as early as I can to make sure I can get a window seat.

Tbh I can see where both parties in your story are coming from OP.. but the people who were sitting down probably should have just put their bags on the queue and then sat back down if they wanted to sit..

It's a sticky one.. I think Airports and delays bring out the worst in all of us so I don't really judge anyone's behaviour there..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 622 ✭✭✭omega666

Whatever about the merits of queuing for a plane.
    I say fair play to the Group for confronting the couple.
    Sitting down beside the queue is not queuing regardless if they were there 5 hours before everyone else.

90% of people are too cowardly to say a word when someone skips a queue
    In front of them so it nice to hear they got confronted about it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,824 ✭✭✭vitani

I could understand the tantrum from the group if there were a limited number of seats to go round - I'm often beaten to the last available seat on the train home and it's annoying - but in a situation such as this, they're just causing trouble for the sake of it. I've always thought that there's kind of an unwritten rule that if you're sitting in the seats beside the boarding gate, that you can just stand up when the boarding opens.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 443 ✭✭Elbaston

They're unforgiving places airports.

1 false move and your family/friends are laughing at the half-wit who was waiting at the wrong gate.

Meanwhile the hotel has charged for your room.
    And a flight the next day will require a mortgage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 79 ✭✭the varg

Every flight you're guaranteed that there will be twats who do their best to get onto the aircraft first and then at the other end they're the same ones who are standing getting their bags out of the overhead locker before the aircraft has even come to a standstill.

Bellends.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,079 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

Never got the whole queuing buzz. I'll quite happy be last on.

I avoid Ryanair where I can though and always have a ticket with a seat assigned.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

I've seen a queue built up for aer lingus with assigned seating before, truly stupid but unfortunately embedded in our culture now thanks in no small part by the ryanair culture

You can't blame Ryanair for people being thick.