If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Waterford GAA Discussion Thread 2011-2012

• Closed Accounts Posts: 248 ✭✭doz

As a slight aside from all the talk around the managerial situation, our kit supplier Azzuri has now been placed in examinership :(

http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/courts/examiner-confirmed-for-maker-of-azzuri-sportswear-29491949.html

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,851 ✭✭✭Mountainlad

doz wrote: »
    As a slight aside from all the talk around the managerial situation, our kit supplier Azzuri has now been placed in examinership :(

http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/courts/examiner-confirmed-for-maker-of-azzuri-sportswear-29491949.html

Gaelic gear it is so...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 990 ✭✭✭robopaddy

Never liked their gear always thought it was cheap looking and couldnt help be a bit envious of how much nicer other counties gear was

Couldn't agree more, I would go so far as to say that the moderators should make a statement/charter as regards criticism of minor players. It is simply disgraceful to come on here openly criticising young kids who are doing their very best and representing their county and it is not the first time this member has done so.

The ironic thing is the lad mentioned is actually a super talent and still minor again next year. Doesn't know what he's talking about

robopaddy wrote: »
    Never liked their gear always thought it was cheap looking and couldnt help be a bit envious of how much nicer other counties gear was

Hope they survive though due to the local jobs at stake and the fact they provide the bit of competition for O'Neills which is essential in any marketplace. Actually like their recent stuff to be honest. Current Decie and Donegal templates are smashing and Waterford going back to white shorts was a good move.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,821 ✭✭✭dzilla

WumBuster wrote: »
    In no other county would this kind of debacle be tolerated.

Cork and limerick have striked/refused to play in recent years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 420 ✭✭Mr Tibbs

Anyway isn't it great to be looking forward to a game with a Waterford team playing in September. 21yrs is a mighty long time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 426 ✭✭lovelypoint

WumBuster wrote: »
    Is there a need for a manager? Is there a need for a county board? Just let these players manage themselves and see how they get on. In no other county would this kind of debacle be tolerated. We seem to put the players up on too much of a pedastal in Waterford. Have they someone better in mind, who is affordable?

Did Ryan need to go? It was just some half hearted meeting with only half of the panel turning up, expressing their opinion, which seems to be far from unanimous. Of course we don't know what went on exactly, but maybe Ryan should have held his fire, met with the players and county board before making his decision rather than resigning immediately.

The county board may want Ryan to reconsider. I think he should take some time to reflect and do that. But my gut feeling is that the damage has been done and he will unlikely do a u-turn now. Not impressed at the way this has been handled by any of the parties involved. An absolute joke.

In fairness, the players got the poor end of the stick in '08, where with the CB showing no balls to remove Justin well before that point, the players were forced to take action, and suffered for the CB's weakness, imo. I would not be so quick to judge the players this time around either, at least until all the facts emerge, as one would have to ask, would the players have been forced to act in this manner, if they had been consulted before the CB set along with reappointing Ryan for another term, and if the players were not consulted before the CB decided to make their decision, then why weren't they. In my mind, the CB would not seem to be blameless in this, yet again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,743 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

dzilla wrote: »
    Please god our senoir team doesnt go on strike and we have to play a second string Waterford team for the season eg like Limerick in 2010

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,851 ✭✭✭Mountainlad

PTH2009 wrote: »
    Please god our senoir team doesnt go on strike and we have to play a second string Waterford team for the season eg like Limerick in 2010

Won't happen, don't worry

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,034 ✭✭✭Amprodude

Who do you think would take the job inside Waterford if they aren't looking for a manager outside county?

I heard Chuck O'Connor, Derek McGrath and Paul Flynn are very interested and this came from a fairly good source.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,034 ✭✭✭Amprodude

Mr Tibbs wrote: »
    I heard Chuck O'Connor, Derek McGrath and Paul Flynn are very interested and this came from a fairly good source.

Flynn would be an excellent choice IMO. Great analyst. I always listening to him when he gives pre and post match analyses. Knows his stuff. Great player in his day too. I think he would get the focus right for Waterford IMO.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 856 ✭✭✭Limestone1

Just back and watched the minor game ...jaysus two very harsh sendings off. I'd have to wonder about all the slagging off about going for goals/"showboating" - they missed an awful pile of chances for points in the 2nd half when they were obviously taking on the shot (probably after been directed since munster) so maybe we're better off with Bennett driving at the goal !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,868 ✭✭✭Speak Now

Mr Tibbs wrote: »
    Anyway isn't it great to be looking forward to a game with a Waterford team playing in September. 21yrs is a mighty long time.

5 years?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 928 ✭✭✭Deskjockey

Mullane in the Indo today saying he had nothing to do with the players looking to get rid of Michael Ryan

http://www.independent.ie/sport/hurling/john-mullane-i-had-absolutely-nothing-to-do-with-heave-against-ryan-29493698.html

Think that clears up that then.

Fair play to John for putting that in print. He could have just gone on WLR and batted it off but to put in a national newspaper in his own words was a good move. If only we could get a statement from the current panel as to what had happened...

dzilla wrote: »

thats because the co board and management refused to roll over

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 99 ✭✭Sam Swarek

I knew Mullane or none of 2012 were involved, Mullane wouldn't be that stupid. Horrible rumours about the man who has always had the best interests in Waterford hurling at heart. Hes a pundit now and paid to give his opinions, he cant be biased towards Waterford in his articles or else he wont last too long in his job. Give the man a break and leave him be to get on with whatever he wants to get on with. its a bad case that he has to go to the media to defend his name over stupid aul rumours.

5 years?

Its the minor team we are talking about here. Hope it doesn't turn out like that complete disaster.

Appointing Michael Ryan first day was always going to end in disaster, anyone who knew anything about Waterford hurling knew that! Im not saying its Scullys fault, but the appointment was never going to work out, he wasn't a popular choice amongst players (obviously) and amongst the knowledgable hurling people in Waterford. Its the idiotic county boards fault yet again. Maybe the players should have went after their heads instead!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,054 ✭✭✭✭Professey Chin

Sam Swarek wrote: »
    Appointing Michael Ryan first day was always going to end in disaster, anyone who knew anything about Waterford hurling knew that! Im not saying its Scullys fault, but the appointment was never going to work out, he wasn't a popular choice amongst players (obviously) and amongst the knowledgable hurling people in Waterford. Its the idiotic county boards fault yet again. Maybe the players should have went after their heads instead!
    And who are all these knowledgeable people? Id love to know so I could see if they're really people whos opinions actually matter or just barstoolers with an axe to grind.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,556 ✭✭✭chinguetti

Fair enough Sam Swarek that you're not a fan of his but this mess is something he didn't cause and he comes out of this far better than the CB and the players.

And it was the players who on the morning of a minor All Ireland semi final who met under the cover of the minor match to vote against him in some form, be it him or his management team. They could have had a meeting with the CB and Ryan and discussed this like they were all on the one track and tried to resolve any problems/issues. Does anyone remember 2008 at all?

No word from the players (they were fast enough to talk on Sunday and have now disappeared again) means that the county is ripping itself apart and putting more division in an already divided scene. I guess the players never thought that this would lead to such a mess but 2008 isn't that long ago.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 193 ✭✭noiniho

I can’t see how Donal Og would be a good fit for a county board with no money, all the battles he had with Cork county board down the years he is not a guy that will go with the flow and the money isn’t there to pay him and it wouldn’t be there to prepare the team to the standard he would expect either. He has a cussie number now on the Sunday game, he is regarded its best analyst, has his columns, the talk is he would get Eoin Kelly back, I think that is laughable, I cant see Donal Og being the kind of character to molly coddle that fool, he probably wouldn’t last a week with him! I suppose the only incentive for D, Og to do it would be to make a name for himself with an up and coming team and eventually be Cork manager, but he wont be involved with Frank Murphy around anyway.

He would be a great manager id say, but not a good fit for us at this time

Chinpool wrote: »
    And who are all these knowledgeable people? Id love to know so I could see if they're really people whos opinions actually matter or just barstoolers with an axe to grind.

these knowledgable people certainly aren't most of the spoofers that post here that's for sure!! Ive certainly no axe to grind with Scully, I don't know the man but I know when it comes to hurling that he is a bluffer and should never have been left near the job first day! I said it all along that he was the wrong appointment and it was going to end badly, now Ive been vindicated!

Given that there was zero interest in the job when Davy went who would you have appointed instead of Michael Ryan?

To be fair you have only been 'vindicated' because it appears that the players took the cowardly option in trying to remove him. I don't know what circles you keep company with but the vast majority of people I have spoken to in Waterford have huge sympathy for Ryan and are furious with the players.

Given that there was zero interest in the job when Davy went who would you have appointed instead of Michael Ryan?

To be fair you have only been 'vindicated' because it appears that the players took the cowardly option in trying to remove him. I don't know what circles you keep company with but the vast majority of people I have spoken to in Waterford have huge sympathy for Ryan and are furious with the players.

I have sympathy for Ryan too and it was the wrong way to go about things, the players don't look good at all. What I'm saying was that this situation would have been avoided if he hadn't been appointed in the first place, it was the wrong option from day 1, the county board should have known it would end badly. there was interest in the job, but there was no money due to the county boards inability to manage their finances. saying that, if they tried they could and should have found better than Scully.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 106 ✭✭DeiseforLiam

Amprodude wrote: »
    Flynn would be an excellent choice IMO. Great analyst. I always listening to him when he gives pre and post match analyses. Knows his stuff. Great player in his day too. I think he would get the focus right for Waterford IMO.

He should clean up his twitter account and stop trolling female golfers if he's going to be in the public eye. Would make you wonder about his personality and people skills. Hurling knowledge not in doubt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 928 ✭✭✭Deskjockey

noiniho wrote: »
    I can’t see how Donal Og would be a good fit for a county board with no money.... the talk is he would get Eoin Kelly back, I think that is laughable, I cant see Donal Og being the kind of character to molly coddle that fool, he probably wouldn’t last a week with him!

e

Another Keyboard warrior having a cheap dig at someone who gave blood, sweat and tears for the cause of Waterford hurling for over 10 years plus. The doing that Eoin Kelly gets on here really annoys me sometimes.

I will choose to remember Eoin Kelly for the points and outrageous goals that he scored for Waterford over the first 7 or 8 years he played for us rather than the uninterested and kind of petulant player he was for the last one or two. On his day and in his prime he was an absolutely magnificent player.

well why dont you bugger off then for once and for all. youve been barred before yet keep coming back so we cant be that bad all the same.

A lot of genuine GAA people on here are feeling a bit low over whats happened and entitled to express their opinions and your using this to get your kicks with your 'i told ye so' attitude. get yourself a life