Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Asylum seekers waiting 10 years for decision

• Registered Users Posts: 6,987 ✭✭✭conorhal

Nodin wrote: »
    ...not that you tar all with the same brush or anything. Or pose a false dichotomy as regards Irelands position.

You do realise that much of the asylum policy was formulated after WWII to prevent various horrors happening again....?
    #

I realize that WW1's asylum policy was not designed for a world so small as it is today, that is was designed for repatriation and the occasional prema balerina that slipped out the back door of the Russian embassy, not 42 million people that all wanted into Europe. A rethink is needed, no?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,530 ✭✭✭Duck's hoop

:/

I would venture none are enjoying their experience at all. But are prepared to endure it as it's better than whatever they're getting away from.

The irony is, if you needed dedicated, resourceful, self starting, adaptable etc. etc people for your business, you'd need to look no further than one of those centres.

Because nothing advances an economy like illiterate people that have 15 kids and any of them that are female, think that they should sit at home in a hijab? Don't believe me? Google employment rates asian UK.

Surely you don't believe they're all Pamela Izevbehkais?

"Greedy"? Why would a person with a family stay very long-term in a cramped dwelling getting less than €20 per week? Hardly because of greed. It certainly wouldn't be worth it long-term if where they're from isn't actually that bad.

And yet Pamela, with a car dealership and servants put herself through that.

Pasports are a valuable comodity.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,530 ✭✭✭Duck's hoop

conorhal wrote: »
    Because nothing advances an economy like illiterate people that have 15 kids and any of them that are female, think that they should sit at home in a hijab? Don't believe me? Google employment rates asian UK.

I don't have to google anything. I have firsthand experience of the people concerned.

Please get out more.

I don't have to google anything. I have firsthand experience of the people concerned.

Please get out more.

You're experience is not quantitative.

Get out futher.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,005 ✭✭✭✭AlekSmart

Reality check 1. There are 42 million people seeking asylum in the world today, the product of today's problems (not even tomorrows). What should Ireland do with them? Solve the problem there, or import it?

Reality check 2: Asylum seekers that arrive on these shores have the means to pay for air fares, false pasports, bribe officials in visa control, basically :eek: the Pamela Izevbekhai's of this world.:eek: We are not 'saving the needy', we are only rewarding the greedy. Is that the answer? And if so to what end? To salve liberal guilt, so that fabian socialists can quaff their champagne with a clear conscience with some tokenistic endeavour?

Tsk Tsk Tsk.....It's little wonder Conorhal,that you are being questioned...how could you bring Ms Izevbekhai into this thread...how could you..?
    Femme_Fatale: Surely you don't believe they're all Pamela Izevbehkais?

F_F poses a valid question,with the answer being we don't know how many of them are "Pamela's",because any attempts by the State to elicit such background information will be stoutly resisted.

Just as at the UK/French Channel Ports,the ideal is for these folks to have as little identification as possible on their person,which under current protocols,leaves the relevant States powerless to take any action save for a bit of inconvieniencing.

The fact that it took investigative journalists of the Sunday Times,to probe Pamela's answers,so easily given and readily accepted by a "liberal,fabian socialist tinged" activist grouping,speaks volumes as to the willingness of these groupings to see nothing save evil in this States own mechanisms.

As your Reality Check 2 illustrates,even after the Izevbekhai's have been and gone,we still saw no real attempt to follow up on the hard,unpopular graft put in by the Garda NIB,which had managed to shed a little unwelcome light on the lucrative and efficient Industry which had come to cater for the needs of those with enough resources to pay for the new life with no background.
    Duck's Hoop :I would venture none are enjoying their experience at all. But are prepared to endure it as it's better than whatever they're getting away from.

The irony is, if you needed dedicated, resourceful, self starting, adaptable etc. etc people for your business, you'd need to look no further than one of those centres.

I would equally venture that some,whom I occasionally meet,are quite relaxed as to their situation,particularly if it allows access to communication,relaxation and a bit of travel.

The ability to have no verifiable background is,to some,a highly valuable item indeed.

The added irony of the dedicated,resourceful,self-starting, adaptable folk in these centre's,is that these talents are only valuable as long as they can be accquired at a cheaper rate than similarly talented legally employable people elsewhere.

Men, it has been well said, think in herds; it will be seen that they go mad in herds, while they only recover their senses slowly, and one by one.

Charles Mackay (1812-1889)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

#

I realize that WW1's asylum policy was not designed for a world so small as it is today, that is was designed for repatriation and the occasional prema balerina that slipped out the back door of the Russian embassy, not 42 million people that all wanted into Europe. A rethink is needed, no?

....it was designed with the memory of the Jews in mind, amongst others.
    #
    Tsk Tsk Tsk..(snip)...It's little employable people elsewhere.

Amazing that it takes so many sentences to trot out the same "waah izevbekhai" cant as usual.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,958 ✭✭✭delthedriver

I was in Dublin over the past few days and was shocked at the number of homeless people sleeping on the streets of our Capital City.

To express concerns about it taking ten years to process assylum seekers is indeed all very noble.

However our concerns may be better focussed on solving the problems of homeless people first. The assylum seekers at least have bed and board, so by comparison have little to complain about.:)

• Registered Users Posts: 6,166 ✭✭✭Stereomaniac

That is a whole different kettle of fish entirely. There are homeless people who actually decide to be homeless sometimes, and are quite resistant to help, I believe. It is not just Dublin, I saw a homeless man in Galway yesterday. In other news, a Nigerian friend of mine has been granted citizenship after being here for many years. However, she was not an asyl-ee?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,628 ✭✭✭Femme_Fatale

To express concerns about it taking ten years to process assylum seekers is indeed all very noble.

However our concerns may be better focussed on solving the problems of homeless people first. The assylum seekers at least have bed and board, so by comparison have little to complain about.:)
    You're a big fan of using the :) in a passive-aggressive manner. It's pretty easy to see through.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,055 ✭✭✭Red Nissan

Galway is not seen in a good light these days for stories, the quoted advertiser is a privately owned free sheet.

Is it registered as a newspaper and does it employ NUJ journalists and pay the appropriate rate?

You're a big fan of using the :) in a passive-aggressive manner. It's pretty easy to see through.

Attacking a poster ?:)

Of course you are entitled to your opinion, however there was nothing passive nor aggressive in my post :)

Perhaps a little realism is needed:)

That is a whole different kettle of fish entirely. There are homeless people who actually decide to be homeless sometimes, and are quite resistant to help, I believe. It is not just Dublin, I saw a homeless man in Galway yesterday. In other news, a Nigerian friend of mine has been granted citizenship after being here for many years. However, she was not an asyl-ee?

Congratulations to your friend on being granted citizenship. I hope life in Ireland treats her well. I am all in favour of a multicultural Ireland embracing people from all minority groups and sincerely hope they will be represented at the highest levels in our society:)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,431 ✭✭✭the flananator

Living in Australia for the last couple of years, and the attitude towards asyluim seekers here, or "Boat People" as they are known, is toe curling stuff. Both major parties here have been using the issue as a political football, each trying to out do the other in their promises to "Stop the Boats". The way these people are treated is inhumane and immoral. The attitude of the general Australian population is appalling, in my opinion.

I thought Irish people would have had a more nuanced understanding of the asylum seeker issue, and would generally be more compassionate as a people. But then I stumbled onto this thread, and am genuinely shocked at some of the opinion held within. We signed the Geneva convention, we have to take them in. 10 years is a disgrace.

Living in Australia for the last couple of years, and the attitude towards asyluim seekers here, or "Boat People" as they are known, is toe curling stuff. Both major parties here have been using the issue as a political football, each trying to out do the other in their promises to "Stop the Boats". The way these people are treated is inhumane and immoral. The attitude of the general Australian population is appalling, in my opinion.

I thought Irish people would have had a more nuanced understanding of the asylum seeker issue, and would generally be more compassionate as a people. But then I stumbled onto this thread, and am genuinely shocked at some of the opinion held within. We signed the Geneva convention, we have to take them in. 10 years is a disgrace.

Fair comment. But why does it take 10 years to process an asylum seeker in Ireland? Should Ireland open the doors to everyone? Have Australia taken in too many people already?:)

• Registered Users Posts: 3,610 ✭✭✭stoneill

Does anyone have the statistics?
    How many people are waiting for asylum in Ireland? Is it hundreds, thousands, ten of thousands?
    How many are approved, how many rejected?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 906 ✭✭✭Eight Ball

jugger0 wrote: »
    Reject all of them and look after our own people first, plenty of people living rough in our own country.
    Bingo. Look after our own.

Eight Ball wrote: »

You're vile.

• Registered Users Posts: 29,346 ✭✭✭✭homerjay2005

We signed the Geneva convention, we have to take them in. 10 years is a disgrace.

do we? im sure every country is taking them in as you say, yet other countries are throwing them out quickly.
    The way these people are treated is inhumane and immoral. The attitude of the general Australian population is appalling, in my opinion.

these people dont have to stay here, they can go elsewhere if they are not happy. nobody in ireland told them to come.

do we? im sure every country is taking them in as you say, yet other countries are throwing them out quickly.

these people dont have to stay here, they can go elsewhere if they are not happy. nobody in ireland told them to come.

I can see we've got a future Nobel Laureate on our hands here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,087 ✭✭✭Pro Hoc Vice

stoneill wrote: »
    Does anyone have the statistics?
    How many people are waiting for asylum in Ireland? Is it hundreds, thousands, ten of thousands?
    How many are approved, how many rejected?

Acceptance figures is about 10%, figures applying for Asylum reached a peak of about 12,000 in 2006 if I remember. Current new applications are 920 for last year about the same maybe less this year. I think there is only a few thousand in Direct Provision, as a lot of the centres are closed down.

• Registered Users Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

Still, ten years worth of appeals is a whole lotta wonga for our legal profession, always a silver lining.

• Registered Users Posts: 69 ✭✭Thomasmartin

We can't afford them..get them out and give us mosney back!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,465 ✭✭✭Sir Humphrey Appleby

Eight Ball wrote: »

Presume then that you would be demanding that all of our immigrants be returned to us as well, in the intrests of fairness like.:P

Bambi wrote: »
    Still, ten years worth of appeals is a whole lotta wonga for our legal profession, always a silver lining.

...a lot of it is done pro bono. It came out how much Pamela I's lawyers got, which was SFA, for instance.

We can't afford them..get them out and give us mosney back!!

....jaysus....there's a deal if ever there was one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,465 ✭✭✭Sir Humphrey Appleby

Nodin wrote: »
    ...a lot of it is done pro bono. It came out how much Pamela I's lawyers got, which was SFA, for instance.

I doubt if the States bill was pro bono, and in her case(since you brought it up) it was a fraudulent claim by her that cost the taxpayer a lot of money.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,018 ✭✭✭Mike 1972

#

I realize tht 42 million people that all wanted into Europe. A rethink is needed, no?

A few posts back you said this 42 million was a worldwide figure.

Which is it ?

I doubt if the States bill was pro bono, and in her case(since you brought it up) it was a fraudulent claim by her that cost the taxpayer a lot of money.

....well the usual line is that the defence lawyers present cases they know to be fraudulent in order to make money. However if you want to say the state lawyers are in it to make a few bob too, in a grand lawyer conspiracy, feel free.