U2 Still haven't found what they are looking for...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,516 ✭✭✭wazky

MadsL wrote: »
    So what do we think AH, should they be allowed their "Elevation" or let them keep looking?

Only if Bono is made dance on The Edge.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,382 ✭✭✭AndonHandon

/token Vertigo joke

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 463 ✭✭Christ the Redeemer

Let them at it. Being linked to U2 and the amount of tone deaf cretins that follow them, it will become a tourist trap. good for ireland, I guess.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,162 ✭✭✭Augmerson

Couldn't give a monkeys what they do to Jackeen central.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,669 ✭✭✭Riddle101

Tell Dublin City Council and the High Court to walk on. Might make a bit of money who knows.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

Eyesore in eyesore shocker.
    They could build a dome over Dublin and paint everything purple for all I care.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 12 mikeyariss

i'd let them have it if they agree not to foist any more of their music on the public

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,850 ✭✭✭Depp

people who pick atari jaguar in these polls are so funny and witty...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,299 ✭✭✭✭MadsL

Augmerson wrote: »
    Couldn't give a monkeys what they do to Jackeen central.

Obligatory Jackeen comment quota filled on AH thanks...
    Let them at it. Being linked to U2 and the amount of tone deaf cretins that follow them, it will become a tourist trap. good for ireland, I guess.

It looks more like a fly trap really... I'm pretty sure tourists come to Dublin to see an attractive historic city, not Bono's monument to Bono.
    Riddle101 wrote: »
    Tell Dublin City Council and the High Court to walk on. Might make a bit of money who knows.

More money to be made turning Dublin into a toxic waste dump, but it is not the best idea tbh.

I thought we had learnt that the "Ah, sure there's money/jobs in it" attitude to knocking buildings and speculation on 'development' was a bad idea.

Depp wrote: »
    people who pick atari jaguar in these polls are so funny and witty...

They are often the same people who post inane blah blah 'I don't care about blahdeblah' posts. Why they bother is beyond me. Serious chip on shoulder about anything Dublin related.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,787 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

If they have the money to do it I don't see what the recession has to do with it. It would be the sort of development that would look good on the tourism literature.

I never get how Dubs can get so irate about any building that's proposed. The Dublin skyline isn't impressive or worth saving. After they wanted to save the chimney stacks just because they got used to them, I lost all interest in their aesthetic opinions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,234 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

If Bonzo promises to SHUT THE FUCK UP and never set foot in this country again then I'd agree to it.

ScumLord wrote: »
    If they have the money to do it I don't see what the recession has to do with it. It would be the sort of development that would look good on the tourism literature.

I never get how Dubs can get so irate about any building that's proposed. The Dublin skyline isn't impressive or worth saving. After they wanted to save the chimney stacks just because they got used to them, I lost all interest in their aesthetic opinions.

Horseshyte frankly.

Dublin came very close to becoming a UNESCO World Heritage site for the South Dublin Georgian Quarter had it not been for DCC fecking up the 200 year old granite pavements.

Horseshyte frankly.

Dublin came very close to becoming a UNESCO World Heritage site for the South Dublin Georgian Quarter had it not been for DCC fecking up the 200 year old granite pavements.

The Georgian architecture in Dublin is very nice but it doesn't contribute massively to the skyline.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 12 mikeyariss

Horseshyte frankly.

quite right

people come from all over the world to check out dublins skyline

• Closed Accounts Posts: 236 ✭✭thisonetaken

It looks more like a fly trap really... I'm pretty sure tourists come to Dublin to see an attractive historic city, not Bono's monument to Bono.

Dublin is probably the ugliest, blandest, most depressing city in Europe in terms of architecture. If you think people come to Dublin to see an "attractive" city your dreaming.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,752 ✭✭✭pablomakaveli

Maybe they could put the money they're putting into this towards ending world hunger which Bono happens to bang on about all the time. Be nice to see him lead by example for once instead of trying to guilt trip people with far less money than him.

Dublin is probably the ugliest, blandest, most depressing city in Europe in terms of architecture. If you think people come to Dublin to see an "attractive" city your dreaming.

You have not been to Belarus my friend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,533 ✭✭✭Jester252

Dublin has some nice building but most are bland square building. The 7 story limit will hamper development in Dublin in the future. The urban sprawl that exist today is worst for Dublin than a high building.

The Georgian architecture in Dublin is very nice but it doesn't contribute massively to the skyline.

???

The Wide Streets Commission made Dublin what it is today, and several important Georgian buildings make up Dublin's skyline. The Kings Inn, Dublin Castle, Leinster House, etc all play the part in Dublin's perfectly planned network of parks and squares. Mountjoy Square, terribly neglected by the city is one of the Georgian jewels of Europe - and it could glitter again if people didn't keep with this silly notion of Dublin needing 'modernisation' through cheap and tacky tall buildings.

People who describe Dublin as unimpressive aren't looking at it.

Jester252 wrote: »
    Dublin has some nice building but most are bland square building. The 7 story limit will hamper development in Dublin in the future. The urban sprawl that exist today is worst for Dublin than a high building.

High buildings have their place. Paris and London made the wise decision to concentrate most of them away from the historic city.

Densification is better than height for height's sake - Dublin is quite an sparce city, there are plenty of sites that need infill rather than ego-driven monuments to fame like this one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,952 ✭✭✭Lando Griffin

Looks like a giantic Sky dish which is common enough on any skyline IMO.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,175 ✭✭✭Amerika

Well, The Edge has found his inner hypocrisy over here with his plans to build five homes in beautiful scenic Malibu and ruin the environment and block access.

???

The Wide Streets Commission made Dublin what it is today, and several important Georgian buildings make up Dublin's skyline. The Kings Inn, Dublin Castle, Leinster House, etc all play the part in Dublin's perfectly planned network of parks and squares. Mountjoy Square, terribly neglected by the city is one of the Georgian jewels of Europe - and it could glitter again if people didn't keep with this silly notion of Dublin needing 'modernisation' through cheap and tacky tall buildings.

People who describe Dublin as unimpressive aren't looking at it.

This is a skyline - http://noahspannbauer.com/GateB7/images/NYC_Skyline.jpg

Dublin has some lovely streets, I've often walked around it.

Here's Dublin - http://connect2consult.files.wordpress.com/2010/04/dublin_city_skyline.jpg

Now it's probably not far to compare Dublin to NYC but you can see what I am getting at when I refer to skyline, not the streets but the view from above.

Amerika wrote: »
    Well, The Edge has found his inner hypocrisy over here with his plans to build five homes in beautiful scenic Malibu and ruin the environment and block access.

Both Bono and the Edge don't give a shite - they both have had run ins with planners.
    http://www.macphisto.net/article238.html
    http://www.herald.ie/entertainment/around-town/bono-clears-final-hurdle-to-extending-family-mansion-27897539.html

Bono expressed the notion he would be a property developer were he not a musician. Since he has little actual musical talent, this hotel development is him working out his childhood dreams. Pathetic really.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,414 ✭✭✭kraggy

Almost correct. I'd say Warsaw just pips it in terms of blandness. Have had Canadian, Scottish and friends from other countries over and they said it was a filthy uninteresting place.

Dublin lacks a landmark IMO. They tried to address that with the spike but it didn't go down too well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,179 ✭✭✭hfallada

I would have no problem with it in the featureless ifsc. But it would be so out of place on the quay. there beside dublin castle. It's the most historical part of the city.

This is a skyline - http://noahspannbauer.com/GateB7/images/NYC_Skyline.jpg

Dublin has some lovely streets, I've often walked around it.

Here's Dublin - http://connect2consult.files.wordpress.com/2010/04/dublin_city_skyline.jpg

Now it's probably not far to compare Dublin to NYC but you can see what I am getting at when I refer to skyline, not the streets but the view from above.

What nonsense.

Dublin has a skyline dotted with church spires and classical domes, from Christchurch to St Patricks and the domes of City Hall, the Four Courts, and the Customs House.

Dublin doesn't need to be NYC.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,533 ✭✭✭Jester252

High buildings have their place. Paris and London made the wise decision to concentrate most of them away from the historic city.

Densification is better than height for height's sake - Dublin is quite an sparce city, there are plenty of sites that need infill rather than ego-driven monuments to fame like this one.

Increasing the heigh of a building is must better than building more low rise buildings on green space.

kraggy wrote: »
    Almost correct. I'd say Warsaw just pips it in terms of blandness. Have had Canadian, Scottish and friends from other countries over and they said it was a filthy uninteresting place.

They are in a minority of 6% according to visitor surveys.
    Only 6% of respondents felt that the city is dirty (Figure 22),
    Dublin lacks a landmark IMO. They tried to address that with the spike but it didn't go down too well.

U2 aren't trying to create a landmark, they are gutting one.