Crushed 3gs, worth a repair?

• 04-08-2013 04:18PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,060 ✭✭✭✭

Herself managed to drop her 3gs on the ground and and her friend drove across it in a Corsa :D

Now the question, is it totally fecked or should I risk the money for a replacement screen? No lights come on when I press the power button but screen is really really fecked, bits missing etc.

What say ye?

20130804_161547.jpg

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 17,642 Mod ✭✭✭✭Graham

Fix the iPhone, scrap the Corsa :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,083 ✭✭✭meoklmrk91

Here's what I would do, buy a screen, digitizer and LCD off eBay and fit them yourself, it's easy and much cheaper than paying someone to do it. But before I did any of that I would be ringing it to see if it rings, or even send a text. Everything could be fecked in it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,076 ✭✭✭✭Czarcasm

A corsa did that?? :eek: :pac:

No but seriously, I would think it's gone well beyond economical repair at that stage. You could always see would it still sync up to a computer so you can get a backup from it, and then buy a second hand 3GS for about €150 I saw in one of those cash converter shops, or maybe see what's available on Adverts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,060 ✭✭✭✭biko

Yeah, the odds on her dropping it just as her friend came driving is probably divine intervention that she shouldn't use it any more :)
    I'll hook it up to a pc tomorrow and see if it'll respond at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,033 ✭✭✭GhostInTheRuins

You can buy a screen off ebay for feck all, and fixing it yourself is fairly easy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,641 ✭✭✭GarIT

€40 as long as the frame is still roughly in shape in TechPros in Tallaght, Lucan or Balbriggan.

"No fix no fee"