Can you swim?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,443 ✭✭✭✭endacl

I doubt many of these lads pay tax - you need a job for that.

So you reckon there is no additional charge for a rescue operation? :rolleyes: Wonder what planet you live on...

The lad that was lifted last week is somebody I know. Pays lots of tax.

No, there is no appreciable extra cost. Which bit don't you get?

Crew: Public servants. Paid whether rescuing or not.

Equipment and fuel: Used anyway. If not rescuing, training or on coastal patrol.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 23,554 ✭✭✭✭Sir Digby Chicken Caesar

endacl wrote: »
    The coastguard helicopter, its maintenance and crew is paid for through taxation.
    It....... doesn't......... cost......... you........ any......... thing.

i .. just..

but.. wh.. how....i...

what?

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 26,424 Mod ✭✭✭✭Peregrine

Equipment and fuel: Used anyway. If not rescuing, training or on coastal patrol.

Public servants?
    When did the Irish government buy CHC?

Coastal patrol on Coast Guard helis? This is the Irish Coast Guard we're talking about, not the Icelandic CG.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 909 ✭✭✭camel jockey

The lad that was lifted last week is somebody I know. Pays lots of tax.

No, there is no appreciable extra cost. Which bit don't you get?

You have all the answers, don't you?

PS, I'm being sarcastic in case you missed it. Most of what you have posted is complete and utter sh**e. :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 354 ✭✭lila44

Nope, can't swim!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,227 ✭✭✭✭thebaz

every day - bar when it rains all day

thebaz wrote: »
    every day - bar when it rains all day

You don't like getting wet or something?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,513 ✭✭✭✭Lucyfur

I love 'wimmin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,227 ✭✭✭✭thebaz

You don't like getting wet or something?

I hate putting wet clothes on after a swim - don't mind the cold, but ther is nothing worse than damp drissle , regardless of temperature

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 61,095 ✭✭✭✭unkel

In my experience many Irish people who claim they can swim, can't really. There's no culture of learning how to swim. Even swimming in school schemes have pathetic results. It is very sad that many young people have died this summer because they could not really swim :(

There should be a state scheme where everyone needs to be certified to swim having completed certified tests. Like swimming with your clothes on for 50m.

"Make no mistake. The days of the internal combustion engine are definitely numbered" - Quentin Willson, 1997

I'm definitely more suited to an aquatic way of life.

unkel wrote: »
    In my experience many Irish people who claim they can swim, can't really. There's no culture of learning how to swim. Even swimming in school schemes have pathetic results. It is very sad that many young people have died this summer because they could not really swim :(

There should be a state scheme where everyone needs to be certified to swim having completed certified tests. Like swimming with your clothes on for 50m.

I agree! Most developed countries that are surrounded in water have these schemes..makes sense :confused:

I can swim. And I'm a qualified lifeguard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 82 ✭✭MrShivers

I like to think I am an adequate average swimmer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17 llennocO

Spent most of my childhood at a swimming club but has been a long time since I've been swimming and my fitness levels have dropped like a rock over a cliff so realistically I don't think I'd swim very well now.

On a recent trip to Portugal I'd been out on a boat and our guide brought us towards a little bay and said we could swim to it if we liked but wanted to know if we were strong swimmers first. We told him we were grand and he told us 100% straight that every Irish guy who gets on his boat says that and more often than not he had to go rescue someone. Thought little of it at the time but he's seeming very wise now!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 512 ✭✭✭NeonCookies

Yea, I've been able to swim from a young age - absolutely loved (and love!) it.

I came across this the other day - teaching babies to "self rescue" in a potential drowning situation. While I'm sure it's not without it's controversy, I think it's fantastic - nothing will ever substitute for alert adult supervision, as the video says it can only take a second. I don't know if they do it in Ireland?

OP, you should put a poll up.

Lia_lia wrote: »
    I can swim. And I'm a qualified lifeguard.

The former is probably a prerequisite to the latter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 61,095 ✭✭✭✭unkel

llennocO wrote: »
    every Irish guy who gets on his boat says that and more often than not he had to go rescue someone.

Crazy, isn't it? I feel every person born into this world needs to learn how to swim. Our failure not to have a proper system in place to make sure they do learn to swim is a disgrace.

"Make no mistake. The days of the internal combustion engine are definitely numbered" - Quentin Willson, 1997

Crazy, isn't it? I feel every person born into this world needs to learn how to swim. Our failure not to have a proper system in place to make sure they do learn to swim is a disgrace.

More nanny state nonsense. 95% of people will never need to be able to swim.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,045 ✭✭✭JJayoo

Can't swim.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 970 ✭✭✭Senecio

Coming from Australia to Ireland I couldn't believe how many incidents we've had this summer. It's something that I always took for granted, that everybody could swim. It's not surprising really, I haven't been in the water in the two years I've been here.

When I was 10, my swimming test consisted of a 100m swim in jeans, shoes and a sweater. That was followed by 5 mins of treading water still fully clothed.

More nanny state nonsense. 95% of people will never need to be able to swim.

Are you saying only 5% of people ever went to the beach or went on a boat?

Probably only 1% of people will actually end up needing their lifejacket but they'll be fucking pleased they wore one when they do.

Senecio wrote: »
    Coming from Australia to Ireland I couldn't believe how many incidents we've had this summer. It's something that I always took for granted, that everybody could swim. It's not surprising really, I haven't been in the water in the two years I've been here.

When I was 10, my swimming test consisted of a 100m swim in jeans, shoes and a sweater. That was followed by 5 mins of treading water still fully clothed.

I did a similar test in Ireland at that age, including picking blocks off the pool floor plus a 1 km swim I think.

That doesn't mean I can swim 25 plus years later through.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,305 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Prodston

Zen65 wrote: »
    Perhaps you should have set up a poll, Op?

Or perhaps OP should set up a "pool" :pac:

I'll grab my speedos on the way out

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,758 ✭✭✭Strongbow10

Love to see the stats of drowning incidents as to whether it was a case of a swimmer or non swimmer.
    I'd hazard a guess that majority of cases are people who can actually swim and have got into difficulties.

I swim myself, but know many folks who never learned and simply don't go near the water, hence will obviously never find themselves in any difficulty by their own actions.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,813 ✭✭✭Togepi

No, but I was taught to swim in primary school. Had some lessons outside school years ago too. I can do a couple of lengths maybe, then have to stop to catch my breath, and can't tread water at all, was never taught how to. So some people would say I can swim but lately I've been more realistic and would say that really, I can't. Can't even imagine how fecked I'd be if I had to swim in deep water fully clothed.

I really need to get lessons again, and plan on doing so at some point. Can barely even manage breathing properly while doing lengths.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,299 ✭✭✭✭MadsL

I'm an Open Water Diver so i guess the answer is yes......as above!

Everyone should know how to swim i think!

Doesn't make you a swimmer, that makes you a good sinker.

I see your Open Water Diver and raise you an Advanced Open Water Diver. Any Rescue Divers in tonight?

My dad sent me to swimming lessons when i was 3-4 years old and by the time I entered primary school, I was able to swim unaided and soon moved into the intermediate level. In primary school, we would have compulsory swimming classes at least one term every year. Would also go swimming every Saturday with a group of friends for a muckabout. Compulsory lessons continued in secondary school for the first three years and you could choose to continue in 4th and 5th year if you wanted (it was still compulsory to choose a physical activity).

I'm nowhere near as fit as I once was but I would still class myself as a strong enough swimmer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,123 ✭✭✭KwackerJack

MadsL wrote: »
    Doesn't make you a swimmer, that makes you a good sinker.

I see your Open Water Diver and raise you an Advanced Open Water Diver. Any Rescue Divers in tonight?

Touche!

But after swimming several lenght's of Amadores Beach im quiet confident i can swim and sink quiet well :D

Advanced next year and the auld lad is a Master Diver.

Younger brother and 3 younger sisters all dive and swim!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,785 ✭✭✭9959

i used to be able to
    went on holiday last month and i had to walk underwater from the deep end of the villas pool to the shallower end as I was almost drowning

was quite surprised by that

A few years ago a similar thing happened to some guy from Nazareth on an 18 to 35 holiday, though unlike you he reportedly walked overwater before making it back safely to his sun lounger on the shores of the Sea of Galilee.

A lot of folks might be surprised to read that, so much so that some might even doubt that it ever happened at all, but I believe you Sir Digby.