What is your proudest moment?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,117 ✭✭✭Rasheed

I saved an old dear's life about 2 years ago. I was pretty proud of myself that day!

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=80178024&postcount=7

Fair play to you, horrid situation to be in. Can't believe they let her fly after that though.

Mine is probably playing for the county or being the first one in the family to get a degree.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,645 ✭✭✭Daemos

Holding the tip of a banana stalk in my hand, I spun around and without thinking, threw it towards the bin about 12ft away. It hit the top of the revolving lid and managed to fall through the less-than-1-inch gap it had created. Genuinely amazed when it happened

I also temporarily became a sports star in my school. I was picked last for a team as usual, playing indoor hurling. I was put in goal, and during the match our team conceded a penalty. I had to save it single-handedly... and I did! Truth be told, the kid who took it just hit it straight at me and I barely had to move, but that doesn't matter when you're 10 years old. It was the talk of the school the next day, and I was picked a lot quicker for a team the next time we played. That was a great feel-good moment :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,061 ✭✭✭keith16

Today a big bee got into the gaff. He was massive, I'd say like two maltesers stuck together.

Anyway, I captured the nectar loving insect-beast by placing a pint glass over the window he was standing (?) on.

Next, I carefully grabbed the nearest Chinese takeaway menu and slid it between window and pint-glass.

Then, having posed with the nectar-junkie for a photo, I ran outside and unleashed the bee on Dublin.

So, I saved a bees life today. And bee society's faith in humanity was restored.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,012 ✭✭✭stop animal cruelty

on a night out with 2 of my friends.....

one of my friends fell and fainted down a lane, we were taking as a short cut...we sat her on a window sil, sat down for 20-30min til she was ok, next thing a group of young fellas (kn@ckers) were walking by and stopped just a few feet away from us.....just talking to each other. One of the lads went up to my other friends was all "howr ya love etc do u have any fags??" no says my friend (she really didnt) the guy started to get annoyed and goes "ya you do open your fuking bag" was trying to pull the bag out of her hands!! ..then his other friends came up around us...we thought then were gonna attack us...l ran to a carpark about 10 feet away, and started shouting "guard guard guard guard we're being assulted by a gang please help" (something along those lines)....there was no guard! no fact their was no one in the carpark....

they werent long legging it! :pac: it was a really fightening experience...3 of us about 10-12 of them...havent gone down many lanes since!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 534 ✭✭✭Ericaa

Labour without any pain killers, **** yeah!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,012 ✭✭✭stop animal cruelty

keith16 wrote: »
    Today a big bee got into the gaff. He was massive, I'd say like two maltesers stuck together.

Anyway, I captured the nectar loving insect-beast by placing a pint glass over the window he was standing (?) on.

Next, I carefully grabbed the nearest Chinese takeaway menu and slid it between window and pint-glass.

Then, having posed with the nectar-junkie for a photo, I ran outside and unleashed the bee on Dublin.

So, I saved a bees life today. And bee society's faith in humanity was restored.

l think thats a wasp?!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,061 ✭✭✭keith16

l think thats a wasp?!

I'm no entomologist, however, look at the first photo, it's like he (are all bees lads? As I said, not an entomologist) he is pressing his little arms up against the glass saying "HELP ME (bzzzzz)"

One thing's for sure, I'm getting hammered right now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,360 ✭✭✭Wompa1

Stood up for a guy I was sitting beside on a bus who was getting abused by two guys behind us. I got hit with the end of a hammer looking yoke for my troubles but it is was worth it. I was the quiet type before that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,227 ✭✭✭✭thebaz

Giving up drink, then writing & co-producing my debut documentary and watching it broadcast on National TV - always wanted to make films, and thought I'd missed the boat due to circumstances.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,351 ✭✭✭NegativeCreep

Ericaa wrote: »
    Labour without any pain killers, **** yeah!

Why do people view that as an achievement? It's really painful!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,448 ✭✭✭✭Cupcake_Crisis

Doing a sky dive for a suicide prevention charity and raising almost grand purely by being a pain in the arse.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 560 ✭✭✭markomuscle

getting full attendance a few times at school is certainly up there, not many people got it to be fair

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,056 ✭✭✭darced

Why do people view that as an achievement? It's really painful!

...you just answered yourself!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,351 ✭✭✭NegativeCreep

Ericaa wrote: »
    ...you just answered yourself!

Yeah but theres no need to do it unassisted :L

• Closed Accounts Posts: 192 ✭✭happyviolet

When I finally lost a stone in weight. Still struggling though two years on to lose more, but still proud though that I lost that much at least after years of overeating.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 502 ✭✭✭Jarrod

I once solved a numbers game on Countdown that Rachel didn't get. I also diagnosed a patient before House did one time when I was watching an episode. I can't decide which of those is more impressive.

Yeah but theres no need to do it unassisted :L

Who are you to decide that?

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 17,426 ✭✭✭✭Conor Bourke

Scored a perfect bullseye while messing at the darts board in the youth club about 15 years ago. Wasn't trying, in fact I think I wasn't even looking directly at the board. Everyone saw it though and thought I was a pro. Until I tried again and couldn't even hit the perimeters of the board :o

Got an 8 letter word watching Countdown one afternoon while Suzie and the contestants could only manage 7

What a rich and fulfilling life I've led :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,508 ✭✭✭ShazGV

Back in my Leaving Cert year, missed the last 4 months of school due to an illness, still did the Leaving Cert and managed to get the course I wanted. Have to admit, I surprised myself with that one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 502 ✭✭✭Jarrod

Scored a perfect bullseye while messing at the darts board in the youth club about 15 years ago. Wasn't trying, in fact I think I wasn't even looking directly at the board. Everyone saw it though and thought I was a pro. Until I tried again and couldn't even hit the perimeters of the board :o

Got an 8 letter word watching Countdown one afternoon while Suzie and the contestants could only manage 7

What a rich and fulfilling life I've led :D

An eight? Fair play. I remember the first time I got the conundrum like it was yesterday. I'm still waiting for the day that the conundrum is 'Countdown', that's going to be hilarious.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,553 ✭✭✭✭Copper_pipe

Scored the winning goal in the Under 12 summer league final and got a free snack box after!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 728 ✭✭✭Los Lobos

anncoates wrote: »
    My 5 year-old son's first successful fart trap: asked me the other day to check if there was something on the back of his trousers and when I looked closely, he let rip in my face.

Haha, only took my young lad til he was 3, thats now my proudest moment!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,820 ✭✭✭Archeron

Definitely winning the Nobel peace prize in 2012 for my part in the advancement of peace and reconciliation, democracy and human rights in Europe. As a citizen of Europe, I'm still waiting for my stint with the award, but I have time.

I think Germany has it Tuesdays and Thursdays, France Mondays and Fridays, and its shared out the other days between everybody else. When I get my turn, I want to use it to crack open a can of Dutch Gold.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,076 ✭✭✭✭Czarcasm

I don't have any proudest moments for myself really, I kinda prefer to stay out of the limelight and work in the background to help other people achieve goals they can be proud of.

I guess maybe when I got my leaving cert at 17 after moving out of home at 16 and my parents thought I wouldn't stay in school, that I'd be stuck working in Supermacs for the rest of my life. Their words had an unusual reverse psychological effect on me I guess.

It wasn't about proving them wrong, it was about proving it to myself that I didn't have to turn out a bitter old bastard like them really... :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,429 ✭✭✭branie

Mine is graduating from college

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,296 ✭✭✭EdenHazard

My mums eulogy at her funeral hands down, as someone put it, it was 'hollywood'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 384 ✭✭mckildare

I made the bed this morning without losing a leg.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

EdenHazard wrote: »
    My mums eulogy at her funeral hands down, as someone put it, it was 'hollywood'

Are you serious?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,296 ✭✭✭EdenHazard

Are you serious?

Without question, I'm fairly shy and I'd get pretty nervous for college assignments where I have to stand up in front of a small class, here I was in a packed church and I stood up there and just made it funny, emotional etc., just so befitting of my amazing mum.