Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Mayo GAA Discussion Thread

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,443 ✭✭✭InchicoreDude

I don't recall ever seeing such anticipation and controversy before a quarter final! It's almost like the 3rd Sunday in September. The Indo are reporting that the GAA expect about 60,000 to attend on Sunday, will be a far better atmosphere than the previous 2 QFs that Mayo played in, last year in particular was as dead as a doornail. Even the Dubs couldn't generate any sort of buzz.

Unfortunately, matches with such anticipation rarely live up the expectations. Hopefully, Mayo-Donegal will be an exception.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,040 ✭✭✭threebeards

Any particular reason that Alan Freeman isn't mentioned in the goalscorer markets on Paddy Power, but Darren Coen is prominent in the markets? Do PP know something that I don't? I hope there isn't an injury

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 46,975 ✭✭✭✭muffler

So Yop was right. There are people posting here about Mayo :eek:

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 16,724 Mod ✭✭✭✭yop

muffler wrote: »
    So Yop was right. There are people posting here about Mayo :eek:

OH Sweet divine!, What have I done! Be gone devil, be gone. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,569 ✭✭✭✭ProudDUB

I don't recall ever seeing such anticipation and controversy before a quarter final! It's almost like the 3rd Sunday in September. The Indo are reporting that the GAA expect about 60,000 to attend on Sunday, will be a far better atmosphere than the previous 2 QFs that Mayo played in, last year in particular was as dead as a doornail. Even the Dubs couldn't generate any sort of buzz.

Ah here, we were playing Laois ! :D They ran us close enough in the game, but all fairness, you couldn't expect them to generate the kind of buzz that our playing a recent AI champion or former finalist would.

Agree with you about the anticipation though. Was only 50/50 about heading in for Sundays game now, but am deffo gonna head in for them now. All the yapping going on only adds to the anticipation. Praise be to St Heffo that Jim Gavin keeps such a low media profile. God only knows what the hullabaloo would be if the Dubs manager ever decided to dip his toe into the murky waters of all this meeja codology.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,249 ✭✭✭MaroonAndGreen

Mayo v Donegal.

This is becoming a bit of a grudge match.

Mayo have responded to Gallagher's claims that Mayo were ''colluding'' with Monaghan, and have denied it.

Mayo GAA PRO: "It was a productive game for the Mayo camp and from what I hear Monaghan were of the same thinking. That's as much 'collusion' as what went on.'' - See more at: http://www.hoganstand.com/ArticleForm.aspx?ID=197959#sthash.u0VGea8I.dpuf

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,288 ✭✭✭overshoot

Syferus wrote: »
    18. He's good on the ball but he looks too slight for Donegal's system and for this game in particular. He has potential in the years ahead, however, but it speaks to how threadbare Donegal's bench is if one injury means an 18 year-old is starting for the AI champions.

If Mayo have sense they'll be running down his channel all day long.
    paddy mcbrearty had 2 ulster medals when he was still 18 ;) 19 by the final, murphy just missed out on being championship top scorer in 09 at 18/19
    if their good enough they are old enough, i think Ryan would be playing at this stage even if mark was fit at the expense of others due to form, we just have the problem that he wont fufill the same (important) role as his brother... and im not sure anyone in the camp has the attributes to do it. I put Ryan as our best player over the last 2 games but given its his debut year he will be targeted
    also id call it 2 injuries as it also took positional changes out of half forward!

also on the colluding stuff, id be surprised if donegal didnt come up in conversation between the managers in the "friendly" but complaining that 2 managers may speak about soon to be/potential (should team 1 lose) is a bit stupid.... to be honest id say it would be stupid of the managers not to seek out other opinions

Any particular reason that Alan Freeman isn't mentioned in the goalscorer markets on Paddy Power, but Darren Coen is prominent in the markets? Do PP know something that I don't? I hope there isn't an injury

Scratch that - they've updated the market and Freeman is now where you'd expect him to be

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,909 ✭✭✭Neeson

Did the mayo fella on 3e just say the players wear earpieces? Is that why Horan always wears the microphone and cap?

Are you allowed communicate with players like this?

Neeson wrote: »
    Did the mayo fella on 3e just say the players wear earpieces? Is that why Horan always wears the microphone and cap?

Are you allowed communicate with players like this?

If you can find one example of any Mayo player on the pitch on Sunday with an earpiece, please take a screen shot and post it here.

In return, I'll get someone to take a photo of me running bollock naked through the streets of Castlebar and also post it here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,117 ✭✭✭Defiler Of The Coffin

If you can find one example of any Mayo player on the pitch on Sunday with an earpiece, please take a screen shot and post it here.

In return, I'll get someone to take a photo of me running bollock naked through the streets of Castlebar and also post it here.

Screw the earpiece, Google Glass is the way to go. Horan can have the same HUD as the Terminator

ProudDUB wrote: »
    Ah here, we were playing Laois ! :D They ran us close enough in the game, but all fairness, you couldn't expect them to generate the kind of buzz that our playing a recent AI champion or former finalist would.

Oh absolutely, I was contrasting the anticipation for last year's QF with all that's been happening for this one. Mayo, Cavan and Donegal will bring a serious crowd. Dublin and Cork will be a hell of a lot better than Dublin's QF last year although I doubt Cork will bring much support with them. Best round of quarters we've seen in a long time.
    ProudDUB wrote: »
    Agree with you about the anticipation though. Was only 50/50 about heading in for Sundays game now, but am deffo gonna head in for them now. All the yapping going on only adds to the anticipation. Praise be to St Heffo that Jim Gavin keeps such a low media profile. God only knows what the hullabaloo would be if the Dubs manager ever decided to dip his toe into the murky waters of all this meeja codology.

Why stop there? Head to Flannerys and Coppers after and you might bag yourself a Mayo bird

Ok I think that's what David Brady said anyway. Why else would Horan wear a microphone? I think McCartan does it as well.

To communicate with backroom staff that may not be in the dugout etc its surely not to talk to the players

Yeah maybe that's what he meant so.

Im just giving another alternative as Id say its against the rules for players to wear an earpiece

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 16,724 Mod ✭✭✭✭yop

They have management high up in the stands to get a better view. Thats why they have them

• Closed Accounts Posts: 853 ✭✭✭Pappa Charlie

yop wrote: »
    They have management high up in the stands to get a better view. Thats why they have them

Knowing the mayo forwards it to tell them when to shoot!

I hear the air show in Salthill has been cancelled indefinitely until the Galway forwards move back to Tuam...

Dont feed.

yop wrote: »
    Dont feed.

Sometimes the will is weak

• Closed Accounts Posts: 853 ✭✭✭Pappa Charlie

Ye must be all on the way to the match! Best of luck from a Galway man but spare us the insufferable ****e when ye come back! Win lose or draw!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,918 ✭✭✭statto25

Here in Jury's gettin ready for the game. Hup Mayo!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,436 ✭✭✭c_man

Up Mayo! :)

Galway man here, heading in now to watch it with a Mayo crowd :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,186 ✭✭✭Cosmo Kramer

Great performance - I made it twelve different scorers. O'Connor got another hat trick and wasn't even man of the match! Amazing that we've yet to have a game in this championship that we didn't have wrapped up at half time.

I reckon Tyrone will use every trick in the book to change that stat the next day though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,443 ✭✭✭InchicoreDude

Mayo were terrific today. There was always a player available to help out a team-mate. Really top class performance. Am very much looking forward to seeing Aidan O'Se & Sean Cavanagh come up against each other now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,736 ✭✭✭Fowler87

;););) Job done. Bring on game 5. Maigh Eo Abu.. We've a great team here lads, proud of everyone of them for their efforts for Mayo GAA

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 966 ✭✭✭john mayo 10

Anyone know when tickets go on sale for thé semi final

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,005 ✭✭✭✭Flukey

Tyrone will not be easy to beat and one of Mayo's biggest problems is putting back to back performances together. Three years on the trot they've dumped the reigning champions out with great displays, only to flop next time out. Going back through the years they've often done the same thing. They seem to have one brilliant performance every year, but only one. Can they buck that trend?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,186 ✭✭✭Cosmo Kramer

Flukey wrote: »
    Tyrone will not be easy to beat and one of Mayo's biggest problems is putting back to back performances together. Three years on the trot they've dumped the reigning champions out with great displays, only to flop next time out. Going back through the years they've often done the same thing. They seem to have one brilliant performance every year, but only one. Can they buck that trend?

That's two tired clichés in one post.

Did you not think our performance against Down in the quarters was good last year? We followed it up by beating Dublin. We've been good in four out of four championship games this year - we can only play what's in front of us. If we win it will be because we're the best. If we don't win it will be because someone else was better than us, as happened last year and the year before (and a load of years before that of course!).

No doubt if we, for instance, end up losing the final this year to Dublin there will be a catalogue of people here and elsewhere saying that we're inconsistent, can't do finals etc. despite the fact that Dublin have beaten us twice already this year in Croke Park. There doesn't seem to be any logic when it comes to analysing Mayo, people just throw out tired statements that weren't even true years ago when they were first trotted out by Spillane, Brolly and whoever else.