Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Mayo GAA Discussion Thread

• Closed Accounts Posts: 853 ✭✭✭Pappa Charlie

Rawhead wrote: »
    Sure you've no axe to grind on the Mayo thread. Touch off back to your own side boss and throw in a few more digs comparing us to English fans.
    You'll have plenty of time to watch these threads for the rest of the summer.

Just a week more than you!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,076 ✭✭✭Rawhead

A week is enough when you have 17 points in Salthill to remember for years.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,076 ✭✭✭Rawhead

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,681 ✭✭✭ColeTrain

Rawhead wrote: »

That's not true..

It'll be remembered for decades.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,839 ✭✭✭Always_Running

I don't think Sundays game will be classic or GOTY like some here and elsewhere think. It's going to be hard hitting tactical battle with few scores from play one goal will be huge in a game like this and i think Mayo will get it and i wouldn't be surprised if a player or two is sent off.

Mayo 1-10 Donegal 0-11

I don't think Sundays game will be classic or GOTY like some here and elsewhere think. It's going to be hard hitting tactical battle with few scores from play one goal will be huge in a game like this and i think Mayo will get it and i wouldn't be surprised if a player or two is sent off.

Mayo 1-10 Donegal 0-11

I'm thinking the same. It's a 50-50 game imo and will be a very physical encounter.

All the talk of Mayo wanting revenge is good and well but that will be cancelled out by Donegal being fired up for it too, especially how they're being written off after the Ulster final and the fact they were relegated. I can see them being just as up for it as us.

I take it the team will be named tomorrow night?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,839 ✭✭✭Always_Running

ColeTrain wrote: »
    I'm thinking the same. It's a 50-50 game imo and will be a very physical encounter.

All the talk of Mayo wanting revenge is good and well but that will be cancelled out by Donegal being fired up for it too, especially how they're being written off after the Ulster final and the fact they were relegated. I can see them being just as up for it as us.

I take it the team will be named tomorrow night?

Yes sometime tomorrow. Rumour has it two changes Coen,Barrett out O'Connor,Vaughan in.

Vaughan is well used to playing these games so it would be good to see him in.

Big boost if COC starts. Not many would have thought we'd see him back for the quarters after that injury.

How fit they actually are is another question..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,413 ✭✭✭naughto

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,369 ✭✭✭✭Fr Tod Umptious

ColeTrain wrote: »
    Vaughan is well used to playing these games so it would be good to see him in.

Big boost if COC starts. Not many would have thought we'd see him back for the quarters after that injury.

How fit they actually are is another question..

The big worry is O' Conors shoulder of course, I have no doubt that Donegal will target him early and with a few hard tackles to try and knock him out of the game.

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 16,724 Mod ✭✭✭✭yop

The big worry is O' Conors shoulder of course, I have no doubt that Donegal will target him early and with a few hard tackles to try and knock him out of the game.

No, Donegal don't target anyone, they are the targets. Get it right.

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 16,724 Mod ✭✭✭✭yop

Think Dongeal are been a tad paranoid!
    Donegal selector Rory Gallagher with manager Jim McGuinnessSunday's All-Ireland SFC quarter-final between Donegal and Mayo is rapidly becoming the GAA's biggest grudge match in years.

It follows sensational claims made by Donegal assistant manager Rory Gallagher that Mayo offered advice to Monaghan on how to beat the All-Ireland champions when the counties met in a challenge match before the Ulster final. And this has led Gallagher to believe that the heavy challenge by Monaghan's Stephen Gollogly that forced Mark McHugh's early withdrawal, and which left the Kilcar man with concussion, a burst ear drum and a quad muscle injury, was pre-meditated.

"Maybe we suspect there was a bit of collusion between Monaghan and Mayo," Gallagher said in the Irish News.

"Bear in mind Lee Keegan's tackle on Mark McHugh at the start of last year's All-Ireland final. When Lee Keegan got booked, he came out and winked at a team-mate as if to say 'job done'.

"I don't believe for one minute that Gollogly went out to do the harm he did. He went out to hit him hard, but our player came out of it badly. I know Gollogly hurt himself as well.

"I don't believe Malachy O'Rourke sent any player out to 'do' anyone. That is not in his nature. But ask some of the top referees to view the incident. Was it a dangerous tackle? It was reckless and dangerous. At the end of the day, that deserves a red card."

The former Fermanagh star also claimed that well-known sports psychologist Kieran Shannon is advising Mayo manager James Horan on what to say to the media.

"I think Horan works to a pre-mediated script and I think Kieran Shannon is behind a good bit of it," Gallagher continued.

"I know Shannon fairly well. He was involved with Fermanagh when Malachy O'Rourke was there. I think Shannon is behind Horan's statements." - See more at: http://www.hoganstand.com/Mayo/ArticleForm.aspx?ID=197876#sthash.sYWa3Iiq.dpuf

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,131 ✭✭✭NabyLadistheman

Sensational comments from Gallagher. Collusion between Mayo & Monaghan. Lovely

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,736 ✭✭✭Fowler87

Jaysus

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,059 ✭✭✭80s Child

yop wrote: »

I can't believe Rory Gallagher has said this; along with Mc Guinness' words at the weekend, this has really taken the sheen off Donegal for me.
    We all know what goes on in dressing rooms around the country, "Nail ........... early and get him rattled and we'll see how he likes it", that's part of our game and many others but for the Donegal management to come out in such a hypocritical manner is disappointing! Just look at McLoone taking out Joe McMahon a few ago and getting a pat on the back from his manager for doing so, or the way Alan Dillon was basically stopped everywhere he went in last years All Ireland final, not to mention the way COC was branded about by the McGees, but you dont come out in this manner, it's disappointing and I for one will relish our win on Sunday.
    Aside; Lacey is named at 6 which can only be positive for us; he's clearly unfit and from what I've "heard", is playing injured with a serious knee condition. Coc should take him for a bit of a walk and I'd say AOS will walk over him in the first few min. Also, it's a big game for Dillon, I know he got an All Star last year but I thought he was well marshalled in the final by the then, teak tough Donegal defence.
    Maigh Eo abu!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,846 ✭✭✭Moneymaker

Pathetic carry on from Donegal.

I know who i'll be rooting for on Sunday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,151 ✭✭✭kupus

Look, this reeks of the tactic used by murinho and other epl managers to deflect attention onto themselves and the other teams instead of their own players.
    Mcguinness is savvy enough to know that this works so hopefully the Mayo players and staff dont bite.

If Donegal keep this sh1te up turning a game into a media circus, then I hope Mayo beat them by a cricket score.

yop wrote: »

that's just hilarious

It's one thing to play mind games and talk like Jimmy did on Saturday night, it's another think to have your minions out talking that sort of crap mid week.

Donegal are not in the place they want to be.
    They had planned on winning Ulster and having two weeks to recover and get ready for a QF v a qualifier, but now they are onto their third game in two weeks against a strong team, with a battered squad and they have to resort to this silliness to try and give themselves an edge

On another point this Monaghan v Mayo challenge game a few weeks about is taking on mythical status at this stage, it's talked about more than a lot of championship games

they have to be worried if there coming out with bu11l****e.the frist 10 mins there is going to be some hits.if we are in control coming in tothe last 10 mins of the game i think/hope we will win it.
    with donegasl 3rd game in three weeks and a lot of injurys and us nice and fresh after an easy path through connaught or fitness will stand to us

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,938 ✭✭✭Coillte_Bhoy

Mayo and Monagahn played a challenege match behind closed doors on the Tuesday night before the Connacht Final and i believe they bate the **** out of each other, no quarter asked or given, on the instructions of both managers. Monaghan feel it was a great preparation for their game V Donegal and helped them no end. Maybe this is what Gallagher is moaning about?

Just noticed Fr Tods post on same

Mayo and Monagahn played a challenege match behind closed doors on the Tuesday night before the Connacht Final and i believe they bate the **** out of each other, no quarter asked or given, on the instructions of both managers. Monaghan feel it was a great preparation for their game V Donegal and helped them no end. Maybe this is what Gallagher is moaning about?

Yip that it. COC & Vaughan were missing but we were close to the team which will line out Sunday

there allowed do this right there was nothing stopping donegal from playing a challenge game.
    seeing that it was monagahn that we played and that they went on to beat them well if it was the rossies that we played in a challenge there would be nothing said about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,966 ✭✭✭Syferus

As a neutral this only spices up Sunday. Everyone jockeying for an edge. What are the chances Jimmy knocks Jamesy's cap off and we get another ruckus on the sideline?

Settle down lads its only game four

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 854 ✭✭✭tacofries

Glad we got Donegal, Just hope they dont take out o connor as we would really need him for any potential final.

Its ours for the taking, all we have to do is want it hard enough and put our bodies on the line. Have the shivers here listenin to the green and red of mayo!!!!!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,966 ✭✭✭Syferus

tacofries wrote: »
    Glad we got Donegal, Just hope they dont take out o connor as we would really need him for any potential final.

Its ours for the taking, all we have to do is want it hard enough and put our bodies on the line. Have the shivers here listenin to the green and red of mayo!!!!!!!!!

Those Galway lads do have some talent in them. That song is like Oasis writing Liverpool's anthem. Love it.

Syferus wrote: »
    Those Galway lads do have some talent in them. That song is like Oasis writing Liverpool's anthem. Love it.

As meatloaf famously wrote after a week in Roscommon, "Like a bat out of hell" sneaks in above that. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 966 ✭✭✭john mayo 10

Team announced .Two changes on thé mayo team from thé connacht final. C o connor in for coen and vaughan in for barrett

1. Robert Hennelly - Breaffy
    2. Tom Cunniffe - Castlebar Mitchels
    3. Ger Cafferkey - Ballina Stephenites
    4. Keith Higgins - Ballyhaunis
    5. Lee Keegan - Westport
    6. Donal Vaughan - Ballinrobe
    7. Colm Boyle - Davitts
    8. Aidan O'Shea - Breaffy
    9. Seamus O'Shea - Breaffy
    10. Kevin McLoughlin - Knockmore
    11. Richie Feeney - Castlebar Mitchels
    12. Alan Dillon - Ballintubber
    13. Cillian O'Connor - Ballintubber
    14. Alan Freeman - Aghamore
    15. Andy Moran - Ballaghaderreen (Captain)

16. Brendan Walsh - Ballintubber
    17. Shane McHale - Knockmore
    18. Michael Walsh - Ardnaree
    19. Kevin Keane - Westport
    20. Barry Moran - Castlebar Mitchels
    21. Enda Varley - Garrymore
    22. Chris Barrett - Belmullet
    23. Cathal Carolan - Crossmolina
    24. Darren Coen - Hollymount/Carramore
    25. Jason Doherty - Burrishoole
    26. Jason Gibbons - Ballintubber