If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Farming Chit Chat II

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,057 ✭✭✭Injuryprone

Anyone ever try contacting AHI? Talk about a joke:mad::mad::mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,745 ✭✭✭whitebriar

Just hooked up the generator here and am now getting in the cows,almost afraid to look,after 3 hrs of the most sustained thunder,I've seen in years.
    Saw several lightning strikes hitting the fields at times.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 859 ✭✭✭jomoloney

whelan1 wrote: »
    knackery man reckons cow just dropped dead, i was busy so sent eldest lad up with him to show him where she was , when he saw her he said holy fook:D he said she still had grass in her mouth, so most likely not tetany

any chance of blackleg ??

swell like hell after it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,422 ✭✭✭just do it

ye big bunch of girls, I never take any notice of the smell of dead animals as I always stockpile so there is a few here when the knacker comes. the oldest one he took away last saturday was nearly back walking

Never let the truth get in the way of a good story :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,786 ✭✭✭✭whelan1

jomoloney wrote: »
    any chance of blackleg ??

swell like hell after it
    knackery man is normally on the ball, he reckons heart attack

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

One the earlier topic of auld fellas, went out to get a cow in earlier and Dad had moved them into a new field this morning. A field that had half a hedge of laurel clippings thrown all against one corner. Cows merrily starting to tuck in.

Never got a wire up as fast in my life.

Anyone ever try contacting AHI? Talk about a joke:mad::mad::mad:
    is it the bvd helpline?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 442 ✭✭Dont be daft

whelan1 wrote: »
    knackery man is normally on the ball, he reckons heart attack

From my memory black leg is usually fairly obvious. I think the leg goes solid like a rock up around the shoulder area.
    We vaccinate for it now so haven't lost an animal to it in years.

Heart attack would explain the suddenness but not the swelling. Maybe the heat brought on the swelling.
    Could have been a twisted gut too. Lost a bull to that a few weeks ago and he swelled up pretty big over the weekend.

even her head was swollen, i was in yard with hoof pairing man and knackery man parked lorry and road, which is about 400m away. you could smell it:D smell wouldnt bother me, he just said he wouldnt be able to go home through the town as people would complain

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,408 ✭✭✭bbam

From my memory black leg is usually fairly obvious. I think the leg goes solid like a rock up around the shoulder area.
    We vaccinate for it now so haven't lost an animal to it in years.

Heart attack would explain the suddenness but not the swelling. Maybe the heat brought on the swelling.
    Could have been a twisted gut too. Lost a bull to that a few weeks ago and he swelled up pretty big over the weekend.

Blackleg can form round the heart. No need for external signs. Haven't seen it, vet was telling me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 442 ✭✭Dont be daft

bbam wrote: »
    Blackleg can form round the heart. No need for external signs. Haven't seen it, vet was telling me

Didn't know that. Everyday's a school day:o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,082 ✭✭✭td5man

Had a case of it here despite them being vaccinated, the legs were stiff and cringed when squeezed.

off topic but r.i.p to the 2 little boys from carlow, truly awful:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,343 ✭✭✭bob charles

Charming. On average, how many die on you to say you've adopted that policy?

too many, 3 last week. knacker has to make money aswell and calling to collect only one animal each time adds cost. Depending on the time of the year would wait till there is a couple. worst week he nearly had to go back to the yard after my visit

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 859 ✭✭✭jomoloney

I know

I've seen a case of it.

one I'm not likely to forget ........ PB cow luckily I had insurance

jomoloney wrote: »
    I know

I've seen a case of it.

one I'm not likely to forget ........ PB cow luckily I had insurance

is there no visual symptoms so, and is it very very uncommon. I have never heard of it myself

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,552 ✭✭✭pakalasa

too many, 3 last week. knacker has to make money aswell and calling to collect only one animal each time adds cost. Depending on the time of the year would wait till there is a couple. worst week he nearly had to go back to the yard after my visit
    Are you dealing in high numbers, or is it old cows , or bad luck or what? I can't remember the last time we lost an animal other than a calf in the first few hours. .....But we don't have the numbers.:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,716 ✭✭✭1chippy

That cow finally calved . C section at 6 this morning.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 531 ✭✭✭munkus

Jasus bob, have you a bad temper :-)

munkus wrote: »
    Jasus bob, have you a bad temper :-)

Maybe that's why he's single. The wimmen are scared that they'll drop too:p

Kovu Murr wrote: »
    Maybe that's why he's single. The wimmen are scared that they'll drop too:p

He'd only use the prod on the wimmen!

pakalasa wrote: »
    Are you dealing in high numbers, or is it old cows , or bad luck or what? I can't remember the last time we lost an animal other than a calf in the first few hours. .....But we don't have the numbers.:)

bit of everything at the moment, couple of Ragwort poisoning (imported hay), too many pneumonia (partly my own fault for relaxing vaccination during summer), couple with listerisos (again last winter related), few just found dead, calvings, c sections, anything and everything. All part of the business when buying in animals. If I can keep deaths below 1.5% of yearly turnover Im doing exceptional well. Severity of last winter will be felt for a while yet.

He'd only use the prod on the wimmen!

No harm, my two prods are broke at the minute, I no sooner had my new one with extra reach when I snapped my shaft giving one of them a dart

lol

Seriously though, is it the transportation of stock that leads to the pneumonia? I'd only see it at housing or after buying calves. Never vaccinated. During the year might have an isolated incident if the weather was really close and wet.

Must.resist.urge.to.comment.......:pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭Conmaicne Mara

I snapped my shaft giving one of them a dart

lol

Seriously though, is it the transportation of stock that leads to the pneumonia? I'd only see it at housing or after buying calves. Never vaccinated. During the year might have an isolated incident if the weather was really close and wet.

wouldnt say so, There are loads of paths to infection that someone more qualified to comment may talk about. We do our best herding, vaccinating,worming and nutrition to try and reduce the amount of stress on animals coming in. The eradication of BVD hopefully will see a significant reduction of animal deaths hopefully

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,087 ✭✭✭vanderbadger

5 strong weanling heifers got stuck in my creep feeder last night, they were in a field by the river, they ended up moving the bloody feeder onto the fence, eventually 1 got out and went daft and jumped into river and took off, she jumped into neighbors place and then another neighbors place and at the moment she is only 20 feet away from my place across river but she is stone mad..jebus i dont know what will get her home, she is grand when she is with a bunch but by herself.............. she saw me in the distance this morning and started doing circles of the field, there a 2 cows in field with her so hopefully she will settle :(
    might try and move her own gang down near her and see will she jump back by herself fences and walls dont seem to be an issue for her anyway

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,701 ✭✭✭moy83

5 strong weanling heifers got stuck in my creep feeder last night, they were in a field by the river, they ended up moving the bloody feeder onto the fence, eventually 1 got out and went daft and jumped into river and took off, she jumped into neighbors place and then another neighbors place and at the moment she is only 20 feet away from my place across river but she is stone mad..jebus i dont know what will get her home, she is grand when she is with a bunch but by herself.............. she saw me in the distance this morning and started doing circles of the field, there a 2 cows in field with her so hopefully she will settle :(
    might try and move her own gang down near her and see will she jump back by herself fences and walls dont seem to be an issue for her anyway

Must've been some sight to see the dumbos stuck in the feeder ! Id say the easiest thing to do is put the rest of her gang as close to her as possible alright . And hope she comes to them and not the other way around

we have always said it must be the worst day in a calfs life when they dont fit into the creep feeder any more