Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Arsenal Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread 2013/14

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,745 ✭✭✭✭Quazzie

gandalf wrote: »
    Real acted the maggot when dealing with us. They upped the fee from what they were initially looking for. Part of me is glad we walked away at that stage. Any skilled striker will do well with.the types of player we have to supply them. Suarez would be a great signing for us, he would be an ideal one without the baggage be life isn't perfect. I do feel for the Liverpool fans as we went through this last year with the dutch git!
    We started at 30M for Suarez and will be lucky to get away with 50M. That's a 20M rise but we couldn't rise 7M for Higuain? I don't think they moved the posts, I think Arsenal just went in with a figure in mind, agreed terms with the player and then Real told them the real figure, and Arsenal baulked at it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 630 ✭✭✭liamygunner29

mike65 wrote: »
    Grand, but in that 8 years, two months and...etc Liverpool have been in two Champions League finals, (a Europa League semi final), two FA Cup finals and a League Cup final, winning two trophies. Yes the in the Top 4 Cup Arsenal are kings of doing just enough recently but that's not so much to blow one trumpet about. Really.

wow so sickened wish we had brendan rodgers, a **** stadium, a completly misguided self importance and an irrational hate of howard webb instead.

coming in here with your little rant about your absolutely septic recent success for what reason?

2 sets of fans go on about our trophies or the lack of and they are Spurs and Liverpool. Spurs whatever. Liverpool are just partaking in a game they left the moment they thought hiring KIIIIIING kenny would save them bcause he has the SHANKLY SPIRIT!!!!

midtable where ya belong.

I want that little ****er' now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,222 ✭✭✭✭Marty McFly

JPA wrote: »
    Maybe they won't bid but they likely need a new striker to replace Higuain and they don't normally do cheap or low profile signings.
    Suarez has made some comments about Real so whether that is wishful thinking on his part or Real have contacted his agent I don't know.

They don't really need a new striker though they could do a Barca easily and play without a front man or put Ronaldo up there if they get Bale, add that to Ico, Ozil , Ronaldo, Kaka, Benzema & Di Maria that alone is enough to frighten the be jasus out of most teams.

They have given nothing to show they are even in the market for a CF, yes if they go for him Suarez would obviously prefer them as a destination but as of yet they not even sniffed around much like a lot of other clubs who would be seen as a better destination, so right now were in the driving seat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,574 ✭✭✭TheGunns

Suarez is a far riskier option than Higuain, but hes probably the better option

Don't want to get too excited before they pull the plug on this Suarez deal :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,458 ✭✭✭✭gandalf

Quazzie wrote: »
    We started at 30M for Suarez and will be lucky to get away with 50M. That's a 20M rise but we couldn't rise 7M for Higuain? I don't think they moved the posts, I think Arsenal just went in with a figure in mind, agreed terms with the player and then Real told them the real figure, and Arsenal baulked at it.

As said earlier in the thread it appears Wenger wants Suarez more than Higuain. When Madrid upped their price he said feck it lets go after Suarez instead I assume.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,138 ✭✭✭✭niallo27

wow so sickened wish we had brendan rodgers, a **** stadium, a completly misguided self importance and an irrational hate of howard webb instead.

coming in here with your little rant about your absolutely septic recent success for what reason?

2 sets of fans go on about our trophies or the lack of and they are Spurs and Liverpool. Spurs whatever. Liverpool are just partaking in a game they left the moment they thought hiring KIIIIIING kenny would save them bcause he has the SHANKLY SPIRIT!!!!

midtable where ya belong.

I want that little ****er' now.

I think you will find most liverpool fans don't give a **** about Arsenal. There is no rivalry there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,828 ✭✭✭gosplan

On a positive note we can all maybe agree on...

I had genuine concerns before this summer that Kronke would be happy to finish fourth every year and take as much money out of the club as he wanted.

Regardless of who we end up with, at least the era of austerity/stadium building is coming to an end and we seemingly have an owner who wants us to compete and doesn't mind overspending a bit to get us the big signings.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,051 ✭✭✭✭L'prof

niallo27 wrote: »
    I think you will find most liverpool fans don't give a **** about Arsenal. There is no rivalry there.

Likewise, I like Liverpool. Wonder why?

gosplan wrote: »
    On a positive note we can all maybe agree on...

I had genuine concerns before this summer that Kronke would be happy to finish fourth every year and take as much money out of the club as he wanted.

Regardless of who we end up with, at least the era of austerity/stadium building is coming to an end and we seemingly have an owner who wants us to compete and doesn't mind overspending a bit to get us the big signings.
    You're taking the piss yeah?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,425 ✭✭✭FearDark

Liverpool are a handy 6 pts every season since about 1990

They're a great bunch of lads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,711 ✭✭✭keano_afc

So I think the reason we're putting so much "effort" into signing Suarez is because we know we won't get him. Go to £45m, get turned down, and then say "we tried". The problem with pursuing Higuain was that we might have actually got him and had to pay money. This way, we don't have to spend.

Yeah its cynicism of the highest order, but its what the club have reduced us to.

FearDark wrote: »

Fancy having a guess at how many times we've beaten them in both league games in a season since the start of the PL?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,503 ✭✭✭brianregan09

No matter how **** Liverpool have being playing they always seemed to cause trouble for us in games down through the years so i wouldn't be saying handy 6 points every year

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,968 ✭✭✭✭mike65

• Site Banned Posts: 26,456 ✭✭✭✭Nuri Sahin

Gotta love dumbass comments like this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,745 ✭✭✭✭rob316

You might want to google that one and retract your post lad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,433 ✭✭✭wandatowell

ffs cop on to yourself will ya mike?

Arsenal finished 12 points ahead of ye in the league last year. That's the only stat you should be concerned about.

Sure *ye aint even the biggest team in ye're own city now :o

*Im presuming you're a 'pool fan

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,333 ✭✭✭bad2dabone

Nobody in the PL takes Liverpool for granted, even if they aren't The team they once were. I always look forward to the games with them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,410 ✭✭✭sonic85

not gone on suarez myself to be honest. for the amount of money we're (supposedly) willing to spend - I think we need someone a little bit more stable.

just imagine if we get him and he turns out to be a total psycho that wants out after 6 months? we could lose our trousers and wenger will never spend a penny again.

arseblog today sums up my thoughts perfectly

http://arseblog.com/2013/07/suarez-40000001-00-and-all-that/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,433 ✭✭✭wandatowell

bad2dabone wrote: »
    Nobody in the PL takes Liverpool for granted, even if they aren't The team they once were. I always look forward to the games with them.

I hate when Arsenal play at Anfield, it always feels to me like the 'pool have a big game up their sleeve when they're at home

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,828 ✭✭✭gosplan

You're taking the piss yeah?

Not at all.

With no major players out, Wenger could sign a couple of Afro French squad players and we'd be good for top four again,

The club are looking to push on and are prepared to spend money doing it. I find that refreshing and am enthusiastic about the future regardless of whether we get Suarez or not.

As an aside I'd worry about the mental health of anyone who genuinely believed that the club ate throwing up some doomed-to-fail smokescreen to make it look like they're interested in depending money.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,574 ✭✭✭TheGunns

Im pretty sure it was a joke

Whoops I had my serious face on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54,509 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

Leiva wrote: »
    City will have a say in all of this I'm convinced of that.

I think City are carefully watching the Bale situation tbh.

There's a big chance that we could end up with neither Higuain or Suarez because we allowed things to be drawn out.

We should make Liverpool an offer of 50 million and then go about our business of filling the other gaps in the team.

Stop the auld messing and get on with it.
    I don't give a damn what the players cost, that's for the accountants to worry about.

I agree we should, at this point, go all out for him. He'd guarantee us CL football and the 30mil a year that brings. done.

You know the old saying "between two stools you fall to the ground".

Just do the business speedily now Wenger & Co.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,425 ✭✭✭FearDark

Seems sarcasm is lost in this thread.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,428 ✭✭✭.jacksparrow.

So would it be Wenger talking to Suarez or what way does it work?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 709 ✭✭✭TheBza

Im still completely on the fence with this Suarez move, would it disrupt the team? I presume Sagna , Giroud and Diaby are friends with Evra, and also, our other black players how would they feel with all that's went on?