If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Waterford GAA Discussion Thread 2011-2012

• Closed Accounts Posts: 827 ✭✭✭WumBuster

doz wrote: »
    Great post, I'm sure that will go a way to encouraging young lads to play hurling :rolleyes:
    Quarter final against Antrim at the weekend, win that and we're right back in the mix with a game against Kilkenny!

Think we could be up against it if we meet Kilkenny. they won their leinster matches by pretty large margins this year. disappointing not to be able get over the line in the two matches against Limerick, who knows we might meet them again in AI final

• Closed Accounts Posts: 248 ✭✭doz

WumBuster wrote: »
    Think we could be up against it if we meet Kilkenny. they won their leinster matches by pretty large margins this year. disappointing not to be able get over the line in the two matches against Limerick, who knows we might meet them again in AI final

The lads would have no fear playing KK at this level, we've beaten them recently in minor and a number of these lads have beaten them in the colleges this year. Haven't seen KK play at minor level this year but the general media consensus (which is all I can go by) was that the Leinster Championship was far inferior to Munster in terms of quality.

In any event we have a quarter final to win first and it will be a big job for the management team to raise the lads after tonight's defeat.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,851 ✭✭✭Mountainlad

First off the ref was awful, if I was doing live updates I reckon I'd be perma-banned by now! Decisions going against you when you've got a run on them or when your struggling can make a massive psychological difference and the lads got absolutely nothing today.

That said we only really played for about 15 or 20 minutes across the game, at least to the standard they're capable of. That was disappointing. Have to say Stephen Bennett was incredible, a great hurler and leader, Patrick Curaan caaused problems with limited possessions, Micheal Harney was immense in my book, the corner backs were fairly solid, and Cormac Curran had a big impact off the bench.

The last ten days have been really hard to take. Have been just waiting for one break to see us through in any game but vital things going against us. Against Kilkenny it was probably the goal before half time, the red card in the 21s, and today another goal before half time and the ref. But if you were a neutral at the game you would say Limerick were well worth their win so I guess can't complain too much, if the lads had hurled better they would have won.

Awful does, really hard to take but there's no doubt that they all tried hard. One thing that annoyed me more than the ref today though was coming out of the ground, a man and woman mentioned Antrim next week and the woman said "They'll probably lose that too". Don't care how serious she was being, the lads deserve far more respect than to have flippant remarks like that thrown their way.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 990 ✭✭✭robopaddy

I think credit must go to Limerick. They showed that their late comeback last week was no fluke and they are an excellent team . Its easy to say we should have closed it out but the opposition is a lot better than we gave them credit for and maybe the occasion just got to them for the most part last week and hit their true form tonight. We definetly didnt and thats the difference.

We are definetly still as good as whats left in the competition. No disrespect to Antrim but realistically we should overcome them and if we could rack up a good score it might be just the tonic the lads need to get their confidence back on track ahead of the semi final against KK. People should not be fazed just because its KK, we are as good if not better than that kk tam always were up along at u14 15 16 etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 282 ✭✭Hslaw

just back from the match. i must say very disappointing. look flat from the off only for the goals the game would of being over in the first ten minutes,

all due respect to limerick. they were brilliant and deserved the win

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 420 ✭✭Mr Tibbs

Firstly I have to say well done to Limerick, they were the much cuter team tonight and that was down to a much better management who worked tirelessly on the sideline egging their team on even when they went behind for a short while. In truth the goals that we scored kept us in the game tonight but everytime Limerick came back at us. Very dissapointing to lose a Munster title that was practically in the bag last Sunday week. I dont know where we go from here. I keep hearing about talented hurlers but I saw a fatal flaw in this team against Cork who we did get over but tonight is a big nail in our coffin.
    Hate saying this but the Ref gave us nothing and some of the frees that Limerick got were of the very soft variety. Also the fear I had of Limerick traveling in big numbers after winning the Senior title were well founded as we were outnumbered three to one. There where so many in the old stand that the new stand was opened and people had to cross the field to gain access to it. It was mayhem as the crowd invaded the pitch a few minutes before the start of the game with both teams out on the field. Appalling management from Thurles surely they should have known there was going to be a big crowd. Its going to be hard next Saturday after that defeat. We have decent players but nobody good enough to manage them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,851 ✭✭✭Mountainlad

In a 52,000 capacity stadium though, it's hard to understand how they couldn't hold 6,000 in one stand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 282 ✭✭Hslaw

In a 52,000 capacity stadium though, it's hard to understand how they couldn't hold 6,000 in one stand.

it was crazy seeing everyone running across the pitch to the other stands. while the players were out on the pitch..

ill remember it for a long time too lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,343 ✭✭✭Martin567

That's Semple Stadium for you! They can always do amazing things with numbers, very creative.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 92 ✭✭shoddy14

Brad1234 wrote: »
    Thats what they get the last day for showboating when they had the game one.. Some of the 'stars' didnt do a whole pile tonight.. Lay off bigging fellas up before they do it at their own level..
    Why do they need to be mollycoddled, it was clear case of arrogance the last day and tonight some lads didnt have the stomach.. Some people here were saying some lads were for a senior panel.. On what ive seen all season no chance..

Also who is the manager.. Never heard of him in hurling circles in waterford... How he can keep looking at Farrell and gleeson from Fmw is beyond me...

Only man that talks sense on this page. Wtf were the management at opting for short puck outs and then lobbing it down on top of Farrell who didnt win a tap all night?? Of the puc outs that came his way, Foran won about 80% of them cleanly. Then they moved him in corner forward for a period in the 2nd half. Our only ball winner moved into the corner! For God sake.

And blowing up the centre back to the sky, didnt hit a ball tonight

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 856 ✭✭✭Limestone1

Awful does, really hard to take but there's no doubt that they all tried hard. One thing that annoyed me more than the ref today though was coming out of the ground, a man and woman mentioned Antrim next week and the woman said "They'll probably lose that too". Don't care how serious she was being, the lads deserve far more respect than to have flippant remarks like that thrown their way.

Probably more to do with the fact we don't seem to be getting the breaks in the last few weeks. The wind even turned against us for a while in the 2nd half tonight !
    Having said that Limerick deserved to win so well done to them on doing the Senior and Minor double.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 893 ✭✭✭Deisegodeo

Incredibly disappointing performance tonight. Limerick deserved the win, no doubt about it and would have won by more were it not for Stephen Bennett's goals keeping us in the game. For a team that was scoring big points totals in all the games up to now, 8 points is a poor return and illustrates how dominant Limerick were. We could just not get going but the title was lost the first day, 8 points up with about 8 minutes left and not to win is really, really disappointing.

Is it just me or have we had a poor of a ref in nearly every game this year? While it probably wouldnt have affected the result and the performance of the team was the main issue, I felt he was really quick to give Limerick frees but waived away blatant fouls on Waterford players. I'd be very curious to see the free count at the end.

Another frustrating evening seeing a Waterford team in action. Think I've had enough for the year now, cant take anymore!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 411 ✭✭culbaire

The lads would have no fear playing KK at this level, we've beaten them recently in minor and a number of these lads have beaten them in the colleges this year. Haven't seen KK play at minor level this year but the general media consensus (which is all I can go by) was that the Leinster Championship was far inferior to Munster in terms of quality.

In any event we have a quarter final to win first and it will be a big job for the management team to raise the lads after tonight's defeat.
    If Waterford beats Antrim it is facing very tough opposition in Kilkenny. Intercounty minor hurling is of a higher standard than colleges hurling. Underestimate Kilkenny at your peril. Indeed Kilkenny people are very confident that their minors will reach the All Ireland final. It is time for Waterford to stop underestimating opponents.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,920 ✭✭✭Cake Man

Disappointed, that was a tough one to take. It really hit home home much we blew that 8pt lead in the first game. In recent years, Waterford teams at all age groups seemed to be masters at closing out tight games, we always seemed to fall on the right side of those games where there was only a point or two in it but in the last 10 days, the seniors, U21's and now minors have all been beaten by a puck of a ball in each game. Really tough to swallow that.

No criticism of the lads, they tried their hardest and were just beaten by a Limerick team who I feel were just more up for it. Can't help but feel some of our lads were still in a bit of shock having to even play this game having had the first game in the bag. This was always going to be to Limerick's advantage and was going to be difficult to get the lads up for it.
    Their not out yet though, should take care of Antrim (where is this on?) although I hope there are no injuries and that fatigue doesn't affect players.
    Should we beat Antrim, it'll be an AI semi on the 11th. That'll be the day Dublin seniors are out so the good news would be the KK seniors wouldn't be involved (if they win their quarter v Cork) to shout on their minors. Still all to play for and I think the lads will want to put right the wrongs of the last 2 games.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 248 ✭✭doz

culbaire wrote: »
    If Waterford beats Antrim it is facing very tough opposition in Kilkenny. Intercounty minor hurling is of a higher standard than colleges hurling. Underestimate Kilkenny at your peril. Indeed Kilkenny people are very confident that their minors will reach the All Ireland final. It is time for Waterford to stop underestimating opponents.

I don't think I've ever seen any Waterford supporter ever underestimate a KK team and if you are suggesting that I am then you are miles off the mark. The point I'm making is that our lads should not fear KK the way they might have 4-5 years ago. Those days are gone and if we beat Antrim we should be facing into a semi-final with every confidence of winning.

And in fairness, stating that KK people expect their minor team to reach the final is hardly some grand revelation!

Cake Man wrote: »
    Disappointed, that was a tough one to take. It really hit home home much we blew that 8pt lead in the first game. In recent years, Waterford teams at all age groups seemed to be masters at closing out tight games, we always seemed to fall on the right side of those games where there was only a point or two in it but in the last 10 days, the seniors, U21's and now minors have all been beaten by a puck of a ball in each game. Really tough to swallow that.

No criticism of the lads, they tried their hardest and were just beaten by a Limerick team who I feel were just more up for it. Can't help but feel some of our lads were still in a bit of shock having to even play this game having had the first game in the bag. This was always going to be to Limerick's advantage and was going to be difficult to get the lads up for it.
    Their not out yet though, should take care of Antrim (where is this on?) although I hope there are no injuries and that fatigue doesn't affect players.
    Should we beat Antrim, it'll be an AI semi on the 11th. That'll be the day Dublin seniors are out so the good news would be the KK seniors wouldn't be involved (if they win their quarter v Cork) to shout on their minors. Still all to play for and I think the lads will want to put right the wrongs of the last 2 games.

KK seniors would be playing that day aswell

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,477 ✭✭✭grenache

robopaddy wrote: »
    KK seniors would be playing that day aswell
    They could also be playing on the 18th. It depends who wins the Clare-Galway game, and of course if KK beat Cork.

culbaire wrote: »
    If Waterford beats Antrim it is facing very tough opposition in Kilkenny. Intercounty minor hurlingAo is of a higher standard than colleges hurling. Underestimate Kilkenny at your peril. Indeed Kilkenny people are very confident that their minors will reach the All Ireland final. It is time for Waterford to stop underestimating opponents.

No one is underestimating kk. All he is saying is that we shouldnt fear them and believe we can win. Lighten up

grenache wrote: »
    They could also be playing on the 18th. It depends who wins the Clare-Galway game, and of course if KK beat Cork.

Im pretty certain its already set in stone. The Leinster winners play the winners of the quarter final involving munst runners up and vice versa

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,343 ✭✭✭Martin567

robopaddy wrote: »
    Im pretty certain its already set in stone. The Leinster winners play the winners of the quarter final involving munst runners up and vice versa

Not so. If Kilkenny & Clare win next Sunday, Kilkenny will play Limerick while Dublin will play Clare.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 928 ✭✭✭Deskjockey

Disappointed with the performance from the minors tonight, the team never got going, 20 scores to 12 tells its own story, just shows the "goals wins games" theory doesn't work when you only score 8 points. Fair play to Limerick they played well, thought the ref gave them some handy frees but I could be a bit one-eyed in that respect. Stephen Bennett is a great hurler, one of the points he scored in the first half was worth the admission money alone (in fairness €10 in for me and three kids was good value ), never mind the goals. Besides Bennett, Cormac Curran did well when he came on I thought, Micheal Harney from Bonmahon had a good game as well I thought, won't go mentioning out u-18 players who didn't have a good game, they all tried their best I'm sure, sometimes sport is like that, things don't go your way. Pity it was left behind them the first day but hopefully they can process that disappointment from a fortnight ago and tonight into storming into the next game against Antrim and see where that takes them. Was quite similar to the WD - KK match recently where we were depending on goals to get us out of a hole.. they only get you so far.

Big crowd of Limerick fans there tonight, it has been a great year for them and you wouldn't begrudge anything to them now that the game is over, they are great supporters in my experience and really get behind their team. I wouldn't underestimate Antrim at all, always remember the time that Mount Sion got beaten by the Antrim team who were 10/1 on the day, so the players need to forget all talk of Kilkenny for now and just go and do the job the next day, they won't have become a bad team overnight.

Up the Deise and hopefully we will have no more games in Thurles this year as, as venues go, its been a bollocks for us :) Just to add the organisation was a shambles there tonight, I was bringing a few smaller kids with me (thinking smaller crowd, nicer atmosphere, less cider heads etc) however on the way down in the car I was having the chat about in the unlikely event that they ever did get lost in a crowd that they should go to a garda, however I don't think I saw one guard there, and a miniscule amount of stewards. A joke. 6,000 in attendance my arse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,920 ✭✭✭Cake Man

Martin567 wrote: »
    Not so. If Kilkenny & Clare win next Sunday, Kilkenny will play Limerick while Dublin will play Clare.

Yes, that's what I was going by. KK can't meet Dublin again....or can they? Dublin will ef be playing the 11th as being Leinster champions.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 827 ✭✭✭WumBuster

impossible to read too much into it due to the quality of oppostion but Antrim have had two fairly sizeable wins already in Ulster, would be foolish to understimate them. Antrim teams have caused upsets in the past and will see this as an ideal time to get us, with confidence bound to be knocked back a bit slightly. Hope there is no messing about on Saturday, just go out fight for every ball as if there lives depend on it, stay focussed for the 60 mins and get the job done.

Btw: Parnell park it is on Sunday, 2 pm.

Deskjockey wrote: »
    Disappointed with the performance from the minors tonight, the team never got going, 20 scores to 12 tells its own story, just shows the "goals wins games" theory doesn't work when you only score 8 points. Fair play to Limerick they played well, thought the ref gave them some handy frees but I could be a bit one-eyed in that respect. Stephen Bennett is a great hurler, one of the points he scored in the first half was worth the admission money alone (in fairness €10 in for me and three kids was good value ), never mind the goals. Besides Bennett, Cormac Curran did well when he came on I thought, Micheal Harney from Bonmahon had a good game as well I thought, won't go mentioning out u-18 players who didn't have a good game, they all tried their best I'm sure, sometimes sport is like that, things don't go your way. Pity it was left behind them the first day but hopefully they can process that disappointment from a fortnight ago and tonight into storming into the next game against Antrim and see where that takes them. Was quite similar to the WD - KK match recently where we were depending on goals to get us out of a hole.. they only get you so far.

Big crowd of Limerick fans there tonight, it has been a great year for them and you wouldn't begrudge anything to them now that the game is over, they are great supporters in my experience and really get behind their team. I wouldn't underestimate Antrim at all, always remember the time that Mount Sion got beaten by the Antrim team who were 10/1 on the day, so the players need to forget all talk of Kilkenny for now and just go and do the job the next day, they won't have become a bad team overnight.

Up the Deise and hopefully we will have no more games in Thurles this year as, as venues go, its been a bollocks for us :) Just to add the organisation was a shambles there tonight, I was bringing a few smaller kids with me (thinking smaller crowd, nicer atmosphere, less cider heads etc) however on the way down in the car I was having the chat about in the unlikely event that they ever did get lost in a crowd that they should go to a garda, however I don't think I saw one guard there, and a miniscule amount of stewards. A joke. 6,000 in attendance my arse.

Dunloy, I still have nightmares about that day up in Mulingar. Just like tonight their supporters were very vocal and came in large numbers. I thought it was crazy when the game was delayed for the crowd, that the Waterford team stayed out pucking around burning up energy while Limerick went in and came back out to a great cheer. Better boost than a puck around. You would really have to wonder why so many of the lads were so flat tonight and were pushed of the ball way to easily.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 996 ✭✭✭amber69

Cake Man wrote: »
    Yes, that's what I was going by. KK can't meet Dublin again....or can they? Dublin will ef be playing the 11th as being Leinster champions.

If Galway win they can't meet Dublin so if Kilkenny and Galway win Kilkenny senior and minor will both be out the same day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 173 ✭✭Waternut

Disappointing result tonight, though I wouldn't underestimate this Limerick team. They beat Tipp, a team we struggled against and have some really good hurlers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 193 ✭✭noiniho

Thats what they get the last day for showboating when they had the game one.. Some of the 'stars' didnt do a whole pile tonight.. Lay off bigging fellas up before they do it at their own level..

Lay off turning on young players after a poor performance, thats hurling ya cant have it your own way all the time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,869 ✭✭✭Speak Now

WumBuster wrote: »

Kilkenny beat Laois by a large margin (Twice). They actually lost to Wexford who in turn lost to laois (Who also beat Offaly). Laois v Galway this weekend may or may not give some idea to the form lines.
    Haven't seen KK play at minor level this year but the general media consensus (which is all I can go by) was that the Leinster Championship was far inferior to Munster in terms of quality.

Seems to be the media consensus most years often doesn't show in the later stages though.

Galway,KK and Tipp have shared the last 11 minors. (4,4,3)

Minors are so hard to predict really in fairness from match to match.

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 7,856 Mod ✭✭✭✭suitcasepink

Looks like the 2 club games are called off again this weekend
    https://twitter.com/WaterfordGAA/status/359997403161571328

Waterford Minors will play Antrim in Parnell Park at 2pm on Sunday next and the winners will play Kilkenny.