Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Road rage against cyclists is it just me?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,502 ✭✭✭✭John_Rambo

I was defo in a yellow ring of Kerry jersey.

Were you with a broad shouldered guy in a deep blue shiny top?

Edit (I quoted wishbone ash by accident there! Sorry)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,616 ✭✭✭The Noble Nudge

John_Rambo wrote: »
    Were you with a broad shouldered guy in a deep blue shiny top?

Edit (I quoted wishbone ash by accident there! Sorry)

No disrespect to said individual but I cycle with a more fashion conscious select few!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,502 ✭✭✭✭John_Rambo

No disrespect to said individual but I cycle with a more fashion conscious select few!

Well, he can peddle!!! Hope he's not reading this!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 98 ✭✭lynchieboy

A helmet camera might be a good investment, people behave a lot differently when they think they are being filmed and it would be very usefull in an insurance claim. I run, cycle, ride a motorbike, drive a car and van and the lack of respect for all other road users in this country is the pits, the thing is if you hit someone with your car no matter how small or how "in the right" you might think you are, your insurance company WILL pay out and your no claims bonus is gone and you will have no say in the matter, so I'm always extra cautious when passing a cyclist or pedestrian.

lynchieboy wrote: »
    A helmet camera might be a good investment, people behave a lot differently when they think they are being filmed and it would be very usefull in an insurance claim. I run, cycle, ride a motorbike, drive a car and van and the lack of respect for all other road users in this country is the pits, the thing is if you hit someone with your car no matter how small or how "in the right" you might think you are, your insurance company WILL pay out and your no claims bonus is gone and you will have no say in the matter, so I'm always extra cautious when passing a cyclist or pedestrian.

I see what you're saying but if you hit someone they'll die. Let the insurance sort out your widow.

On my soap box now but the whole mentality needs to be changed.
    Motorists/car/truck/bike/wreckless drivers/wreckless cyclists the lowest common denominator is death....simple as that so a bit of patience and understanding

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,981 ✭✭✭Diarmuid

Raam wrote: »
    I rarely get any grief, but when I do I just ignore them. I'm not wasting any time, energy or stress dealing with some twat.

There is a difference between mouthy drivers and psychotic people, willing to assault cyclists. Ignore the former, report the latter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,318 ✭✭✭✭Raam

Diarmuid wrote: »
    There is a difference between mouthy drivers and psychotic people, willing to assault cyclists. Ignore the former, report the latter.

Totally agree. I reported one lad once, but I think I got his reg wrong. Doh!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 241 ✭✭knipper

I was commuting on a quiet country road thurs. This car passes beeping like mad. As there was plenty of room and no traffic I presumed it was someone I knew. Few yards up the road the same car passed back and I looked to see who it was. It was a silver haired little old lady. God help us I thought even the grannys are against us.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,272 ✭✭✭✭Max Power1

Tombo2001 wrote: »
    Had a man in a van beep at me, then overtake me, then jam the brakes to a halt in front of me on a country road two evenings ago....

Jumps out of the van, shuts the door behind him and walks towards me.

"Ya cant be cycling in the middle of the road. Just because yer a cyclist doesnt mean there arent rules for you too" he shouted at me....

I could see a house nearby, a man and a woman rushing to the front door to see what was going on while he was shouting at me.....

I'd been cycling where I usually do; about 3-4ft from the side of the road.....which probably put me in the middle of the lane, as opposed to the middle of the road.

Because I wasnt right up against the verge....this guy was 'avn't it.....

I didnt say anything the whole time; was just glad afterwards he didnt assault me.....loon.

Get the fcuk over then. Cycle to the left of the lane so that the other road users have a safe opportunity to pass you. :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,013 ✭✭✭Ole Rodrigo

^^ + 1. Don't let anyone shove you to the side of the road, but you should move in to let traffic pass when its safe to do so.

To be honest, with that type of cycling its no wonder some drivers get angry. Just because you're entitled to be out on the lane doesn't mean you should be there at all times.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 765 ✭✭✭oflahero

I reckon there's something about the insouciance of sailing along on two wheels that just has the potential to annoy everybody given the right circumstances. I was walking across Amiens St by Busaras on Friday evening with the green man, when a fixie twat bore down on me at full speed. I had to dodge out of his way. Not a bother on him, he didn't even look back. At that moment, even though I'm a club cyclist, I wanted to gather all the cyclists of the world and chuck them in a pit of quicklime. The feeling lasted well over a minute.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 765 ✭✭✭oflahero

Max Power1 wrote: »
    Get the fcuk over then. Cycle to the left of the lane so that the other road users have a safe opportunity to pass you. :mad:

A driver who can't pass a cyclist on a road who's 3ft out from the verge is an incompetent asshat who probably can't use cutlery to feed himself. That's a general observation, Max Power1.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 52,653 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

if you cannot safely pass a cyclist who is 3 foot from the kerb, you cannot safely pass him when he is 1 foot from the kerb, unless you are on a single lane road.
    if the cyclist is preventing you from overtaking in this manner, you shouldn't be overtaking at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,126 ✭✭✭mr spuckler

not sure if serious...

but i'll bite anyway! the point of cycling out from the verge is that it discourages motorists from passing when not safe to do so. squeezing in to the left so that a car can pass you while another car is oncoming will likely result in the cyclist being clipped by a wing mirror.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,889 ✭✭✭feck sake lads

i seriously think the days of cycling in groups and two a brest is coming to an end mores the pity.:eek: i'm cycling the roads of louth meath most of my life i seldom come into conflict with motorists when riding solo, i dont go through red lights i always keep well in on country roads.you just have to be mega careful out there boys.
    Group and two a brest is legal as far as i'm aware but it does crack up car and lorry drivers big time, they see us as pure garbage on the road they dont see us as other road users for some strange reason.guess its all down to education, in France they will not pass until the road is clear,here in our fair little land the bastards will even attend your funeral shaking hands with your family saying how sorry they are for killing you.
    man i could rattle on about this all day but whats the point,
    just be carefull out there boys be aware.;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,131 ✭✭✭Dermot Illogical

The safe opportunity is created by an absence of oncoming traffic, not by the actions of the cyclist.
    Do the world a favour and go learn how to drive competently.

^ the problem with that is it may take a while before its safe to do so, when the situation could be rectified by the cyclist moving in to left. If a motorist sees that a cyclist is ignoring a safe opportunity to pull in, while there is a growing line of cars behind him, its understandable they will get frustrated. Its the spirit of give and take.

A competent cyclist should be able to read the road well enough to know when to move in and then everyone is happy, and motorists are left thinking well maybe not all cyclists are poor road users who only concerned with themselves.

ror_74 wrote: »
    ^ the problem with that is it may take a while before its safe to do so, when the situation could be rectified by the cyclist moving in to left. If a motorist sees that a cyclist is ignoring a safe opportunity to pull in, while there is a growing line of cars behind him, its understandable they will get frustrated. Its the spirit of give and take.

A competent cyclist should be able to read the road well enough to know when to move in and then everyone is happy, and motorists are left thinking well maybe not all cyclists are poor road users who only concerned with themselves.

The problem with doing that is you end up pinned in to the side of the road as a line of cars, driven by people of varying ability, overtake you while trying to avoid colliding with oncoming traffic. Do you see who stands to lose most in this scenario?

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 52,653 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

ror_74 wrote: »
    i have been in cars with people who will start shouting at cyclists after ten seconds if they do not pull in.
    and to safely pull in to allow drivers to pass involves actually stopping the bike in this scenario.

if you are on a two lane road (i.e. one lane each way), and it is not safe for a motorist to enter the other lane to overtake you when you are three foot out, an extra two foot is not going to make the overtaking manouevre safe.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,296 ✭✭✭✭Jawgap

I think you need to re-read the original post.

On most country roads I cycle a fair bit out for the simple reason that the margin tends to be in a very poor state - badly cambered, potholed and full of all kinds of debris. In short, dangerous - cars don't drive on it so why should anyone else.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,088 ✭✭✭SpaceTime

I'm not sure if this is still in force, but it does seem that cycling more than two-abreast, unless overtaking a slower moving cyclist, might not be entirely legal and I have seen this a few times on the roads.

S.I. No. 294/1964 — Road Traffic General Bye-Laws, 1964.
    http://www.irishstatutebook.ie/1964/en/si/0294.html#zzsi294y1964a29

Driving two abreast

29.—(1) A pedal cyclist shall not, save when overtaking other pedal cyclists (and then only if to do so will not endanger other traffic or pedestrians) drive a pedal cycle on a roadway in such a manner as to result in more than two pedal cycles driving abreast.

(2) Pedal cyclists on a roadway shall cycle in single file when overtaking other traffic."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,063 ✭✭✭on_the_nickel

Strange, I drive from Limerick to Cork via Hospital - Ballylanders once a week and will often get stuck behind really slow moving farm traffic for more than 5km at a time. I don't see any drivers roaring abuse at the driver when they finally pass.....

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 78,458 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

3 ft from the kerb is entirely reasonable given the state of the roads in this country - that leaves scope to move inwards if you come across a hazard (such as a pothole of sunken manhole cover etc, which are not uncommon on many roads). If you know the road well it may be possible to cycle closer to the kerb, but if you don't the last thing you would want to have to do is swerve towards the traffic

If you do not have enough room to safely overtake someone who is 3ft from the kerb the chances are you will still not have enough room if they are a couple of feet closer

Maybe a bit of patience should be afforded here Max Power1, rather than getting mad;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,088 ✭✭✭SpaceTime

There are generally just some really aggressive drivers around, you encounter them while driving too.

For example, I've been beeped, flashed at, driven almost into the back of the car (at speed) while doing 100km/h on a single carriage way road with loads of bends and there was no way I could go faster / pull in.

I've had cars up on my rear end when I couldn't safely overtake cyclists.

On the motorway yesterday, I had the cruise control on at 120km/h sailing along. Guy ahead of me was going at about 110km/h so, I passed him. He then passed me and drifted back down to about 110km/h .. this "dance" went on about 3 times because I bruised the guy's ego!

I had to basically put about 1km between me and him to avoid this happening again and having to be forced back down to his speed.

I also live in quite a narrow street in Cork and while all the people familiar with narrow-urban driving give way you occasionally get the odd nutcase (usually not a C-reg) being aggressive and resulting in blocking the road or removing their own mirrors on a wall / lamppost.

I lived in Paris for a while and the drivers over there will actually just drive through pedestrian crossings (with green pedestrian lights) !!

The problem with doing that is you end up pinned in to the side of the road as a line of cars, driven by people of varying ability, overtake you while trying to avoid colliding with oncoming traffic. Do you see who stands to lose most in this scenario?

I understand your point. Ive been taking this approach when appropriate outside the city roads and have had no issues. The road sides are often bad, but not all the time. If some cars are piling up behind you and you move in, they will pass quite slowly..again its just a question of judgement rather than ignoring everything behind you because you're entitled to - thats the point I'm making. And that judgement call involves your own safety too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,497 ✭✭✭ezra_pound

http://m.youtube.com/watch?v=kC0xpgmKOT8

A trip down memory Lane.

It was so different then.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,958 ✭✭✭delthedriver

Road rage toward anyone is absolutely abhorrent.

Whether it is towards a cyclist , pedestrian , or another motorist, it needs to be dealt with by the Authorities.

Sadly while we live in difficult economic times, this is not an excuse for people to display their rage and viciousness towards another human being.

Road Rage is simply another form of bullying. God knows enough bullying goes on in our schools, places of employment, social media and now on our roads.

Zero tolerance should be applied by the authorities otherwise it is like Russian Roulette when one is using our roads and streets.

Indeed experienced a road rage incident myself on Friday. I simply let it go as I did not want the experience to ruin my day. Needless to say it was a young man driving a large car, whom I can only describe as a supergurrier.:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,272 ✭✭✭✭Max Power1

Beasty wrote: »
    3 ft from the kerb is entirely reasonable given the state of the roads in this country - that leaves scope to move inwards if you come across a hazard (such as a pothole of sunken manhole cover etc, which are not uncommon on many roads). If you know the road well it may be possible to cycle closer to the kerb, but if you don't the last thing you would want to have to do is swerve towards the traffic

If you do not have enough room to safely overtake someone who is 3ft from the kerb the chances are you will still not have enough room if they are a couple of feet closer

Maybe a bit of patience should be afforded here Max Power1, rather than getting mad;)

Patience, when cyclists refuse to move in? Why cycle in the middle of the road obstructing traffic. Driving around the sally gap yesterday, on the roads which are wide enough for 1 car and 1 bike with room to spare - but only if the cyclist cycles on the left of the road and not in the fcuking middle!

Understandably as this is the cycling forum there will be a large group of lycra clad people who agree with the OP and disagree with me.

I'm just glad that there will soon be fixed penalties notices for cyclists soon too. Perhaps that might stop the ridiculous levels of rotr ignorance by cyclists, such as ignoring red lights, cycling on paths, cycling on the road where there is a cycle lane, cycling two abreast (a ridiculous practice) etc etc.

I had hoped that, as a cycling forum, I would deal with posters, the majority of whom are actually intelligent cyclists as opposed to the mouth breathing idiots that I meet on the roads.

PMSL