Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Road rage against cyclists is it just me?

• 20-07-2013 8:07pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,616 ✭✭✭

Sorry mods if there's one started already. I don't think it's paranoia but given the radio coverage this week. Went on a spin into populated areas rather than the hills. Encountered 3 motorist v cyclists rages today. First plick nearly clipped me and my mate head on. I'd to roar at him thankfully he had his window open that he actually heard the sincerity in my voice. 2 other unprovoked incidents.
    Christ I drive for a living and know what standard of arsehole that have licences....Do people not understand what damage they'll do to us....I just want a spin on my bike to unwind not be killed!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84 ✭✭PerrDub

As much as some of the measures announced to tackle "rogue cyclists" will help in some cases... I think it carries a lot of negativity with it, and creates a real "Us and them" sentiment...

Though I would blame the lack of proper cycle lanes, and any sort of real deterrent against careless driving with cyclists involved...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,981 ✭✭✭Diarmuid

I had my first encounter with a psycho on my short commute in 3 years on Thursday. The same day as the stupid coverage on the radio about the new €50 fines for the RLJs. Completely unprovoked. Coincidence? I think not. Got Norman's car reg though, so it's one for Trafficwatch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,874 ✭✭✭shootermacg

Is there currently a fine for parking in a cycle lane?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,616 ✭✭✭The Noble Nudge

PerrDub wrote: »
    As much as some of the measures announced to tackle "rogue cyclists" will help in some cases... I think it carries a lot of negativity with it, and creates a real "Us and them" sentiment...

Though I would blame the lack of proper cycle lanes, and any sort of real deterrent against careless driving with cyclists involved.

Actually cycled up Dame street and said it to a taxi man.
    We've taken some pressure off them in the roads. He agreed.
    It was like I had a bullseye on my back

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,307 ✭✭✭✭John_Rambo

I was driving behind a LK reg 520d BMW driver that lost his head at cyclists cycling two abreast on the coast road to Howth in Dublin this morning. He was being a dick, the cyclists were doing 40kph + and wheeled in to Howth about eight seconds after the cars! Could have been one of you, deep blue top, fairly clipping along, big fella. Cyclists either didn't hear the car driver or completely ignored him. I reckon the heat and the €50 fine business has renewed self righteousness amongst some of the less experienced drivers.

Actually cycled up Dame street and said it to a taxi man.We've taken some pressure off them in the roads. He agreed.

It's pretty bad when cyclists have now become the scourge of the roads replacing taxi drivers! :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,308 ✭✭✭downonthefarm

I thought that said roid rage cyclists

• Closed Accounts Posts: 121 ✭✭mistermano

it's funny about cyclists going 2 abreast

motorists animated about it

John_Rambo wrote: »
    I was driving behind a LK reg 520d BMW driver that lost his head at cyclists cycling two abreast on the coast road to Howth in Dublin this morning. He was being a dick, the cyclists were doing 40kph + and wheeled in to Howth about eight seconds after the cars! Could have been one of you, deep blue top, fairly clipping along, big fella. Cyclists either didn't hear the car driver or completely ignored him. I reckon the heat and the €50 fine business has renewed self righteousness amongst some of the less experienced drivers.

Was in the area alright but wasn't me.
    There was only 2 of us cycling single file.
    Disgusted with driving standard in this country and people's impatience.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,065 ✭✭✭✭Wishbone Ash

I drive for a living and know what standard of arsehole that have licences...
    Unfortunately there are plenty of 'arsehole' cyclists out there too. The situation has also been exacerbated by the good weather as a lot of non-regular "I've an oul bike out in the shed" types are out there slowing things down.

The situation has also been exacerbated by the good weather as a lot of non-regular "I've an oul bike out in the shed" types are out there slowing things down.

You have a point... I have noticed in my LBS that they are servicing plenty of really old bikes.... though resurrecting them from a rusty death would be a more accurate description!
    And people coming in asking if "they rent bikes cos we want to go on a spin to Howth!"

Unfortunately there are plenty of 'arsehole' cyclists out there too. The situation has also been exacerbated by the good weather as a lot of non-regular "I've an oul bike out in the shed" types are out there slowing things down.

Agree with you but regardless of ettiquet of cyclist/arsehole cyclist. Hit by experienced driver/arsehole driver=death or irreparable damage?

Was in the area alright but wasn't me.
    There was only 2 of us cycling single file.
    Disgusted with driving standard in this country and people's impatience.

Actually, you could have been overtaking two slow cyclists? It was just before the causeway at Dollymount.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,737 ✭✭✭Tombo2001

Had a man in a van beep at me, then overtake me, then jam the brakes to a halt in front of me on a country road two evenings ago....

Jumps out of the van, shuts the door behind him and walks towards me.

"Ya cant be cycling in the middle of the road. Just because yer a cyclist doesnt mean there arent rules for you too" he shouted at me....

I could see a house nearby, a man and a woman rushing to the front door to see what was going on while he was shouting at me.....

I'd been cycling where I usually do; about 3-4ft from the side of the road.....which probably put me in the middle of the lane, as opposed to the middle of the road.

Because I wasnt right up against the verge....this guy was 'avn't it.....

I didnt say anything the whole time; was just glad afterwards he didnt assault me.....loon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,737 ✭✭✭Tombo2001

As an addendum; I would think the Irish Times has really whipped up a lot of anti cyclist feeling in recent weeks.

I started cycling around March this year. I didn't last long, the crap I got from other road users put me right off. :(

Not just motorists mind you, other cyclists too. I don't know how many times I went down the Whitehall flyover into Santry and encountered someone cycling the wrong way in the cycle lane there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,065 ✭✭✭✭Wishbone Ash

Karsini wrote: »
    I don't know how many times I went down the Whitehall flyover into Santry and encountered someone cycling the wrong way in the cycle lane there.
    For some reason, it seems to be endemic on that stretch.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 121 ✭✭mistermano

how much of a factor is the recession in all this cyclist v motorist war

and that(we) cyclists can get about cheaper than drivers?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,127 ✭✭✭✭kerry4sam

I started cycling around March this year. I didn't last long, the crap I got from other road users put me right off. :(

Not just motorists mind you, other cyclists too. I don't know how many times I went down the Whitehall flyover into Santry and encountered someone cycling the wrong way in the cycle lane there.

Ah get back on your bike please; seriously do not allow that deter you from one amazing sport / pastime :)

I only took up cycling around almost 1year ago only and have encountered every type known to man on my travels; but I am still peddling on (even after bring thrown off my bike and injured my back and legs and meeting some right d***heads in their vehicles) so

Please try and Get back out there cycling :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 428 ✭✭big mce

I've been cycling 15 years. The abuse and people horn blowing today was the worst ever! It must be the weather...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,032 ✭✭✭McTigs

mistermano wrote: »
    how much of a factor is the recession in all this cyclist v motorist war

and that(we) cyclists can get about cheaper than drivers?
    i think what bothers them most is a sense that cyclists are "freeloading"..... not just "road tax" either, i genuinely believe it bothers them that we don't have to get insurance or fork out for petrol.

also, the breezing through traffic while thy have to sit and wait annoys the hell out of them, they look to get their own back and have their moment on the open road.

having said all that i cycle across galway and back everyday and rarely experience any road rage, but any i do i put down to the reasons above.

Actually, you could have been overtaking two slow cyclists? It was just before the causeway at Dollymount.

Your worrying me now! Stalker drivers :D
    Was in a predominantly yellow jersey today ;D as the leader of the tour of the D north side would be

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,920 ✭✭✭micar

I get the same on the way to work between cabintely and cherrywood on the N11. I come across 2-3 people everyday.
    It so bloody dangerous!!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,318 ✭✭✭✭Raam

I rarely get any grief, but when I do I just ignore them. I'm not wasting any time, energy or stress dealing with some twat.

For some reason, it seems to be endemic on that stretch.

Haha!! It's funny though, we cruised behind these two all the way to Sutton cross. There was absalutely no point in overtaking, they were thumping along and I could see traffic or red lights ahead most if the time, but the LK BMW was overtaking, braking, overtaking, braking... Accelerating, braking. And as I said before, the cyclists were literally seconds behind them.

You have me intrigued what time were you there today Jon Rambo.

About 1pm dude.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,428 ✭✭✭lizzylad84

Encountered a lovely chap in stamullen today, I was coming down back into the village and some c**t decided at the last minute that he wanted to turn left, without indicating, while also talking on his phone. He missed me by about 6 inches....turned his car and followed me down the road shouting abuse at me...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,013 ✭✭✭Ole Rodrigo

Most situations can be ignored, just keep your nerve.

What I've noticed lately while out on spins and stopping at garages for water refills, is a sort of surly attitude from motorists while in the shop. Something in their body language suggesting they don't approve at all !

You'd think with the good weather they wouldn't bother being such twits.

About 1pm dude.

I was defo in a yellow ring of Kerry jersey.

Were you with a broad shouldered guy in a deep blue shiny top?

Edit (I quoted wishbone ash by accident there! Sorry)

Were you with a broad shouldered guy in a deep blue shiny top?

Edit (I quoted wishbone ash by accident there! Sorry)

No disrespect to said individual but I cycle with a more fashion conscious select few!

Well, he can peddle!!! Hope he's not reading this!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 98 ✭✭lynchieboy

A helmet camera might be a good investment, people behave a lot differently when they think they are being filmed and it would be very usefull in an insurance claim. I run, cycle, ride a motorbike, drive a car and van and the lack of respect for all other road users in this country is the pits, the thing is if you hit someone with your car no matter how small or how "in the right" you might think you are, your insurance company WILL pay out and your no claims bonus is gone and you will have no say in the matter, so I'm always extra cautious when passing a cyclist or pedestrian.

lynchieboy wrote: »
    A helmet camera might be a good investment, people behave a lot differently when they think they are being filmed and it would be very usefull in an insurance claim. I run, cycle, ride a motorbike, drive a car and van and the lack of respect for all other road users in this country is the pits, the thing is if you hit someone with your car no matter how small or how "in the right" you might think you are, your insurance company WILL pay out and your no claims bonus is gone and you will have no say in the matter, so I'm always extra cautious when passing a cyclist or pedestrian.

I see what you're saying but if you hit someone they'll die. Let the insurance sort out your widow.

On my soap box now but the whole mentality needs to be changed.
    Motorists/car/truck/bike/wreckless drivers/wreckless cyclists the lowest common denominator is death....simple as that so a bit of patience and understanding

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,981 ✭✭✭Diarmuid

Raam wrote: »
    I rarely get any grief, but when I do I just ignore them. I'm not wasting any time, energy or stress dealing with some twat.

There is a difference between mouthy drivers and psychotic people, willing to assault cyclists. Ignore the former, report the latter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,318 ✭✭✭✭Raam

Diarmuid wrote: »
    There is a difference between mouthy drivers and psychotic people, willing to assault cyclists. Ignore the former, report the latter.

Totally agree. I reported one lad once, but I think I got his reg wrong. Doh!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 238 ✭✭knipper

I was commuting on a quiet country road thurs. This car passes beeping like mad. As there was plenty of room and no traffic I presumed it was someone I knew. Few yards up the road the same car passed back and I looked to see who it was. It was a silver haired little old lady. God help us I thought even the grannys are against us.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,272 ✭✭✭✭Max Power1

Tombo2001 wrote: »
    Had a man in a van beep at me, then overtake me, then jam the brakes to a halt in front of me on a country road two evenings ago....

Jumps out of the van, shuts the door behind him and walks towards me.

"Ya cant be cycling in the middle of the road. Just because yer a cyclist doesnt mean there arent rules for you too" he shouted at me....

I could see a house nearby, a man and a woman rushing to the front door to see what was going on while he was shouting at me.....

I'd been cycling where I usually do; about 3-4ft from the side of the road.....which probably put me in the middle of the lane, as opposed to the middle of the road.

Because I wasnt right up against the verge....this guy was 'avn't it.....

I didnt say anything the whole time; was just glad afterwards he didnt assault me.....loon.

Get the fcuk over then. Cycle to the left of the lane so that the other road users have a safe opportunity to pass you. :mad:

^^ + 1. Don't let anyone shove you to the side of the road, but you should move in to let traffic pass when its safe to do so.

To be honest, with that type of cycling its no wonder some drivers get angry. Just because you're entitled to be out on the lane doesn't mean you should be there at all times.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 765 ✭✭✭oflahero

I reckon there's something about the insouciance of sailing along on two wheels that just has the potential to annoy everybody given the right circumstances. I was walking across Amiens St by Busaras on Friday evening with the green man, when a fixie twat bore down on me at full speed. I had to dodge out of his way. Not a bother on him, he didn't even look back. At that moment, even though I'm a club cyclist, I wanted to gather all the cyclists of the world and chuck them in a pit of quicklime. The feeling lasted well over a minute.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 765 ✭✭✭oflahero

Max Power1 wrote: »
    Get the fcuk over then. Cycle to the left of the lane so that the other road users have a safe opportunity to pass you. :mad:

A driver who can't pass a cyclist on a road who's 3ft out from the verge is an incompetent asshat who probably can't use cutlery to feed himself. That's a general observation, Max Power1.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 51,675 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

if you cannot safely pass a cyclist who is 3 foot from the kerb, you cannot safely pass him when he is 1 foot from the kerb, unless you are on a single lane road.
    if the cyclist is preventing you from overtaking in this manner, you shouldn't be overtaking at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,124 ✭✭✭mr spuckler

not sure if serious...

but i'll bite anyway! the point of cycling out from the verge is that it discourages motorists from passing when not safe to do so. squeezing in to the left so that a car can pass you while another car is oncoming will likely result in the cyclist being clipped by a wing mirror.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,889 ✭✭✭feck sake lads

i seriously think the days of cycling in groups and two a brest is coming to an end mores the pity.:eek: i'm cycling the roads of louth meath most of my life i seldom come into conflict with motorists when riding solo, i dont go through red lights i always keep well in on country roads.you just have to be mega careful out there boys.
    Group and two a brest is legal as far as i'm aware but it does crack up car and lorry drivers big time, they see us as pure garbage on the road they dont see us as other road users for some strange reason.guess its all down to education, in France they will not pass until the road is clear,here in our fair little land the bastards will even attend your funeral shaking hands with your family saying how sorry they are for killing you.
    man i could rattle on about this all day but whats the point,
    just be carefull out there boys be aware.;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,131 ✭✭✭Dermot Illogical

The safe opportunity is created by an absence of oncoming traffic, not by the actions of the cyclist.
    Do the world a favour and go learn how to drive competently.

^ the problem with that is it may take a while before its safe to do so, when the situation could be rectified by the cyclist moving in to left. If a motorist sees that a cyclist is ignoring a safe opportunity to pull in, while there is a growing line of cars behind him, its understandable they will get frustrated. Its the spirit of give and take.

A competent cyclist should be able to read the road well enough to know when to move in and then everyone is happy, and motorists are left thinking well maybe not all cyclists are poor road users who only concerned with themselves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,131 ✭✭✭Dermot Illogical

ror_74 wrote: »
    ^ the problem with that is it may take a while before its safe to do so, when the situation could be rectified by the cyclist moving in to left. If a motorist sees that a cyclist is ignoring a safe opportunity to pull in, while there is a growing line of cars behind him, its understandable they will get frustrated. Its the spirit of give and take.

A competent cyclist should be able to read the road well enough to know when to move in and then everyone is happy, and motorists are left thinking well maybe not all cyclists are poor road users who only concerned with themselves.

The problem with doing that is you end up pinned in to the side of the road as a line of cars, driven by people of varying ability, overtake you while trying to avoid colliding with oncoming traffic. Do you see who stands to lose most in this scenario?

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 51,675 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

ror_74 wrote: »
    i have been in cars with people who will start shouting at cyclists after ten seconds if they do not pull in.
    and to safely pull in to allow drivers to pass involves actually stopping the bike in this scenario.

if you are on a two lane road (i.e. one lane each way), and it is not safe for a motorist to enter the other lane to overtake you when you are three foot out, an extra two foot is not going to make the overtaking manouevre safe.