Wasp Nest - help

13»

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,021 ✭✭✭✭duploelabs

sorry for your trouble but couldn't be happier, best thread ever

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,911 ✭✭✭Zombienosh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,887 ✭✭✭dmc17

They're baaaaaaccckkkk...!!

Just went to put something in the shed and got attacked. Can't see any sign of a nest inside though.

They're gonna be really pissed with you this time :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,931 ✭✭✭az2wp0sye65487

dmc17 wrote: »
    They're gonna be really pissed with you this time :P

Especially since I squashed the one that attacked me earlier

• Closed Accounts Posts: 965 ✭✭✭Doctor Strange

One thing I have noticed though is that I have only seen 1 wasp all summer which I had to kill because it was massive and in my room . They usually terrorise me every year and I expected to see even more with all the good weather but it's been the opposite. Just had a quick search there and found a thread on it too so it's not just me either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,943 ✭✭✭✭the purple tin

dmc17 wrote: »
    One thing I have noticed though is that I have only seen 1 wasp all summer which I had to kill because it was massive and in my room . They usually terrorise me every year and I expected to see even more with all the good weather but it's been the opposite. Just had a quick search there and found a thread on it too so it's not just me either.
    There seemed to be loads of them in the crappy weather and as soon as it got hot they vanished :confused: maybe they don't like the extreme heat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,389 ✭✭✭mattjack

A friend of mine bought an old house with his girlfriend and found a nest in his attic .... being a resourceful type of lad , he decided to dispose of it himself.

His GF invited us around for the event , beer and food were provided .

Anyway my friend dressed himself in wetsuit and armed himself with a hurley.

As he swung the hurley he lost his balance ,falling and ending up with a leg on either side of a joist almost debollocking himself.His GF pissed herself laughing at him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 126 ✭✭De Bellem

They're baaaaaaccckkkk...!!

Just went to put something in the shed and got attacked. Can't see any sign of a nest inside though.

Be careful because if you get stung it also lets others know who to go for.
    By releasing something in that process. The queen bee is the key. If there
    is one left alive then they will rebuild. Wasps do a lot of good during the summer
    killing other insects. etc Its only in autumn when there is not enough food available that they for example get drunk. Apples contain sugar and also are used in making cider . Why do think they get so cranky. Its either too much
    or the hangover afterwards. I just hope you do not live near an orchard

God help ye OP. I had a Huge nest of bastard Yellow Jackets wasps when I lived in the US. They lived behind the pool, and everytime I went outside and made noise they went for me :) Terrifying yokes.

had to get an exterminator in to evict them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 240 ✭✭Pai Mei

Jesus people are a lot braver than I am... I would just boycott that shed forever and then move away without telling the future owners about the massive nest in the shed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 126 ✭✭De Bellem

Last year I had the start of one in an old dog box. I recommend if you
    are successful this year in removing them that you varnish / paint the timber shed because the worker wasps chew the dry timber and convert it into a form of paper io make the nest. So if painted / varnished the problem of future nest building there is reduced a lot.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,801 ✭✭✭Ruudi_Mentari

I saw a wasps nest once, it looked foreboding like some kind of, wicked walnut whip with a sinister centre. other worldly you just know some kind of alien hornet bastards were in there..........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,819 ✭✭✭Aglomerado

I fcuking hate wasps. I found a nest in my shed a few weeks ago when I was going to get the lawnmower. It was only the size of a golfball, so I just whacked it with the grass box so that it fell in, then threw it on the lawn and mowed over it. Muahahahahaha. Bastards!
    If it was any bigger though, I would have run away...:o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,387 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

You could take a few tips from this guy - http://forum.bodybuilding.com/showthread.php?t=135103771&page=1