Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Off-Topic Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,698 ✭✭✭Gumbi

Heading home now on train. Many goodies just arrived. 4770k, dark rock pro 2, motherboard (z87xd3h), arctic accelero, nanoxia deep silence 1 + dat keyboard (you know, that one) xD

Lookin forward to it. :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,182 ✭✭✭Genghiz Cohen

Anyone ever buy an aftermarket cooler for a GTX 570?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,181 ✭✭✭Serephucus

Does a waterblock count? :P

Depends on the price :D

Not sure what to budget, if I spend more than €100 cooling a GPU that is 2 gens old, is it really worth it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,575 ✭✭✭NTMK

Chivalry is 75% off

GO BUY IT :D

Depends on the price :D

Not sure what to budget, if I spend more than €100 cooling a GPU that is 2 gens old, is it really worth it?

I spent 42 on my 7950... So I dunno. Water cooling is pretty expensive, and requires lots if other components, so unless integrating into a custom loop, it's probably not worth it. Arctic might make one for nVidia cards? Check out HWVS.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 792 ✭✭✭Topbike77

I don't know if any of ye saw my post in my build topic but I think ill ask ye here as well for more exposure. I sent back my 7950 to hardwareversand as the card I got was used. I just received a package from them today and it is a motherboard, what should I do? Anyone else have an experience like this?

They sent you a motherboard instead of a GPU? Impressively stupid, that one.

If it's a really high-end one that costs more than the GPU you ordered, I'd send it back for a refund... then order the GPU. :)

(In the much more likely event that it costs less, call them up, explain, and send it back, etc.)

Use a thick German accent. It really smooths the language barrier.

Its such a pain, it will be another two weeks before im up and running, as Its 8 days sending and receiving. The 8*** series will be out by the time im set up.

Ronan14 wrote: »
    Its such a pain, it will be another two weeks before im up and running, as Its 8 days sending and receiving. The 8*** series will be out by the time im set up.

Pity. Ask for a small refund for your troubles.

Just got off the phone with them. I asked if they could immediately dispatch a replacement but they said they had to receive the item first.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,399 ✭✭✭dwighet

Just got off the phone with them. I asked if they could immediately dispatch a replacement but they said they had to receive the item first.

Well that sux..

dwighet wrote: »
    Well that sux..

Tell them you already did that, and you would like them to send out the correct item at the same time as you, you already waited the jest time and it didnt work out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,535 ✭✭✭btkm8unsl0w5r4

Seem a few people including myself have had hardwareriverand send out used items.....whats the story there?

I think it must be when the item is out of stock, they should really email to confirm with you first. Even the motherboard that I got for some reason appears to be used.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,983 ✭✭✭✭tuxy

Was it marked as special item?
    It should be marked more clealry but special item is a fully working item that has been returned by another customer. They give a small discount on these items.

Lads im after installing windows 8 in English but my keyboard input and time and date are in feckin irish how do I change this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,325 ✭✭✭smileyj1987

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,387 ✭✭✭glynf

Lads im after installing windows 8 in English but my keyboard input and time and date are in feckin irish how do I change this?

Control Panel > Clock, language & region >Language; then click the 'advanced settings' tab on the left. You can select default input method here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,387 ✭✭✭glynf

Am I glad I went for 780's :D

1004468_523280891073087_421352240_n.png

I LOLed.

Building this tonight :)

- Nanoxia Deep Silence 1
    - Dark Rock Pro 2 + i7 4770k
    - Arctic Accelero Xtreme 7970 cooler
    - Gigabyte Z87x-D3H
    - CM Quickfire TK
    - 2 x Scythe Glide Stream 140mm 800RPM
    - Scythe Glide Stream 140mm PWM ~1300RPM

Plus some bits (cx430 + MSI 7770) for selling a second hand rig.

Can't wait to see how the 4770k, and, indeed, the 7950 + accelero performs :)

Parts arrived at last I see. :)

Interested in your thoughts on the DS1 as well.

Serephucus wrote: »
    Parts arrived at last I see. :)

Interested in your thoughts on the DS1 as well.

They arrived Friday, but it is only today (this moment) that I can begin building :). I'll post up some more pictures.

I really like the case so far. Very nice build quality. 2 front panels close magnetically. There are 3 DVD drive slots, which are covered by detachable meshes. There are 8 modular drives, 2 front 120mm fans, one exhaust 140mm. I hope they perform well.

The exhaust chimney is nice, it remains to be seen if it will help performance-wise.

I took tomorrow off so I could play with this :). The accelero takes a bit of time to install, so I will probably install that tomorrow morning. Overclocking the 4770k will take a bit if time too I imagine ;)

Here's a pic of all the goodies.

That is one hell of a cooler... (Accelero)

Fingers crossed you got a good 4770K! My other 3570K was a terrible chip. Wasn't stable at 4.5, even with 1.3V. Stuck with my old one, going to de-lid it at some point (read: when I'm arsed)

Weird thing though: I can't use the stock cooler any more. The chip idles at 80°C with it installed. I'm thinking maybe there was a little too much pressure on the waterblock, and it compressed the IHS slightly? Thermal paste not spreading confirms lack of contact. Maybe it's just a dud cooler or something.

Weird. How can you have a dud cooler, though? I mean, ultimately they're just a lump of metal that draws away the heat? That waterblock theory, might be something there.

My 3570k is grand. 4.6ghz at 1.3v.

Apparently, my particular 4770k batch is a "good" one (a particular one fro Malaysia) but IMHO much of that is BS (how can people properly determine that from a random spectrum of anecdotal overlclocks across the net?). Hopefully I'll get 4.6 with hyper-threading (to justify the jump over a 3570k at 4.6).

I'm looking forward to see how the accelero performs. The VRMs are a bitch to cool on my 7950 (even though it comes with dedicated heatsinks for all the components - memory, VRMs, etc.). I grabbed some thermal padding and shipped it from frozen cpu, I hope to achieve something from that (if there is also between the VRM heatsink and the main cooler fins that'd fill it. Eithe way, I can cool 1200mhz core at stock, it's just bloody loud :P The accelero is supposed to be fantastically quiet too, inaudible above case until 85% plus (3 fans only go to 2000RPM compared to the DualXs going to 3000 plus).

Oh, and a nice thing about it, too, is that it's compatible with AMD's next generation of cards, so it's a solid investment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,132 ✭✭✭game4it70

Serephucus wrote: »
    Weird thing though: I can't use the stock cooler any more. The chip idles at 80°C with it installed. I'm thinking maybe there was a little too much pressure on the waterblock, and it compressed the IHS slightly? Thermal paste not spreading confirms lack of contact. Maybe it's just a dud cooler or something.

You would have damaged the mobo or bent pins if you had enough pressure to bend/compress the IHS.
    There alot more solid than you think.

Maybe the stock cooler pins are a bit iffy and not doing the job?

@ Gumbi
    C'mon already get that 4770k fired up :D

Gimme a few hours :P I need to grab the PSU and 7950 from my current build.

80 degrees idle means something is up. Perhaps lapping either the chip or the cooler would help? Something is definitely wrong in any case. Oh, has anybody got any tips with regard to adding thermal paste on Haswell? The stock cooler has a ton of it added in a certain way, but it looks like too much. Oh, and should the accelero have as much as it does on? It is on the entire block.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,132 ✭✭✭game4it70

Gumbi wrote: »
    Gimme a few hours :P I need to grab the PSU and 7950 from my current build.

Ok,i'll suppose i'll let you off this time so :P :)