Bouncers

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

Phoenix wrote: »
    ever go to coppers in Portlaoise?

Yes but I live with one of the bouncers that works there so they're nice to me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 225 ✭✭SicklySweet

I can go out sober, but my high heels usually let me down. In Cork, i recently had a "domino effect" where the street was cobbly, so i hung onto my friend. Got turned away from one place, went across the road and got turned away from two more. Got into another place down the street :p Have yet to meet a bouncer who can differenciate the difference between drunk and can't walk in heels :pac:

My friend's boyfriend is a bouncer.He said he used to work at this club where the manager used to be watching the CCTVs and telling the bouncers to let them in or tell them to go away. Only pretty people allowed. Not sure how true it is though. :/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,250 ✭✭✭✭bumper234

I can go out sober, but my high heels usually let me down. In Cork, i recently had a "domino effect" where the street was cobbly, so i hung onto my friend. Got turned away from one place, went across the road and got turned away from two more. Got into another place down the street :p Have yet to meet a bouncer who can differenciate the difference between drunk and can't walk in heels :pac:

My friend's boyfriend is a bouncer.He said he used to work at this club where the manager used to be watching the CCTVs and telling the bouncers to let them in or tell them to go away. Only pretty people allowed. Not sure how true it is though. :/

Had a manager try that once in a pretty well known club in Dublin. I took my ear piece out and when he came up to the door from his office i told him if he wants to decide who gets in or not then he needs to stand at the door and stop them himself and also to take the abuse. He never tried it again and i ended up working there for nearly 3 years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,650 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

Arpa wrote: »
    I find them much more accommodating in recent times. If you frequent the same club you get to know the bouncers and usually a nod and a "Howiyah lads" will be grand for them to sweep you in.

Depends on where you are but match their accent, their tone, find something to ingratiate yourself to them. Don't be a di*k just look like you've come from a few pints in an audl Dublin pub. They seem to find that grand. If you rock up with a big accent on ye and looking all cocky there's no chance. Blend in, be part of the background. If you think about it...you don't want to stand out. You want to be just another bloke going into the club.

The problem with this is it's all bullsh1t. First and foremost a Bouncers job, and the job of anyone in a bar is Customer Service. They should be making an effort to feel like you are special, but not that you're lucky to be in the bar. More that the bar is lucky to have you. The bouncer shouldn't be making you feel awkward as you come to the door. They should be welcoming you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 131 ✭✭Rod Serling

I've never been stopped going in anywhere in Dublin and I've been in most places.. I'm usually a little inebriated before entering any bar or club and nod to the bouncer on my way in and it's never steered me wrong.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 53 ✭✭fatto

First and foremost a Bouncers job, and the job of anyone in a bar is Customer Service. They should be making an effort to feel like you are special, but not that you're lucky to be in the bar.

I agree. A bouncer I met in Galway once did indeed think I was special. He actually said 'you're a bit special, aren't you?'. He was very kind and courteous and was concerned that I was tired from standing in the queue so long. He was so worried about me that he kept offering to send me home in a wheelchair. I thought this was a lovely gesture from him. If only all bouncers could be as decent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 167 ✭✭Boofle

Haha, I remember going to the harriers back in the day (underage disco) with my friends and one of their younger sisters. The younger sister had big protruding but sleepy looking eyes. She was 14. The hassle we had trying to get her in. The bouncer accused her of being drunk, and sent her off over to the side of the building to sober up a bit. Her mother ended up coming in to bring her home, and had a go at the bouncer "my daughters not drunk this is how she looks all the time", and he was saying oh go on in, go in and enjoy your night.

Have to say the only bouncers that were assholes to me were the bouncers in the harriers, never in a nightclub.

Ha ha you have brought back many memories of my youth with the mention of Harriers! Memories I would rather remain buried :D

Back on topic though OP, that's a real shame that you were turned away. I have often been standing in the queue for a nightclub and saw perfectly decent/sober guys being turned away - when it was blatantly obvious that they weren't drunk. It's so unfair and it's basically some clown of a bouncer having a power trip. Pathetic really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,185 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

Never had any problems being stopped at the door and asked was I drunk but but one of them got heavy handed with me years ago after I was nutted in an unprovoked attack and when he saw the blood assumed I was at fault and nearly broke my arm throwing me out.

Never went to a nightclub since and have a general dislike of bouncers since that night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 442 ✭✭Arpa

The problem with this is it's all bullsh1t. First and foremost a Bouncers job, and the job of anyone in a bar is Customer Service. They should be making an effort to feel like you are special, but not that you're lucky to be in the bar. More that the bar is lucky to have you. The bouncer shouldn't be making you feel awkward as you come to the door. They should be welcoming you.

A bouncers job is not customer service, it's more..'Make sure most people in the venue are not absolute scumbags or smashed drunk' After that it's up to the bar staff to offer the customer service.

I actually think it's a good thing that you feel a bit awkward when approaching a club door. It makes your realise, if you're a bit pis*ed that you have to get your head together and be human because you're entering a place full of people whom you have to get along with.

Imagine the bouncers let in all those watsed scumbages that you see. We'd all have a stab wound or two.

What's worse is the Gardai, and this is probably another thread topic, but it seems to me that if you are from the same county...even town, as a Guard they will go leniently. If you have an accent that indicates southside or affluent Dublin, or are essentially more eductaed than the guard in their opinion...then you're going to be treated more severely. Small town Ireland sh*t again.

Maybe there's that prejudice with bouncers depending on their locale. A couple of times in my life I've been stopped by Seamus the bouncer who didn't let me in claiming I was too drunk but let in Paddy behind me because he knew he was from the same town as his mother's cousin's sister's friend.
    Depend's who you are and where you are...like most things in society. Not saying it's ok, just saying it like I see it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

I have arranged the solution to your woes in this clever sentence anagram:

Pubs Other Thousands Moany Hole City

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,102 ✭✭✭gw80

Boofle wrote: »
    Ha ha you have brought back many memories of my youth with the mention of Harriers! Memories I would rather remain buried :D

Back on topic though OP, that's a real shame that you were turned away. I have often been standing in the queue for a nightclub and saw perfectly decent/sober guys being turned away - when it was blatantly obvious that they weren't drunk. It's so unfair and it's basically some clown of a bouncer having a power trip. Pathetic really.

of coarse it is:rolleyes:

ever think that maybe the bouncers knew the guys they turned away from previously acting the dicks after they got drunk,

ever think that by turning these guys away that you ended up having a good night out by not having any hassle from these guys.

Im pretty sure that if most people on here giving out about bouncers were to do it for even just a couple of weeks they,ed have a different opinion about it.

Never had any problems being stopped at the door and asked was I drunk but but one of them got heavy handed with me years ago after I was nutted in an unprovoked attack and when he saw the blood assumed I was at fault and nearly broke my arm throwing me out.

Never went to a nightclub since and have a general dislike of bouncers since that night.

That's awful - they really should not get away with behaviour like that but unfortunately they do. You probably shouldn't let that experience stop you going to a nightclub though - if you want to, that is.

gw80 wrote: »

ever think that maybe the bouncers knew the guys they turned away from previously acting the dicks after they got drunk,

ever think that by turning these guys away that you ended up having a good night out by not having any hassle from these guys.

Im pretty sure that if most people on here giving out about bouncers were to do it for even just a couple of weeks they,ed have a different opinion about it.

No, sorry I don't agree with you. At all. Some of them are on major power trips. Nah, I wouldn't fancy being a bouncer for a few weeks thanks :P No one is forcing them to do that job - so no sympathy from me I'm afraid!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,185 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

That's awful - they really should not get away with behaviour like that but unfortunately they do. You probably shouldn't let that experience stop you going to a nightclub though - if you want to, that is.

Unfortunately this was way before the days of CCTV in a small town nightclub but if it was now I'd have both of them up on assault charges.

I'm 38 now so my clubbing days are long behind me either way.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 734 ✭✭✭Tom_Cruise

What you do is go away then return with a huge bunch of mates and beat the bouncers up, enter the club and then you are the king of that club.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 442 ✭✭Arpa

anncoates wrote: »
    I have arranged the solution to your woes in this clever sentence anagram:

Pubs Other Thousands Moany Hole City

You have drank a few pints and spent half an hour composing an anagram of what is more than likely a disastrous attempt at levity.

Do you know the amount of combinations? Do we use all letters?

Nothing has been solved in your "anagram". Nothing clever and it's not a sentence. Just more woe and no solution. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,102 ✭✭✭gw80

No, sorry I don't agree with you. At all. Some of them are on major power trips. Nah, I wouldn't fancy being a bouncer for a few weeks thanks :P No one is forcing them to do that job - so no sympathy from me I'm afraid!!

I agree with you there, some lads are on power trips but its not really as widespread as you would think,

i dont agree with your statement "no one is forcing them to do that job" is a bit of a silly statement, people who wash dishes all day in some hotel or cleaners, no one is forcing them to do them jobs either,but ya have to do what ya have to do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,763 ✭✭✭✭Crann na Beatha

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

Phoenix wrote: »
    Arent you lucky!

:confused: sorry?

I agree with you there, some lads are on power trips but its not really as widespread as you would think,

i dont agree with your statement "no one is forcing them to do that job" is a bit of a silly statement, people who wash dishes all day in some hotel or cleaners, no one is forcing them to do them jobs either,but ya have to do what ya have to do.

What I meant was that any time I have seen a thread on here that is bouncer related there is always a 'woe is me' sentiment from people who perhaps are bouncers or used to be.

I agree with your earlier post that they are definitely needed to weed out the possible knacks getting in etc (and indeed I was very grateful to one who got rid of a horrid guy who would not leave me alone in a club one night!) but sometimes they really do take the biscuit with their entry 'policies'!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58 ✭✭just_be_nice

Foxhound38 wrote: »
    Decided to head out last night - arranged to meet up with a couple of my friends in a well known Dublin establishment. Spent over 20 euro on a taxi in, spent about an hour getting ready, spent about 10 minutes queing...

"Sorry mate, you've had too much to drink tonight"

I don't drink full stop. And this was after the pisshead in front of me was nodded through after some begging.

I politely explained that I don't drink, had friends waiting on me in there, am 26, had spent a lot of money getting out there and a pretty safe bet not to be causing trouble. Nope - "not tonight friend". So I said "fair enough" and left, what else could I have done?

I'm still annoyed about it this morning - whole night wrecked, huge amount of money (in terms of what I earn) down the river, all because some idiot at the door was on a power trip...

I realize not all security personell are like this, but why in the world do some bouncers make calls like that?

You should write a letter to the owner or manager of this place. Tell them this story, and just let them know that due to this bouncer that you will never again give this place your custom. I would also add that (whether true or not) that a large group of your friends, who you were going to meet there, will also never go there again. Keep the letter polite, simple and to the point, just like your OP.

I think there is a good chance that they will have a word with the boucer, so at the very least he might either feel a little shame, or maybe even re-think his attitude.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,547 ✭✭✭Foxhound38

In fairness, I don't slate the profession - it's a difficult job they do, and a call often needs to be made one way or another. But there is a minority (and I do stress a minority) who get off on power tripping and arbitary refusal for pretty much no reason - and more commonly a refusal to reconsider when it becomes clear even to them that they made the wrong call. I have a feeling that's what happened to me last night - I can literally think of no other reason for refusing me. I was stone cold sober, dressed for the occassion, polite and I've never ever been involved in any trouble there or in any other establishment.