If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Farming Chit Chat II

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,786 ✭✭✭✭whelan1

My sister just asked me the relevance of the word combine in combine harvester.....:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,574 ✭✭✭dharn

First came the reaper and binder, then the thresher, this machine combines both, thats my guess

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,135 ✭✭✭kowtow

dharn wrote: »
    First came the reaper and binder, then the thresher, this machine combines both, thats my guess

"I've got a brand new multi-purpose reaper binder thresher, and I'll give you the key"

Just doesn't have the same ring to it..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 472 ✭✭quadboy

Is it bad if heifers get twice the recommended pour on dose

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,949 ✭✭✭delaval

quadboy wrote: »
    Is it bad if heifers get twice the recommended pour on dose

Factory first thing Monday

delaval wrote: »
    Factory first thing Monday
    Ah g'way wha?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 155 ✭✭hoseman

I doubt the factory will even take them .

Are ye just messing now or what

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,574 ✭✭✭dharn

Contact your vet, if they had high levels of fluke or worms, the sudden kill might cause problems

It was for flies

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 499 ✭✭huey1975

They will be grand. If they didn't have an allergic reaction fairly quickly you have nothing to worry about. Maybe increase your withdrawal period by 50%

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,466 ✭✭✭naughto

Thats Garvey, he has a fendt added aswell now!!

975542_492679467467790_420150187_n.jpg?oh=b923d5fe0e2f19dac085627dc2d44fc1&oe=51E2555E&__gda__=1373810908_7e7721dca73f69e7b81ef3092addbf24
    some money sitting in that field.
    spent the day at the beach again today this hard work

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,900 ✭✭✭mf240

quadboy wrote: »
    It was for flies

gway their no flies on you.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,466 ✭✭✭naughto

mf240 wrote: »
    if they are there dead ones

Ah feck off now yere all takin the piss. Whats the appropriate punishment for lads belting things off your shed, tar an feather?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,087 ✭✭✭vanderbadger

DaNiEl1994 wrote: »
    i know the man your talking about, he has a small zetor powering the big wrapper hydraulics must be good in her

ya thats him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,992 ✭✭✭dzer2

DaNiEl1994 wrote: »
    i know the man your talking about, he has a small zetor powering the big wrapper hydraulics must be good in her

Hydraulics on the old zetors are massive I have a tanco wrapper on a 7320 zetor and if I drive the wrapper at full pelt i can send the bale into orbit. Have a neighbour doing contracting and he gets me to do all his double wrapping.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,142 ✭✭✭rancher

Heading to Canada in the morning, supposed to be a lot warmer there......see some real farms

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,237 ✭✭✭Username John

rancher wrote: »
    Heading to Canada in the morning, supposed to be a lot warmer there......see some real farms

very nice. What part are you heading to?
    Enjoy it anyways...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,363 ✭✭✭Juniorhurler

mf240 wrote: »

And if they are on they are paying rent on a per second basis.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭darragh_haven

My parents were in Canada last year. They said it was sad to see "real farms" as you put it, but no real farmers. Most of the large holdings were owned by corporations or banks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,786 ✭✭✭✭whelan1

Went to butlers chocolate factory today. Brilliant tour. Staying in hotel for girls holiday. Kids having a ball

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,142 ✭✭✭rancher

very nice. What part are you heading to?
    Enjoy it anyways...
    An arranged trip and all I know is Toronto-Ottawa-montreal.....and be in the airport at 8am tomorrow.....should be good

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭Conmaicne Mara

Nice one, always wanted to see Canada. Enjoy the trip, don't forget the camera. My Dad used to work in Montreal in the early 60's, said the sea used to freeze over, so you might be glad of the heat as opposed to the cold there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 453 ✭✭Milton09

Blasted haybob, sent a stone (I presume) through the windscreen of the tractor today :mad: - still lucky it wasnt through my head I suppose.

Milton09 wrote: »
    Blasted haybob, sent a stone (I presume) through the windscreen of the tractor today :mad: - still lucky it wasnt through my head I suppose.

We normally put the haybob on the back of the tractor:rolleyes::rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,422 ✭✭✭just do it

On a fast broadband connection - wow what a difference! Best I can get at home is 0.8MB as we're at the end of the line from the exchange.

Getting a 30day SIM only from emobile tomorrow so I'll be interested to see what speeds I get over their 3G network. Talked to someone with them and seemly network coverage is good. Time will tell....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 839 ✭✭✭Dampintheattic

just do it wrote: »
    On a fast broadband connection - wow what a difference! Best I can get at home is 0.8MB as we're at the end of the line from the exchange.

Getting a 30day SIM only from emobile tomorrow so I'll be interested to see what speeds I get over their 3G network. Talked to someone with them and seemly network coverage is good. Time will tell....

Got fibre at work this week. 70mb down. 35mb up. Actual speeds achieved. Whoosh!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,408 ✭✭✭bbam

whelan1 wrote: »
    Went to butlers chocolate factory today. Brilliant tour. Staying in hotel for girls holiday. Kids having a ball

Have done maintenance in chocolate factory, up market one too... Jesus its dirty work.. dirty!!

Sitting up watching T in the park with the twins just got a request can they go to see Bruce in the park:D something must be wearing off on them;);)