Why do people litter ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,147 ✭✭✭PizzamanIRL

Because they think if they cant see the litter, its not there so its not a problem, but someone along the line has to clean up at some stage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,387 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

More civilised countries seem to manage fine without any litter bins.
    Can you name some of these? I don't recall having any trouble in other countries when trying to get rid of rubbish.

I just took a look on google street view in amsterdam and saw a bin alright.

First street view I pick in NY and see 2 bins
    https://maps.google.ie/maps?q=manhattan&hl=en&ll=40.7585,-73.985146&spn=0.00345,0.006968&sll=53.3834,-8.21775&sspn=11.139078,28.54248&t=h&hnear=Manhattan,+New+York,+United+States&z=18&layer=c&cbll=40.7585,-73.985146&panoid=y6IoTWYSOZbFBfA1OXCJCA&cbp=12,87.68,,0,3.74

Maybe these countries you do know of had more retail outlets with bins, you used to see loads of HB & other advertisment bins outside shops years ago.

What always struck me is driving through small Irish towns with "tidy town" winner signs up. These towns are often littered, littered with bins that is, you could hardly drop something without it falling into one.

I was reading some corpo meeting minutes saying it costs about €1000 per year to have a bin in dublin, for all costs involved.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,339 ✭✭✭Artful_Badger

ScumLord wrote: »
    I feel the same way about pissing in the street, people need to piss and are going to piss when drunk. It doesn't matter what you say or do to try and stop them it's going to happen. Provide public toilets or stop crying about it.

I'm sorry but that's just ridiculous. Its like saying people will steal, lets not complain about it, lets pay them off. Littering and pissing in public are illegal and completely unnecessary and done only by ignorant, lazy idiots. Sure it would be more convenient to have lots of toilets and bins about but to suggest that people shouldn't complain if they are not willing to spend tax payers money to cater for ignorant idiots is just (no offence meant to you personally here) stupid.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,671 ✭✭✭BraziliaNZ

I'm sorry but that's just ridiculous. Its like saying people will steal, lets not complain about it, lets pay them off. Littering and pissing in public are illegal and completely unnecessary and done only by ignorant, lazy idiots. Sure it would be more convenient to have lots of toilets and bins about but to suggest that people shouldn't complain if they are not willing to spend tax payers money to cater for ignorant idiots is just (no offence meant to you personally here) stupid.

Well, in Brixton, at the weekend, they set up those piss stalls on the high st, where you can take a piss. Those things can't cost that much. Doesn't Temple bar have them? I'm sure I've seen them there. If we live in a booze fuelled nation like Ireland, where drinks companies and vintners etc have a large say in our way of living, surely the gov can afford a few piss stalls to be put out at the weekend?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,387 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

Its like saying people will steal, lets not complain about it, lets pay them off.
    ehh, we do "pay them off", if there was no social welfare there would be a lot more robbing going on, people need to eat, and piss, its a basic fundamental needs.

From the state of many pubs they do not want to provide facilities to deal with all the drink they are plying you with.
    Littering and pissing in public are illegal and completely unnecessary and done only by ignorant, lazy idiots.
    I know numerous people who have been caught short and have to go piss outside, from all walks of life, many very intelligent people, certainly not idiots.

What exactly do you think they are ignorant of? do they not know the trick of using toilets in mcdonalds or something?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,546 ✭✭✭mayo.mick

What was left for the local tidy towns to deal with a couple of Sundays ago :mad:

DSC_3430-RubbishdumpedatDavittPlace_zps5a6eebc5.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,787 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

I'm sorry but that's just ridiculous. Its like saying people will steal, lets not complain about it, lets pay them off.
    It's not the same thing at all, urination is a basic bodily function that can't be stopped. I pissed in an alley once in London last year. I came out of the pub and was no more than 5 minute walk from my hotel. I decided to go around a different way so I could confirm the location of the bus stop I needed to use the next day. I got horribly lost at 2 in the morning, I walked for an hour holding the piss but eventually had to find an alley. I'm not damaging my body and polluting my blood over social politeness. I had no intention of pissing in the street but got caught short.

If you've got to go, you've got to go.

rubadub wrote: »
    ehh, we do "pay them off", if there was no social welfare there would be a lot more robbing going on, people need to eat, and piss, its a basic fundamental needs.

Ehh social welfare isnt a pay off to stop thieves thieving, its social welfare to ensure people can have a basic standard of living.
    From the state of many pubs they do not want to provide facilities to deal with all the drink they are plying you with.

I know numerous people who have been caught short and have to go piss outside, from all walks of life, many very intelligent people, certainly not idiots.

What exactly do you think they are ignorant of? do they not know the trick of using toilets in mcdonalds or something?

I have never been in a pub in my life that didnt have usable toilets, the pubs provide everything they need to. The problem is people incapable of taking responsibility for themselves. There is no need to be pissing in public, it is entirely unavoidable if someone wants to avoid it so I'd consider it nothing but ignorance to choose not to avoid it. These are mostly people who stay until they are told to leave, drinking as much as they can, and end up in public with everywhere closed bursting for a piss. Ignorant and stupid imo. Drink tends to do that to people I know but thats no excuse in my book.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,635 ✭✭✭Pumpkinseeds

Littering is such a scummy thing to do. I was opening our bedroom window last Sunday evening and a young wan came out of a house across the street to get in a car. She drained the last drop from a can of coke then just threw the can on the ground. I mean why? she could have binned it before leaving the house. I don't know why it bothered me so much.

BraziliaNZ wrote: »
    Well, in Brixton, at the weekend, they set up those piss stalls on the high st, where you can take a piss. Those things can't cost that much. Doesn't Temple bar have them? I'm sure I've seen them there. If we live in a booze fuelled nation like Ireland, where drinks companies and vintners etc have a large say in our way of living, surely the gov can afford a few piss stalls to be put out at the weekend?

Sure there are options in dealing with it but to suggest its the fault of those who dont provide the toilets rather then the idiots pissing in the streets or that people should bend to cater for people breaking the law or just accept it is ludicrous.

It's not the same thing at all, urination is a basic bodily function that can't be stopped. I pissed in an alley once in London last year. I came out of the pub and was no more than 5 minute walk from my hotel. I decided to go around a different way so I could confirm the location of the bus stop I needed to use the next day. I got horribly lost at 2 in the morning, I walked for an hour holding the piss but eventually had to find an alley. I'm not damaging my body and polluting my blood over social politeness. I had no intention of pissing in the street but got caught short.

If you've got to go, you've got to go.

It is the same thing, its illegal to piss in public. You are an adult human being and should be responsible enough to be able to function in society to the standard expected. Bodily function or not it doesnt excuse you from having to adhere to the same standards everyone else does.

You might have had no option in your scenario but that doesnt cover the entire issue. A person starving who steals an apple is breaking a law but will be looked on as having done something that was necessary. But it doesnt mean you can ignore the law to steal entirely. The laws still need to exist and be enforced because its not the odd time when it cant be avoided thats the problem its the widespread attitude that you can ignore these laws at will that the problem. And in my experience and I'm sure its yours too the vast majority of times I have encountered public urination its not the poor guy lost in the small hours, its the throngs of people exiting pubs after closing and just pissing whevere they feel like because they put themselves in a position to need to use the toilet when they know full well none are available.

Littering is the same. Its not people who have no alternative, its people who just dont care. And you dont cater for ignorance, you penalise it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 331 ✭✭james142

Littering is fun

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,122 ✭✭✭BeerWolf

Even though Ireland's got anti-littering law, with a fine of €150 on the spot, or €3000 if brought to court [ :pac: ], how often are people actually fined ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 980 ✭✭✭Freddy Smelly

the same could be said about graffitti.

why bother spraying dano woz ere on a wall?? it looks sh!t and just makes dano look sad

It is the same thing, its illegal to piss in public. You are an adult human being and should be responsible enough to be able to function in society to the standard expected. Bodily function or not it doesnt excuse you from having to adhere to the same standards everyone else does.
    Bodily function does superseded law. You can't expect someone to injure or kill themselves just to save a wall from a bit of urine.
    The laws still need to exist and be enforced because its not the odd time when it cant be avoided thats the problem its the widespread attitude that you can ignore these laws at will that the problem.
    You can enforce the law all you want but it won't stop people pissing in the street. Especially drunk people. If there is no alternative to pissing in the street then people will piss in the street. If public toilets are provided and people still piss in the streets then I've absolutely no problem with them being charged because then you can say with certainty they were simply being pricks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,085 ✭✭✭SpaceTime

Slobs with no sense of community tend to be the ones who do it.

They just don't seem to comprehend that it is *their* street, town, city, countryside or have absolutely no civic pride.

I think there's a lack of 'ownership' of the country instilled in people here compared to say France (which I am familiar with). Some people get involved but lots don't.

The school system being largely not community based has a big part to play i think.

In France tie primary school is linked to the village, town, subrub and the whole sense of civic pride in your area.

In Ireland the school is linked to a religious parish. It's not quite the same thing.

You've also got totally useless local government in Ireland. The city and county councils are weak and the councillors are largely irrelevant to people's lives.

You see how tidy town committee structures work well because they're people powered and can deliver physical results. Where as it's likely that may of us couldn't even name a local councillor and in the two biggest cities, I would reckon a lot of people are unable to tell you who the mayor is or who the city manager is and what they do.

We need to restructure local government and make it more powerful and accountable. Executive mayors for the major cities and and towns with maybe five regional mayors running the rest would make more sense than the mess we have now!

We also need a lot more civic education and getting kids and teens involved in the community!

Litter to me just says : no connection and no pride in one's place.

If you're claim to be a proud Dub, Corkonian, Galwegian etc then chuck your rubbish on the ground you should hang your head in shame!

Its like saying your house proud and taking a leak on the living room carpet!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48 SkyBlooo

You have to laugh at about 90% of people here, on their high (spotless) horses.
    They're probably the same people who throw smokes/chewing gum.

Bodily function does superseded law. You can't expect someone to injure or kill themselves just to save a wall from a bit of urine.

I dont think it does to be perfectly honest. You cant supersede law because you drink so much you have to piss. Its the same get out clause as taking too much drugs and then claiming you had no choice but to go ape shít. You put yourself in that position so just because the result is outside your control doesnt mean your not responsible for it and the laws that are broken because of it. And I'm not well up on the effects of holding in your piss too long, doesnt seem to be too many deaths when ya google it though, just some talk about myths about exploding bladder (you will piss yourself before your bladder explodes apparently) and that ones famous story of the radio contest. But if there is significant risk then drinking like a mad eejit is all the more stupid and ignorant as far as I see.

You can enforce the law all you want but it won't stop people pissing in the street. Especially drunk people. If there is no alternative to pissing in the street then people will piss in the street. If public toilets are provided and people still piss in the streets then I've absolutely no problem with them being charged because then you can say with certainty they were simply being pricks.

A prick breaking the law is no different than an idiot breaking the law, ignorance is no excuse. If you think its fine to piss in public now when it is unnecessary and avoidable then how is it any different with a public toilet down the road ? It will still be unnecessary and avoidable. There already is toilets in every pub in the country and people still piss on the streets within 10 minutes of leaving.

More public toilets is an option and perhaps it would help somewhat but your original argument was that you either accept and cater for drunken people who piss in public or you stop crying about drunken people pissing in public. Which is a ridiculous argument.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,085 ✭✭✭SpaceTime

SkyBlooo wrote: »

Doubt it - those people probably can't use a computer!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,638 ✭✭✭Teyla Emmagan

Because they are knackers.

Edit, I'm actually going to amend that to 'because they are scumbags' if anyone thinks I mean Travellers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,208 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

Most smokers are bad for it. They don't seem to consider throwing a cigarette butt on the ground as littering.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,207 ✭✭✭EazyD

And how may I ask you did you come to such a conclusion? Or are you just posting for attention?

I dont think it does to be perfectly honest. You cant supersede law because you drink so much you have to piss.
    You can and you will. Someone who's drunk and needs a piss will piss. You can have all the laws you want it won't change that fact. You can put guards on every corner and enforce the law and it still won't stop people pissing and forcing them to piss their pants isn't really an option.

It's like expecting it to stop raining because you pass a law making rain illegal. It's pointless and won't stop it raining.

Its the same get out clause as taking too much drugs and then claiming you had no choice but to go ape shít.
    It's not the same thing, if I drink water I'll still need a piss, it has nothing to do with being drunk. Pissing is not a choice it's a necessity.

And I'm not well up on the effects of holding in your piss too long, doesnt seem to be too many deaths when ya google it though,
    Holding onto waste products and backing up the bodies ability to clean blood can't be good for you.

A prick breaking the law is no different than an idiot breaking the law, ignorance is no excuse.
    It is an excuse, you might not accept it but many others do.

More public toilets is an option and perhaps it would help somewhat but your original argument was that you either accept and cater for drunken people who piss in public or you stop crying about drunken people pissing in public. Which is a ridiculous argument.
    Catering for people that need to piss while away from home was my argument and you do that by making public toilets. I never said allow drunks to piss in the street.

You can and you will. Someone who's drunk and needs a piss will piss. You can have all the laws you want it won't change that fact. You can put guards on every corner and enforce the law and it still won't stop people pissing and forcing them to piss their pants isn't really an option.

Ah no you cant because it does not supercede the law. According to this piece of legal advice (I dont care enough to look further afield) unless there is a medical condition the need to go isnt considered sufficient reason to break the law.

And the rest can be said about everything related to drunken behaviour. Because drunks dont behave like responsible people so laws generally are meaningless to them. But you cant lump the responsibility of babysitting drunks on the council to avoid them having to take responsibility for themselves. If they cant behave like civilised people in a civilised society then they should be convicted and jailed/fined for their offences the same as any other person for any other offence and maybe they might cop on a bit.
    It's like expecting it to stop raining because you pass a law making rain illegal. It's pointless and won't stop it raining.

No its like expecting people to be responsibly adults and adhering to the law. This is generally the thing to do in every other aspect of life. Yet people in this country think they have an inherent right to get pissed and avoid all responsibly for what happens because of that.
    It's not the same thing, if I drink water I'll still need a piss, it has nothing to do with being drunk. Pissing is not a choice it's a necessity.

And more than likely nothing to do with the public urination problem which stems for the pubs and drunks, so of no relevance to what we are talking about.
    Holding onto waste products and backing up the bodies ability to clean blood can't be good for you.

From what I've read a prolonged period of holding it in can result in infections but it never gave a time frame. As for backing up the bodies ability to clean the blood I dont know if it ever does that as I stated it seems you will eventually reach a point where you will piss yourself.

It is an excuse, you might not accept it but many others do.

Being an idiot is a valid excuse for breaking the law ? I dont know who accepts that but I'm pretty sure the courts dont. I never heard of someone getting off on the grounds they were an idiot rather than a prick.
    Catering for people that need to piss while away from home was my argument and you do that by making public toilets. I never said allow drunks to piss in the street.

I never said you said allow drunks to piss in the streets. You said people were going to piss when drunk so either provide them with toilets or stop crying about it. So either cater for drunks so they dont have to take any responsibility for themselves, or accept they are going to piss in the streets. God forbid people should act like responsible adults and be held to account when they dont.

EazyD wrote: »
    And how may I ask you did you come to such a conclusion? Or are you just posting for attention?

Uhm, the latter....... :rolleyes:

Maybe my maths aren't correct but it's safe to say that a lot of the people who are being quite judgmental to others, will probably go out on the weekend in a drunken blur and litter smokes and chewing gum, possibly even a messy kebab because we all know everybody picks up every single shred that gets dropped.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,192 ✭✭✭HungryJoey

Just today, I was wondering the very same thing. Sitting in traffic, a lad in a van going the opposite direction just "flicked" his toffee crisp wrapper out the window and carried on, no conscience.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,428 ✭✭✭.jacksparrow.

Was out on howth pier the other day and I swear to god every 3 feet was empty drink bottles wrappers smashed glass, but bins every ten feet, I was discusted, it was horrific, some animals literally dragged up out there.

Uhm, the latter....... :rolleyes:

Maybe my maths aren't correct but it's safe to say that a lot of the people who are being quite judgmental to others, will probably go out on the weekend in a drunken blur and litter smokes and chewing gum, possibly even a messy kebab because we all know everybody picks up every single shred that gets dropped.

Well for a start not everyone drinks, then not everyone smokes/chews gum, then not everyone who drinks or smokes or chews gum eats kebabs, then not everyone who eats kebabs drops it all over the floor. Taking me as an example, I neither drink, smoke, chew gum or eat kebabs.

I'd say the amount of people on this thread giving out about litter that do all or any of what you are saying would be very small.

Well for a start not everyone drinks, then not everyone smokes/chews gum, then not everyone who drinks or smokes or chews gum eats kebabs, then not everyone who eats kebabs drops it all over the floor. Taking me as an example, I neither drink, smoke, chew gum or eat kebabs.

I'd say the amount of people on this thread giving out about litter that do all or any of what you are saying would be very small.

Wow, fair play!!!

Just pointing out "it's safe to say that a lot" does not mean everyone, including you.

Wow, fair play!!!

Just pointing out "it's safe to say that a lot" does not mean everyone, including you.

Its not safe to say a lot though which is my point.