petrol station worker threatened with machete

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,109 ✭✭✭✭Potential-Monke

shur was'nt spar ballybegs front door ram raided last night!!!

Try about a week ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,118 ✭✭✭spankmemunkey

S28382 wrote: »
    But who is turning a blind eye....... there is plenty of positives aswell as negatives about Ballybeg as there is of anywhere whether its an affluent area or not but you dont seem to see that your threads about this issue are about Ballybeg and you only know about it because you know some working out there....well guess what so do i and i dont hear as much bad stuff as you seem to so maybe it isnt as bad as you are making it out to be.

I spent 27 yrs living in Ballybeg and i seen some bad stuff and some good stuff and while some of its reputation is warranted some of it isnt and its storytellers like you that are continuing to give the place its bad name.
    No its not stories like mine its actions like being attacked by a machete during your working day that gives it a bad name I'm not having a go at ballybeg your defensive and see it that way. Was your friend working in the petrol station when it was attacked? Easy to play down when you don't have a machete in your face or maybe they are like you and don't want the negative attention in ballybeg/tesco

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 773 ✭✭✭echosound

its storytellers like you that are continuing to give the place its bad name.

Surely it's the thugs who are wielding machetes that are the ones who are giving any area a bad name, rather than the poster who posts the information that such an event has occurred? (and what's to say the attackers are from ballybeg themselves, they could be from anywhere in the country).

I don't see why any report of an attack like this should either a) not be mentioned at all or b) mentioned, but also have to list out all the good things about whatever area the attack happened to occur in.

Hope the workers who got threatened are doing ok, these kinds of things can have serious effects on people even if they weren't physically hurt in the attack.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,689 ✭✭✭Media999

This is pathetic. Attack the OP for posting the story. Not even gonna bother reading rest of comments.

3v4sx6.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,518 ✭✭✭stefan idiot jones

I don't think it's the fact of the subject matter or the location, it's the repeatedly negative posts started by the OP .
    The OP has stated quite clearly before about regretting buying a house in Waterford, being stuck here and the general apathy towards the local Irish people which annoys people.

Where is the balance ?

It seems all doom and gloom around that area because that is all that is being posted. I'm not saying that it is all fairies and cupcakes in Ballybeg, but a constant list of negative threads started that winds prople up.

To me it says more about the OP's outlook and state of mind than the area as no one else on this forum reports the goings on that occur around the said estate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 408 ✭✭Totally Tropical

echosound wrote: »
    Surely it's the thugs who are wielding machetes that are the ones who are giving any area a bad name, rather than the poster who posts the information that such an event has occurred? (and what's to say the attackers are from ballybeg themselves, they could be from anywhere in the country).

I don't see why any report of an attack like this should either a) not be mentioned at all or b) mentioned, but also have to list out all the good things about whatever area the attack happened to occur in.

Hope the workers who got threatened are doing ok, these kinds of things can have serious effects on people even if they weren't physically hurt in the attack.

Exactly what happened has happened and that's the reality of the situation.I find the notion that you have to keep quiet about things like this just because it offends the politically correct brigade to be a load of crap to be honest.Pretending that there is no problem and that everything is fine and dandy only serves to make the situation worse.How can we fix a problem if we can't bring ourselves to recognise that there's a problem in the first place?Im sure the decent law abiding people in Ballybeg that are affected by this carry on would agree with me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,217 ✭✭✭Samsgirl

This thread is going to go nowhere fast.

Well done OP for another pointless thread.:confused:

I don't think the op started a pointless thread. They were reporting an incident that actually happened. The reason it went nowhere is because the op was attacked for doing so.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,326 ✭✭✭S28382

Samsgirl wrote: »
    I don't think the op started a pointless thread. They were reporting an incident that actually happened. The reason it went nowhere is because the op was attacked for doing so.

Ah here dont be so dramatic no one attacked anyone....well apart from some one getting attacked in Ballybeg but sure that happens all the time so tis grand.:pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25,953 ✭✭✭✭kryogen

The Ballinakill centre on the Dunmore road now has security every day, its not a problem confined to just one area of the city, anti social behaviour can happen anywhere

kryogen wrote: »
    The Ballinakill centre on the Dunmore road now has security every day, its not a problem confined to just one area of the city, anti social behaviour can happen anywhere

That's true and anti social behaviour and criminal activity can happen in any part of any urban area regardless of so called reputations.However this incident happened at the Tesco service station in Ballybeg not on the Dunmore Road.Of course robberies are happening all over the place but that still doesn't make the incident in Ballybeg okay.If i was that shop worker that was threatened in that manner the fact that it happens all over town still wouldn't make me feel better.No one should just throw their hands up in the air in exasperation and accept this behaviour as normal.I think this ah sure it's grand it's happening everywhere attitude causes more harm than good in the long run.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 24,073 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sully

That's true and anti social behaviour and criminal activity can happen in any part of any urban area regardless of so called reputations.However this incident happened at the Tesco service station in Ballybeg not on the Dunmore Road.Of course robberies are happening all over the place but that still doesn't make the incident in Ballybeg okay.If i was that shop worker that was threatened in that manner the fact that it happens all over town still wouldn't make me feel better.No one should just throw their hands up in the air in exasperation and accept this behaviour as normal.I think this ah sure it's grand it's happening everywhere attitude causes more harm than good in the long run.

Don't think that's the point being made. Some people feel that the OP has an issue in particular with Ballybeg/Tesco in Ballybeg because he has brought the topic up a number of times. Nothing to do with the incident itself and the traumatic experience it must have been for the staff involved- even those not involved for fear it may happen to them.

The OP says otherwise though so both sides have made their point tbh.

No one said it was ok its terrible that it happened but as has been said already the OP seems to like posting about it when it happens in Ballybeg because his friend tells him all about it.

Ignorance is bliss, he doesnt know about other things happening on a regular basis because he doesnt have insider info on everything so therefore nothing gets posted but as soon as he hears from his friend the gossip then starts. :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 734 ✭✭✭Tom_Cruise

Ive never lived in Ballybeg but i cant be that bad is it? Its only a tiny little estate, its not like its the bronx or anything lol. Im pretty sure robberies and all that happen in every part of the country.

Tom_Cruise wrote: »
    Ive never lived in Ballybeg but i cant be that bad is it? Its only a tiny little estate, its not like its the bronx or anything lol. Im pretty sure robberies and all that happen in every part of the country.

It has a reputation for being a bad place and sometimes it is warranted and MOST times not. Silly threads like this blow it all out of proportion and your right sh*t like this happens all over the country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,689 ✭✭✭Media999

Tom_Cruise wrote: »

Ardmore park is the problem. Ballybeg has a lower crime rate than a lot of estates. people tend to call Ardmore park area Ballybeg.

Media999 wrote: »
    Ardmore park is the problem. Ballybeg has a lower crime rate than a lot of estates. people tend to call Ardmore park area Ballybeg.

True you take the Ardmore/Clonard Park area out of the equation then Ballybeg is no worse than anywhere else.

Sully wrote: »
    Don't think that's the point being made. Some people feel that the OP has an issue in particular with Ballybeg/Tesco in Ballybeg because he has brought the topic up a number of times. Nothing to do with the incident itself and the traumatic experience it must have been for the staff involved- even those not involved for fear it may happen to them.

The OP says otherwise though so both sides have made their point tbh.
    The ponit wasnt being made about ballybeg, the point was being made about the attack on a worker in a new petrol station thats been done 4 times but thats not even the point, it is news worthy to some people as weve seen by some of the other post, and yes maybe I do post or have posted about this place in general before but thats because I'm privee to that info and some people in their OPINION, think its an attack on ballybeg its not and thats that.

Some people see it as an opportunity to point out other older threads but they obviously don't read all my threads as one recently I suggested to poster to move to ballybeg, sounds like someone who hates ballybag, and some posters one in particular loves having a go becos I rubbished his theory that tesco were diluting petrol in the back of the petrol station and it wud destroy all cars on the road, some conspiracy theory or other like that. There was another thread reasons to be positive in waterford, yeah I really do hate this area, I must start reading back all older posts from other posters and sling them back at them in the future.

The ponit wasnt being made about ballybeg, the point was being made about the attack on a worker in a new petrol station thats been done 4 times but thats not even the point, it is news worthy to some people as weve seen by some of the other post, and yes maybe I do post or have posted about this place in general before but thats because I'm privee to that info and some people in their OPINION, think its an attack on ballybeg its not and thats that.

Some people see it as an opportunity to point out other older threads but they obviously don't read all my threads as one recently I suggested to poster to move to ballybeg, sounds like someone who hates ballybag, and some posters one in particular loves having a go becos I rubbished his theory that tesco were diluting petrol in the back of the petrol station and it wud destroy all cars on the road, some conspiracy theory or other like that. There was another thread reasons to be positive in waterford, yeah I really do hate this area, I must start reading back all older posts from other posters and sling them back at them in the future.

I for one have never re read anyones previous posts on Boards just to show them up but i do remember some of your threads ie; the first thread about Tesco Ballybeg, the thread about Templars Hall and now of course this one so you seem to have a thing about housing estates, where do you live as you must live in paradise my friend.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 24,073 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sully

When someone has posted about a particular area / business on a number of occasions, people tend to remember. Its the same thing repeatedly rather than something new and different each time. Nobody is digging up your old posts, most people just remember the rough edges of the posts on a particular issue. So when you created another thread on the same issue, people remembered.

Nobody is trying to slag you off, people just felt that it was a bit odd and that you seemed to have an issue with the area/business since you post about it so often. You claim otherwise and other people have made their own minds up. That's all I was saying.

Sully wrote: »
    When someone has posted about a particular area / business on a number of occasions, people tend to remember. Its the same thing repeatedly rather than something new and different each time. Nobody is digging up your old posts, most people just remember the rough edges of the posts on a particular issue. So when you created another thread on the same issue, people remembered.

Nobody is trying to slag you off, people just felt that it was a bit odd and that you seemed to have an issue with the area/business since you post about it so often. You claim otherwise and other people have made their own minds up. That's all I was saying.

Okay thats fine but like I said maybe its because I'm privee to info there that I repeated myself, however its not a pop at ballybeg and I think that a robberry in a petrol station involving a machete is news worthy and that people should know whats going on and what people have to put up with in their working day.

Was it on Wlr? if not then its not really news worthy for the folks of Waterford. :)

well it was actually :-)

Ah well that changes everything so.....i stand corrected Ballybeg is the cesspit of Waterford :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22 Despot Dan

Ah well that changes everything so.....i stand corrected

One - Nil to Spank

Despot Dan wrote: »
    One - Nil to Spank

What? i didnt realise you were that sad that you are keeping score on something that i didnt know i was playing in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22 Despot Dan

What? i didnt realise you were that sad that you are keeping score

You didn't ? Well you were wrong.
    Oops! 2-nil down
    That one has to be chalked up as an OG.
    Man! you need a whole lotta Fergie Time.

Despot Dan wrote: »
    You didn't ? Well you were wrong.
    Oops! 2-nil down
    That one has to be chalked up as an OG.
    Man! you need a whole lotta Fergie Time.

Haha you are hilarious do you mind if subscribe to your posts as i bet they are going to be unmissable.

Despot Dan = Boards legend after 12 posts........good on you sir.

Right im just going to click the subscribe button be back in a jiffy.

True you take the Ardmore/Clonard Park area out of the equation then Ballybeg is no worse than anywhere else.

Of course it would be no harm to add that it's just a small minority of troublemakers that are causing problems in the Ardmore and Clonard Park area.In general i think there's parts of Dublin Limerick and Cork that are a lot worse than the so called rougher parts of Waterford.Of course the guards don't really care about the problems in working class areas and from my own personal experience that attitude is consistent with gardai in Waterford Cork and Galway.So the decent law abiding citizens in these areas have no one to back them up from troublesome and antisocial elements.Some people might take umbrage with that but im just speaking from personal experience.

Okay I see what your saying but in fairness I wasnt highlighting crime in ballybeg I was highlighting an attack on somebody which seemed crazy enough for the middle of the day in a petrol station, I wasnt highlighting an area in particular, I will be staying in waterford as I bought a house here and well I have to make the most of it but I also think that crimes like this must be highlighted so people know the lie of the land and so we know whats broken and what needs to be fixed, that does sound like I'm simplyfying it a bit, butbif you don't know theres a problem then you don't know it needs fixing, there may be people of power or influence reading this and it might surprise them, but certainly not talking about it isnt going to resolve the situation, I have spoken to local councillors about some issues in the area and I don't just moan for the sake of it, sometimes the squeeky wheel gets the oil and I do believe there are changes on the way for that area but as we all know sometimes words just turn out to be words and if I didn't care I just wouldnt bother.

Don't worry you have no case to answer to me.Im 100% behind your stance.You are well within your rights to post about these incidents imo.People seem to be attacking you because you always go on about Ballybeg but sure Ballybeg is your local area.Some people oddly enough seem to demand that you also complain about things happening on the other side of town in the Dunmore Road and Grantstown just to balance out your posts about Ballybeg!