Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Farming Chit Chat II

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭reilig

Heard a story last night about a guy who went north and bought his first baler, a second hand Claas. Got a good deal, checked it out himself and thought it was in good shape - even though he didn't know a lot about them. He brought it home and mowed a small garden to test it out. He went around and around and picked up a load of grass - thinking to himself that he had got a great baler that packed bales very tight with all the grass that it was packing into the first bale. When the chamber was full he tied it and let it out and when he got out to look at his bale, low and behold he had the finest 5x4 bale of silage in Cavan!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,237 ✭✭✭Username John

was putting in small bales there last night for the dfather in law, been a long time since i did that crack last..alot to said for round bales i say ;)

ha ha - you cant escape these jobs now Vander...
    Sure he only made the small square bales cos he knew he had 'a new lad' to be handling em...

:D :P :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,701 ✭✭✭moy83

ha ha - you cant escape these jobs now Vander...
    Sure he only made the small square bales cos he knew he had 'a new lad' to be handling em...

:D :P :D
    Big mistake there . Last night was the night to tell the inlaws how bad your back was :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,422 ✭✭✭just do it

The good weather has improved the humour on here no end. Only a few weeks ago the mods had to remove posts due to frustration boiling over. Long may the good weather continue (interspersed with an appropriate amount of showers at night ;))

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,087 ✭✭✭vanderbadger

i even offered to make the round bales for him..lucky enough there wasnt many of the hoors of things, when we were young lads we seems to spend all summer at them, fighting over who moved the tractor around the field and knocking peers of gates everywhere we went.. ah those were the days :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,173 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

fighting over who moved the tractor around the field

Twas the girls that always got that job in our house and us holding on for dear life as the clutch would be let straight up!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,267 ✭✭✭hugo29

was going to work this am and met one of the neighbours (retired in his 60s) out sitting on his wall, so stopped for a chat as ya do, fcuk it would have been lovely to sit there for a few hours and have a chat in the sun but had to go to this sticky office, i dont know but sometimes you could sit and listen to the yarns for hours

maybe the older generation had the right idea,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,972 ✭✭✭dzer2

Muckit wrote: »
    Twas the girls that always got that job in our house and us holding on for dear life as the clutch would be let straight up!!!

Reminds me of long time ago a neighbour asked me to help with his straw bales about 2000 of them. Had one daughter driving the tractor and the hefty daughter stacking the bales on the tractor. Always got the impression he was trying to match make one of them. Had about 300 on the trailer when the daughter took off straight across the tram lines heading for the yard by the time I got to the tractor we had about 50 bales left on it and the daughter stacking the bales on the way to hospital with a broken leg. From then on I moved the tractor with the not so hefty daughter. Right good craic but that yr decided that would be getting involved with a farmers daughter.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,329 ✭✭✭redzerologhlen

Tis a day to be near the water I think, off kayaking for a few hours now and a bit of pier jumping in the evening. Its too warm to be working :p

Too warm to be stacking bales too - a lad I was wrapping for yesterday evening went stacking them and every one he lifted burst. Plastic on metal just wouldn't work in that heat!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

reilig wrote: »
    Too warm to be stacking bales too - a lad I was wrapping for yesterday evening went stacking them and every one he lifted burst. Plastic on metal just wouldn't work in that heat!

Head off to Keeldra lake & join in the swimming lessons! That's where I'm headed :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,404 ✭✭✭naughto

Kovu Murr wrote: »
    Head off to Keeldra lake & join in the swimming lessons! That's where I'm headed :D
    quadman is filling the quad with desiel as we speak i heard ya like the skinny dipping:pac::pac:

I'm a long way from Keeldra today :mad:

i wouldnt go near that place (might be different for a lady) based on the size of the pike you took out of there, :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 472 ✭✭quadboy

Yeah it would be handy knowing how to swim with weather like this, im on the way

D'ya have a six pack? Legal requirement to allow you in.:p

your persistence is beginning to pay dividends quadboy, id get the next flight out kerry before she changes her mind, land in knock an hour will bring you from there,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 472 ✭✭quadboy

Yeah i'll stop off in an off license and pick one up ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,949 ✭✭✭delaval

Heard a story last night about a guy who went north and bought his first baler, a second hand Claas. Got a good deal, checked it out himself and thought it was in good shape - even though he didn't know a lot about them. He brought it home and mowed a small garden to test it out. He went around and around and picked up a load of grass - thinking to himself that he had got a great baler that packed bales very tight with all the grass that it was packing into the first bale. When the chamber was full he tied it and let it out and when he got out to look at his bale, low and behold he had the finest 5x4 bale of silage in Cavan!!
    :confused:What am I missing?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,404 ✭✭✭naughto

is that all it takes these days i had to work hard to be "allow in"

naughto wrote: »
    Young lad carry six pack, men carry a barrell:D:D

delaval wrote: »
    Young lad carry six pack, men carry a barrell:D:D

now dev stop that or you will frighten the kids

:eek::eek:
    naughto wrote: »

Also have to be able to save damsel in distress after six pack :D

:confused:What am I missing?

He thought he was buying a 4x4 and only realised it was a 5x4 when he made the first bale.

Bonus, no?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,343 ✭✭✭bob charles

I would usually have a few gallons here before going out as a kinda warm up lap and stretch

hugo29 wrote: »
    i wouldnt go near that place (might be different for a lady) based on the size of the pike you took out of there, :D

Scared of a nibble on your......toes?:rolleyes:

oh its not the pike im afraid off, if you can catch a pike that size, wtf would ya do to poor quadboy

anyway me da always warned me about leitrim women

Bonus, no?

Not really. He couldn't lift them or wrap them!

Ha, ha. Local lad made a silage grab once only problem was his loader wouldn't lift it