If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Not Quite Four Laps

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,915 ✭✭✭✭menoscemo

No beer mile training :eek:?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 139 ✭✭nosnagaoithe

Great log KU - seems like you're relaxed, just drifting along after London....what's next serious target?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,900 ✭✭✭KielyUnusual

menoscemo wrote: »
    No beer mile training :eek:?

I'm not very well going to divulge all my secrets in what could be one of the most competitive races of the year. I downed 2 beers in ~40 seconds each last night. This is definitely going to be a big weakness for me. You always perform better on race day so hopefully I can knock a few seconds off that this evening. Sub 8 looking like a bit of a challenge. The fact that every off licence around Drumcondra seems to have been shut down is not helping with the training
    Great log KU - seems like you're relaxed, just drifting along after London....what's next serious target?

A bit too relaxed really. I had intended on giving a real go at the Dunshaughlin 10k this month but I won't get the time I was aiming for at this stage. Might make a short plan for the Phoenix Park 10 mile and focus on that. I think 10 miles and up are the distances that suit me best anyway.

Thursday

6 miles @ steady pace

I was very happy to get this one in after a long day at work. Hopefully it's a sign that the commitment is back. Enjoyed the run once I got out as well

Friday

10 miles @ 6m39s/mile

Brought the stopwatch (well Krusty's stopwatch to be truthful) on this one. Ran at my standard pace, which generally works out at about 7 minute mile pace. Worked out quite a bit faster than this so I was really happy with that. If I keep at this, I might not do too badly in Dunshaughlin at the end of the month. Now for the beer mile. This could get messy.

Friday evening

Boards.ie inaugural beer mile 8.40 6th place

Had visited the dentist in the morning with a minor toothache and when the anesthetic wore off in the afternoon, it had become a major toothache:mad:. Nothing to be done but knock back a few Nurofens and get chugging some beers. I had contemplated dropping out so when I finally did up an leave I was cutting things a bit tight. Called in to three off licences before I finally found my much coveted Mooseheads in the Dunnes on St Stephens Green. I was furtively glancing at my watch the whole Luas trip out but I arrived at the park with about 5 minutes to spare and despite the weather there was a good crowd there and everyone was in good spirits.

We all packed our gear in the tent, very generously supplied by Kurt Godel and having lined up our beers we were given the go ahead by DrQuirky. I had trialled out a few different bottle openers on the Thursday night and went for the Homer Simpson one. It was a good choice. No issues here. First beer went down similar to my training efforts (~40 seconds) and I was off, maybe 7th or 8th to finish drinking. Took it easy on the first lap so I wouldn't be out of breath for the second beer. This one was a bit slower than the first but this was to be expected. Beers were a bit warm as they were shelf beers from the offy. Some froth issues as a result of this but nothing I couldn't cope with. Second lap was a controlled effort too and now I was in to unchartered territory with the third beer. This was going to be the make or break point. Surprised myself with my drinking ability and downed it in a similar time to the second. At this stage I was pretty confident that I would make it without getting sick. I upped the pace a small bit on this lap. Final beer went down with no issues and I gunned it as fast as I could for the last lap, probably about 70 seconds. Done.

Great craic and a must do race for any serious runners out there.

Saturday

6 miles @ 6m32s/mile

Let's consider this a penalty lap for my actions in the after, after party:eek:. Apologies Meno.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,108 ✭✭✭BeepBeep67

Solid run last night in decent company:
    9080979928_a56778b48e_c.jpg
    Full Set: http://www.flickr.com/photos/dominic67/sets/72157634199862265/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,346 ✭✭✭smmoore79

BeepBeep67 wrote: »

Think you'll have to invest in a Cru singlet!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,531 ✭✭✭✭Krusty_Clown

Great photos Dom. So, did Mike dip under?!

Sunday

6 miles @ 6m52s/mile + 10 min session

It was a fairly miserable evening by the time I got out for this. Plan was to do a short run followed by some sort of speed session in the park. Ran out to Bull Island and back for the easy run and then in to Fairview Park for the session. Had read about this session in a book about Kenyan running. It's basically run on a soccer pitch and you sprint the diagonal and jog the length. I set 10 minutes as the time limit for this and off I went. Main thing was to concentrate on keeping the knees high and the arms pumping as I got more tired. It was tough going but a few more sessions like this before my next 400m can only help. Sub 62 is the new sub 60;).

Monday

9 miles @ easy pace

Stayed in Bray after work and ran down to the promenade and up the cliffs for the trail to Greystones. It was a perfect evening for it and the scenery was immense. Wish I had brought my camera for the 'Photos of where you run' thread but another time perhaps.

Tuesday

1 miles @ 4m52s/mile:D

Accepted the open invite from BeepBeep67 to head out to Greystones for the invitational mile. Perfect weather for a short race like this and I was glad of the warm weather with the hour long delay before the race. After doing my best to distract BB from his camera work duties, we were eventually called over to the start line. Timaay was entered in this race too. He was going for the 4.3x's so I was happy enough to use him as a pacer for the first lap and stick 2 or 3 seconds behind him. After a bad start (excellently captured by BeepBeep), we were off
    I worked my way around a few runners in the first half and finished the lap a couple of seconds behind Timaay, so happy enough. 75 seconds was called out for the first lap (409m). Second lap, I pushed past another runner on the back straight and kicked on. My legs were feeling it here but I'm always struggling a little at this point in short races so I was expecting this and struggled through. On the third lap, I was three or four metres behind two runners up ahead. I pushed on and just made it round them on the bend coming in to the home straight. Took the bell and I was determined to keep the pace as fast as I could and not get overtaken. My lungs were burning going round the final bend but I kept the pace up and was delighted to hear them call 4.52 as I crossed the line. There was a great race up front between Timaay and one of his clubmates and he ran an excellent time in the 4.3x's. Really enjoyable race and always good to get chatting to a few fellow boardsies too.

Cheers Dom. Excellent photos and a great event. I was pleasantly surprised that it was free to enter too. Thanks for the invite.

smmoore79 wrote: »
    Think you'll have to invest in a Cru singlet!!!

I've got the Cru singlet of course. I'll be proudly donning it in Dunshaughlin this weekend. Will you be running?

Great photos Dom. So, did Mike dip under?!

Dip under what?:P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,108 ✭✭✭BeepBeep67

After a bad start (excellently captured by BeepBeep), we were off

You shouldn't be getting muscled out by chicks on the start line - Winter Gym training me thinks :rolleyes:

It's a must. The shame of it all:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,531 ✭✭✭✭Krusty_Clown

Dip under what?:P
    Well, my PB, obviously! Congrats! That's a cracking time!
    The mile is clearly a young man's game. ;)

Mcmillan gives you 59.7 for 400m. :)

Well, my PB, obviously! Congrats! That's a cracking time!
    The mile is clearly a young man's game. ;)

Mcmillan gives you 59.7 for 400m. :)

Ah McMillan, with your healthy disclaimer that you need to be training specifically for the event at hand. I hope I'll be able to give a better performance for the 400m in the Graded Meets but sub 60 will be for another year I think. Pity you can't make it to the next one. We might have had a decent showdown at least. I'll see you in Dunshaughlin at the weekend.

I've got the Cru singlet of course. I'll be proudly donning it in Dunshaughlin this weekend. Will you be running?

Would love to run but will do a half marathon session instead I think..

Wednesday

13.1 miles @ 7m15s/mile

A decent run home from work today. There is a quite severe camber on the pathways along the N11 so I might have to avoid these in future. I think my injury before London might have been largely down to this. Bumped in to a clubmate on the way and found out that free tickets to the Europeans in Santry will be handed out at training tomorrow. Thursday club session it is then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,821 ✭✭✭blockic

Nice one on the mile last night Kiely. Out of interest what was the last 5k race you done? Seems to have been a while..be interesting to see what time you could pull off on that one..

blockic wrote: »
    Nice one on the mile last night Kiely. Out of interest what was the last 5k race you done? Seems to have been a while..be interesting to see what time you could pull off on that one..

Oh, it's been a while alright. I ran the Malahide ParkRun before Christmas in 17.04. That's the only 5k I've run. I've only run one 10k either so I'm interested to see what I can do on Saturday. My last 10k in Fingal last year was a bit of a nightmare. I'm sure I'll get a 5k in over the next few weeks. There's an incredible amount of choice out there, as far as 5k's are concerned.

Thursday

1 mile w/u, 5 miles @ ~6 min/mile, 1 mile w/d

Went down to the club today but went for a 5 mile tempo instead of the usual mile repeats in the park. Small group doing this. smmoore slunk off after a few laps and there was just three of us. It was a good session but I didn't go too hard with the race on Saturday. More importantly, I got my free ticket for the Europeans at the weekend:D.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,643 ✭✭✭ThePiedPiper

Nice session KU, you don't seem to have lost that much sharpness at all. What's the goal for Dunshaughlin? Was thinkin of doing it, but going to persevere with my hile mileage for another couple of weeks.

It's coming back alright RFR but it's been a slow enough process. I'm aiming to get into the 34's at the weekend but closer to 35 or to 33, I'd find it very hard to call.
    Pity I won't see you down there but eye on the big prize, I suppose.

Friday

6 miles @ easy pace

Easy run after work. Nothing much to report

Saturday

Dunshaughlin 10k in 34.23 @ 5m32s/mile

Went out to the European Team Championships in Santry and was flaked out on the steps for most of it, taking it very easy. Had to tidy up a bit when there was an outrageous downpour for half an hour towards the end. Tough on the mens 5000m runners who got the full brunt of it. Headed straight down to Dunshaughlin with other runners from the club straight after and we were down with about an hour and a half to spare.

Getting the numbers and down to the start was so little hassle. It's the sort of simplicity and efficiency that come with a race that has been running for decades at this stage. Settled in at the start and got a tap on the shoulder to see Ronnie085 and Krusty_Clown right behind me. After the usual trash talk we were off. The pace felt quite fast going off and you could immediately see that this was a real quality field. We were downhill and with the wind so I went with it and just hoped this wouldn't come back to bite me in the final mile.

Myself and Ronnie085 were shoulder to shoulder and clocked the first mile in 5.27. This I felt was okay given the fast nature of the start. We were tailing a group of about six for the first few miles, very slowly reeling them in. I had it in my mind to mix in with this group for the return leg in to the wind that I knew was coming up. When we did catch up, the momentum took us through and we were front running again. The 5k split was called out as 17.15. I figured it would be a struggle to double up on this, so sub 35 was the goal in my head.

I was feeling okay at this stage but then a short, sharp hill at 4 miles took the breath out of me a little and I was working hard to keep the same pace. I had recovered by 5 miles and decided to put in a big effort to get away from Ronnie and take the victory in this Boards head to head. I opened up the legs and it was tough going but I was starting to go past people and the footsteps behind me were getting fainter. I dared not look back. The 600m to go sign was one of the most beautiful things I'd ever laid my eyes on. I was still going past people and making a few places but I was really willing the finish line to come in to sight. I saw it and there was only two runners ahead to aim for. I was shocked that my legs responded and I really upped the pace. I properly sprinted and just pipped the second runner before the line.

I was frigged and it was hands on knees, heaving by the barriers for a while before I could head on. A very satisfying return to longer distance racing for me and it was great times all round by the Boardsies. Brilliantly organised race and I'll definitely be back again.

Sunday

10 miles @ Easy pace

A very easy paced run around Bull Island to bring the weekend running to a close. Overall, I was quite tired but no ill effects from the previous evening running thankfully.

A very good week, with two targets from the 10 round numbers knocked off to cap it all off.

Great 10k time KU. At this rate, you'll be hitting 33's within a year I reckon ;)

Monday

6 miles @ 7m05s/mile

Can't really remember this run but I logged it on MapMyRun

Tuesday

W/u, 6 X 600m (200m active rec), w/d

Was feeling quite stiff from the race on Saturday evening so took these easy enough. Ran them at 5/10k pace.

Wednesday

13 miles @ 7m02s/mile

My new Garmin arrived on Tuesday with an unforeseen customs charge :mad:. Is America not part of the EU these days? This run wasn't quite as enjoyable as some of the runmutes I've done recently but far better than any of the winter ones that are still ingrained in my memory. The N11 was a miserable place in the cold and rain.

Thursday

Rest

Quite tired all this week so decided a rest day would be a good idea. First one in a couple of weeks now.

Friday

12 miles @ 8.04/mile

Met up with a friend who is running the Dingle and Dublin marathons. Pace was easy, which was ideal ahead of the Parkrun the day after.

Saturday

Malahide Parkrun 16.42

Had been intending to head out to Malahide for a while now and this morning I finally made it. Mad scramble for my barcode in the morning to no avail but the lovely people at Malahide Parkrun sorted it out anyway, so no harm done.

Bumped in to fellow Crusader PaulieYifter at the start. We chatted away and ambled our way down towards the start. We were given the go ahead by Peckham and we were off. I went out pretty quick to get a good place and was in fourth place. After the first sharp bend, I acclerated past the group of three and in to first place. I slowly pulled away and soon enough I couldn't hear the sound of following footsteps. That was it to the end really. I wore my Garmin in the race for the first time but had the virtual pace partner up, so it was only confusing me and I didn't pay much attention to it. Happy with the time, given how the racerun went and the win first finish too. Nice lap around Malahide Park with PY for a warm down. Kudos to Peckham for another really well run event

Sunday

13 miles @ 6.48/mile

Nice run down the coast and around St Anne's to bring the weeks running to an end. One of the big advantages of the Garmin, is being able to run without having to stick to any set course. Explored some areas of the park that I hadn't ventured in to before and still had the record of how far I went, which was nice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,055 ✭✭✭Itziger

Monday

6 miles @ 7m05s/mile

Can't really remember this run but I logged it on MapMyRun

Tuesday

W/u, 6 X 600m (200m active rec), w/d

Was feeling quite stiff from the race on Saturday evening so took these easy enough. Ran them at 5/10k pace.

Wednesday

13 miles @ 7m02s/mile

My new Garmin arrived on Tuesday with an unforeseen customs charge :mad:. Is America not part of the EU these days? This run wasn't quite as enjoyable as some of the runmutes I've done recently but far better than any of the winter ones that are still ingrained in my memory. The N11 was a miserable place in the cold and rain.

Thursday

Rest

Quite tired all this week so decided a rest day would be a good idea. First one in a couple of weeks now.

Friday

12 miles @ 8.04/mile

Met up with a friend who is running the Dingle and Dublin marathons. Pace was easy, which was ideal ahead of the Parkrun the day after.

Saturday

Malahide Parkrun 16.42

Had been intending to head out to Malahide for a while now and this morning I finally made it. Mad scramble for my barcode in the morning to no avail but the lovely people at Malahide Parkrun sorted it out anyway, so no harm done.

Bumped in to fellow Crusader PaulieYifter at the start. We chatted away and ambled our way down towards the start. We were given the go ahead by Peckham and we were off. I went out pretty quick to get a good place and was in fourth place. After the first sharp bend, I acclerated past the group of three and in to first place. I slowly pulled away and soon enough I couldn't hear the sound of following footsteps. That was it to the end really. I wore my Garmin in the race for the first time but had the virtual pace partner up, so it was only confusing me and I didn't pay much attention to it. Happy with the time, given how the racerun went and the win first finish too. Nice lap around Malahide Park with PY for a warm down. Kudos to Peckham for another really well run event

Sunday

13 miles @ 6.48/mile

Nice run down the coast and around St Anne's to bring the weeks running to an end. One of the big advantages of the Garmin, is being able to run without having to stick to any set course. Explored some areas of the park that I hadn't ventured in to before and still had the record of how far I went, which was nice.

Good running lad, keep it up. The customs thing happened me with 4 flight tickets to the States a couple of years back. On the last page of the online booking the fookers say "E-ticket is currently not available, blah, blah" No bother, says I, until the things arrive and the fella asks for 280euro please :(

Monday

5 miles @ 7.20/mile

Nice lunch time run around Shanganagh with a couple of lads from work

Tuesday

w/u, 12 X 400 (30s rec), w/d (75,73,73,75,75,74,75,75,75,74,74,73)

After a couple of months being repaired, the track was finally back in action at Irishtown. It had been a while and I was glad to get back to these kind of sessions. Again, I found myself stuck between two groups and ran a lot of these a few yards behind smmoore and another lad. Was joined for the last few and was glad of the company. Happy with the consistency over the reps

15 miles @ 7.28/mile

Took a slightly longer route home from work, through Killiney and Dalkey. It was a breath of fresh air from running along the N11. Its a no brainer from now on. Took it very easy (Average HR: 133BPM) but finished up with a nice 6 minute mile.

Thursday

5 miles @ 6m30s/mile

This is normally a session day so I ran this lunchtime run a bit quicker than usual, finishing up with two ~ 6 min miles. I regretted it when I got back to the office though. I was still sweating after my shower and had to go straight in to a meeting, where I was parched. Think I'll stick to the easy running at lunchtime in future. Especially in this weather.

Friday

Bit too wrecked after some going away drinks for some workmates the previous evening. The impending trek over the Wicklow mountains was on my mind too, I'll not lie;).

Boards.ie Wicklow Way Run

I like my long runs generally but this was something special again. Got the bus out to Marlay and I was there an hour early. Always plan for the worst when it comes to Dublin Bus. I had contemplated running the Parkrun at an easy pace before the event itself. It's unlikely I would have run it easy enough so I think I made the right decision in giving it a miss. Chilling out in the sun, b.harte came up and introduced himself and then bit by bit, the full group arrived on. Lead off by organiser supreme Belcarra, we were on our way.

The first mile leaving the park and running under the M50, did not give any indication of the beautiful scenery that lay ahead. The first climb came very soon and while it wasn't too steep, it was constant and none too easy. Once to the top, there was an amazing few back over Dublin. There was a good sense of the distance we had travelled on the top of the third climb, when this same view looked a long, long way away. The descent coming off this was pretty steep and I was constantly worried that my momentum was going to take me in to the back of someone. There were some close calls.

The second climb was similar to the first in gradient but you were really away from civilization now. There was an impressive view over Powerscourt waterfall on the way. Why pay €8 to see this when you can just run 10 miles and over two mountains for the same privilege? People these days. Another fast descent and we were dpwn by the river. I had travelled light, bring just two 500ml bottles of water so I was glad of the opportunity for a re-fill. The water tasted absolutely amazing to be honest. I got a good drink in, filled up the bottles and now it was just a matter of tackling the final climb. It didn't look too bad from the bottom but it was very steep in parts and seemed to go on and on. We were glad to get to the top and took plenty of time to take in what was a pretty epic vista over Wicklow and Dublin. The distance was starting to make itself felt in the legs on the way down. A brief stop by Lough Dan on the way and we were on the flat all the way to the Roundwood.

We made a bit of a mistake here in taking the main road. It was narrow and very busy. Things got very dodgy with cars flying by and an ambulance came screaming by at one stage. I think we all thought it was the gardaí going to give out to us for obstructing traffic. We upped the pace a bit and I reckon we were all strongly willing the town to come in to sight by now. We got there eventually and it was straight in to the pub to get the drinks in. Eventually the full gang had arrived. There were some tired heads but not for too long once the drinks were got in. Judging from the reactions of everyone, I don't think this run will be a once off.

Sunday

10 miles @ 6m51s/mile

I was a bit stiff today so initial plan was to just stretch out the legs a little bit. Once I got going though, I'd never found this type of pace easier. I would probably consider 7-7.15 my easy pace but even at this pace my legs will tire at some point in the run. Not today though. I'm not sure what to put this down to but I'll take it. I'm not going to be experimenting with any 25 mile mountain runs before a race, that's for sure:D. The soreness will probably come tomorrow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 851 ✭✭✭thewolf_ie

Sounds like I missed a great adventure! Great running.