Good riddance to the feckers I say

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 280 ✭✭AnOrdinaryJoe

Nemeses wrote: »
    Yo joe,

I've forgotten what your original point was...

Would you mind refreshing my memory again?

There you go Memeses......memory refreshed (below).

Aside from inconvenience to some re closure of branches, especially in rural areas......good riddance to the Right Bunch of Schiesters (RBS) owned bank anyway.

And also announced today.......The First Trust Bank (AIB's bank in the north) is to shut four branches in Northern Ireland.

The branch in Ballymoney, Co Antrim, is due to close at the end of September with the shutters coming down on two branches in Belfast and a fourth in Ballynahinch, Co Down, by the end of November.

The closures are part of an ongoing restructuring programme, according to the bank and the announcement follows the decision by the Ulster Bank to lay off as many as 1,800 staff and close up to 40 branches, the vast majority in the Republic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,829 ✭✭✭Nemeses

There you go Memeses......memory refreshed (below).

Aside from inconvenience to some re closure of branches, especially in rural areas......good riddance to the Right Bunch of Schiesters (RBS) owned bank anyway.

And also announced today.......The First Trust Bank (AIB's bank in the north) is to shut four branches in Northern Ireland.

The branch in Ballymoney, Co Antrim, is due to close at the end of September with the shutters coming down on two branches in Belfast and a fourth in Ballynahinch, Co Down, by the end of November.

The closures are part of an ongoing restructuring programme, according to the bank and the announcement follows the decision by the Ulster Bank to lay off as many as 1,800 staff and close up to 40 branches, the vast majority in the Republic.

*Nemeses - FYI.

Your points as follow:

- AIB are closing their branches in the North
    - Ulster banks are closing their branches too
    - Closures are part of restructuring the banks mess - leads to massive job loss

Other than people loosing jobs: 1,800 if that is correct and causing more unemployed people which this country doesn't need.

What is your point of view exactly?

And please use something other than - "Dem shower of kuntz, blah blah blah."

Edit : No response after an hour, Ah Joe.. Where is the love?

Show me the love!!! You possibly can't have a life outside of boards!

I mean, You were doing so well until now. You got this far. You can do it!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,496 ✭✭✭Boombastic

They were docile 'yes men*' who carried out orders to enable the bigger boys*. Not clever enough to become big boys* themselves or question anything, they were just compliant- just following orders.

*or women

Boombastic wrote: »
    They were docile 'yes men*' who carried out orders to enable the bigger boys*. Not clever enough to become big boys* themselves or question anything, they were just compliant- just following orders.

*or women

That's pretty much it, they did nothing wrong. They aren't the criminals at all.

*Nemeses - FYI.

Your points as follow:

- AIB are closing their branches in the North
    - Ulster banks are closing their branches too
    - Closures are part of restructuring the banks mess - leads to massive job loss

Other than people loosing jobs: 1,800 if that is correct and causing more unemployed people which this country doesn't need.

What is your point of view exactly?

And please use something other than - "Dem shower of kuntz, blah blah blah."

Edit : No response after an hour, Ah Joe.. Where is the love?

Show me the love!!! You possibly can't have a life outside of boards!

I mean, You were doing so well until now. You got this far. You can do it!!

Don't be getting concerned about the time gap Nemeses.... you might assume that all I have got to do is play around in front of a pc screen....... if only that was the case. I apologise for the delay and if it irked you, unfortunately I had to, as I have to often, attend to the needs of an extremely ill child. Priorities and all that bollox.

Don't worry Sir.... or Lady.... when I have more time, which won't be long I'm sure, I will respond to you. Apologies for my child being ill and making you wait for a response.

And by the way, some, including me, think there is justification is simply stating 'Dem is a shower of kuntz, blah blah blah'.

Don't be getting concerned about the time gap Nemeses.... you might assume that all I have got to do is play around in front of a pc screen....... if only that was the case. I apologise for the delay and if it irked you, unfortunately I had to, as I have to often, attend to the needs of an extremely ill child. Priorities and all that bollox.

Don't worry Sir.... or Lady.... when I have more time, which won't be long I'm sure, I will respond to you. Apologies for my child being ill and making you wait for a response.

And by the way, some, including me, think there is justification is simply stating 'Dem is a shower of kuntz, blah blah blah'.

Oh please - Can you not tell from my style of writing I was kidding or do I need to put lol, jk and some other internet terms such as /sarcasm to show my love and tone.

I'm sorry to hear of your personal issues - I wouldn't discuss that in AH forums. You mightn't get the love like I'm trying to show you.

I await with glee on what your response is.

And yes, you definitely need more justification than that.

Otherwise then I don't need justification for saying you are literally talking out of your bum-hole. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,732 ✭✭✭scamalert

well done account created only to express your ill mental opinion how everyone in bank or any related sector is trash.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,102 ✭✭✭RossFixxxed

Well there you go. That is the sound of you shooting yourself in the ****ing face my man.

That's pretty much it, they did nothing wrong. They aren't the criminals at all.

The old 'just doing my job' crap doesn't cut it when 'just doing my job' means being complicit to wrong doing i.e. ripping people off.

Why or how should it be considered that when the actions of someone just doing his or her job results in a benefit of some sorts i.e. financial to the detriment of someone else i.e. someone who is being ripped off for reasons directly linked to the actions of the jobsworth, it is somehow acceptable.

Don't get me wrong.... I do know who the bigger scoundrels are, of course it's the fat cat corporate tone setters..... but others i.e. an army of 'ordinary' bank employees/officials played their part too.

How often throughout recent history has 'I'm Just Doing My Job' been used as an excuse for misdemeanours and crimes of varying degrees..... right up to policemen harassing people just because of their skin colour, 'soldiers' abusing people and much worse,etc.

It's the classic cop out used by people who either do not wish or object to being partially or wholly accountable for their misdemeanours, or as an excuse for their misdemeanours, as if the 'just doing my job' somehow makes everything alright.

In terms of degree of seriousness of misdemeanours i.e. fraud, corruption, etc, there is no question that those way down the pecking order within the banks are less culpable than those further up and at the top of the corporate ladder.

But there are still 'ordinary people' bank employees /officials who are complicit to a degree and whose compliance within the culture laid down by their so called superiors and actions relating to same contributed to the exploitation and ripping off of others.

It's as if the person who's just doing their job isn't a real person with the ability to make choices and moral decisions. Instead they're just an unthinking cog in the corporate machine with no more choice or responsibility than a photocopier or fax machine.

People aren't cogs and they aren't machines. They are responsible for their own actions. They make choices, and if choices they've made are wrong,even if they were made in order to pay the bills, the same bills as those who were ripped of have to pay also. It is not unreasonable for anyone to make reference to the fact that some 'ordinary people' were complicit in the ripping off of other 'ordinary people'.

I do not regard such ordinary people who happened to work for banks and who were complicit in the frauds and malpractices of the banks to be the enemy.... I am fully aware of who 'the enemy' are. But some of them were complicit..... that's all I'm saying.

If anyone can provide indisputable evidence that connected to all bank frauds, etc is a small number of senior high level bank officials i.e. at CEO, Chairman level and the like, and there was not a compliant subserviant army of bank employees / officials helping them out..... I'd love to see it.

Well there you go. That is the sound of you shooting yourself in the ****ing face my man.

I gotta confess...... I got that one wrong.

I only had a small window of time and hadn't properly considered the nature of the post to which I was responding.

I should clarify..... I wasn't insinuating that all of the people who may lose their jobs are 'kuntz', although some may very well be..... my opinion was re the banks in general, moreso the cultures and the attitudes and behaviours of the fat cats at the top. Apologies to the non kuntz within the 1800.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,407 ✭✭✭lkionm

Jaysus Joe, you are still floggging your dead horse.

What do you propose we do with the banks so?
    So you want no banks?

lkionm wrote: »
    Jaysus Joe, you are still floggging your dead horse.

What do you propose we do with the banks so?
    So you want no banks?

Re banks: I'm not saying we don't need banks or a credible alternative.

We don't want or need of the sort we have and seem to accept.

We don't need banks with senior executives who were in a previous life connected to any sort of unethical or criminal activity i.e. money laundering the ill gotten gains of significantly murderous drugs cartels and organisations connected to terrorism, and who nevertheless are considered by the Central Bank regulator as being 'fit and proper'.

We need a proper regulator which would regulate without fear or favour and is properly impartial.

We need proper policing, etc which would see anyone in the banking sector who is connected to any sort of sharp practice i.e. fraud, corruption, general ripping off, etc to be seen by the general populace to be held accountable and where appropriate to be jailed.

I think there needs to be a proper whistle blowing structure within the banks which actually works, where bank employees who are not at senior executive level and who might have integrity and who, instead of simply being compliant, could report wrongdoing without fear of retribution from those who not only had a agenda for 'stuff' being kept under the radar, but who also have the power to significantly influence the future of such whistleblowers in respect of future career prospects..... or otherwise.

And I think we need proper acknowledgement that, whilst the fat cats at the top are the real scoundrels, there was an army of bank employees / officials who did their bit in the fleecing of the nation.

I want to see proper accountability for the actions of all persons within the banking sector.

scamalert wrote: »
    well done account created only to express your ill mental opinion how everyone in bank or any related sector is trash.

Ah.......another Old and Grey !

Check the facts /my previous posts..... I have never said that ALL bank employees / officials are trash...... I cannot see how where you might be justified in making your inaccurate statement.

'ill mental opinion'...... I can assure you that's not the case.

I have an opinion though.

The old 'just doing my job' crap doesn't cut it when 'just doing my job' means being complicit to wrong doing i.e. ripping people off.

Why or how should it be considered that when the actions of someone just doing his or her job results in a benefit of some sorts i.e. financial to the detriment of someone else i.e. someone who is being ripped off for reasons directly linked to the actions of the jobsworth, it is somehow acceptable.

Don't get me wrong.... I do know who the bigger scoundrels are, of course it's the fat cat corporate tone setters..... but others i.e. an army of 'ordinary' bank employees/officials played their part too.

How often throughout recent history has 'I'm Just Doing My Job' been used as an excuse for misdemeanours and crimes of varying degrees..... right up to policemen harassing people just because of their skin colour, 'soldiers' abusing people and much worse,etc.

It's the classic cop out used by people who either do not wish or object to being partially or wholly accountable for their misdemeanours, or as an excuse for their misdemeanours, as if the 'just doing my job' somehow makes everything alright.

In terms of degree of seriousness of misdemeanours i.e. fraud, corruption, etc, there is no question that those way down the pecking order within the banks are less culpable than those further up and at the top of the corporate ladder.

But there are still 'ordinary people' bank employees /officials who are complicit to a degree and whose compliance within the culture laid down by their so called superiors and actions relating to same contributed to the exploitation and ripping off of others.

It's as if the person who's just doing their job isn't a real person with the ability to make choices and moral decisions. Instead they're just an unthinking cog in the corporate machine with no more choice or responsibility than a photocopier or fax machine.

People aren't cogs and they aren't machines. They are responsible for their own actions. They make choices, and if choices they've made are wrong,even if they were made in order to pay the bills, the same bills as those who were ripped of have to pay also. It is not unreasonable for anyone to make reference to the fact that some 'ordinary people' were complicit in the ripping off of other 'ordinary people'.

I do not regard such ordinary people who happened to work for banks and who were complicit in the frauds and malpractices of the banks to be the enemy.... I am fully aware of who 'the enemy' are. But some of them were complicit..... that's all I'm saying.

If anyone can provide indisputable evidence that connected to all bank frauds, etc is a small number of senior high level bank officials i.e. at CEO, Chairman level and the like, and there was not a compliant subserviant army of bank employees / officials helping them out..... I'd love to see it.

Its so nice to see the love isn't it Joe my man!

Doesn't your heart fill with that warm fuzzy feeling?

Probably not.

Any way to summarise what your saying..

Banks are corporations, Most employees are on a need to know basis.

Their jobs are defined. Majority are cashiers - Doing your lodgements, Checking ratings to see if you can have a loan.. etc

Are these to blame as well? Are these the people that decided the countries fate? I doubt it.

These poor feckers had a job to do yes. I do believe they were non the wiser what was happening upstairs.

Talk about Moral and all things like that? What do you do for a living by the way? IF you work that is..

If I have misread your post, which I doubt, then I believe you are painting EVERY banker with the same brush.. Its the VIPs, CEOS that are to blame , not the bottom feeders.

Tell me - Which bank are you with?

'they did nothing wrong'

So Nemeses...... for one minute can we consider that perhaps some individuals who you or I would regard as 'ordinary people', as bank employees / officials, did things that contributed towards some other ordinary people being ripped off i.e. PPI mis-selling, other.

Assuming, as many have alluded to, that PPI mis-selling and other misdemeanours were fraudulent in nature, etc, that ordinary people were ripped off, and that ordinary people bank employees / officials did the selling i.e. providing the 'advice', completing the forms, pushing for the sale (for which commissions were payable), etc, etc........ are you saying that this was not wrong, that 'they did nothing wrong' ?

'they did nothing wrong'

So Nemeses...... for one minute can we consider that perhaps some individuals who you or I would regard as 'ordinary people', as bank employees / officials, did things that contributed towards some other ordinary people being ripped off i.e. PPI mis-selling, other.

Assuming, as many have alluded to, that PPI mis-selling and other misdemeanours were fraudulent in nature, etc, that ordinary people were ripped off, and that ordinary people bank employees / officials did the selling i.e. providing the 'advice', completing the forms, pushing for the sale (for which commissions were payable), etc, etc........ are you saying that this was not wrong, that 'they did nothing wrong' ?

You got my username right at least...

Go read my last post and try that again - There is no way you read that in less than 20 seconds flat and managed to have paragraph of some form of text as a response that quick..

I'll give you a free shot :)

Its so nice to see the love isn't it Joe my man!

a) Are these to blame as well? Are these the people that decided the countries fate? I doubt it.

b) These poor feckers had a job to do yes. I do believe they were non the wiser what was happening upstairs.

c) Talk about Moral and all things like that? What do you do for a living by the way? IF you work that is..

d) If I have misread your post, which I doubt, then I believe you are painting EVERY banker with the same brush.. Its the VIPs, CEOS that are to blame , not the bottom feeders.

e) Tell me - Which bank are you with?

a) Some have a degree of culpability..... nowhere near the level of the fat cat scumbags at the top, I would never suggest that, in fact I have. But like it or not, some contributed to a lesser degree, a much lesser degree granted, but to a degree. I acknowledge it's not a comfortable realisation to many.

b) Some knew. Morese those at middle level rather than at botom feeder level as you put it. But some knew, were compliant and did their bit.

c) I'm a gigolo to very rich wives of bankers whilst their husbands are at work devising more ways to f**k the nation over and possibly shagging subordinates.

d) Not at all, as referred to in previous posts.

e) Every bank.... as long as the wives have a heartbeat I'm in there.

You got my username right at least...

Go read my last post and try that again - There is no way you read that in less than 20 seconds flat and managed to have paragraph of some form of text as a response that quick..

I'll give you a free shot :)

So.... we're a detective now and an expert in how quick someone else is able to type.... impressive !

The more I read of Joes ramblings the more I think he dosent live in the real world.

I cant help but imagine that he is a student going into 6th year with a year of economics/business under his belt with a bit.

So.... we're a detective now and an expert in how quick someone else is able to type.... impressive !

It's called common sense. Don't need to be a detective to work out you didn't pay attention to my post ... As you have proven by taken the time to actually quote me and give me more BS Answers

Lad, lassie whoever you are....Joe

I made your argument invalid ages ago.

If you don't like the banking system - why dont you tell them yourself instead of moaning about it on boards..

Or are ya a chicken?

P.S - Show me some love man - All I want is the love!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,085 ✭✭✭SpaceTime

They're just moving to a model where they'll charge you to drive 200 miles to your nearest branch where you can pay them put your own money in having queued at the one faulty ATM they provide.

If you want tech support you can phone the 1550 number on the sign.

Here look, just set up your own bank and hire who you want.

Christ, with all your moaning there must be a market for an ethical bank.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,085 ✭✭✭SpaceTime

ethical bank.

That's an oxymoron

It's called common sense. Don't need to be a detective to work out you didn't pay attention to my post ... As you have proven by taken the time to actually quote me and give me more BS Answers

a) Lad, lassie whoever you are....Joe

b) I made your argument invalid ages ago.

c) If you don't like the banking system - why dont you tell them yourself instead of moaning about it on boards..

d) Or are ya a chicken?

e) P.S - Show me some love man - All I want is the love!

a) I am who you want me to be Nemmy.... that;s the power of imagination Nemmy.

b) In your mind maybe Nemmy..... and that's ok.

c) Have done.

d) Define 'a chicken'.

e) I love you Nemmy. You fancy accompanying me on a job ? Some of them there top banking weemin need an awful lot of lovin' ? More love all round. Whadya think ?

SpaceTime wrote: »
    They're just moving to a model where they'll charge you to drive 200 miles to your nearest branch where you can pay them put your own money in having queued at the one faulty ATM they provide.

If you want tech support you can phone the 1550 number on the sign.

And that's a load of bollox... no question.

Different banking system required with different and ethical players in it..... but the ones we have are not the ones we deserve.... or want.

AnOrdinaryJoe, My dearest friend - I have highlighted your points with mine.

a) If thats the case - You are a tool.

b) Myself and a few other posters maybe?

c) Do tell me more about this - How far did you go - or not..

d) Watch Back to the future.. My reference is from that.

e) As much as I would love to accept your job offering.. I believe you are lacking the skills required to do so and thus I decline this wonderful opportunity.

On a serious note - Tell me more about speaking with the banks on this matter

SpaceTime wrote: »
    That's an oxymoron

You know what I meant, his own version a perfect bank where he gives money for free.

Im surprised Joe hasnt brought up the bible law that charging usury is a sin

The more I read of Joes ramblings the more I think he dosent live in the real world.

I cant help but imagine that he is a student going into 6th year with a year of economics/business under his belt with a bit.

I think you're right..... but then I think you're wrong..... I think you're right and you're wrong....

AnOrdinaryJoe, My dearest friend - I have highlighted your points with mine.

a) If thats the case - You are a tool.

b) Myself and a few other posters maybe?

c) Do tell me more about this - How far did you go - or not..

d) Watch Back to the future.. My reference is from that.

e) As much as I would love to accept your job offering.. I believe you are lacking the skills required to do so and thus I decline this wonderful opportunity.

On a serious note - Tell me more about speaking with the banks on this matter

a) Thank you

b) Thank you to all

c) Not able to

d) Child's film

e) Fool... you don't know what you're missusing

You know what I meant, his own version a perfect bank where he gives money for free.

Im surprised Joe hasnt brought up the bible law that charging usury is a sin

Light bulb moment. Thank you.